Erwinna, PA 
Tinicum Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #6 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    3/17/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: fun fun fun. if you have a strong arm. if not? just fun. i like most of the holes. the wooded ones are particularly challenging and beautiful. i love the view.
Cons: its a bit of a long walk. and and more variety would deffinatly help.
Other Thoughts: im not sure why i give this park a 4. i just liked it alot even though it is kinda plain. just like it

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Wish I would have played it sooner

1    3/17/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tinicum Park has a lot going for it. Located in a beautiful setting, this park is a fantastic DG course.

* Up to four pin positions completely change the way in which you'll approach each hole
* This course is fantastic for big arms. Depending on the pin position, up to 1/3 of the holes are over 500' including the 18th hole at up to 799'
* Holes range from massive, grassy, wide-open fields to tight and densely wooded to some variation in between
* The Delaware canal shows up by the basket of a few of the holes creating several risk vs. reward situations
* The tee signs are awesome. A detailed picture of the hole, pin positions, par, and distances are prominently displayed making it very easy on the player to determine how to approach that hole
* Other than the canal walking path, there were very few non-disc golfers
* The course was clean and the baskets were well maintained
* With the exception of going from hole 4 to 5 navigation was fairly easy
Cons: There wasn't too much that I could find to ding this course. That being said, there were a few items that could be addressed to bring this course up to a 4.5.

* Tees were mostly gravel and some were in rough shape. Some of the more severely rutted tees have a tendency to collect water after it rains. Rubber tee pads would be one of the bigger upgrades.
* This course is not for those that can't uncork a disc. For those players that have average drives of 250' or less, they'll probably be over par on the vast majority of the holes
* Zero elevation change. Almost totally flat. Sure, as other reviewers have said, it's great on the knees, but it puts too much of an onus on obstacles to keep players on their toes. Because this is a function of the piece of land on which the course resides, there isn't really a way to improve on this. If all the other issues above were addressed, the lack of elevation would continue to keep this course from ever being a 5.0.
Other Thoughts: This is a LONG, fun course and fits in well with the other world-class courses in the greater Lehigh/Delaware Valley area (Nockamixon, Tyler, Little Lehigh, Jordan Creek). Although I don't know if I'd suggest this course to a beginner, once you've had a chance to cut your teeth playing disc golf, I highly recommend playing Tinicum.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Long, Flat, Beautiful

2-4    1/10/2010   2/2/2010
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good variety - while the course is flat, it does play in the woods, open holes, and moderately wooded/open holes, although the general perception is that it is open

The scenery on this course is stunning (reminds me of Brandywine)

Rotating baskets

Excellent signage (see photos) with accurate distance, next tees, obstacles listed, OB, water fountains, bathrooms, and rotating dials to indicate current placement

Camping on site (call ahead to parks dept.)

Open shots let you see full flight path of discs

Wind adds a level of challenge that many players aren't used to

Several par 4's (long 2,6,17,18) that require you to think
Cons: Flat - park has no elevation (which does make the course easy on your knees)

Like any course with rotating baskets you are at the mercy of the setup.
Hole 2 is a great challenging par 4 when in the long position which you may miss out on.
Hole 4 is a challenging 247 ft wooded par 3 in the long, or can by a 187 foot, hopefully don't hit a tree to get a bird hole that I don't care for. There always seem to be a good mix of long/short holes, but you may miss out on some holes depending on when you play.

Grass off the fairway can get a little long in the summer making it tough to locate discs

Not much shade from the sun in the summer

Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful, well maintained course devoted almost entirely to disc golf (I have seen horses running nearby, but not on the course). This course is not too far from Tyler State park, or the Lehigh Valley and should be included in any trip through the area. You will get to test out your arm, but you also better be able to drive through narrow woods. Knowing how to throw in the wind is a must to score well on this course. This course was part of the 2005 worlds and many pros considered it the toughest. While this course is very challenging, it is not very frustrating as it's tough to lose a disc with little underbrush and short grass when mowed.
Note: many locals play hole 5 from the cement path as the distance is about the same as playing from the tee, without a long unnecessary walk.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Tough

5+    8/10/2000   10/29/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 37.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long, and well maintained course. Tinicum really makes you play golf. There's no phoning it in here- every hole offers its own challenges. In it's longest configuration, it may be the hardest course I've ever played, even though it's fairly wide open for the most part. On a windy day it's especially difficult. In it's shorter version, it's a bit easier, but it's still a bear of a golf course. It's a lot of fun, but really only for better players. Beginners should probably look elsewhere for more user-friendly environs.
Cons: It's flat, and there is one hole that is unconscionably tight and penal. It's not a place to go if you need to get in a quick round at lunch, as it's far from anywhere (though easy to find,) and takes pretty long to play. The grass off the fairways can get high in the summer. There is not a great deal of shade. None of this represents any serious flaw- It's a damn good course.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for tournament golf- a low score here is not a result of luck, but rather, excellent play. There's plenty of room for other events too, so Tinicum makes a good venue for overall tournaments as well. I'd rate this place higher if it had elevation changes, but it happens to be in a flat park, and there just isn't any place to throw up or down hill.
All in all, it's a course well worth playing, but not for everyone as a day-to-day recreational spot.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 very nice flat and long course

5+    10/6/2009   10/10/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 327  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tinicum is lynx golf at its best; although
there is very little elavation change, there is plenty here to challenge your game. It is longer than most courses in the region.

A good vareity of shots are required. Every hole is simply not "open". There are some very tight and low ceiling shots required.

Great tee signs with a dial showing you which position the basket is located in.

In early Oct '09, the grass fairways were cut very nicely. The rough is thick grass causing some delays but no lost discs.

The park itself is super clean in a very scenic setting near the Delaware river.

