Disc Golf Store
Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns   (Taken 7/2012)
Park Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very Fun Course

5+    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: shinypickle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes; you have to love the bonus nine.
-Multiple pin placements
-Multiple tee pads
-Some of the best signs I have ever seen.
-Garbage cans and benches are on about every other hole
-Very little litter
- The pins are changed up all the time so you play a whole different game here all the time
-Some holes have thumbtacks to show what pin placement it is currently on.
-Very easy course to navigate.
-The baskets are pretty old but they still catch your disc just fine.
-Great concrete tee pads
Cons: -This course is so nice that it is often crowded
-Some holes don't have a thumbtack on the sign so you don't know what pin placement you are shooting for.
-If you are playing the pro tees you have to walk up to the normal tee to read the sign and then walk back to the pro tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is VERY crowded unless if you go early in the morning. Everyone always says that there is not a good way to play the bonus nine but there is. After you complete hole 11 you can head over to the bonus nine and play those holes. After that just go back to hole 12 and continue with the original 18. Bring lots of bug spray. This is a very fun course to play in the Milwaukee area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ehhh

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: eric2010
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Some well guarded pins. Some decent drives. Back tees available. Concrete pads, good baskets. Heard some complaints about litter, didn't notice much when I went. Excellent signage. Pin placement variety, could probably shoot this course many times and not get bored with so many possibilities. Some pretty challenging routes.
Cons: Too short, could only use the boss once and it still went too far. Not much elevation change. Will play the back tees next time. Pin placement can be a con as well. My buddy I shot with told me we were shooting for blah blah and when in reality were actually shooting for somewhere else. Can be a little confusing. Just run up and check were the pin is or ask someone.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just plain FUN

5+    6/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: kamojoe
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --Great mixture of holes
--27 holes is always a plus
--Garbage cans throughout the course
--Not a substantial amount of elevation, but the designer definately used what they had
--Really good location - surrounded by a number of above-average courses and its in a good area
--The new 9 includes some very difficult/short holes that you will love or hate based on tree-love
--Many different pin placements and they are changed frequently
--Has a very well-attended league-night
--Multiple blind holes are challenging and fun
--Pro teepads provide a challenging alternative
--Benches strewn through courses
--Possibly the best signs I've come across
------They're not just pretty photoshopped laminated printouts
--Pin locations are marked on the signs with a tack
Cons: --Can get very crowded during primetime
--Some benches are vandalized/broken
--No water hazards
--Not really any holes that would make your jaw drop
--Its littered pretty bad due to the types of people that come here and the amount of traffic the course sees
--Lots of people just come here to drink while they play
Other Thoughts: I really love playing this course during the day when there aren't as many people out playing. I would give this course a 3.75 if I had the option, but the great location and the fun-factor will bump it up to a 4. Milwaukee is a great destination for disc golf with Brown Deer and Dretzka so close to eachother. There are also other great courses in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun

1    5/23/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays in a disc golf dedicated and scenic park. There is a great mix of more open grassy fairways, park style holes with scattered trees, and wooded holes with thick woods and brush to punish an errant drive. These are mixed up throughout the round, so the course never gets repetitive. The elevation changes available aren't huge, but they're used well in the design to add some more variety and challenge.

There is a good balance here of right and left turning holes (or there was in the pin settings I played), so it worked a lot of different shots and seemed fair to righties and lefties. There was also a good mix of lengths, with a nice range from ace runs to good long holes where you can throw a real drive.

There are multiple pin positions on every hole (3-5 on most of the oriiginal 18), and they looked like they would really change up how the holes played. If the pins are always set in a well-balanced mix and they are moved often (I hear they are), it's awesome to have that kind of variety at a single course. There are good concrete tees that have enough room and a nice texture, with dual pads on most of the original 18 and single tees on the newer 9. There are pretty good tee signs with all tee and pin locations and distances. The baskets were showing some signs of aging, but still caught ok.
Cons: I love the variety of the different pin locations, but I would have liked better markers for where they were at the time. A few were marked with thumbtacks in the sign, but many were not marked at all so there was a lot of scouting required to know where to throw with many blind holes. The signs are only at one set of tees, so you have to do some extra walking if you like to see the sign before you throw from the other pad.

