Erwinna, PA 
Tinicum Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Road on right OB, narrow trees to a well covered basket.



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 One of the best FLAT courses there is.

5+    9/15/2005   3/3/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall - Tinicum is a very enjoyable course. The park layout is such that it provides exceptional variety to the DGC layout. There are long Open holes, extremely tight technical holes, a few shorter (yet still technical) holes, and some excellent tweener holes that mix the power requirement with the technical requirement - offering the opportunity for creative shot making, rollers, upside down shots, etc.
There is camping ONSITE, which is a big plus, as well as multiple bathrooms, and a nice shelter, and parking in multiple locations.
Tees are natural - but due to its location - the amount of foot traffic hasn't really degraded the natural tees into the ruts you see at many other places.
Cons: The park administration has put the DGC on the bottom of the priority totem pole, and on several occasions has forced planned tournaments to defer to other park activities like weddings, or polo matches.
Also - as has been mentioned elsewhere, mowing of the big open areas sometimes becomes abbreviated, making mid summer play a little more difficult due to waste high grass.
Location is a little bit of a drawback - as Tinicum is located along the Delaware River maybe 40 minutes north of Philadelphia and 1/2 hr south of Allentown - not really close to much of anything other than a bunch of B&B's (which could also be a PRO - if traveling w/the family)
Other Thoughts: Tinicum is a favorite of mine for sure - lot's of just really good holes, and ovreall an excellent mix. Joe Mela did a great job with this one. It's sad that the Eric Yetter Memorial no longer plays this course, but with the park conflicts in the past - it's understandable. If planning a visit through NE Pennsylvania - don't pass up Tinicum - it's definitely worthy.
The course may not be the easiest to follow the first time through - as there are a couple spots where the pin and next tee are separated by short walks - but it's not hard at all if you've got a map.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tinicum!!!

5+    2/28/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: Noel757
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open for the most part, shorter holes are heavily wooded. Good mix to make this a true par "54"course just like its ancestors. Longer holes (such as 18, 800 feet) look beautiful in the spring & summer and require accurate drives but are still reachable on second shots after a poor drive (easier in the fall & winter)
Cons: As some have said before, lots of festivals, dogs that stray from their owners, & casual players who just don't give a crap (which can ruin your day if you let them).
Other Thoughts: While there are some cons this is still a great course (mostly since Worlds came thru) just be patient or tell ignorant passerbys please excuse me, Thanks!!

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course ... well worth playing

5+    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 22  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tinicum is a fun challenging and well maintained course. The course offers a good blend of open, wooded and semi open/wooded holes. There aren't any extreme elevation changes, but the distance of the course makes up for it. Hole 18 in the c pin position is a challenging 800 footer. (Although this is not the best hole on the course) The canal comes into play on a couple of the holes, including hole 12 where the basket is next to the canal path. My personal favorite holes are 7-9 all in the woods including an extremely narrow fairway, on hole 7, surrounded by pine trees on either side.
The course is extremely well marked and the recent addition of pin location indicators was a much needed upgrade.
There are also restrooms water fountains and picnic areas located on the course. Tinicum also offers camping adjacent to the course for those who are traveling in the area - and there are several excellent courses within 30mins of Tinicum.
Cons: Some of the tees could use gravel to level them out - they are getting really worn.
Also the park service is sometimes lax in keeping the rough tamed - especially during the summer months.
Other Thoughts: Due to the course location there aren't many restaurants close to the course.
The park hosts several festivals a year which make the course mostly unplayable.
The locals have turned the practice basket into hole 19 but good luck finding the tee marker - I found it entirely by accident this weekend.
This course is a must play if you are in the area playing DG courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Course!

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a great course and is my favorite! It's mostly flat, easy on the legs and lightly hilly in spots. This course sports one tee per hole with 3 possible pin positions (A, B, or C). Tinicum plays very long when holes are in the C position. Great mix of long open holes and some technical wooded holes makes for a fun challenge. The nearby creek comes into play on a few holes. Nicely defined mowed fairways, greens and short rough (looks like a ball golf course). Not a deep woods course. Trees are scattered nicely so you can get your shots off.

Gorgeous scenery. Very peaceful setting with no pedestrian traffic. Professionally designed and feels like a world class course. Natural tees and great signage, so no problem navigating the course. Bathrooms and well water spigots available. Eateries in nearby Frenchtown, NJ or Milford, NJ.
Cons: The parks dept. sometimes doesn't get the chance to mow the rough on some of the holes, so it can get a bit high. Can't blame the course club members for that! But this problem may have been resolved by now.
Other Thoughts: Several holes have nice big pine trees and is cool in the Summer. Hole 18 is awesome, it's long and straight with a well manicured fairway with rough on the sides. Around 800 feet, you will love the view of this hole from the tee. A few holes are wide open so you get the chance to rip it.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun open course, good camping onsite

1    8/15/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course plays and feels like a John Houck, Austin-area course... and that's a good thing. mostly flat with a few gentle elevation changes in the meadow, this could be a piece of Texas, and the hills of trees surrounding the course could be central Texas hill country -- a very pleasant setting for a course. When I say the course feels like a John Houck design, I mean that in a very positive way. The holes make very good use of the available land and are designed in such a way that most of them will force score separation between good and bad throws. The signature hole -- for me -- is not hole 18 that other reviewers have mentioned, but rather hole 2, a ~600' hole across rolling hills with OB on the right that requires a low-ceiling shot or roller under a canopy of large trees followed by a precise upshot to a basket protected by loose trees in front and a huge evergreen tree in back that will turn over-long approach shots into very difficult birdie-three putts from inside the pine needles.