The creek really doesn't come into play unless you throw a lousy shot.

Since it is flat, it is an easy walk.

The gravel tee pads were in decent shape, not many ruts in them.
Cons: Mostly open and long, you'll be throwing a lot of the same type of shots.

The long walk from 9 to 10, passing 18 on the way.
Other Thoughts: The 2005 Pro Worlds was played on his course.

Helpful hint, if comimg the from I-95, take 29N in NJ instead of 32N/River Rd
is PA, cross the Frenchtown bridge over the river and go left for 1.3 miles. This is simply an easier drive avoiding one lane bridges and the town of New Hope.


5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    8/15/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great signs with maps and dials that show what position the basket is currently in. Course is well maintained, with reasonably wide mowed fairways, baskets in good condition, and for the most part a secure location to tee off from (only a couple holes were too muddy). The wooded holes add nice variety to an otherwise wide-open course.
Cons: The course would benefit a lot from uniform teepads. It's also a good place to lose a disc if you throw too far off the fairway - the brush can get pretty thick. Definitely bring a spotter for hole 18 if you don't plan on parking it on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Seemed like an ideal course for my ability level (beginner/intermediate). Had a lot of variety without ever becoming punishing. I liked having a lot of wide open room to throw my driver without needing pinpoint accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 As flat as texas

1    6/28/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: Dr.awesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Flat. Great signs that will never get you lost and include a next tee sign on the map. Drives involve thought you can't expect to pick up you valkyrie and wail it 200 yd and expect to be on the fairway. the long grass will provide a great challenge to anyone even pros. This is a very unique course that you will not see often. Every shot is different. A, B. C positions on every hole. Not to easy, even though i shot under par, and eagled 5. the water hazard on 2 holes, my mom shot into the river.
Cons: to short. No use of elevation with no elevation. Baskets aren't top notch. To crowded. We played the course in under 45 mins.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: monkeybone75
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2009
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Sweet fairways and nicely groomed-- wide open holes. Nice signs at every tee box, nice tee pads! Good first time course.
Cons: The front nine were very open, nice for big arm drives but become repetative after a while; the back nine had some trees and shrub cover. I usually play very wooded courses ( nockamnixon and jordan) compared to them this course was VERY open! The canal never really comes into play--and you would have to make a seriously poor shot to end up in the water.
Other Thoughts: I was very excited to play this course-- after playing at tinicum I was pretty let down, the holes were just too repetitive and there was no real elevation/water hazards

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Flat

1    4/27/2009   4/29/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tinicum is a great place to really let your discs fly. The major pros to this course deal with the physical pieces: the signs, the land, the grass, the trees, etc. The park is beautiful and when I played there (end of April), the high grass was newly mowed - it was only about ankle deep, so finding a disc was not too terrible.

The tee signs were some of the most informative I have seen, showing all pin positions, distances, where OB was, where water fountains and bathrooms were, and even pointed to the next tee.

There were multiple pin positions on each hole (most had 3, some had 4 positions!). Reading some of the other reviews, there is a new feature to the tee signs: there was a rotating dial on the sign post displaying which position the tee was currently in. Seems they took a page from Tyler State Park and it is helpful, though most of the baskets are visible from the tee.

Tinicum has an average mix of hole variety: open, wooded, semi wooded. It leans to the open side, so big arms will love it.

Navigation was fairly easy. I only had to break the map out a few times (between 4 and 5, and 9 and 10).
Cons: After a while the holes were starting to get similar. A lot of the holes for me were a "routine 3" - drive, upshot, simple putt. They were just far enough where a reasonable 2 was out of reach and a 4 would have been frustrating. Most of the baskets are unprotected and the greens are wide open, providing no obstacles on upshots or putts. Placement wasn't much of an issue on drives. It didn't matter if my drive totally went flippy on me because there wasn't anything to punish a bad shot (on many holes).

The canal only came into play on a very poor shot or a stupid decision to "go for it" and then a big-time miss.

The tee pads were average: natural stone, but well defined. Only once did I notice major unevenness, though.

Elevation was almost non-existent. It is a pretty flat course.
Other Thoughts: Tinicum is a good round of disc golf. There is natural beauty and awe while giving you a place to rip some drives. And though the technical aspect of disc golf falls short, the multiple pin placements will give variety to those who frequent the course. I really liked the mowed fairways and mowed paths from basket to next tee. This was definitely a well manicured course and that made the experience enjoyable. Overall, I had a good time but the challenge and variety were not there for me. It is still worth a stop if you are in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat and Long

1    3/25/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 232  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 37.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple baskets add variety and distance to each hole. Some of the best, informative tee signs you'll see. Each sign shows hole topography, distances and indicator of which basket position is in use. Fairly easy to navigate with out a map.

Gravel tee pads that are very well maintained, and drain nicely. Large enough to keep the mud away on damp days, and good tracking, so sliding is almost non existent.

Good mix of open, semi wooded and wooded holes. Course is very flexible in the distance and toughness, and finds a good mix. Open holes have nicely defined fairways, using the long grass as areas to avoid. Water comes into play on a few holes.

Several bathroom locations on site, plenty of parking, nice pavilion and a playground for the kids.
Cons: Long walks to holes 5 and 10. Course is flat, so there isn't any elevation challenges. A few of the open holes are too wide open.
Other Thoughts: If you like long courses, this one is for you. Pin placements in the long positions make this one of the longer courses in the Mid Atlantic region. Unfortunately, a few of the holes, the length is really its only challenge, because it is so wide open.

A canal comes into play on about 1/3 of the holes, and based on pin placement, can be either very nerve racking or not too much of an issue.

The flatness of the course makes it easier for young children, people with mobility issues and cart pullers to traverse the course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.