Erwinna, PA 
Tinicum Park Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #11 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Flat, long

2-4    5/13/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: patlgn
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, clean course.
Cons: Fairly boring course to play. I played two rounds there in one day and by the second many of the holes were blurring together. Almost all the holes are very flat. Most of the holes are pretty open and not that challenging. Of the wooded holes, one lacks any clear lanes and the other two are just narrow straight-aways. Also, poor teepads (or lack thereof); all they have is gravel, which has been worn down to uneven pits.
Other Thoughts: Could do with better signage on how to get from hole to hole.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tinicum

1    12/31/2013   12/31/2013
Review By: seanyboyhoward
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It had 18 holes.
Wooded holes were challenging.
Cons: -Signage from hole to hole was terrible. You have to walk through the middle of other fairways to get to certain holes. Glad there wasnt anyone else playing. It gives the location of the next tee on previous tee, should be next to hole.
-Tee boxes are not level, pretty big divots.
-Pulling into parking lot there is no directions to the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: Course was boring, nothing special. If you are in the area travel the extra distance to Nockamixon.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This course is great!

2-4    11/8/2013   11/8/2013
Review By: thecoasterman589
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/9/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *A good combination of wooded holes and open holes
*Some holes with water hazards to make it challenging
*Very scenic location
*Well maintained tee boxes and baskets
*Fairway and rough on some holes
*Ninth hole is near the parking lot so you can go back to your car
*Not many places you could lose a disc
*Near some other courses (Nockamixon and Alexandria)
*Nineteenth hole for putting practice
*Very clean
Cons: *A lot of walking between holes
*Pretty Flat
*Sign missing on sixteenth hole
Other Thoughts: This is a course that will make you want to come back and play again

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tinicum is the Bomb

1    11/7/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 34  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - This place has a 19th Hole for putting
- There is A B and C pin placements
- The signage was pretty good
- The 18th hole was a BEAST
- It was almost like a mini clubhouse between the 9 and 10th hole. There was a parking lot, bathroom, and another practice basket.
- This course is half open, like 5, it's short but uphill and completely open and 18 is open but partly downhill
- You just want to let your discs fly because this course is so great.
- Good dirt tee boxes
- The baskets were terrific
- There was even a marked "fairway" on some holes
- NO garbage on the course
- NO runners that you can hit
Cons: - I wasn't sure what pin placement it was
- Some holes had long walks to the next one, and it took me 5 minutes to find the tee sometimes
- Some tee boxes were worn away
Other Thoughts: Not many other thoughts. This course was awesome!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Get out the Big Gun

5+    9/4/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: Fishfood
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun 18 hole course when you want to just let your discs fly. Long course, less technical than most courses of this level. Good for the long thrower who has accuracy to back it up. Some of the ruff is disc swallowing deep. Well maintained, plays in multiple pin postions, gravel tee pads, signage is o.k. and Mach III baskets are nice.
Cons: Signs could use some updating and the tee pads are a mess, in serious need of maintenance. Some of the front 9 holes are challenging but it's mostly run and gun course.
Other Thoughts: I like Tinicum Park, it was the course I cut my teeth on over 10 years ago...I still like to play it, but it's not a course I want to regularly play b/c it's just not that challenging of a course. Good to air out your discs and keep them in the fairway, but other than that, it's always fun to visit here for 18 holes and a sore arm.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Learning Disc Golf Here

5+    9/7/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: Akavar
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For those of us older players this is a flat course - easier on the knees. There are plenty of wide open holes nicely balanced with a few narrow tree lined holes.

The canal and towpath add a little bit challenge on a few holes. I love 18 - it just keeps going on and on with plenty of room on both sides so that if you are off a little bit the penalty is not too high.

Finally, the grass on the fairways is always well maintained. The sight lines on most holes are very good.
Cons: This course always has a problem when it rains. The tees are gravel and get slippery with the smallest amount of rain. Also, there are a few places on the course where you find standing water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: I am learning to disc golf on this course. It is long which helps to build stamina. It has a lot of wide open holes so I do not worry too much about losing discs.

