Miami (Kendall), FL 
Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - East Share
Uploaded By: mymusicveins Hole #12 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: Along the wall in the shade up ahead



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
K-1 Review

5+    1/2/2016   1/21/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good mix of open and wooded shots
Good mix of short and long distance
Good Club action
Clean
Pin positions changed regularly
Locals are helpful
optional flightpaths for most baskets
the map is easy to follow
There is a nice buildup for the big arm shots.
Bathrooms, although not near the course
Cons: Tee pads in bad shape, #2 is fading spray paint on the sidewalk; durable paint would be acceptable.
Signs are hilariously bad
Thousands of giant Banana Spiders in the Summer.
Loosing discs in the heavy undergrowth
Throwing over active roads



Other Thoughts: This is the main park in South Miami that people play. It may not be the greatest, but it is challenging in certain pin positions and 18 is always a threat. There is an active club here, I see they bought a new practice basket, I think they could use new signs and fix the pavers on the tee pads that use them. It is a little far for me to join the club. There is also another course in the same park available to play which is cool. I prefer this one, but I wish just small upgrades are made..the baskets are fine though.


0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

K1 I was hoping for more

1    11/7/2015   12/20/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 41  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Concrete tees (altough short and inconsistent) and a quite a few multi tee holes
-Variety of open/wooded holes and multiple pin positions
-Course/Park upkeep. Didn't see any trash in the park at all
Cons:
-Holes too close to fence lines, and some over/near roads
-Odd layout navigation wise. Tee pads in places that just make you wonder. A few long walks between holes. Sometimes it's not easy to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts:
This course has the basics... The park & course are pretty well kept. It has a few basic designed holes, but most felt pretty lacking to me. The course uses the roads and fences to shape many holes. While that creates decent throw lines, most of the holes have unnecessary hazards. No wow factor here. This course really did not leave me wanting to come back. I wasn't very interested in checking out the West course after my round here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    3/7/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 273  Reviewed: 272  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid if mostly open course through a city park. Considering the lack of trees and elevation, there is a good amount of variety and a good amount of fun. A wealth of big oaks create gaps, protect baskets and even enforce a little shot-shaping. There aren't really any signature holes, but the course as a whole plays pretty well. A few of the holes brush up against a tree line on the edge of the open spaces that most of the fairways traverse.
Also, none of the signage uses the phrase Kendall East. It is referred to as K1 so that's what you should be looking for. There is a little confusion at the very start about which hole 1 and which hole 2 goes with which set of 18 here, but after that, it's pretty easy to follow the layout here. Tees and signs are adequate. Just remember to take a glance at the tee sign to figure out the direction from the basket to the next tee.
Cons:
Even though nothing stands out here, it would probably be a 3.0 if not for the holes that cross parking areas. If you could picture the most standard collection of holes, the most basic course, than you have a pretty good image of Kendall East.
But, there is considerable interaction between fairways and park roads and a few places that force throws directly over parking areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice mix of trees & open, but not well marked

1    11/26/2014   11/26/2014
Review By: dkarlan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice mix of trees and open space
Cons: once you find the tee, fairly well marked w/r/t where the basket is. but often the next tee is quite far from the last basket, leaving one wandering around a bit wondering where to go next.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice break in Miami

1    6/28/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 45  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage and baskets with not too much interference from park dwellers.
Cons: There are some design issues. For example, one hole requires you to throw over a road. Some other holes could be adjusted to avoid spiders and heavy brush, and also make it easier to spot baskets and improve the flow of the course. For example, hole #9 tee is next to a building's parking lot and holes' 10-11 were different but not enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is well-maintained with some small design issues. If you are playing EAST, park close to the skating park since hole #1 is directly behind it (backside of skate park). If you are playing WEST, you can park by the skating rink as well since the information board and hole #18 for East are nearby. I did not play West, but it seemed to wrap around the park more, whereas East was mostly in an open area and led you back to the skating area. I enjoyed the course, and would recommend the park for anyone wanting a decent challenge. There wasn't a need for bug spray, but I would definitely recommend bringing a long stick or extender to clear out spiders if needed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    2/12/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Fun course to play. In my 3 yrs. of playing, I only found one course that wasn't fun and that was because navigation non-existent.
* Nice setting.
* Well maintained fairways.
* Concrete T-pads.
Cons: * As a first time player of this course I found navigation below par. I never did find one of the holes. I think it was #13, but I'm not sure.
* The T-pad signs were nice but it was often difficult to know which of the multiple basket locations was the one in use. It would be nice if, when the basket locations are moved, a tag was place on the T-pad sign showing which location was in use.
* I have never before seen a course where the navigation to the next T-pad is on the previous T-pad. I'm used to it being somewhere near and in view from the basket. I found myself forgetting to look for that info while at the T-pad. If I did look, I often found that I had forgetting what it said by the time I finished playing the hole.
* Lacks elevation change. One can not fault the course designer for this. After all this is south Florida. The nearest thing to a hill is 100 miles away.
* Although the course was fun, it was kind of boring. Fairways were either open fields or had a few trees. Not many holes required any thought as to how to approach the basket.
Other Thoughts: I've played courses is many parts of the country but haven't reviewed most of them. Many courses, because of their location, are going to score higher only because the topography, geology, and flora make them more interesting and varied. This is a fairly well done course for the area. I'd play it again if I'm in the area. I would recommended that the people who maintain the course do so more signage. It is my feeling that a good course should be idiot proof to navigate for someone who has never been there before.

