Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #25
3 / 238ft.   3 / 238ft.   3 / 238ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #25 Tee (#7 Alternate 9)



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 27 holer that can play as many as 100 holes from alt. pins!

5+    11/5/2011   6/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1) 27 holes (including the newer 9 hole loop you can play after you play #11 on the course or as its own 9. This also helps with the crowd during leagues, because we only use 18 holes for league the alternate 9 is always available to non league members. (Valley View League is a pain because of non league members)

2) This course has a handful of tight wooded alleys. A top course must have these in my opinion. Hole #1 has a chute you must hit on your drive to have a chance at birdie. #2 is tight and fairly straight. #3 has a chute off the tee to an open basket. #6 has a chute you need to get near to have a shot at birdie on one of the pin locations. #17 is tight and long and fairly straight (tell me what disc you would use on a 300' dead straight wooded shot). #18 has a short chute off the tee to an open basket.

3) This course has a fair variety in elevation for this area. There isn't a lot of up and down but some of the baskets are located on side slopes, or fairways that slant side to side.

4) This course has tee signs on every hole done just like the County Golf Courses. It also has benches on most holes although half a dozen of them have been damaged since the spring. Garbage cans are plentiful and it is noticeable as the course stays very clean.

5) On the 18 hole course every hole has at least 3 basket locations and some even have four. Alternate 9 all have 2 basket locations (although I couldnt find two of them).

6) 14 of the 18 holes also have alternate tees and all tees are concrete except the alternate tee on #11 which is up on top of the hill on an adjacent property. Word is that this tee will be gone soon as the property is going to be developed.

7) Dave 242 says it best . . . Multi shot holes are great. Definite landing areas where you should try and lay up unless you can shoot some of those tight gaps! These holes are alwasy enjoyable unless you miss the gap!
Cons: 1) No water in play except early in the spring on #1.

2) No sign to alternate tee on #11.

3) No signs on Alternate 9. I have now taken all of the measurements on this course so I will be sure to let the course pro know so maybe they can get some temporary signs up while we wait for the county to produce some permanent ones..

4) Even the short tees dont make this course beginner friendly, however the alternate 9 would be the best place for a beginner to play!

5) Apparent Vandalism to all of the broken benches at the tees.
Other Thoughts: I am a sucker for wooded holes that is why I like Brown Deer even more than I do Dretzka. Dretzka has its wooded holes, but I think Brown Deer does a better jobs with its pin positions on those holes. I also guess that I could say Dretzka is better than Brown Deer because it has 4 pin positions that can ultimately make the course even harder and more variety. In essence I guess you could say Dretzka can play as many as 72 holes with pins in different positions because the long positions are not simply 30-50' past the short pin. They are tucked left and right and around different trees. I have rated Brown Deer and Dretzka as 4's so I consider them about equal, but if I had to choose between Dretzka and Brown Deer if they were right next to each other, I still think I would choose Brown Deer.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

5+    10/14/2008   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A- (A little too open overall for my preference)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A- (From the long tees, quite a few holes are too long for me....making a birdie impossible and a par boring. Short pads suite my game perfectly.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A+ (Having 24 holes makes this possible.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A (Very pretty course - a country club feel. A feeling of seclusion can be had on only about 1/3 few holes.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

5+    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: jdowsett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dretzka is one of southeastern Wisconsin's premier courses. The best feature of this course is its variety, with 27 holes each featuring multiple pin placements and a few pro tees there is a good chance that if you play the course once it will have a completely different feel the next time you come out. You will need every shot in your arsenal if you want to play well on this course. There are a couple of holes where you can just let it rip, but for the majority accuracy and touch are the key. Depending on the layout this course can range from beginner friendly with plenty of birdie opportunities to a challenging course for even the best players.

