Disc Golf Center
Milwaukee, WI
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 370ft.   3 / 370ft.   3 / 370ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Great Course, Room for Improvement

5+    8/20/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has 27 holes that are all quite unique. There are a variety of holes, which vary in length, some elevation, and brush. The course offers two sets of tee pads and a variety of pin placements, making the course slightly different each time you play it and allows for a variety of shots throughout the round. Overall, the Mach 3 baskets and tee pads are in good shape. There are also a couple of elevated baskets on holes 8 and 13, which certainly make your putts interesting on those holes. The holes at the beginning are tight are through the woods and require technical, accurate shots. The course opens up slightly after that, but still often have trees on either side of you and some scattered throughout the fairways. Several of the new holes are also scattered throughout the woods. Some of these holes are quite tight and could be improved with some lane openings.
Cons: The biggest complaint I have is the overall lack of elevation at the course. I believe the course could also be greatly improved if it was pay-to-play. The course is also quite muddy and wet at times, which could be improved with adequate drainage and erosion control barriers. The layout of the course is also slightly confusing, especially on the new holes. Also, if you are new to the course, the multiple pin location possibilities can make it difficult to navigate, so better signs would greatly improve the overall experience. It would also be nice to see some improvements around the tee pads, so it is easier to run up and step off them during your drives.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course for beginners and for those who want to work on a variety of shots throughout the round. I've played plenty of pay-to-play courses in my life and have come to enjoy the aspects and quality of those courses. Making this course pay-to-play and with the necessary improvements, I would definitely rate Dretzka higher in the future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Course Location updates is cool

5+    8/14/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Jeff Showers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Not the longest course but not shortest either. Most holes can be reached with a drive but they are not short drives by any means, Locations moved weekly making this a different course every week you play. For Blind Holes there are QR Code readers on the tee sign if you have a smart phone you can scan and shows you a pictures of the tee pad with color dots to show where the baskets are and where the current locations is. Other holes where the basket is seen from the tee they have questions about the course and disc golf that you can Scan to get the answer. Also if you play there allot if you like the facebook.com/dretzkadiscgolf page you get pin location updates when your not there. My all time favorite course close to the city of Milwaukee.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Milwaukee's Best

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tee-pads and 3-4 pin settings on each hole make this course one of the greatest around. Short pads to short pins are mostly around 300ft, but the holes are still challenging enough. Long pads to long pins and it becomes a totally different course, and a struggle to stay around par with most holes 350+
With the variety of settings available, I've been playing it for 10 years and am still not sick of it.

Course is very well maintained, well marked, has trash cans on every hole, and is quite clean.
Cons: Course can be VERY crowded at times.

Many of the longer pin locations are blind, which makes knowing which of the 4 to throw at difficult without walking up to look.

No water. 1 not very accessible porta-john.

This is a great course though - highly recommend!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    7/15/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: DiscinFiend
Played: 59  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course a lot & I absolutely love it. It has a good mix of open & wooded holes. It has a practice basket which is nice. It is a very highly frequented course & is maintained well. It has Pro & Rec concrete tee pads, with multiple pin locations.
Cons: I wish they connected all 27 holes instead of 18 holes & then another 9. Also I wish there was at least one very long hole most of them are around 300 ft.
Other Thoughts: Great course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/28/2012   1/28/2013
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 90  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.9 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I play this course probably around 150 days each year and cannot say enough about it. I absolutely love it and want to increase it's reputation for any first timers who are lucky enough to play it.
Cons: Nothing!
Other Thoughts: They remove their baskets for the winter time but only to install the winter course during that period.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    10/5/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Jdoucette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Each hole is very different
-There are 3-5 different spots the basket can be placed and changes about two times a month so it makes it different every time I play
-Has a bunch of wooded holes which are lots of fun and challenging
-They have a Midnight league that costs $6, it comes with a light for your disc and is lots of fun to play. They have that once a month
-Holes are very easy to find and some holes are built up on some stands to make some of them higher to throw at
-They have an advance pad for most holes which gives a little more of a challenge.
-They have a extra 9 holes, they are shorter but a lot more obstacles to throw through.
Cons: -Might not be fun for beginners
-A little flat
-They should attach the extra 9 onto the whole course



