Miami (Kendall), FL 
Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - East Share
Uploaded By: mymusicveins Hole #2 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Pretty much directly in front of you in the shade down the fairway



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Worth playing! but not a standout

5+    3/26/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: armiller
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: -A decent course in an area without lots of disc golf options
-One of two 18 hole courses in the same place, and it's less crowded (by other park inhabitants) than K2, the west course
-No fees, good parking, and the park is well-maintained
-Baskets, though aged, are good (I prefer Mach to Chainstar)
-Multiple pin locations -- what really got me hooked on this course is when I played it on the "long" layout; it makes you feel amazing when you get birdies, and makes you work to save par after even slight miscues - my 2.5 rating is for the harder layout; 2.0 or even 1.5 if in the short pins
-Few places to lose discs! (though I've managed...)

-Some highlights:
1) good forehand shot needed (RHFH) to get past trees for a shot at birdie
3) tricky shot along the OB street, requiring precision to get over the short fence but stay under some trees; one location is in the "island" between the two lanes of the street
8) distance required, and there are some early obstacles to avoid; one location is a nice basket up on a mound, one is in a nice "tree-enclosed" green, and even the short location presents a challenge
11) fairly long with a partially obstructed tee; all pins require adequate power and line-shaping to get a two; wind frequently factors in disc selection
12) now throwing a fairly long shot again, with opposite wind; slightly uphill, and the long basket is nestled up against a wall; the short basket requires a good line to get into a somewhat sheltered green
15) long drive either over the OB park road or layup before; two of the three hole locations are particularly challenging/commendable: one nestled in among some trees on the far side of the street, and one maybe 100' past the street with a pesky bush in the "green"
18) tough in all pin locations; I love the long, where it's a legit par 4 requiring a good layup and a challenging approach to have birdie possibilities
Cons: -One of those courses where it feels holes are kinda placed wherever they fit; a couple of these don't really feel like golf shots (4, 9, 10, 13, 17 all come to mind - but even these are fun to play)
-At least one hole (5, in middle/long positions) is pretty much impossible to birdie because it requires such a crazy dogleg to the right; there are a couple others where you have no idea what shot the hole is "designed" for. This is likely because trees have grown since the course was designed.
-Two holes throw over a park street, and it's common to have people picknicking, kite-flying, or playing catch/softball in "fairways," on average once per 18 holes; this is a byproduct of disc golf not being a big sport in this area (the problem is easy enough to solve with communication or occasional hole-skipping)
-Navigation isn't stellar, partly because of the pin location issue and partly because of a parking lot and street between some baskets and the next tee. The first time I played, I skipped at least one hole and threw to 2 or 3 wrong baskets before realizing my mistake.
Other Thoughts: I believe this is the oldest course in the area. It may have been better when new in the 90s, but both the park and the game have changed since then. Changes to the park have altered some holes and forced course managers to move a hole or two. Tree growth has removed some lines that were probably present 20 years ago. Longer discs (and forehand shots) have removed some of the challenges that were originally designed into the course.

K1 has grown on me! This is a course that's quick to play, and there aren't many around, so I play it often. It doesn't feel like a full day of golf after just one round (particularly when baskets are short), so I sometimes play twice or move over to K2 (west) for a second round.


1    3/7/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 275  Reviewed: 274  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid if mostly open course through a city park. Considering the lack of trees and elevation, there is a good amount of variety and a good amount of fun. A wealth of big oaks create gaps, protect baskets and even enforce a little shot-shaping. There aren't really any signature holes, but the course as a whole plays pretty well. A few of the holes brush up against a tree line on the edge of the open spaces that most of the fairways traverse.
Also, none of the signage uses the phrase Kendall East. It is referred to as K1 so that's what you should be looking for. There is a little confusion at the very start about which hole 1 and which hole 2 goes with which set of 18 here, but after that, it's pretty easy to follow the layout here. Tees and signs are adequate. Just remember to take a glance at the tee sign to figure out the direction from the basket to the next tee.
Cons:
Even though nothing stands out here, it would probably be a 3.0 if not for the holes that cross parking areas. If you could picture the most standard collection of holes, the most basic course, than you have a pretty good image of Kendall East.
But, there is considerable interaction between fairways and park roads and a few places that force throws directly over parking areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    6/5/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 69  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable course to play and the park offers lots of amenities that could make this a great family day at the park. It is well maintained with bathrooms, a skateboard park, softball fields, and walking paths.

The course is mostly flat and it appears that it has been altered several times which is evidenced by several unused cement teepads. The first 5 are in some trees, that are spaced relatively far apart, and are used well. Ending in a hard long dogleg right. Six through 14 and most of 15 take place in and around a big open area. Some difficulty here with the ones near the trees and the out of bounds on 13 (which the map is not correct on. More on that below). Sixteen through eighteen are back in some trees. Depending on which tee you play and which position the pin is in these three are probably the most difficult. Especially the 18c. Many of the baskets have at least 2 pin positions and some have 3.
Cons: The course is not terribly challenging but they have done well with what they have. The wind constantly blows here and is something you will have to deal with.

