Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 371ft.   3 / 371ft.   3 / 371ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Home Course

5+    7/15/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: DiscinFiend
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course a lot & I absolutely love it. It has a good mix of open & wooded holes. It has a practice basket which is nice. It is a very highly frequented course & is maintained well. It has Pro & Rec concrete tee pads, with multiple pin locations.
Cons: I wish they connected all 27 holes instead of 18 holes & then another 9. Also I wish there was at least one very long hole most of them are around 300 ft.
Other Thoughts: Great course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/5/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Jdoucette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Each hole is very different
-There are 3-5 different spots the basket can be placed and changes about two times a month so it makes it different every time I play
-Has a bunch of wooded holes which are lots of fun and challenging
-They have a Midnight league that costs $6, it comes with a light for your disc and is lots of fun to play. They have that once a month
-Holes are very easy to find and some holes are built up on some stands to make some of them higher to throw at
-They have an advance pad for most holes which gives a little more of a challenge.
-They have a extra 9 holes, they are shorter but a lot more obstacles to throw through.
Cons: -Might not be fun for beginners
-A little flat
-They should attach the extra 9 onto the whole course



Other Thoughts: It is a very fun course to play, a little challenging for some but a good spot to learn. Dretzka and Brown Deer are my favorite ones to play in the Milwaukee area. I started playing at this course and helped me improve very quickly. I definitely recommend it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety within the hole design
- Good distance variety
- Modest elevation changes
- Challenging with rewarding birdie opportunities
- Good risk reward opportunities
- Thick rough that punished shots, yet it was easy to locate your disc
- Required a variety of shots to score well
- Baskets were in solid condition
- Concrete tee pads that were in good shape
- Stellar tee signs on every hole
- Benches on a lot of holes to sit and rest
- Multiple pin placements to keep the course fresh
- Well kept course in a beautiful park.
- Good disc golf community
Cons: - Blind baskets difficult to play first time around
- Minor navigation issues
Other Thoughts: Dretzka is an awesome course that plays through woods and grassland. It has something for everybody, tight technical shots and longer bomber holes. It provides all types of players with the opportunity to score well. The hole design forces many different lines and types of shots. I used almost every disc in my bag. The wooded holes are especially fun because the thick rough punishes errant shots, yet it is not difficult to find your disc. I had the pleasure of playing a round with Mark, who maintains both Brown Deer and Dretzka and heads up the Great Lakes Disc Golf Club, and found that the upkeep of Dretzka is a result of his passion for the sport. It was a treat to play with someone so knowledgeable about the course and about the game.

My one suggestion that could improve this course is some sort of indicator on the tee signs as to what position the basket is in. It is not an issue on the visible baskets, because there are large PVC stops in the unused pin positions, but on the blind baskets it is sometimes necessary to walk the fairway to see what position the basket is in.

UPDATE: It has been brought to my knowledge that the locals have a system in which they use pins on the tee signs to mark the pin positions, but unfortunately people take those pins and ruin it for everyone. As I result I have bumped my rating up to 4.5/5.

Overall, Dretzka is a great course and worth a trip, especially with Brown Deer so close it could make for a great weekend or day of discin'.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uses a lot of the park
Has a winter course
27 holes
Every Hole is unique
Challenging holes
Easy to follow
Good variety of wooded on open holes
Tournaments almost every weekend
Cons: Crowded on weekends
A lot of litter
Could be muddy
During fall theres a lot of leaves where you can loose your disc under
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses I have ever played. I play it about 3-4 times a week, they change up the pins regularly, so it never get boring. Good place to practice long drives and some unique shots

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course

1    6/11/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very easy course. Relatively short holes with easy approach areas.
Cons: 4 different pin placements. I had to check which placement the pin was in, after playing to the wrong area.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Easier than brown deer (another Milwaukee Favorite).