Supposedly there is a Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - Wast but I never found it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/8/2014   1/8/2014
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several easy birdie ops , solid Discatcher baskets .
Cons: Slightly spread out and several repeatable shots , 3 pins on mounds surrounded by junk - need work to clear ( maybe scheduled already ) 14 tee is VERY hard to find if you are not looking hard for it - it is at a dead end driveway with a doorway cut out of the side of a chain link fence - have to really be looking to see it . Pathway to 6 and 18 is twisting with several forks - look for the red tape on branches .
Other Thoughts: Copy of the map is MANDATORY for this one , I referenced it on half the holes .

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in one

5+    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: MiamiDGBryan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Only place I know of with 2, 18 hole courses at the same park. Multiple tees on most holes for begginers and advamced players. Multiple basket placements and the placements are rotated so that courses have different difficulty levels depending when you go. The grass is well maintained, bugs are a non factor, bathrooms, water fountains, and even a vending machine that sells discs in the center of the softball fields. All in all with the variety of holes, the only thing it's missing is water hazards and elevation changes. Online map, clearly marked tee signs, cement tees, and next hole markers on signs are a huge plus for new players to the course. Overall great course
Cons: A couple tees are hard to find after last basket if you never played there before, but online map shows them clearly. On weekends sometimes some people set up barbecues in the middle of fairways and baskets making certain holes unplayable and locals have no idea what you are doing.
Other Thoughts: Great mix of shots required an great upkeep by local park

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Was nice years ago

5+    3/3/2013   3/8/2013
Review By: mutantseacow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: None sorry
Cons: Fence and or roads on 17 of 18 holes, giant throws required, several homer holes.
A shadow of what it used to be.
Other Thoughts: it's a course, way down in crowded Kendall. The oak trees are nice, too many roads and fences come into play, last 4 holes very difficult. Luck good or bad is a major factor on this course.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    6/5/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 66  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable course to play and the park offers lots of amenities that could make this a great family day at the park. It is well maintained with bathrooms, a skateboard park, softball fields, and walking paths.

The course is mostly flat and it appears that it has been altered several times which is evidenced by several unused cement teepads. The first 5 are in some trees, that are spaced relatively far apart, and are used well. Ending in a hard long dogleg right. Six through 14 and most of 15 take place in and around a big open area. Some difficulty here with the ones near the trees and the out of bounds on 13 (which the map is not correct on. More on that below). Sixteen through eighteen are back in some trees. Depending on which tee you play and which position the pin is in these three are probably the most difficult. Especially the 18c. Many of the baskets have at least 2 pin positions and some have 3.
Cons: The course is not terribly challenging but they have done well with what they have. The wind constantly blows here and is something you will have to deal with.

On fairways 4 - 7 you will deal with a fence that is out of bounds and if your disc goes over it is gone. The fence is tall, barb wired, and I could not find a way in. Basket 10 is a joke. The tee pad points you to go around the very large and bug and briar infested area on your right. However, for some reason the throw is now routed through an opening up in this area and if you miss you are not going to like it. Thirteen has an OB fence also and if the basket is in the right corner don't go over it. Retrieving a disc here is possible but not fun or safe to do. Twelve throws at a wall about 8 feet high and on the other side is very busy road. Going over it could be disastrous. Fifteen throws over a well used park road and the view to the left does not give you a lot of viewing to time a throw. The map is incorrect for 13 and 14. Thirteen is across the road in the grass area and the teepad marked for 13 on the map is 14's teepad.
Other Thoughts: This area is not a hotbed for disc golf and there are few courses to play. That being said, while the course has issues with safety and a couple of very odd fairways it is a decent place to play if allowances are made for this. I would not go out of my way to play here but was there for 2 months and played it at least once a week. It cured my fix and I got to play the southern most course in the continental 48.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.