Miami (Kendall), FL 
Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - East Share
Uploaded By: mymusicveins Hole #15 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 239ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: Basket is on the other side of the wooden fences/street



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Worth playing! but not a standout

5+    3/26/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: armiller
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: -A decent course in an area without lots of disc golf options
-One of two 18 hole courses in the same place, and it's less crowded (by other park inhabitants) than K2, the west course
-No fees, good parking, and the park is well-maintained
-Baskets, though aged, are good (I prefer Mach to Chainstar)
-Multiple pin locations -- what really got me hooked on this course is when I played it on the "long" layout; it makes you feel amazing when you get birdies, and makes you work to save par after even slight miscues - my 2.5 rating is for the harder layout; 2.0 or even 1.5 if in the short pins
-Few places to lose discs! (though I've managed...)

-Some highlights:
1) good forehand shot needed (RHFH) to get past trees for a shot at birdie
3) tricky shot along the OB street, requiring precision to get over the short fence but stay under some trees; one location is in the "island" between the two lanes of the street
8) distance required, and there are some early obstacles to avoid; one location is a nice basket up on a mound, one is in a nice "tree-enclosed" green, and even the short location presents a challenge
11) fairly long with a partially obstructed tee; all pins require adequate power and line-shaping to get a two; wind frequently factors in disc selection
12) now throwing a fairly long shot again, with opposite wind; slightly uphill, and the long basket is nestled up against a wall; the short basket requires a good line to get into a somewhat sheltered green
15) long drive either over the OB park road or layup before; two of the three hole locations are particularly challenging/commendable: one nestled in among some trees on the far side of the street, and one maybe 100' past the street with a pesky bush in the "green"
18) tough in all pin locations; I love the long, where it's a legit par 4 requiring a good layup and a challenging approach to have birdie possibilities
Cons: -One of those courses where it feels holes are kinda placed wherever they fit; a couple of these don't really feel like golf shots (4, 9, 10, 13, 17 all come to mind - but even these are fun to play)
-At least one hole (5, in middle/long positions) is pretty much impossible to birdie because it requires such a crazy dogleg to the right; there are a couple others where you have no idea what shot the hole is "designed" for. This is likely because trees have grown since the course was designed.
-Two holes throw over a park street, and it's common to have people picknicking, kite-flying, or playing catch/softball in "fairways," on average once per 18 holes; this is a byproduct of disc golf not being a big sport in this area (the problem is easy enough to solve with communication or occasional hole-skipping)
-Navigation isn't stellar, partly because of the pin location issue and partly because of a parking lot and street between some baskets and the next tee. The first time I played, I skipped at least one hole and threw to 2 or 3 wrong baskets before realizing my mistake.
Other Thoughts: I believe this is the oldest course in the area. It may have been better when new in the 90s, but both the park and the game have changed since then. Changes to the park have altered some holes and forced course managers to move a hole or two. Tree growth has removed some lines that were probably present 20 years ago. Longer discs (and forehand shots) have removed some of the challenges that were originally designed into the course.

K1 has grown on me! This is a course that's quick to play, and there aren't many around, so I play it often. It doesn't feel like a full day of golf after just one round (particularly when baskets are short), so I sometimes play twice or move over to K2 (west) for a second round.

K-1 Review

5+    1/2/2016   1/21/2016
Review By: hazimwood
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good mix of open and wooded shots
Good mix of short and long distance
Good Club action
Clean
Pin positions changed regularly
Locals are helpful
optional flightpaths for most baskets
the map is easy to follow
There is a nice buildup for the big arm shots.
Bathrooms, although not near the course
Cons: Tee pads in bad shape, #2 is fading spray paint on the sidewalk; durable paint would be acceptable.
Signs are hilariously bad
Thousands of giant Banana Spiders in the Summer.
Loosing discs in the heavy undergrowth
Throwing over active roads



Other Thoughts: This is the main park in South Miami that people play. It may not be the greatest, but it is challenging in certain pin positions and 18 is always a threat. There is an active club here, I see they bought a new practice basket, I think they could use new signs and fix the pavers on the tee pads that use them. It is a little far for me to join the club. There is also another course in the same park available to play which is cool. I prefer this one, but I wish just small upgrades are made..the baskets are fine though.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

K1 I was hoping for more

1    11/7/2015   12/20/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 57  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Concrete tees (altough short and inconsistent) and a quite a few multi tee holes
-Variety of open/wooded holes and multiple pin positions
-Course/Park upkeep. Didn't see any trash in the park at all
Cons:
-Holes too close to fence lines, and some over/near roads
-Odd layout navigation wise. Tee pads in places that just make you wonder. A few long walks between holes. Sometimes it's not easy to find the next tee.
Other Thoughts:
This course has the basics... The park & course are pretty well kept. It has a few basic designed holes, but most felt pretty lacking to me. The course uses the roads and fences to shape many holes. While that creates decent throw lines, most of the holes have unnecessary hazards. No wow factor here. This course really did not leave me wanting to come back. I wasn't very interested in checking out the West course after my round here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/7/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid if mostly open course through a city park. Considering the lack of trees and elevation, there is a good amount of variety and a good amount of fun. A wealth of big oaks create gaps, protect baskets and even enforce a little shot-shaping. There aren't really any signature holes, but the course as a whole plays pretty well. A few of the holes brush up against a tree line on the edge of the open spaces that most of the fairways traverse.
Also, none of the signage uses the phrase Kendall East. It is referred to as K1 so that's what you should be looking for. There is a little confusion at the very start about which hole 1 and which hole 2 goes with which set of 18 here, but after that, it's pretty easy to follow the layout here. Tees and signs are adequate. Just remember to take a glance at the tee sign to figure out the direction from the basket to the next tee.
Cons:
Even though nothing stands out here, it would probably be a 3.0 if not for the holes that cross parking areas. If you could picture the most standard collection of holes, the most basic course, than you have a pretty good image of Kendall East.
But, there is considerable interaction between fairways and park roads and a few places that force throws directly over parking areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice mix of trees & open, but not well marked

