Disc Golf Store
Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #18 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 268ft.   3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great course

5+    8/4/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, 27 fun and unique holes here. There are two sets of concrete tees with great homemade signs that show both tees, all the different pin positions. and all the possible distances from tee to pin. There are so many different layouts you can play here. The multitude of pin positions can make the course play completely different every time from very easy to extremely hard.

The course starts out with some tunnel shots through the woods. If you can stay bogey free through holes 1-3 you are in good shape. Holes 1-3 in the long pin positions all require long, straight accurate drives to have a putt at birdie with hole 3 playing the longest. Hole 8 is a very tough birdie to get from the long tee to long pin. It is a bomb hyzer that must glide a long ways left. The basket is elevated as well which really adds a lot of challenge to the putt. Blow bys are common here. Hole 13 also has a nice elevated basket adding some interest to an open hole. Hole 10 is a great, tough par 3. The medium sized fairway slopes up and then down out of view. The pin sits on the right side of the fairway on a slope sloping up and to the right. It is very hard to get a drive in the circle as almost all the drives fade out down the hill to the left. If your drive is cutting too far right near the green it will just roll down the hill anyway. Precise angle control is key to that hole. Hole 11 has a unique green and the best line to the hole is probably a roller. The pin sits on the bottom of a steep but short slope that goes up to the ob road. You can definitely get some unique looks at the basket if you end up on the slope.
You can open up a huk on 16. 17 is a tight long, slightly downhill tunnel shot.
Cons: Some of the holes are rather weak either due to their openness, length, or both. Hole 4 is a simple 250 foot pretty open shot. Hole 9 is wide open. Hole B is a short easy hyzer. Hole E is pretty wide open. The new 9 is a lot shorter than the original 18.

The walk from 17's pin to the long tee on 18 is a total walk back to near 17's tee, where long 18 is.

There are barely any par 4s here and no par 5s.

The land overall is relatively flat. There are definitely no large elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Cut over to play the new 9 hole loop after hole 11 or 14 as hole 18 ends nowhere near the new 9.

This course is taken out during the winter and the winter 24 hole course is put in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 happy course

1    6/24/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
Pros: hole one was easy to find with plenty of parking. an almost optimal amount of tree enclosed fairways and long open bombing fairways.for the most part a very clear flow from hole to hole.
nicely mowed green grass.
good amount of "lefty" vs "righty" holes.
Cons: there was one point where there seemed to be two hole 9's to play. we were not clear that there was actually a 27 hole layout (we were only looking for 18). thankfully we found some kind locals and they made it a piece of cake to navigate.
i prefer more elevation change in my dg course. this place was not completely flat, but was in no way hilly.
Other Thoughts: first of 9 dg courses we played on a week long road trip across upper midwest. was an outstanding first course, sort of establishing a barometer for what to anticipate/hope for.

 Intermediate

2-4    6/1/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a busy park with lots of disc golfers on a typical day, but it doesn't seem like anything else would get in the way.
- The beginning and end of this course play in a very dense woods that has lines carved out, with a well defined path to the basket. A straight shot is king on these holes, with a few trailing right. The first hole has a gap to hit about 250' out, and the last hole plays out of the woods. A few other holes throughout the course also have tighter lines, like a straight shot on #6 that can end in three different directions, or some short but tricky holes on the rec side.
- Most of the holes have a medium amount of trees or woods to contend with, either matching the line given or finding your own through the smattering of trees. Some of the tougher ones include a blind hyzer around the woods on #8, a basket uphill and in the woods on #9 and #14, and a blind RHFH flex shot on #7. LOTs of other holes are set in groves of trees, on both the 18 and 9 side.
- Some decent elevation changes here, like the downhill shot on #8, and uphill on #9, a slight hump on #10, and a slight downhill on #11. #13 and #14 are slight uphill, and #14's basket can be tucked up in the woods. Nothing too crazy, but noticeable.
- A few basket positions here are in tough spots. #1 long is tucked right into the woods, the leftmost position on #6 is tucked deep under some low branches, #13 has an elevated position, #11 long is tucked behind a large patch of forest. Big difference from the shorties.
- Good baskets, signage, and teepads. Navigation is pretty easy, though the 'alternate' holes are kind of shunted to the side.
Cons: - With a few exceptions, the land is pretty flat here. Many of the holes have little to no elevation change. Can make the course seem a little repetitive, especially with a lot of holes out in the open areas.
- Park road is close to a lot of holes, which adds some OB challenge, but takes away from the overall feel. A lot of traffic in and out of the park.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that has a good balance of holes out in the open and holes in the forest. The deep woods has punishing rough off the fairways, and the medium woods offer fun lines. Those in the open areas offer a great chance to air out some big drives, especially from the longer tees. A good challenge for beginners or veterans, advanced players will be able to tear through the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Dretzka park very early on a Sunday morning. This park is a little further from downtown Milwaukee than Brown Deer (10 min. max.). Dretzka features lot's of open space in this large park which also features an adjacent ball golf course and driving range. Pro and Am concrete tee pads for 13 of 18 holes on the layout I played.

Each hole also featured at least 4 possible basket locations. These are shown on the well done signs at each AM tee pad. Having read earlier reviews I looked for the push-pin markers for which location was in play. They were there and accurate on some holes and missing on many others. Being a first time visitor here and playing alone I walked quite a few holes to locate the baskets. Not a big deal in wanting to get to know the course anyway.

There are 27 total holes here. There is a separate 9 hole loop that lies on the other side of a park road in the vicinity of holes 11 - 14. I did not get to play these.

This course is relatively flat with a good mix of tree lined fairways, some tight and relatively long and more open holes. Where the course was allowed to open up a bit, baskets seemed always well placed in regards to trees, etc. There was some slight elevation that came in play on a few of the middle holes.

