Milwaukee, WI
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 375ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course, Room for Improvement

5+    8/20/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has 27 holes that are all quite unique. There are a variety of holes, which vary in length, some elevation, and brush. The course offers two sets of tee pads and a variety of pin placements, making the course slightly different each time you play it and allows for a variety of shots throughout the round. Overall, the Mach 3 baskets and tee pads are in good shape. There are also a couple of elevated baskets on holes 8 and 13, which certainly make your putts interesting on those holes. The holes at the beginning are tight are through the woods and require technical, accurate shots. The course opens up slightly after that, but still often have trees on either side of you and some scattered throughout the fairways. Several of the new holes are also scattered throughout the woods. Some of these holes are quite tight and could be improved with some lane openings.
Cons: The biggest complaint I have is the overall lack of elevation at the course. I believe the course could also be greatly improved if it was pay-to-play. The course is also quite muddy and wet at times, which could be improved with adequate drainage and erosion control barriers. The layout of the course is also slightly confusing, especially on the new holes. Also, if you are new to the course, the multiple pin location possibilities can make it difficult to navigate, so better signs would greatly improve the overall experience. It would also be nice to see some improvements around the tee pads, so it is easier to run up and step off them during your drives.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course for beginners and for those who want to work on a variety of shots throughout the round. I've played plenty of pay-to-play courses in my life and have come to enjoy the aspects and quality of those courses. Making this course pay-to-play and with the necessary improvements, I would definitely rate Dretzka higher in the future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate

2-4    6/1/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a busy park with lots of disc golfers on a typical day, but it doesn't seem like anything else would get in the way.
- The beginning and end of this course play in a very dense woods that has lines carved out, with a well defined path to the basket. A straight shot is king on these holes, with a few trailing right. The first hole has a gap to hit about 250' out, and the last hole plays out of the woods. A few other holes throughout the course also have tighter lines, like a straight shot on #6 that can end in three different directions, or some short but tricky holes on the rec side.
- Most of the holes have a medium amount of trees or woods to contend with, either matching the line given or finding your own through the smattering of trees. Some of the tougher ones include a blind hyzer around the woods on #8, a basket uphill and in the woods on #9 and #14, and a blind RHFH flex shot on #7. LOTs of other holes are set in groves of trees, on both the 18 and 9 side.
- Some decent elevation changes here, like the downhill shot on #8, and uphill on #9, a slight hump on #10, and a slight downhill on #11. #13 and #14 are slight uphill, and #14's basket can be tucked up in the woods. Nothing too crazy, but noticeable.
- A few basket positions here are in tough spots. #1 long is tucked right into the woods, the leftmost position on #6 is tucked deep under some low branches, #13 has an elevated position, #11 long is tucked behind a large patch of forest. Big difference from the shorties.
- Good baskets, signage, and teepads. Navigation is pretty easy, though the 'alternate' holes are kind of shunted to the side.
Cons: - With a few exceptions, the land is pretty flat here. Many of the holes have little to no elevation change. Can make the course seem a little repetitive, especially with a lot of holes out in the open areas.
- Park road is close to a lot of holes, which adds some OB challenge, but takes away from the overall feel. A lot of traffic in and out of the park.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that has a good balance of holes out in the open and holes in the forest. The deep woods has punishing rough off the fairways, and the medium woods offer fun lines. Those in the open areas offer a great chance to air out some big drives, especially from the longer tees. A good challenge for beginners or veterans, advanced players will be able to tear through the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice usage of terrain.... Pro tees are extremely fun.... And make it quite a bit more challenging... Wide corridors in the woods.... 2 elevated pins( holes 8 & 13) for an added Challenge....
Cons: Can lose discs easily on hole 7 if u throw it to the woods on the right..... The elevated tee on 8 is a little much.... Made an already difficult pin placement impossible for any rhfh or lhbh.... And near impossible for others.... Very crowded at times.... And you notice
Other Thoughts: Not as good as brown deer but overall definitely worth playing.... Fun time....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challanging Course

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was well marked out. Baskets were easy too find and some were a welcome challenge. I would play there again.
Cons: There was lots of people there and had too let people play through more times than not. Also trash littered the area like a dump site. Wish people would treat it better wen they go.
Other Thoughts: I would have NO problem going back too it and playing again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhh

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: eric2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some well guarded pins. Some decent drives. Back tees available. Concrete pads, good baskets. Heard some complaints about litter, didn't notice much when I went. Excellent signage. Pin placement variety, could probably shoot this course many times and not get bored with so many possibilities. Some pretty challenging routes.
Cons: Too short, could only use the boss once and it still went too far. Not much elevation change. Will play the back tees next time. Pin placement can be a con as well. My buddy I shot with told me we were shooting for blah blah and when in reality were actually shooting for somewhere else. Can be a little confusing. Just run up and check were the pin is or ask someone.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    5/18/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 27 holes. It's nice to have an extra nine.