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    5/20/2011   1/13/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good mix of tunnel > tight > open holes. several holes have aspects of all three.
- Requires good shot placement and accuracy hitting gaps.
- Very Fun to play!!!! Although it can beat you up it is just a great park to play some disc golf.
- Local DG community is very friendly and glad to help you out.
- Trash Cans are plentiful and at almost every tee sign.
- Tee Signs are very descriptive. Easily identify the basket and placement.
- Great flow and easy to navigate.
- The slight elevation change throughout the park is well used.
- Level tee pads!!!!
- Multiple pin placements
- Well maintained and always in great condition. Thank you Mark Peterson and GLDGC
- Recent addition to the course 2011, holes 8 and 13 have raised pin positions now. very nicely built and well placed.
- You dont need a ton of shots to play descent. but if you have a bag full of tricks you can really light the course up.
Cons: - Pro tees could be more creative instead of just longer. I personally like the Pro tees to be almost like playing a different course.
- So the community of DGers has really changed. there are a ton of chuckers out there. for the most part they have descent etiquette.
- New 9 is kind of a let down. not really a con but not what i was hopeful for.
Other Thoughts: MY FAVORITE COURSE!!!!
Dretzka 18 has many layouts and challenges. In its hardest set up even a seasoned pro will have to really work their game. and can be setup as a very beginner friendly course. Players of all caliber wil find challenge and alot of fun playing this course. This is the one course out there that i could play for the rest of my life everyday and not get sick of it (as long as i could change pins often)
The new 9 are a let down. when i heard that an additional 9 had been added back in 2007 i was dying to play them. the origanl 18 were so well done and creative. i was hoping for another challenging and fun holes. essentially all 9 are easy to birdie for the INT/ADV/PRO levels. #3 (21) long and #9 are really the only ones easy to miss the duece putt. speaking of #9 (27), this is in my top 10 for stupid holes. its a chuck and wait to see what happens. theres essentially two 3ft wide gaps to hit on a lil flex shot. if they just took the center tree out it would be so much better of a hole. imo
On your first time remember that after 5 cross the street to 6 (south). After 14 cross street to east for the additional 9 holes then back across to 15 (west). then back over by 5's basket is 16's tee. Make sure on 18 you through to 18's basket and not the PB. Ive seen lots of first timers do this for some reason.
Favorite Hole - #6 - From Pro Tee to the placement on the right, i think gold. The fairway starts off slightly uphill. then quickly slopes down and to the right in a gap in the trees. The basket is well guarded by a few trees and the ground around it slopes away. If you take to high of a line you'll go into the rough deep and struggle to make par.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

5+    10/14/2008   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A- (A little too open overall for my preference)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A- (From the long tees, quite a few holes are too long for me....making a birdie impossible and a par boring. Short pads suite my game perfectly.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A+ (Having 24 holes makes this possible.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A (Very pretty course - a country club feel. A feeling of seclusion can be had on only about 1/3 few holes.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Pins & Tees, oh my!

2-4    5/12/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I reviewed the Winter course(before they split the winter24/summer27 into separate entries) I gave it a 4.0, based on the novelty of two different courses, expecting to just keep it the same or drop the score based on how the summer course was. Naturally, I assumed it wouldn't be any better than a 3.5, maybe a 4. The winter course alone is only a 3.5

Add to this, when I drove through the park and scoped out the Summer course during my rounds on the Winter course, I have to admit I was not impressed. The summer holes I could see (tee signs covered in snow) looked flat, open and boring.
Wrong on all counts.

This is the best course I have played in SE Wisconsin to-date, and what I've heard about the remaining courses in the area leads me to believe that the title will rest with Dretzka, with Brown Deer a close second.

The winter course, though great given the limited options for snow golf, is not in the same league as this course.

All concrete pads, in great shape, dual tees on most of original 18. Original 18 has excellent signage, with hole maps detailling locations and distances to all the alt pins, from both long and short tees.

Oodles of alt pin positions, seemed like at least three for every hole, with some as many as five!! (in which case one was crazy hard, and only for tournaments, according to the guys running the weekly league & who switch the pins out regularly).

I'm gonna pause a moment here, because this course really impressed me on this point. The alt pin placements on this course are awesome. Each one significantly changes the hole, as much as the pin placements at Anna Page East, but with more options. The baskets here are well-placed and well-protected, from all of the pin placements, with a variety of awesome challenges on the putting game, like sticking the pin directly behind a tree with 3 trunks, thru a small opening onto a wooden hilltop blind from the tee, or behind a stand of white paper birch. Many holes have a circle of trees hollowed out for several different basket placements, each with its own narrow opening off one side of the fairway to enter like a (x) shape, with the x being basket and () being treeline.

This course looks fairly flat at first glance, and the total elevation change between the lowest and highest point on the course is not nearly as much as courses like Whistler and Justin Trails, but that's where the brilliance of the course's design comes into play. Elevation is in play on almost every hole. Some baskets are blind over a rolling hill, some are tucked into a hollow, some are up or down a hill. Many holes have both up and down elevation changes on them, for added fun. Its not drastic, but whats there does matter.

Also, this course varies from wooded to scattered trees. This course features some very hair-raising long tunnel shots through the woods (holes 2,3 & 17 in particular), but trees are a factor on every hole here. The baskets, in all pin locations, are very cleverly placed to maximize protection from the individual trees.

No hole on this course seems repetitive, even after repeated plays. They all have something different, and since there are so many pin locations, you can come here every week for 2 years and never play the exact same course twice, which is like playing a few completely different holes in most cases. It all comes back to the alt pins. It seems like they just keep adding more locations, which is awesome.

