Miami (Kendall), FL
Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - East Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 167ft.   3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 - Tight shot with basket hidden behind banyon trees.



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    1/8/2014   1/8/2014
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several easy birdie ops , solid Discatcher baskets .
Cons: Slightly spread out and several repeatable shots , 3 pins on mounds surrounded by junk - need work to clear ( maybe scheduled already ) 14 tee is VERY hard to find if you are not looking hard for it - it is at a dead end driveway with a doorway cut out of the side of a chain link fence - have to really be looking to see it . Pathway to 6 and 18 is twisting with several forks - look for the red tape on branches .
Other Thoughts: Copy of the map is MANDATORY for this one , I referenced it on half the holes .

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun

1    2/26/2012   3/13/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice assortment of holes. Good use of available space. Good signage. Nice tee areas. The first few in the trees are short and super fun. The 11, 12, 14 wide open 3 are a nice change from the rest of the course. 16 might just have been my fave in all the trees. 17, the tree tunnel was a nice different hole. Park is generally clean. Locals were helpful and friendly.
Cons: A few tough, easy to miss hole transitions. 6 to 7 was easy to miss. 8 to 9 could be missed, too. Over the road for 15 is a bit poorly done.
Other Thoughts: 9 is a weird toss blind into the woods. 10 is just a bit "blinder". This course will allow you to use a variety of discs and shot choices. I travel with a smaller bag than I use on home courses... and had the right assortment to play well. Overall... I will play here again if I have the opportunity.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Other Reviews are Harsh

1    12/6/2008   12/8/2008
Review By: amanandhisdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Variety of Shots
- Excellent use of Space
- Ability to play (2) 18-hole courses without leaving the park!
- Course appeals to both beginner and advanced player
Cons: - course does wind around a couple of low-traffic park access roads
- signs do not depict where the next tee is, though most are intuitive
Other Thoughts: To complain about what a course doesn't have, ie. hills, seems a bit like whining...how many hills have you seen in the Miami area?

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Florida Course

5+    7/27/2008   7/27/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 30.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a typical Florida Course. Very flat. It's not a bad course but just not all that interesting. The course is flat with a combination of slightly wooded and open holes. There is an opportunity to use quite a few different style shots at this place. A roller is even handy.

Cons: The tee signs are not in good shape. There's a few that are readable but they need to be replaced for the most part. The course is mixed in with a multi use park. The east course is ok in the fact that it's not mixed in with other facilities too much. There are quite a few holes that run along the park entrance roads so I can imagine that discs get run over by cars quite often. For the most part the holes on the east course are pretty easy to find but there are no maps and the tee signs don't help with the location of the next hole.
Other Thoughts: It's the only place ot play in the area so if you live there... go. But.... don't make a special trip to Miami to play here. You'll be disappointed.

A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. I'm just trying to evaluate the course on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Challenge

1    5/14/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging, particularly in the long-to-longs setting. It requires a bit of strategy and offers several good risk-reward opportunities. Plenty of opportunity to crush and throw rollers if you like that sort of thing. :) Very friendly/entertaining group of locals.

Minimal chances to lose discs.

Easy to navigate. Short pads are well-suited for a fun round for beginners.
Cons: A couple of the holes are a bit of a safety concern with the road coming into play. Holes 9-10 are a bit gimmicky with local-friendly trick routes.

Flat as a pancake. Not a lot of shade.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.