Miami (Kendall), FL 
Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - East Share
Uploaded By: mymusicveins Hole #16 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 282ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Straight ahead buried in a pocket, or down and off to the right after 90 degree bend



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun

5+    6/5/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable course to play and the park offers lots of amenities that could make this a great family day at the park. It is well maintained with bathrooms, a skateboard park, softball fields, and walking paths.

The course is mostly flat and it appears that it has been altered several times which is evidenced by several unused cement teepads. The first 5 are in some trees, that are spaced relatively far apart, and are used well. Ending in a hard long dogleg right. Six through 14 and most of 15 take place in and around a big open area. Some difficulty here with the ones near the trees and the out of bounds on 13 (which the map is not correct on. More on that below). Sixteen through eighteen are back in some trees. Depending on which tee you play and which position the pin is in these three are probably the most difficult. Especially the 18c. Many of the baskets have at least 2 pin positions and some have 3.
Cons: The course is not terribly challenging but they have done well with what they have. The wind constantly blows here and is something you will have to deal with.

On fairways 4 - 7 you will deal with a fence that is out of bounds and if your disc goes over it is gone. The fence is tall, barb wired, and I could not find a way in. Basket 10 is a joke. The tee pad points you to go around the very large and bug and briar infested area on your right. However, for some reason the throw is now routed through an opening up in this area and if you miss you are not going to like it. Thirteen has an OB fence also and if the basket is in the right corner don't go over it. Retrieving a disc here is possible but not fun or safe to do. Twelve throws at a wall about 8 feet high and on the other side is very busy road. Going over it could be disastrous. Fifteen throws over a well used park road and the view to the left does not give you a lot of viewing to time a throw. The map is incorrect for 13 and 14. Thirteen is across the road in the grass area and the teepad marked for 13 on the map is 14's teepad.
Other Thoughts: This area is not a hotbed for disc golf and there are few courses to play. That being said, while the course has issues with safety and a couple of very odd fairways it is a decent place to play if allowances are made for this. I would not go out of my way to play here but was there for 2 months and played it at least once a week. It cured my fix and I got to play the southern most course in the continental 48.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but not pretty

1    2/2/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are always a plus . . . see also cons.

2) Awesome signs with all of the info needed and a map of each hole. Distance, Par, Hole # are included. Alternate baskets all indicated also.

3) Plenty of options for basket placement on most or all holes. I like that the course can be changed up from time to time.

4) Decent variety in shot shaping needed here. You have to be able to throw both ways to score well here.

5) Nice variety of foliage density with the tighter wooded holes, the more park-like holes with a smattering of key trees along with a couple wide open holes for you to go for an easy birdie.

6) Excellent distance variety on this course with holes from the mid 100's up to themed 300's. This definitely forces you to carry a lot of discs to be able to throw them on the appropriate holes. Excellent design feature in my opinion.

7) Beginner friendly but still challenging. Nearly no chance to lose a disc unless you throw it in the road and someone drives over it or picks it up and drives off.

8) Lots of artificial OB here like fences, roads, walls etc . . . help to define the course and the intended way to play. Normally I don't like this but it is needed on this course.

9) I got a chance to whip out a few rollers which is something I always appreciate on a course. They are fun to throw and it is simply an alternative to a long air shot.

10) The one really unique hole had a raised mound . . . it actually made me think it was an old Indian Burial Mound, but I didn't think that would be allowed.
Cons: 1) The concrete tees are inconsistent, some of them are made from concrete steppers placed next to each other to form a large area. I hate inconsistency on tees . . .but these are better than teeing from the dirt.

2) Dangerous throws on occasion along the road, and the hole that goes over the road. I could also see a pedestrian getting hit here if they aren't paying attention to where they are walking.

3) Relatively flat course with only minor rolling terrain. The elevation change is most dramatic on the one hole with the elevated mound basket placement. That's about as big as it gets (3').

4) Old baskets are getting a little ratty and rusty in spots. Some of the baskets seemed to be bent and might not catch as well as they did originally or a newer basket. It is what it is I guess.

5) Lots of trash visible in the peripheral areas along fences and in the woods.

6) A couple of confusing transitions between holes leaves you looking for the next tee on occasion.
Other Thoughts: It is obvious this is about the best in the area. The course was pretty busy when I was there and it seems to be wore in pretty good. I enjoyed the shots despite the cons of the roads in play, the teepads being inconsistent, and the baskets being old. As a whole the course is challenging but still fun to play. I give the golf side o the course a much higher grade than the total rating because all of these other things take away from the experience, leaving this course just average to slightly above average overall. If I was in Miami I would play it again, and the only reason I came here was because it was the best course on my way to key West for a wedding.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs improvement

1    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No entrance fee
No water hazard
Concrete pads
Friendly locals
Variety of shots
Cons: Poorly designed
Difficult to locate tees and baskets
Long pins (position "C") well over 350 feet each, not beginner friendly
No bathrooms
No water fountains
Other Thoughts: Long course with mix of wooded and open shots. Many baskets near road. #15 forces you to throw over road with car travel.
If you go, make sure you find a local to show you around, else you won't find tee for #3 or #15 (Unmarked- Turn left at #14 basket to pad near "hill".Throw over road. Basket is set deep into alcove. Without a guide, first time visitor ,add 1 hr+ to try to find tees and baskets. Second game allows you to enjoy the course, which can be fun. I found long pins too much for players without 300 feet drives. Our best "Recreational" level player scored +18

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shadow of its former self?

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete T-pads, 2 per hole on most holes
- Good use of the available land, some creative holes.
- Practice basket / sign board at start
- Beginner friendly
- Plenty of trash cans, use em!
Cons: - Poor signage
- Course is out and back, doesn't allow for a short round.
- Some baskets are difficult to find.
- Lack of restrooms
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, I feel that this course, as is, is very average (hence the 2.5). There were a couple places where I couldn't find the next tee, like from 6 -> 7. A next tee sign at 6's basket and other baskets where you can't see the next tee would improve the course be letting allowing new players easy navigation of the holes. (if your going to play this course, hole 7 is on the other side of the parking lot from 6)
I really liked that there were 2 t pads and multiple pin locations for most holes, however, many of the tee signs were ruined to the point you can't read them. Some of these were difficult to find where exactly the baskets were (10, I think, is a good example).
Improving the signage of the entire course can be pretty inexpensive and a great way of improving the course, this would easily improve my score to above 3 as the course has a good setup. It seems like this course has just been sort of neglected for some time.

That being said, it seems like this park is the place to go as far as disc golf in the Miami area, so I'd definitely recommend it if your in the area and need your disc golf fix!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.