Because this course is so flat a beginner can concentrate on learning to throw and not be constantly challenged by difficult terrain. Also, there is a nice practice area where a beginner can spend all the time they need to get better at the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

no homeboy bias here

5+    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: blazerico
Played: 169  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You're not going to see anything in this review that others have not already said.
-The course is flat and technical on a lot of holes, but there are a bunch of chances to air it out.
-It's easy on your body and cart friendly (building mine soon).
-usually well manicured
-You WILL see wildlife here: eagles, herons, turtles, muskrats......just walk the canal path for a minute.
Cons: -no concrete tees. (I don't think I will up my rating when they do get installed) Concrete will really help after rainy days.
-discs can be easily lost in the canal when water is high/murky/clogged with plant growth.
-benches are falling apart or missing where they used to be
Other Thoughts: Trying to keep it real here and not be biased even though this course is five minutes from my house. I love it here because it is so close and I can get out and play almost any day of the week. It is flat and there are some open holes, but that doesn't mean it is easy by any means. Tinicum can be a challenge to disc golfers of any skill level. I avoided this place for the first few years that I played because I heard it was boring and flat. after the first time i played, I was mad because I hadn't tried it sooner.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, Beautiful Opens

2-4    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: Brendan
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well manicured fairways make the open holes much more aesthetically pleasing.
Park cleanliness in general is spectacular.
Old Shade.
Tree obstacles are typically just trunks and not branches.
Cons: No major elevation changes. (Most times I really want to throw a disc off a cliff)
Tee boxes were mostly puddles when i was last there.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tinicum DGC

5+    5/1/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic park right next to the Delaware River on the PA side. Decent mixture of wooded/open holes but the course definitely favors big arms.
Multiple baskets (A,B,C) at each hole that are rotated regularly.
The course is usually well groomed with defined fairways and rough.
The canal on the west side of the course plays a factor on a couple of holes and will make you think twice about how you approach the basket.
Signage at the hole is accurate and includes a dial that lets you know what the basket location for that day is.
Cons: Variety is a bit lacking, many of the holes are fairly similar. A good technical game is not necessarily required to score well but you definitely need to be able to bomb a drive.
Very flat-elevation changes are one of my favorite qualities of a good DGC and there are none to speak of at Tinicum.
When the course is not well maintained it can be a pain searching through the high stuff for your disc (solution-thow the disc straight!)
Sometimes there are other activities going on at the park (boy scouts, polo, etc) which can get in the way of your game. We had to skip a hole one time because the fairway was occupied by boy scouts camping.
Other Thoughts: You're not going to find the amazing signature holes and variety like you would at some of the other courses nearby but its certainly worth playing. On a nice day its a beautiful place to be outside discin'. There is also a course only a couple of miles away in Alexandria, NJ...you could easily hit them both in an afternoon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid But Unspectacular

1    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a nice county park just across the Jersey border. Three possible basket placements at each hole. Signage is excellent and depicts par, distance and basket location, while a rotating dial at the base of the tee post lets you know if it is in the "A", "B" or "C" position. An arrow is etched into each tee sign pointing you to the next tee off area. Course layout and hole variety are both satisfactory. Numbered Mach III baskets are old but work well. Mowed pathways leading to the field holes are a big help. Benches exist at most of the holes, porta potties are available and parking space is decent.
Cons: Dirt tee off areas, which is a big downer given what the rest of the course offers. Depending on pin placement, holes 5 and 6 play dangerously close to each other. High grass can make it tough to find errant shots. Most holes favor the guy with the big arm. Wind can wreak havoc on your round depending on the time of year you play. The sign for hole 16 is missing as of 5/7/11. Bag poles and the occasional "next tee" arrow would be nice additions to the course.
Other Thoughts: I had heard good things about Tinicum, and must admit I felt a bit disappointed after playing here. While the course is not bad- designer Joe Mela undoubtedly knew what he was doing- it just seems to be missing that little something that could put it into that upper tier of courses. You can tell that at one time, Tinicum was a destination course. Now almost 20 years old, Tinicum reminds me of the once superb athlete who is now a mere mortal- still good but not great. This course lacks that extra level of care and attention given to the super courses of Tyler State Park and Nockamixon that make it stand out. These criticisms aside, it is certainly still a good play and worth your while to visit.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.