Disc Golf Store
Monroe, NC
Bearskin Creek Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #1 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Hard to navigate

2-4    9/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and pretty. Reasonably difficult on the back nine. Front nine is way too easy. Most shots are wide open, so it's a great place to learn how to play DG and throw. There is a good variety between the long and short tees. Most holes play very differently, depending on which tees you use. Good use of elevation. Good use of trees and water to create challenging shots.
Cons: I have played the course several times and still haven't figured out Holes 7,8 and 9. VERY difficult to navigate and locate some of the tees. Have not been able to find a guide to tee and hole locations. No tee signs on the course. Very hot in the summer, bring sunscreen and a hat. The course is not in a good neighborhood. I've seen more seedy characters on this course than every other course I've ever played. I don't feel comfortable going by myself. Because the park is mixed-use, it's hard to play the whole course if the other parts are being used (picnics, baseball, soccer practice, etc.)
Other Thoughts: The course is built on the edge of a recreational area with a baseball, soccer and basketball areas. Best to play early to mid-day on weekdays.
Watch out for the creek that runs along the last 5 or 6 holes.Usually very quiet early in the day, so it's a good place to practice. Don't go to the park in the late afternoon or early evening. The fields on the course are being used for soccer, baseball and various kinds of practice. The course is beautiful and fun but got hits for poor flow, bad signage, impossible navigation, and problems with mixed use.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: whansen319
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I just started playing this year, so take this for what it's worth. Nice, wide open course. Good for practicing or learning new discs without having to hunt in the woods. Few hazards to deal with (except the creek!).
Cons: Hard to find a trash can. Left a red Starfire in the creek. Hate littering worse than I'll hate replacing it.
Other Thoughts: Definitely plan to play this one again. A nice change from the challenging, up-and-down romps in the woods around Charlotte.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/9/2009   6/4/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/22/2014
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is wide open on most holes, so let it rip. It's built in the field of a very small park. Front 9 plays around a rec center.
- Course is never crowded, so you're able to play at your own pace or spend extra time practicing.
- There are some fun hole layouts here. Course does a good job taking advantage of the few obstacles - trees, hill, creek - that the terrain offers.
- #16 is solid, enjoyable hole. From the short tees, you tee off next to a playground, to a basket protected by two trees. You sail your shot too long, you bring the creek into play. A good shot results in an easy birdie, but an overaggressive shot can spell trouble.
- Over the past several years, the park has made several noticeable improvements. There's a nice, new playground along with improvements to the basketball court. Playing this course in March 2014, for the first time in several years, it was a great sight to see the park actually getting used. Maybe more park goers will help encourage locals to put forth more attention to the course.
Cons: There are still some major issues with this course, which make it an afterthought for most people.
- Baskets are in bad shape. Many are bent, crooked and/or missing. A fair number of tee signs are missing as well. Also, with the short tees not having pads, it's a real issue that the signs aren't aimed more accurately towards the basket. On #17, for example, if you use the direction of the tee sign as your compass for which hole you're throwing to, it'd be easy to surmise you're supposed to be throwing to #18 basket instead of #17.
- Course needs better signage throughout. For a first time player, you're going to extremely frustrated trying to figure out the flow/where the next hole is. Especially with several long walks, navigation is frustrating. A good course map would be a tremendous help.
- The creek that runs along and behind holes #11 - 14, 16 & 17 is filled with trash and is an unnatural, filthy color. Among the objects I've seem in the creek are a toilet and shopping carts. If you lose a disc in there, you can pretty much kiss it good-bye or risk getting an infection going after it.
- Tee pads are too short for anything more than a 1-step run-up.
- Area surrounding park is sketchy. Unlike Sugaw Creek, which also is in a questionable area, this park is usually empty and therefore poses more of a potential risk. I'd much rather play a course that has heavy foot traffic, like Sugaw, than only come across an occasional person, some of whom seemed pretty sketch.
Other Thoughts: With some work (ok, maybe a lot), course could be a respectable 2.5. For some reason, whenever I play this course, I do enjoy the course. As long as you know what you're in for - mainly a complete 180 from all Charlotte courses - and enjoy the change of pace, it's not that bad. It will still never confused with any of the area's good courses, but it does have a place in the Charlotte-area landscape.
- Distances on some tees holes didn't always seem completely accurate making for some fun over/under throws. Also, be prepared to not be able to find the long tee pads on all holes. After all these years, I still don't know where the long tee for #3 is. Are you supposed to throw on the sidewalk next to the building? 7 years later, you think I would know this by now.
- Rec center isn't always open, so good chance you have to go to gas station just up the road for a drink or bathroom.
- Because course is pretty wide open, they try to make up for it with challenging basket placements - behind trees, on edge of hill, etc.
- In the past, I would tell people to avoid this course. Now that Dry Creek is 10 minutes away, and the fact this park isn't as sketchy, I'm softening my stance. Play both courses to get a feel for some Union County disc golf.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.