- Alternate Teepads and baskets at almost every single hole.

-Great Layout, I would consider it very easy to navigate.

-Great teepads, nice and large

-Great scenery, good trees and nice incorperation into the course. And finnally, great signage. Sometimes it'll even mark the pin placements on blind holes.
Cons: Gosh, I know some things could be fixed, just can't think of any.

I guess some holes get a bit monotonous, but what are you going to do.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very enjoyable course that isn't super impossible but still very fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid design, but far from world class

5+    5/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While Dretzka is a nice course and fairly well balanced, it just does not nearly have it all, and has far too many cons to be considered world class by any means. While this course is HUGELY popular with the locals, it may not be with you (i'll discuss that con later). Dretzka does offer decent use of what little elevation is at the course. Many holes have 3 pin positions and I think all of the original 18 (maybe not #4) have dual tees. There is a pretty good variety of holes here too with slight uphill and downhill, a few tight woods, but mostly slightly technical open holes (imagine your typical established city park with large mature trees very sporadically located, which slightly alter your intended flights. Signs are pretty good and handmade which is a nice touch. Woodchips and beaten in paths show you the way very well.
Cons: The new 9 does NOT have dual tees. The new 9 is nowhere near as well designed and does not play in nearly as nice of terrain as the original 18. The signs do NOT show the current pin position on any of the 27 holes. The new 9 has new concrete pads that were installed a bit too high and leave a lip around the edge. The old 18 pads have bad erosion off the front. The course suffers from oldschool desig mentality with wide open greens for the most part (a few in the woods are near the edge of some trees or brush, but no pins are on much of a slope or real risky green)

There is no water hazard and when I speak of elevation, I'm just talking about simple little rolling hillsides in a park, nothing big or steep at all.

There is a TON of trash at the course - both garabage and people. With this hugely popular course comes the hugely popular groups of large numbers of hacks that take their time, won't let you play through, and leave garbage and occassionally vandalize. These scenes are far too often part of your round at Dretzka and really take away from the experience. Often the baskets are busted, beat up, and have been stolen in the past.

Stupid Milwaukee county rule about alcohol by permit only, just hurts responsible drinkers and those not from the area. The drunken losers are still out in full force despite this rule.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka park and course is pretty nice. Not fantastic but solid design. It lacks many aspects that make a course great and the design is only slightly above averaghe in my opinion (although many holes are indeed VERY well designed). It's location mid city and all the cons I mentioned just bring it down even more. For those who love a scenic and causal round, you will probably NOT liek Dretzka. While it is worth a stop if playing Milwaukee for the first time, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way. Brown Deer is a better course experince with far less traffic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

1    8/23/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are 2 - 4 different teepads per hole, giving all sorts of variety and challenge that vary per outing. There's a wonderful mix of wooded and open holes to keep the play fast, fun, and very interesting. The fact that there's an adjoining 9 holer (across the road from hole 10, I think...) adds even more variety and challenge to playing this park. Thankfully, there were NO water hazards.
Cons: I'm from Sycamore, in north central IL, and was up in Milwaukee for a bachelor party when I played this course for the first time ever. My bro-in-law and I were confused and didn't know where the first hole was, so we asked a buncha guys who were teeing off on 16. They told us where to go and also told us that some asshole stole the pin from hole 6. Apparently, this wasn't the first time this had happened, either, but suffice to say, one rotten apple ruins it for the rest of us.

I wish the 9 holer was marked; no distances or hole numbers are given. One can argue this a few different ways, but I'd like to at least know the distance to the pin (if I remember correctly there's one teepad per hole on the 9 holer). Maybe I'm just a nerd...
Other Thoughts: This is a fun park to play! If it wasn't 2 hours+ away, I'd be there each Saturday! If you're in SE WI then you must make it a point to play Dretzka a few times over.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.