Other Thoughts: It is a very fun course to play, a little challenging for some but a good spot to learn. Dretzka and Brown Deer are my favorite ones to play in the Milwaukee area. I started playing at this course and helped me improve very quickly. I definitely recommend it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very fun course in brewtown

2-4    10/5/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 10 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes in an 18 and 9 hole loop. Nice concrete tee pads, dual tees on most of the 18 hole loop, but none on the 9 hole section. The 2 sets of tees offer nice changeups in shot shaping on most of them. Nice mach 3 baskets on all the holes that catch nicely. Nice wood tee signs that show the hole layout nicely and all of the possible alternate pin placements with distances for each pin. This is always a plus for me. Most of the holes have at at least 3 possible pin placements, many have four. The locations of the many pin placements would change the look of each hole quite a bit giving a very high replay value. The navigation is pretty easy to figure out, with minimal walking between holes. Good mix of wooded and open holes throughout the course. many tight, narrow tunnel shots in the wooded areas that require a long straight shot to the basket. Decent elevation changes throughout the course, though nothing too drastic. The wind can be very punishing here on the more open holes which adds challenge. Large wooden sign with tons of disc golf related info on it next to hole 1. There are benches by quite a few of the holes on the 18 hole loop, with multiple garbage cans throughout the course. For how busy this course is I was shocked by how clean it was, impressive. Good mix in disances too. This course is seasonal, however they pull the baskets and set up a 24 hole course on the ball golf course during the winter which is super cool. I haven't played the winter course but i'd imagine its pretty sweet and would make it more fun to play in the snow. This would be an easy place to lose a disc with snow on the ground. With no snow however it's almost impossible to lose a disc here. Good mix of left, right and straight shots required, which will test any type of throwing style. There were also a few raised pin locations on a couple holes, though none were in play when i went. These always offer a little extra risk/reward, and make you have to strategize a little more to score well, which adds value to the layout. There was a port o potty available near (east) of hole 16's tee pad too.
Cons: Can get busy, with lots of waiting around for other groups. The 2 loops don't connect, though you could jump over to the 9 hole loop after 14 on the 18 hole loop and not really have much extra walking to play them all at once. The ground here is so worn in from all the play that it causes discs to really jump and skip when they land. this really isn't a con, you just have to make sure to account for this. The park road borders a number of holes so you need to watch for cars, joggers, etc. It would be nice if they had connected the 2 different loops, but like i said earlier they can be played at the same time with a little improvisation, so again not really a con. Thats about all i got, not many cons here. And most are just nitpicking which says a lot about Dretzka.
Other Thoughts: This was a very awesome course from start to finish. Not a boring hole on it. Very easy to find as its right of the expressway in a very large park. I'd recommend this course, you won't be disappointed. I prefer this one over Estabrook and definately over Dineen. I haven't played Brown Deer yet but that sounds like a good one too. Definately check this one out if nearby, you'll enjoy it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    8/4/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 155  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, 27 fun and unique holes here. There are two sets of concrete tees with great homemade signs that show both tees, all the different pin positions. and all the possible distances from tee to pin. There are so many different layouts you can play here. The multitude of pin positions can make the course play completely different every time from very easy to extremely hard.

