Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Pro Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

5+    8/21/1994   8/21/2014
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging, championship caliber course. Variety, hills, woods and tough hidden pins and guarded greens.
Cons: None that I can think of, though I haven't played it in ages or since the expansion. It is one of my all time faves.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course for most skill levels

5+    7/6/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18+9 hole course set in a nice county park on Milwaukee's north side. The park is well maintained and generally free of trash.

Nice DGA baskets here. All grey, which isn't an issue, as there aren't many tucked baskets or blind shots.

2 sets of concrete tee pads on the main 18 course, 1 on the extra 9 (across the road). They're generally in good repair, with a few that could use some TLC. Rectangular, and long enough for most people.

A decent amount of shot variation, even though a decent amount of the holes here are fairly open. A few wooded holes add some variety, and even though they require a fair amount of accuracy, the lanes are all very fair. The open holes still have many mature hardwood trees as obstacles, and several low canopies force extra precision, which is nice.

The tee signs here have a rustic feel to them, but are done nicely. Hand made, with topography, color, pin placements (usually the current is marked with a push pin) and distances from both tees are marked. Very well done, IMO.

Navigation is mostly intuitive, although a first timer might get caught up from hole 5 to 6 (you have to cross the road), and navigating the "back 9". You can basically cross that road and start anywhere on the back 9 you'd like, and jump back over after the loop.

Nice distance variation here. The different pin placements (2-4 per hole) really change up the lengths. The switch in tee pads does, as well. Lots of opportunity to really air it out from the pro pads.

Tons of parking here...never an issue.
Cons: This place gets BUSY. You're going to have that on a popular metro course. Early morning rounds are usually the way to go on the weekends.

Not a ton of elevation here. While there are some rolling hill type shots, you're never really throwing a big uphill or downhill shot.

No water to be found, if that's your thing.

The summer course shuts down for the winter months...and the winter course opens. Personally, I prefer the winter course, but that's certainly just a personal preference.

The back 9 is pretty short, and relatively easy.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice course that should appeal to many different skill levels. Want a good casual round with your buddies? Play from the shorts. Want to challenge yourself and really bomb some drives? Play the longs. Want to take your kids out for a round? Play the back 9. This diversity is REALLY nice for a big city course...but also is the reason for the traffic.

This is one of those courses I never find myself longing to go play, but always have fun at...and am always wondering how I didn't score better.

While I prefer Brown Deer, I can understand why people love this course. There's also a golf course/driving range, football field, and other amenities in the park, which is nice. Definitely a must-hit if you're visiting Milwaukee!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Milwaukee's Best

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tee-pads and 3-4 pin settings on each hole make this course one of the greatest around. Short pads to short pins are mostly around 300ft, but the holes are still challenging enough. Long pads to long pins and it becomes a totally different course, and a struggle to stay around par with most holes 350+
With the variety of settings available, I've been playing it for 10 years and am still not sick of it.

Course is very well maintained, well marked, has trash cans on every hole, and is quite clean.
Cons: Course can be VERY crowded at times.

Many of the longer pin locations are blind, which makes knowing which of the 4 to throw at difficult without walking up to look.

No water. 1 not very accessible porta-john.

This is a great course though - highly recommend!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course in brewtown