1    11/26/2014   11/26/2014
Review By: dkarlan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice mix of trees and open space
Cons: once you find the tee, fairly well marked w/r/t where the basket is. but often the next tee is quite far from the last basket, leaving one wandering around a bit wondering where to go next.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice break in Miami

1    6/28/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: willsmithfinland
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good signage and baskets with not too much interference from park dwellers.
Cons: There are some design issues. For example, one hole requires you to throw over a road. Some other holes could be adjusted to avoid spiders and heavy brush, and also make it easier to spot baskets and improve the flow of the course. For example, hole #9 tee is next to a building's parking lot and holes' 10-11 were different but not enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: Overall, the course is well-maintained with some small design issues. If you are playing EAST, park close to the skating park since hole #1 is directly behind it (backside of skate park). If you are playing WEST, you can park by the skating rink as well since the information board and hole #18 for East are nearby. I did not play West, but it seemed to wrap around the park more, whereas East was mostly in an open area and led you back to the skating area. I enjoyed the course, and would recommend the park for anyone wanting a decent challenge. There wasn't a need for bug spray, but I would definitely recommend bringing a long stick or extender to clear out spiders if needed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2014   3/2/2014
Review By: ldtrainman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Fun course to play. In my 3 yrs. of playing, I only found one course that wasn't fun and that was because navigation non-existent.
* Nice setting.
* Well maintained fairways.
* Concrete T-pads.
Cons: * As a first time player of this course I found navigation below par. I never did find one of the holes. I think it was #13, but I'm not sure.
* The T-pad signs were nice but it was often difficult to know which of the multiple basket locations was the one in use. It would be nice if, when the basket locations are moved, a tag was place on the T-pad sign showing which location was in use.
* I have never before seen a course where the navigation to the next T-pad is on the previous T-pad. I'm used to it being somewhere near and in view from the basket. I found myself forgetting to look for that info while at the T-pad. If I did look, I often found that I had forgetting what it said by the time I finished playing the hole.
* Lacks elevation change. One can not fault the course designer for this. After all this is south Florida. The nearest thing to a hill is 100 miles away.
* Although the course was fun, it was kind of boring. Fairways were either open fields or had a few trees. Not many holes required any thought as to how to approach the basket.
Other Thoughts: I've played courses is many parts of the country but haven't reviewed most of them. Many courses, because of their location, are going to score higher only because the topography, geology, and flora make them more interesting and varied. This is a fairly well done course for the area. I'd play it again if I'm in the area. I would recommended that the people who maintain the course do so more signage. It is my feeling that a good course should be idiot proof to navigate for someone who has never been there before.

Supposedly there is a Kendall Indian Hammocks Park - Wast but I never found it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/8/2014   1/8/2014
Review By: smierzy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Several easy birdie ops , solid Discatcher baskets .
Cons: Slightly spread out and several repeatable shots , 3 pins on mounds surrounded by junk - need work to clear ( maybe scheduled already ) 14 tee is VERY hard to find if you are not looking hard for it - it is at a dead end driveway with a doorway cut out of the side of a chain link fence - have to really be looking to see it . Pathway to 6 and 18 is twisting with several forks - look for the red tape on branches .
Other Thoughts: Copy of the map is MANDATORY for this one , I referenced it on half the holes .

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses in one

5+    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: MiamiDGBryan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Only place I know of with 2, 18 hole courses at the same park. Multiple tees on most holes for begginers and advamced players. Multiple basket placements and the placements are rotated so that courses have different difficulty levels depending when you go. The grass is well maintained, bugs are a non factor, bathrooms, water fountains, and even a vending machine that sells discs in the center of the softball fields. All in all with the variety of holes, the only thing it's missing is water hazards and elevation changes. Online map, clearly marked tee signs, cement tees, and next hole markers on signs are a huge plus for new players to the course. Overall great course
Cons: A couple tees are hard to find after last basket if you never played there before, but online map shows them clearly. On weekends sometimes some people set up barbecues in the middle of fairways and baskets making certain holes unplayable and locals have no idea what you are doing.
Other Thoughts: Great mix of shots required an great upkeep by local park

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Was nice years ago

5+    3/3/2013   3/8/2013
Review By: mutantseacow
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: None sorry
Cons: Fence and or roads on 17 of 18 holes, giant throws required, several homer holes.
A shadow of what it used to be.
Other Thoughts: it's a course, way down in crowded Kendall. The oak trees are nice, too many roads and fences come into play, last 4 holes very difficult. Luck good or bad is a major factor on this course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.