The new 9 doesn't feel quite as finished and worn in as the original 18, with less pin placements and only single tees. It's also not necessarily clear how to play the full 27 hole round when you're paying the course, we missed the extra 9 and had to drive over and play it after finishing 18.

The course was a little crowded with large groups more interested in beer and goofing off than actually playing but not willing to let other groups play through, so it ended up being a pretty slow round.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with a lot of variety and some good challenges. I definitely recommend Dretzka if you're in the Milwaukee area, especially in combination with nearby Brown Deer. It's accessible for newer players with a shorter set of tees and plenty of more open holes, though it does have some length and some tightly wooded holes. More experienced players won't be really tested on most of the course, but it's a fun round with some really nice holes and lots of variety.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great old school challenge

5+    6/15/2010   6/17/2010
Review By: iloqutiss1
Played: 38  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Great mix of shots needed to do well
*Variety- not just hole or shot variety but also week to week. Every hole (except #7 with only 2 placements ) has 3+ pin positions, the majority have 4, hole #18 has 5 placements.
*Great lakes disc golf club - Dretzka wouldn't have a course without the GLDGC as well as several other courses around. They do an excellent job of moving baskets weekly and keeping the course fresh to play over and over. Club members also clean up trash often, helping to keep this very busy course clean.
*In its most common setups this course is technical and challenging with 2-4 holes even big arms can let loose on.. from the short tees. Long tees add extra length and challenge to most holes.
*option to play 27 or 18
*quality concrete tees throughout.
*nice handmade signs with a thumbtack used to mark basket placement on certain holes.
*This is Wisconsin, weather conditions almost always adds challenge especially wind because its difficult to judge on most holes.
*Many great players call this course home. Locals have a great wealth if disc golf knowledge.
Cons: *New nine pretty far from parking lot and there really isn't a good way to play just nine on the original course.
*Extremely busy.
*Often played by large groups more interested in partying than discing.
*No free beer.
*Hole #4 short position is nothing more than a long putt. Kind of dumb imo.
*Ghosts have been seen here, course may be haunted.
Other Thoughts: *My review focuses on the original 18 since many locals don't play the new nine as much anyway. Although its a nice addition. Overall the new nine is slightly less challenging with less basket placements and no pro tees but newer/nicer baskets. Now I digress..
*Dretzka is the course of a thousand faces, literally. You could come here once per month for years and never play exactly the same layout twice- except the original, almost all long setup used for many tourneys.
*One of the best things about this course is the gldgc, I can't emphasize this enough. There has been a very strong disc golf community centered at this course for a long time. Come to Tues. night leagues and you'll be welcomed regardless of skill level and meet some great players, even Barry Schultz makes an appearance every now and then. *Milwaukee plays host to one of the original.. if not the original ice bowl tournament, "The Big Freeze" 22 years and counting. *This course is a true classic and a great example of old school design.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course

1    6/11/2010   6/15/2010
Review By: tbone618
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very easy course. Relatively short holes with easy approach areas.
Cons: 4 different pin placements. I had to check which placement the pin was in, after playing to the wrong area.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Easier than brown deer (another Milwaukee Favorite).

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 DRETZKA

1    6/1/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: jrymaszewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Solid course it will test your allaround skill pretty nicely.

*a solid mix of wooded (hole #3) and wide open holes (hole # 1).

*mutiple tee pads to choose from either pro or others.

*A very challenging course overall it will really test the distance and accuracy of your drive and approach otherwise putting is not very diffuclt considering there are not many trees around the cages unlike valley view park in new berlin ( my favorite course ).

* 27 holes!

* good design and scenery.
Cons: * There is a lot of trash at the course (both garabage and people).

* A little wet in some places but you'll find that at every course in a low spot.

* usually very crowded (at least from my experience)
Other Thoughts: Overall a very solid and enjoyable course. testing your driving and approach. If you want more of a putting or short challenge I suggest you go to Valley View Park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka Park: Home to lots of baskets

2-4    5/30/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: StrikerME02
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As the title says, the number of baskets are one one of the great pros of this course. Although I have yet to play the new extra nine holes, the course is a whopping 27 holes. Don't worry about getting lost either as there is very good signage.

Even with this large number of holes, the creators of Dretzka disc golf course have also sought quality instead of just quantity. Therefore, you get a little of both worlds on this disc golf course.