On fairways 4 - 7 you will deal with a fence that is out of bounds and if your disc goes over it is gone. The fence is tall, barb wired, and I could not find a way in. Basket 10 is a joke. The tee pad points you to go around the very large and bug and briar infested area on your right. However, for some reason the throw is now routed through an opening up in this area and if you miss you are not going to like it. Thirteen has an OB fence also and if the basket is in the right corner don't go over it. Retrieving a disc here is possible but not fun or safe to do. Twelve throws at a wall about 8 feet high and on the other side is very busy road. Going over it could be disastrous. Fifteen throws over a well used park road and the view to the left does not give you a lot of viewing to time a throw. The map is incorrect for 13 and 14. Thirteen is across the road in the grass area and the teepad marked for 13 on the map is 14's teepad.
Other Thoughts: This area is not a hotbed for disc golf and there are few courses to play. That being said, while the course has issues with safety and a couple of very odd fairways it is a decent place to play if allowances are made for this. I would not go out of my way to play here but was there for 2 months and played it at least once a week. It cured my fix and I got to play the southern most course in the continental 48.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but not pretty

1    2/2/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 895  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees are always a plus . . . see also cons.

2) Awesome signs with all of the info needed and a map of each hole. Distance, Par, Hole # are included. Alternate baskets all indicated also.

3) Plenty of options for basket placement on most or all holes. I like that the course can be changed up from time to time.

4) Decent variety in shot shaping needed here. You have to be able to throw both ways to score well here.

5) Nice variety of foliage density with the tighter wooded holes, the more park-like holes with a smattering of key trees along with a couple wide open holes for you to go for an easy birdie.

6) Excellent distance variety on this course with holes from the mid 100's up to themed 300's. This definitely forces you to carry a lot of discs to be able to throw them on the appropriate holes. Excellent design feature in my opinion.

7) Beginner friendly but still challenging. Nearly no chance to lose a disc unless you throw it in the road and someone drives over it or picks it up and drives off.

8) Lots of artificial OB here like fences, roads, walls etc . . . help to define the course and the intended way to play. Normally I don't like this but it is needed on this course.

9) I got a chance to whip out a few rollers which is something I always appreciate on a course. They are fun to throw and it is simply an alternative to a long air shot.

10) The one really unique hole had a raised mound . . . it actually made me think it was an old Indian Burial Mound, but I didn't think that would be allowed.
Cons: 1) The concrete tees are inconsistent, some of them are made from concrete steppers placed next to each other to form a large area. I hate inconsistency on tees . . .but these are better than teeing from the dirt.

2) Dangerous throws on occasion along the road, and the hole that goes over the road. I could also see a pedestrian getting hit here if they aren't paying attention to where they are walking.

3) Relatively flat course with only minor rolling terrain. The elevation change is most dramatic on the one hole with the elevated mound basket placement. That's about as big as it gets (3').

4) Old baskets are getting a little ratty and rusty in spots. Some of the baskets seemed to be bent and might not catch as well as they did originally or a newer basket. It is what it is I guess.

5) Lots of trash visible in the peripheral areas along fences and in the woods.

6) A couple of confusing transitions between holes leaves you looking for the next tee on occasion.
Other Thoughts: It is obvious this is about the best in the area. The course was pretty busy when I was there and it seems to be wore in pretty good. I enjoyed the shots despite the cons of the roads in play, the teepads being inconsistent, and the baskets being old. As a whole the course is challenging but still fun to play. I give the golf side o the course a much higher grade than the total rating because all of these other things take away from the experience, leaving this course just average to slightly above average overall. If I was in Miami I would play it again, and the only reason I came here was because it was the best course on my way to key West for a wedding.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but needs improvement

1    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Edward Fowler
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No entrance fee
No water hazard
Concrete pads
Friendly locals
Variety of shots
Cons: Poorly designed
Difficult to locate tees and baskets
Long pins (position "C") well over 350 feet each, not beginner friendly
No bathrooms
No water fountains
Other Thoughts: Long course with mix of wooded and open shots. Many baskets near road. #15 forces you to throw over road with car travel.
If you go, make sure you find a local to show you around, else you won't find tee for #3 or #15 (Unmarked- Turn left at #14 basket to pad near "hill".Throw over road. Basket is set deep into alcove. Without a guide, first time visitor ,add 1 hr+ to try to find tees and baskets. Second game allows you to enjoy the course, which can be fun. I found long pins too much for players without 300 feet drives. Our best "Recreational" level player scored +18

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Shadow of its former self?

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Jermy
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete T-pads, 2 per hole on most holes
- Good use of the available land, some creative holes.
- Practice basket / sign board at start
- Beginner friendly
- Plenty of trash cans, use em!
Cons: - Poor signage
- Course is out and back, doesn't allow for a short round.
- Some baskets are difficult to find.
- Lack of restrooms
Other Thoughts: Bottom line, I feel that this course, as is, is very average (hence the 2.5). There were a couple places where I couldn't find the next tee, like from 6 -> 7. A next tee sign at 6's basket and other baskets where you can't see the next tee would improve the course be letting allowing new players easy navigation of the holes. (if your going to play this course, hole 7 is on the other side of the parking lot from 6)
I really liked that there were 2 t pads and multiple pin locations for most holes, however, many of the tee signs were ruined to the point you can't read them. Some of these were difficult to find where exactly the baskets were (10, I think, is a good example).
Improving the signage of the entire course can be pretty inexpensive and a great way of improving the course, this would easily improve my score to above 3 as the course has a good setup. It seems like this course has just been sort of neglected for some time.

That being said, it seems like this park is the place to go as far as disc golf in the Miami area, so I'd definitely recommend it if your in the area and need your disc golf fix!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.