Winona, MN 
West Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My home course

5+    10/17/2012   10/18/2012
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 26  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course: it is almost like a driving range for beginning and intermediate players to hone their game.

Great birdie/ace potential on most holes.

Beautiful site along the shore of Lake Winona and the bluffs. I walk or bike along here often even when I'm not playing: very scenic beauty.

Flat spongy ground that is pleasant to walk on.

Advanced tees give a nice variety of shots using the moderate number of trees on the course.
Cons: Slippery plastic tee pads that collect water after a rain; they can take days to dry out.

Advanced players would likely be under-matched by most holes.

Lefties have a serious advantage on several holes.

Lack of variety in terrain.
Other Thoughts: I personally love this course - it is close to my home and my job, and so it is easy to slip out for a quick nine hole just about any time. Having just begun playing this summer, it has been a nice easy course to learn the game and monitor my progress. The scenic beauty of the setting makes it a pleasure, regardless of how well I shoot. Others have designated it as a warm-up course, and I'm fine with that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    7/25/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: KillaKPaz
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice looking
No risk of losing discs
Mowed short
Good baskets
Cons: Bad parking options
Repetitive
Bad throws can be dangerous for people on the benches and walking paths
Other Thoughts: Overall a good little warm-up park before heading up to St. Mary's.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Small

1    8/12/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jonas
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy to find
Can be used as a warmup course before playing The Willows or St. Mary's.
It flows well in the shap of a U.
Two tees for each hole you can play it twice and each hole will be a little different.
Cons: It is a very small and short course with every hole being a straight shot.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for a quick round to play this maybe the course for you.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course for Beginners

2-4    8/1/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: thor_freya
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is easy to find and easily accessible, located just off Hoff St. in Winona. A simple Par 3 course, I would highly recommend this for beginners and novice/recreational players. Two sets of tees for each hole provided for some fun tee shots through trees, providing some technicality. Course is flat and short with an abundance of opportunities for birdies/aces. Course has clearly marked tee markers/signs and is well maintained with mowed grass.

The two sets of tees made for a quick and fun experience, and is a great place for beginners. In fact, I saw a couple out there playing; one was a beginner just starting out and the other instructing. Great place to go without being intimidated by experienced players with monster long drives. Given the small amount of space, the designers did a decent job of incorporating as many trees as possible into the shots.
Cons: The course is in fact quite easy, and could get repetitive after a couple of rounds. The tees are rubber and adequate, but even the smallest rain will gather in the uneven dips in the tees, which were quite slick (I almost fell on one hole). One basket needed to be re-set, as it was starting to lean over. The park is located right in between a street and the bike trail, which on some occasions you will need to keep your eye out for people on the trail. A bad throw on a couple of holes may have you flirt with landing it on the road.

It's a simple park course; there are no hazards other than trees, the lake nearby is not utilized and there is no variety in terrain. Technical shots off most holes from the alternate tees, but approaches and fairway shots all wide open.
Other Thoughts: Despite a simple, short and easy course, it's nice to have some fun and go for aces and the fact that these courses are beginner friendly encourages more people to get into disc golfing. It's always important to have a relaxing area for beginners/novices to get into the game. For the area given, the course does seem a bit squashed together, but then again it is about as good as it could be done for small amount of area.

With this course only a short distance from the other courses, this provides a nice warm up to start a full day of disc golfing in Winona. Overall the course is simple, well maintained and beginner friendly, but lacks in variety and distance with only trees as hazards and rubber tees can get slick. When I'm back in town, this will be my first warm up spot for a quick 9 on my way to other courses in Winona.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center