I hope the park eventually implements a system to show which pin the basket is in -- that would speed up rounds immensely, saving you from having to search out the basket placement.

The one time I played the course, the fairways were well mowed and the grass on the meadow holes was very conducive to roller shots. Debris/trash/fallen branches, etc... were very minimal.

Overall, not a super challenging course -- even with mostly long baskets -- but well designed, and with enough variety, that you shouldn't get board playing several consecutive rounds. Great place to practice roller shots as well.
Cons: Biggest cons here are that the unmowed areas -- the rough -- can be really hard to find discs in. And they underbrush is a highly likely place for ticks. When we were there, the meadows were being used by a small herd of deer, so we made sure to wear Permetherin-treated pants/socks and plenty of DEET to help keep the deer ticks at bay in the overgrown areas. We didn't experience any problems, but we were well prepared -- I'd advise others to take similar precautions here when walking through the tall grass in the meadow.

The other con -- mentioned by others -- is the lack of a system to show which basket placement is in use. Other nearby courses -- like Tyler -- have a great system with a little rotating dial that indicates the basket as being in A, B, or C. This simple fix would aid the course playability immensely.

Another con (in my book) is completely subjective, so I'm not using it to dock points form the score, but I mention it solely for others like me: this course has very, very little elevation. I love elevation shots, and so many other PA courses have great elevation changes that it is a little disappointing to come to Tinicum and be on mostly flat ground. It is still very fun to play, but lacks the thrill and awe that would come from having a few great elevation holes. When I first got to the course and saw the tall, tree-covered hills behind the park, I had hopes that one of them would come into play, but alas -- no luck there. Again, I'm not docking the score, but just mentioning this for other elevation junkies like myself.
Other Thoughts: My favorite feature of the course -- it is rare to get to camp right on a disc golf course, and Tinicum makes that possible. On a recent disc golf roadtrip, we camped one night at Tinicum. Camping is pretty decent - just call the parks department on Monday or Tuesday and they'll reserve a campsite for you. Ground is flat and root-free, and you wake up right next to the course. It's great to wake up, grab your bag and start a round. So props to Tinicum for camping convenience - though make sure to call the parks in advance, because it is hard to track down a ranger at 9:30 p.m. to explain you want a campsite (which is what we had to do). Much, much easier if you plan ahead and reserve a site in advance.


For us (a Thursday night) camping was $15 and the campsite was in a great location with firewood, clean picnic tables, good fire pits, a very basic bathroom (no lights or showers), and no one else around. Great place to camp, and the ranger was very helpful when he came by around ~10:30 to check us in.

To me, the camping convenience is one of the best features of this course -- especially if you are doing a trip and visiting several PA courses. Camp here, then head up the road to Nockamixon, Lehigh Parkway, Jordan Creek, Tyler, etc...

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Solid layout, worth the trip

2-4    5/17/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 9/23/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of holes. Some low canopy shots that reward rollers; short and long; hyzers and anhyzers; wide open shots and brutal gauntlets. 3 or 4 pin positions per hole for variety. The gorgeous 13th hole even has trees, meadow and a canal all in play in under 400 feet. Signs spell out the hole well. Flushing toilets, picnic tables and all the amenities of a state park... plus camping. New markers to tell you the pin position, added sometime in summer of 2008 (and I upgraded my rating to 4 stars to reflect this).
Cons: Almost no elevation changes as it's in a creek valley. Messy gravel tees with the tee markers often buried. Meadow fairways a bit too narrow, the rough too unkempt for my taste (though meadows were mowed for September play, making it more appropriate rough). Bring plenty of tick spray!
Other Thoughts: I didn't think hole 18 was all that.. just a long meadow hole with 30 feet of mild trees at the end. Hole 13 and the 7-8-9 gauntlet holes were my faves. The best part was when our novice friend threw her disc into the canal on 12 and we convinced her to go in after it. For those who are wondering, the canal is very muddy, very cold, and very disgusting, but results in great wet T-shirt action. She never found the disc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5/27/2007   6/19/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 239  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, Excellent signs and plays long. Also, there were trash cans at a lot of tees which definitely helps with potential litter issues.
Cons: #9 was unmarked and it took us a while to figure out where to throw from. Otherwise, none!
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Baker Farm in Chili, NY. Both are relatively flat although Tinicum offers more hole variety than Baker as several holes play through some wooded/lightly wooded areas. There is also a canal with some very soft mud on the banks (don't ask how I know that :) ) that may come into play on a couple of holes.

Overall I really enjoyed playing this course and would recommend it to anyone that's passing through the area.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Nice course!

5+    11/24/2012   5/24/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole course with baskets in very good shape. Course mixes a nice number of open holes with wooden holes and a few very tight fairways. A few different pin layouts are available, with the shorter ones being birdie runs and the longer layouts will challenge your ability to both long drive and long approach. Canal behind a few of the holes does offer an additional challenge in not overthowing a shot. Well maintained. Very little in the way of elevation, but whatever is there is utilized well.
Cons: There was a little bit of cleanup work being done on 7, 8, and 13. Most of this was done by Sandy, I presume, and is not the reason I changed my score. If you can't bomb it, this will be a tough course for you to score very well on. 7 and 13 are truly tight and may be close to "pinballesque".
Other Thoughts: Can't complain. The BCDGA does a great job and locals maintain it well. Hopefully the cleanup from Sandy goes fast and well. This is easily still very playable despite all the damage she did.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.