The course starts out with some tunnel shots through the woods. If you can stay bogey free through holes 1-3 you are in good shape. Holes 1-3 in the long pin positions all require long, straight accurate drives to have a putt at birdie with hole 3 playing the longest. Hole 8 is a very tough birdie to get from the long tee to long pin. It is a bomb hyzer that must glide a long ways left. The basket is elevated as well which really adds a lot of challenge to the putt. Blow bys are common here. Hole 13 also has a nice elevated basket adding some interest to an open hole. Hole 10 is a great, tough par 3. The medium sized fairway slopes up and then down out of view. The pin sits on the right side of the fairway on a slope sloping up and to the right. It is very hard to get a drive in the circle as almost all the drives fade out down the hill to the left. If your drive is cutting too far right near the green it will just roll down the hill anyway. Precise angle control is key to that hole. Hole 11 has a unique green and the best line to the hole is probably a roller. The pin sits on the bottom of a steep but short slope that goes up to the ob road. You can definitely get some unique looks at the basket if you end up on the slope.
You can open up a huk on 16. 17 is a tight long, slightly downhill tunnel shot.
Cons: Some of the holes are rather weak either due to their openness, length, or both. Hole 4 is a simple 250 foot pretty open shot. Hole 9 is wide open. Hole B is a short easy hyzer. Hole E is pretty wide open. The new 9 is a lot shorter than the original 18.

The walk from 17's pin to the long tee on 18 is a total walk back to near 17's tee, where long 18 is.

There are barely any par 4s here and no par 5s.

The land overall is relatively flat. There are definitely no large elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Cut over to play the new 9 hole loop after hole 11 or 14 as hole 18 ends nowhere near the new 9.

This course is taken out during the winter and the winter 24 hole course is put in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

happy course

1    6/24/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19
Pros: hole one was easy to find with plenty of parking. an almost optimal amount of tree enclosed fairways and long open bombing fairways.for the most part a very clear flow from hole to hole.
nicely mowed green grass.
good amount of "lefty" vs "righty" holes.
Cons: there was one point where there seemed to be two hole 9's to play. we were not clear that there was actually a 27 hole layout (we were only looking for 18). thankfully we found some kind locals and they made it a piece of cake to navigate.
i prefer more elevation change in my dg course. this place was not completely flat, but was in no way hilly.
Other Thoughts: first of 9 dg courses we played on a week long road trip across upper midwest. was an outstanding first course, sort of establishing a barometer for what to anticipate/hope for.

Intermediate

2-4    6/1/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a busy park with lots of disc golfers on a typical day, but it doesn't seem like anything else would get in the way.
- The beginning and end of this course play in a very dense woods that has lines carved out, with a well defined path to the basket. A straight shot is king on these holes, with a few trailing right. The first hole has a gap to hit about 250' out, and the last hole plays out of the woods. A few other holes throughout the course also have tighter lines, like a straight shot on #6 that can end in three different directions, or some short but tricky holes on the rec side.
- Most of the holes have a medium amount of trees or woods to contend with, either matching the line given or finding your own through the smattering of trees. Some of the tougher ones include a blind hyzer around the woods on #8, a basket uphill and in the woods on #9 and #14, and a blind RHFH flex shot on #7. LOTs of other holes are set in groves of trees, on both the 18 and 9 side.
- Some decent elevation changes here, like the downhill shot on #8, and uphill on #9, a slight hump on #10, and a slight downhill on #11. #13 and #14 are slight uphill, and #14's basket can be tucked up in the woods. Nothing too crazy, but noticeable.
- A few basket positions here are in tough spots. #1 long is tucked right into the woods, the leftmost position on #6 is tucked deep under some low branches, #13 has an elevated position, #11 long is tucked behind a large patch of forest. Big difference from the shorties.
- Good baskets, signage, and teepads. Navigation is pretty easy, though the 'alternate' holes are kind of shunted to the side.
Cons: - With a few exceptions, the land is pretty flat here. Many of the holes have little to no elevation change. Can make the course seem a little repetitive, especially with a lot of holes out in the open areas.
- Park road is close to a lot of holes, which adds some OB challenge, but takes away from the overall feel. A lot of traffic in and out of the park.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that has a good balance of holes out in the open and holes in the forest. The deep woods has punishing rough off the fairways, and the medium woods offer fun lines. Those in the open areas offer a great chance to air out some big drives, especially from the longer tees. A good challenge for beginners or veterans, advanced players will be able to tear through the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.