This course, at least from the short tees, is a great level of challenge: most holes seem quite attainable, but you will work for it. Deuces are very doable here, but don't expect them to just come, and with the changing baskets, scope out the hole before you park the wrong location. I get the feeling that if I played here enough, I would eventually birdie many of these, but it will take time and practice. Its far easier to bogey most of them.

Even if there is a hole you don't like, it has several different basket placements, so you wont have to suffer all year.

The holes force you to think, and play a variety of shots. Risk reward is in evidence, and this course WILL make you pay for getting greedy, as many holes force you to play under a tree canopy ceiling, at least of sorts.

This course throws many things at you: wind, tunnel shots with thick woods on either side, heavily wooded mazelike holes that force careful precision, and long drives. This course has some chances to air it out, but always with some control neccesary, and usually requiring curves around/through at least one tree gap.

It also has a nice variety of lengths and shapes. On one hole you might tee off with a careful midrange shot through trees, and the next hole will need the big driver. Curves left and right, so it helps to have more weapons in your arsenal, especially since what works one week wont neccesarily work the next, as they swap out a few pins each week.

The holes here are all good, forcing you to play a variety of lines. While by no means the most technical or wooded course out there, when playing this course, after every hole I just kept being more and more impressed. I kept trying to find reasons to downgrade this course, but its hard to find something to dislike about this place. Great maintenance on top of stellar course design, and great usage of available terrain and trees. Even after 27 holes, none of them feel redundant. Many tricky, interesting holes.

On the optional loop, there are some gorgeous cherry trees in bloom if you catch it in early spring. Stunning. Wood chips laid down for many putting circles, and areas that often turn to mud. Two consecutive super-tight wooded holes on the optional loop between 11&12 that will give you the willies. (Tighter than #13 and 17 at Elver Park)

This course reminds me of the best aspects of many other courses, combined into one.
-Hole-changing alt pins of Anna Page East
-More alt pin locations and rolling hills than Deming Park
-Dual concrete tees, like Madison courses

All around, a very nice, fun, challenging course with great flow, maintenance and variety. But it all comes back to variety. This course is a kaleidoscope chameleon, and every color it turns looks good.
Cons: The new 9 still seems to be in rougher shape than the original 18, or at least not up to the same amenities standards. The holes have posts with no signs, only one tee (still concrete) at each hole, and usually only one or two pin placements per hole. This is still good, but it doesn't compare with the high standards set by the regular holes.

Also, BE CAREFUL on the two tightly wooded holes on the new nine. The fairways are covered with short little stumps that can easily trip you up or roll an ankle if you're not
watching. Tread carefully here and you'll be fine.

The grassy field that is hole 1's fairway seems to get soggy after rains, and stay that way for awhile afterwards. Otherwise, this course has fairly good drainage.

Despite this, there really isnt any prescence of water hazards on this course. Sure there's a drainage ditch that runs through a few earlier holes, and the swamp/river behind/rigth or pin 1, there are really no lakes on this course. However, you can't fault the designers for this, and the OB road can come into play on several holes, which sort of makes up for it.

This is a course full of interesting and fun holes. I can't think of any real throwaway holes on this course. Hole 19 seems nondescript, yet somehow i managed to hit a different tree off the tree every time i played it, and the rest are quite good.

This course is phenomenal because there is nothing wrong with it, and the whole thing is well-planned out and done right. However, there are no holes here that I would call truly epic, that just blew me away. Several holes were distinct, including the long tunnels of death on 2, 3 and especially 17, and the two super tightly wooded holes on the optional loop are very cool. However, this lacks the jaw-dropping holes of someplace like Justin Trails.

I'm nit-picking here. I don't like giving out such high ratings easily, but I just COULD NOT find anything to dislike about this course, and I absolutely loved playing here. I've only tried the short tees sofar, and from there its definitely no match for Brown Deer in difficulty or length (few courses are). Even from the long tees, I'm not sure it would be as hard as Brown Deer, however, this course does everything right. I look at this course, and I see a masterpiece, maybe not painted with the brightest colors or of the most beautiful scenery, but this course maximizes the potential of the land it sits on, and is a joy to play.
Other Thoughts: This course and Brown Deer, are the two must play's if you are in the Milwaukee area, though the superior maintenance and amenities on this one lead me to favor it slightly, though Brown Deer is tougher, longer and seemingly more well-known to outsiders. Rating Dretzka higher than Brown Deer was and EXTREMELY tough decision, since they are both good, but the tipping point came down to three things where Dretzka kicks Brown Deers butt:
-Signage
-Multiple Pins
-Multiple Tees
Overall, these made for a more fun experience at Dretzka, and the fact that difficulty alone doesnt make or break a course's greatness (and Dretzka is still quite challenging)
Nuff said.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.