It is a very well kept course, with a mix of wooded and open holes. The wooded fairways are tight but not as tight as Dretzka's neighbor course Brown Deer. This is a very fun course to play, and if you can put some distancew on your drives (at least 300ft) then there are going to be some deuce oppurtunities waiting for you.

In addition to having lots of baskets this course also has lots of tees. A majority of the holes have multiple tee placements. One short and one long. If you are unsure of which to play, intermediate division on down in tournaments at this park usually plays the short tees. Either way it is going to be a fun challenge.
Cons: Because this course is so well kept it is also very popular. Therefore, you might be waiting a little bit at each tee due to all the people that are playing it.

It could be hard to get deuces at this course if you do not have the arm to throw longer drives.

A few of the open holes can be a bit boring, but every course is going to have those holes. Don't let that discourage you from playing this course though as it is a great course and tI was just having trouble thinking of anymore cons.
Other Thoughts: This course is a must play if you are in the area. I would suggest playing this course and Brown Deer at the same time. These courses are both difficult, but after playing Brown Deer this course will seem like a walk in the park. Take advantage of some of the great disc golf courses in this area of Wisconsin.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

5+    5/18/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 27 holes. It's nice to have an extra nine.

- Alternate Teepads and baskets at almost every single hole.

-Great Layout, I would consider it very easy to navigate.

-Great teepads, nice and large

-Great scenery, good trees and nice incorperation into the course. And finnally, great signage. Sometimes it'll even mark the pin placements on blind holes.
Cons: Gosh, I know some things could be fixed, just can't think of any.

I guess some holes get a bit monotonous, but what are you going to do.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very enjoyable course that isn't super impossible but still very fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good course that's been well used

5+    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees most holes (except for newer nine).
4 pin placements per hole (except for newer nine)
A lot of excellent holes long to long; but, also opportunity for lesser players to play short tees. Pin placements moved often, to allow, again, for lesser players to play layouts suited to them; but, to keep better players interested.
27 holes (the newer nine is the area you should score well on; it is less tough than original; but this will probably be improved upon as the years go by; if continual course improvement here in the past is any indication of what is to come). There are a few good holes on the newer nine. (Many of these holes have been tourney holes for a long time).
Homemade aprons off the end of most tees. While these are not pretty; and could be considered slightly dangerous; due to being somewhat unlevel; they are better than a rutted hole in the ground.
Have I mentioned four pin placements?!! The course plays quite a bit different on every hole; depending on which pin is in the ground. Variety is a HUGE plus for a course that's been in the ground this long.
Elevation is used as well as it could have been; especially in long pin placements.
No signs on long tees; but short tees have signs that show all tee and pin placements, with footage. Homemade signs, but they do the job very well.
Cons: This is definitely a well played, "city course." As with any big city, there are some mildly unsavory characters on this course at any given time. (Most vicious fight I've seen in my life occurred here, but don't want you to think this is the norm. All the same, you may not want to "call anyone out" at Dretzka!!)
The course is often crowded with all varieties of players; including big groups of families and recreational players.
Open greens to a large degree.
Not a lot of huge length; and some holes; depending on the pin placement, are quite plain.
Other Thoughts: I believe the no wimps, no whiners, phrase originated here. This course hosted one of the biggest; and often, a pretty severe, ice bowl opportunity.
Though I don't think they're much involved in the club/tourney scene, anymore; Joe Weinshel and Ted Mani should be congratulated on what their vision for disc golf in Milwaukee has become. The high amount of traffic here; while a bit of a downer on one hand, is a testament to their vision, years ago.
The constant addition of pin placements has kept this course pretty up to date.
There are some who will find fault with me rating Brown Deer and Dretzka both with a four rating. Brown Deer LOOKS much nicer now; it is much newer (believe me, if you saw the original Brown Deer in the ground; it was more beat up than Dretzka is currently). There are more modern, high speed disc shots available at Brown Deer too. But, 27 holes (albeit the newer nine not being great), and the multiple pin placements; kept me from dropping this one to a 3.5.
I would point out that I think Brown Deer is probably an overall better experience. For instance, as we played, this last time, almost all Dretzka pins were in short placement. We played a round from long tees (which was challenging) and a round from short tees. Short to short is a birdie festival....which you will not find at Brown Deer. But, is this really a con... for the family crew? Multiple options is a plus in my book....
I also believe there is a set of gold tees only used for tourney play; to keep open players interested.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.