2-4    10/5/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 153  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes in an 18 and 9 hole loop. Nice concrete tee pads, dual tees on most of the 18 hole loop, but none on the 9 hole section. The 2 sets of tees offer nice changeups in shot shaping on most of them. Nice mach 3 baskets on all the holes that catch nicely. Nice wood tee signs that show the hole layout nicely and all of the possible alternate pin placements with distances for each pin. This is always a plus for me. Most of the holes have at at least 3 possible pin placements, many have four. The locations of the many pin placements would change the look of each hole quite a bit giving a very high replay value. The navigation is pretty easy to figure out, with minimal walking between holes. Good mix of wooded and open holes throughout the course. many tight, narrow tunnel shots in the wooded areas that require a long straight shot to the basket. Decent elevation changes throughout the course, though nothing too drastic. The wind can be very punishing here on the more open holes which adds challenge. Large wooden sign with tons of disc golf related info on it next to hole 1. There are benches by quite a few of the holes on the 18 hole loop, with multiple garbage cans throughout the course. For how busy this course is I was shocked by how clean it was, impressive. Good mix in disances too. This course is seasonal, however they pull the baskets and set up a 24 hole course on the ball golf course during the winter which is super cool. I haven't played the winter course but i'd imagine its pretty sweet and would make it more fun to play in the snow. This would be an easy place to lose a disc with snow on the ground. With no snow however it's almost impossible to lose a disc here. Good mix of left, right and straight shots required, which will test any type of throwing style. There were also a few raised pin locations on a couple holes, though none were in play when i went. These always offer a little extra risk/reward, and make you have to strategize a little more to score well, which adds value to the layout. There was a port o potty available near (east) of hole 16's tee pad too.
Cons: Can get busy, with lots of waiting around for other groups. The 2 loops don't connect, though you could jump over to the 9 hole loop after 14 on the 18 hole loop and not really have much extra walking to play them all at once. The ground here is so worn in from all the play that it causes discs to really jump and skip when they land. this really isn't a con, you just have to make sure to account for this. The park road borders a number of holes so you need to watch for cars, joggers, etc. It would be nice if they had connected the 2 different loops, but like i said earlier they can be played at the same time with a little improvisation, so again not really a con. Thats about all i got, not many cons here. And most are just nitpicking which says a lot about Dretzka.
Other Thoughts: This was a very awesome course from start to finish. Not a boring hole on it. Very easy to find as its right of the expressway in a very large park. I'd recommend this course, you won't be disappointed. I prefer this one over Estabrook and definately over Dineen. I haven't played Brown Deer yet but that sounds like a good one too. Definately check this one out if nearby, you'll enjoy it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/4/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, 27 fun and unique holes here. There are two sets of concrete tees with great homemade signs that show both tees, all the different pin positions. and all the possible distances from tee to pin. There are so many different layouts you can play here. The multitude of pin positions can make the course play completely different every time from very easy to extremely hard.

The course starts out with some tunnel shots through the woods. If you can stay bogey free through holes 1-3 you are in good shape. Holes 1-3 in the long pin positions all require long, straight accurate drives to have a putt at birdie with hole 3 playing the longest. Hole 8 is a very tough birdie to get from the long tee to long pin. It is a bomb hyzer that must glide a long ways left. The basket is elevated as well which really adds a lot of challenge to the putt. Blow bys are common here. Hole 13 also has a nice elevated basket adding some interest to an open hole. Hole 10 is a great, tough par 3. The medium sized fairway slopes up and then down out of view. The pin sits on the right side of the fairway on a slope sloping up and to the right. It is very hard to get a drive in the circle as almost all the drives fade out down the hill to the left. If your drive is cutting too far right near the green it will just roll down the hill anyway. Precise angle control is key to that hole. Hole 11 has a unique green and the best line to the hole is probably a roller. The pin sits on the bottom of a steep but short slope that goes up to the ob road. You can definitely get some unique looks at the basket if you end up on the slope.
You can open up a huk on 16. 17 is a tight long, slightly downhill tunnel shot.
Cons: Some of the holes are rather weak either due to their openness, length, or both. Hole 4 is a simple 250 foot pretty open shot. Hole 9 is wide open. Hole B is a short easy hyzer. Hole E is pretty wide open. The new 9 is a lot shorter than the original 18.

The walk from 17's pin to the long tee on 18 is a total walk back to near 17's tee, where long 18 is.

There are barely any par 4s here and no par 5s.

The land overall is relatively flat. There are definitely no large elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Cut over to play the new 9 hole loop after hole 11 or 14 as hole 18 ends nowhere near the new 9.

This course is taken out during the winter and the winter 24 hole course is put in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 happy course

1    6/24/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
Pros: hole one was easy to find with plenty of parking. an almost optimal amount of tree enclosed fairways and long open bombing fairways.for the most part a very clear flow from hole to hole.
nicely mowed green grass.
good amount of "lefty" vs "righty" holes.
Cons: there was one point where there seemed to be two hole 9's to play. we were not clear that there was actually a 27 hole layout (we were only looking for 18). thankfully we found some kind locals and they made it a piece of cake to navigate.
i prefer more elevation change in my dg course. this place was not completely flat, but was in no way hilly.
Other Thoughts: first of 9 dg courses we played on a week long road trip across upper midwest. was an outstanding first course, sort of establishing a barometer for what to anticipate/hope for.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Dretzka park very early on a Sunday morning. This park is a little further from downtown Milwaukee than Brown Deer (10 min. max.). Dretzka features lot's of open space in this large park which also features an adjacent ball golf course and driving range. Pro and Am concrete tee pads for 13 of 18 holes on the layout I played.

Each hole also featured at least 4 possible basket locations. These are shown on the well done signs at each AM tee pad. Having read earlier reviews I looked for the push-pin markers for which location was in play. They were there and accurate on some holes and missing on many others. Being a first time visitor here and playing alone I walked quite a few holes to locate the baskets. Not a big deal in wanting to get to know the course anyway.

There are 27 total holes here. There is a separate 9 hole loop that lies on the other side of a park road in the vicinity of holes 11 - 14. I did not get to play these.