Also of note, there are 2 basket locations which are elevated on areas using landscape timbers as terrace steps.
Cons: Not many here. As noted before, not much elevation and a little work to find the basket location sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Part of a very clean, large multi-use park. Disc golf seems to wind around and away from all other areas. Definitely will play again when I'm near Milwaukee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice usage of terrain.... Pro tees are extremely fun.... And make it quite a bit more challenging... Wide corridors in the woods.... 2 elevated pins( holes 8 & 13) for an added Challenge....
Cons: Can lose discs easily on hole 7 if u throw it to the woods on the right..... The elevated tee on 8 is a little much.... Made an already difficult pin placement impossible for any rhfh or lhbh.... And near impossible for others.... Very crowded at times.... And you notice
Other Thoughts: Not as good as brown deer but overall definitely worth playing.... Fun time....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 After work fun!

2-4    10/4/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: TrickyTay
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course was great and fun to play on. Got off work early one day so I figured I would hit this course up and give it a shot. Very impressive course. Tee boxes were in great shape, Love how the 18 hole were spread out. Also thought it was cool how they changed the layout of the pins. Back to the subject of tee boxes, I also found it impressive that there were also blue tee boxes. First time seeing that so I thought it was pretty interesting.
Cons: This is a fairly busy area to play in. Park was pretty busy the days I went. Either people let me jump in front of them or waiting on them.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Down with Dretzka

5+    8/9/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is mostly flat but has a few areas with rolling terrain to make things interesting. There is quite a bit of rough that makes some of the holes very challenging. The great thing about the rough is it's punishing and makes you pay the price in strokes but it's not hard to find discs in it. It's maintained awesome and looks great every time I visit. Thank the Shark if you see him!

--2 sets of concrete tee pads. Long/Short
--Desriptive tee signs with basket location marked.
--Multiple pin postions on the original 18 which are changed often.
--Mach 3 baskets are in good shape.
--Excellent variety.
--The longest tee to the longest basket will challenge the top pros in the world. The short tees to any setup is fun for any skill level player.
--Added 9 holes makes for options to play 18 or 27 hole round.
--Several new built up and framed in greens. Those include #8 & #13
--Quite a few benches and garbage cans on the course.
---Holes #1, 2, 3, & 17 are excellent tunnel holes.
Cons: The design of this course utilizes all of the land. I don't think the land offered any more than a 4 rating.

I understand why but the course is pulled during the spring to prevent damage. Check the course updates to make sure you don't visit when it's pulled.

Not so much of a con but a fair warning. This course is super popular and can be slow to play with a lot of groups on it.
Other Thoughts: With Brown Deer only a few minutes down the road these are 2 really good courses to visit.

I wish I lived closer to Dretzka Park. It would be a fantastic home course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 97  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety within the hole design
- Good distance variety
- Modest elevation changes
- Challenging with rewarding birdie opportunities
- Good risk reward opportunities
- Thick rough that punished shots, yet it was easy to locate your disc
- Required a variety of shots to score well
- Baskets were in solid condition
- Concrete tee pads that were in good shape
- Stellar tee signs on every hole
- Benches on a lot of holes to sit and rest
- Multiple pin placements to keep the course fresh
- Well kept course in a beautiful park.
- Good disc golf community
Cons: - Blind baskets difficult to play first time around
- Minor navigation issues
Other Thoughts: Dretzka is an awesome course that plays through woods and grassland. It has something for everybody, tight technical shots and longer bomber holes. It provides all types of players with the opportunity to score well. The hole design forces many different lines and types of shots. I used almost every disc in my bag. The wooded holes are especially fun because the thick rough punishes errant shots, yet it is not difficult to find your disc. I had the pleasure of playing a round with Mark, who maintains both Brown Deer and Dretzka and heads up the Great Lakes Disc Golf Club, and found that the upkeep of Dretzka is a result of his passion for the sport. It was a treat to play with someone so knowledgeable about the course and about the game.

My one suggestion that could improve this course is some sort of indicator on the tee signs as to what position the basket is in. It is not an issue on the visible baskets, because there are large PVC stops in the unused pin positions, but on the blind baskets it is sometimes necessary to walk the fairway to see what position the basket is in.

UPDATE: It has been brought to my knowledge that the locals have a system in which they use pins on the tee signs to mark the pin positions, but unfortunately people take those pins and ruin it for everyone. As I result I have bumped my rating up to 4.5/5.

Overall, Dretzka is a great course and worth a trip, especially with Brown Deer so close it could make for a great weekend or day of discin'.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    7/30/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park, good tee pads, easy to find. Friendly locals. Ample parking. Not crowded.
Cons: A bit confusing to navigate, some hole overlap. Never found the 18+ holes. No water fountain.
Other Thoughts: A decent community park course. I was in the area and this course along with nearby Brown Deer were highly rated so I played both.

Dretska was easy to find, however the course itself has some navigation issues. With a bit of fairway overlap, it's easy to mix up which basket goes with which tee.

Some nice wooded technical holes; a bit too narrow for my taste but nothing too frustrating.

Minus the overlaps, the course was relatively easy to navigate. Friendly locals, moderately active course on a summer Saturday.

No water fountains and the nearby bathrooms were locked. Ample parking right by hole 1 tee.

Area players will like the course, however I didn't find it as compelling as the other reviewers. The fairway overlap mixed with the lack of elevation changes and a bit of repetitious back and forth left me wanting more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challanging Course

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was well marked out. Baskets were easy too find and some were a welcome challenge. I would play there again.
Cons: There was lots of people there and had too let people play through more times than not. Also trash littered the area like a dump site. Wish people would treat it better wen they go.
Other Thoughts: I would have NO problem going back too it and playing again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.