This course is relatively flat with a good mix of tree lined fairways, some tight and relatively long and more open holes. Where the course was allowed to open up a bit, baskets seemed always well placed in regards to trees, etc. There was some slight elevation that came in play on a few of the middle holes.

Also of note, there are 2 basket locations which are elevated on areas using landscape timbers as terrace steps.
Cons: Not many here. As noted before, not much elevation and a little work to find the basket location sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Part of a very clean, large multi-use park. Disc golf seems to wind around and away from all other areas. Definitely will play again when I'm near Milwaukee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 After work fun!

2-4    10/4/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: TrickyTay
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course was great and fun to play on. Got off work early one day so I figured I would hit this course up and give it a shot. Very impressive course. Tee boxes were in great shape, Love how the 18 hole were spread out. Also thought it was cool how they changed the layout of the pins. Back to the subject of tee boxes, I also found it impressive that there were also blue tee boxes. First time seeing that so I thought it was pretty interesting.
Cons: This is a fairly busy area to play in. Park was pretty busy the days I went. Either people let me jump in front of them or waiting on them.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Down with Dretzka

5+    8/9/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is mostly flat but has a few areas with rolling terrain to make things interesting. There is quite a bit of rough that makes some of the holes very challenging. The great thing about the rough is it's punishing and makes you pay the price in strokes but it's not hard to find discs in it. It's maintained awesome and looks great every time I visit. Thank the Shark if you see him!

--2 sets of concrete tee pads. Long/Short
--Desriptive tee signs with basket location marked.
--Multiple pin postions on the original 18 which are changed often.
--Mach 3 baskets are in good shape.
--Excellent variety.
--The longest tee to the longest basket will challenge the top pros in the world. The short tees to any setup is fun for any skill level player.
--Added 9 holes makes for options to play 18 or 27 hole round.
--Several new built up and framed in greens. Those include #8 & #13
--Quite a few benches and garbage cans on the course.
---Holes #1, 2, 3, & 17 are excellent tunnel holes.
Cons: The design of this course utilizes all of the land. I don't think the land offered any more than a 4 rating.

I understand why but the course is pulled during the spring to prevent damage. Check the course updates to make sure you don't visit when it's pulled.

Not so much of a con but a fair warning. This course is super popular and can be slow to play with a lot of groups on it.
Other Thoughts: With Brown Deer only a few minutes down the road these are 2 really good courses to visit.

I wish I lived closer to Dretzka Park. It would be a fantastic home course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dretzka is an excellent course with plenty of variety. Multiple tees and rotating pin placements provide for a ton of different looks and make this course accessible to a wide variety of players.

This course mixes wooded holes with open holes very well. At no point will you go through long stretches of tight wooded holes, or long open holes.. The course moves seamlessly back and forth between the two, which is something not many courses are able to do effectively.

The park itself is a beatiful place to play disc golf. Despite this being a multi-use park, there is a lot of land devoted to disc golf, and other activites never really come into play. There is a little elevation to work with and plenty of mature trees that are incorporated into the course nicely

The problem with a lot of large courses (18+ holes), are the inevitable throw away/filler type holes, but this course did not have this problem. Each hole is unique. This variety contributes to a high fun factor.

Course flow is great on the 18 holer, and on the 9-holer, just not between the two (more on this in a second).

The dual tees are huge and in fantastic conditon. The signs get the job done, and there are benches and garbage cans everywhere.
Cons: From an outsider's perspective, it seems like this should either be listed as two separate courses, or it should be modified to form a more unified single course. The bonus 9 are numbered 1-9 and do not have any obvious flow with the main 18-holer. We ended up playing the 9-holer as a warm up, then played the 18-hole course (I wouldn't recommend this... way too much walking). To me it would make more sense to implement a 1A, 2A, 3A..., type numbering system for the bonus 9 with some adjustments to the flow of the 18 hole to make it a more obvious where to hop on to the extra 9. As of now it's just kind of there to figure out for yourself, but it seemed like everybody else knew what was going on, so I guess if it ain't broke...

All holes are above average, but there is no signature hole. Not really a huge con, but this is what keeps this course at a 4, and not higher.

When we played most of the pins were at their shortest placements. This kind of sucked for us, but I understand the pins are rotated often, so that didn't affect my rating.
Other Thoughts: There were a lot of people on the course when I played, but we never got stuck behind any groups, so contrary to many other reviews, I found that the crowds here weren't too bad.

You can't really go wrong with Dretzka. It's accessible to a wide range of players, presents some great variety, and is located in a very nice park. Brown Deer DGC is a few miles down the street, so if this course is too easy for you, go there for a little more challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.