The course is well maintained and easy to navigate. Each hole is clearly marked by a sign that indicates the various pin placements along with footage to each. Dretzka is busy without being overcrowded and most of the players are locals with good knowledge of the course.
Cons: I have only a few negative things to say about this excellent course. There is a lack of elevation change which I find is essential for a world class course. Another missing entity is water hazards, which would make this course truly amazing. I realize that this is very nitpicky and you can only work with what you have, but these are the only two faults I could find in this otherwise magnificent course. Also a bathroom or port-a-potty would be clutch.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is only 15 minutes away from the other great Milwaukee county course Brown Deer.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

5+    4/5/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Stross
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to find pins, weather will always help your disc guide you to pin, good throw means easy sets , some are short and long holes, and finally good to play with people more than 3
Cons: Lots of trees, lots of things to hit, don't get a good throw likely your going to get over par, and finally some times you have to wait for others to tee off

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Pins & Tees, oh my!

2-4    5/12/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I reviewed the Winter course(before they split the winter24/summer27 into separate entries) I gave it a 4.0, based on the novelty of two different courses, expecting to just keep it the same or drop the score based on how the summer course was. Naturally, I assumed it wouldn't be any better than a 3.5, maybe a 4. The winter course alone is only a 3.5

Add to this, when I drove through the park and scoped out the Summer course during my rounds on the Winter course, I have to admit I was not impressed. The summer holes I could see (tee signs covered in snow) looked flat, open and boring.
Wrong on all counts.

This is the best course I have played in SE Wisconsin to-date, and what I've heard about the remaining courses in the area leads me to believe that the title will rest with Dretzka, with Brown Deer a close second.

The winter course, though great given the limited options for snow golf, is not in the same league as this course.

All concrete pads, in great shape, dual tees on most of original 18. Original 18 has excellent signage, with hole maps detailling locations and distances to all the alt pins, from both long and short tees.

Oodles of alt pin positions, seemed like at least three for every hole, with some as many as five!! (in which case one was crazy hard, and only for tournaments, according to the guys running the weekly league & who switch the pins out regularly).

I'm gonna pause a moment here, because this course really impressed me on this point. The alt pin placements on this course are awesome. Each one significantly changes the hole, as much as the pin placements at Anna Page East, but with more options. The baskets here are well-placed and well-protected, from all of the pin placements, with a variety of awesome challenges on the putting game, like sticking the pin directly behind a tree with 3 trunks, thru a small opening onto a wooden hilltop blind from the tee, or behind a stand of white paper birch. Many holes have a circle of trees hollowed out for several different basket placements, each with its own narrow opening off one side of the fairway to enter like a (x) shape, with the x being basket and () being treeline.

This course looks fairly flat at first glance, and the total elevation change between the lowest and highest point on the course is not nearly as much as courses like Whistler and Justin Trails, but that's where the brilliance of the course's design comes into play. Elevation is in play on almost every hole. Some baskets are blind over a rolling hill, some are tucked into a hollow, some are up or down a hill. Many holes have both up and down elevation changes on them, for added fun. Its not drastic, but whats there does matter.

Also, this course varies from wooded to scattered trees. This course features some very hair-raising long tunnel shots through the woods (holes 2,3 & 17 in particular), but trees are a factor on every hole here. The baskets, in all pin locations, are very cleverly placed to maximize protection from the individual trees.

No hole on this course seems repetitive, even after repeated plays. They all have something different, and since there are so many pin locations, you can come here every week for 2 years and never play the exact same course twice, which is like playing a few completely different holes in most cases. It all comes back to the alt pins. It seems like they just keep adding more locations, which is awesome.

This course, at least from the short tees, is a great level of challenge: most holes seem quite attainable, but you will work for it. Deuces are very doable here, but don't expect them to just come, and with the changing baskets, scope out the hole before you park the wrong location. I get the feeling that if I played here enough, I would eventually birdie many of these, but it will take time and practice. Its far easier to bogey most of them.

Even if there is a hole you don't like, it has several different basket placements, so you wont have to suffer all year.

The holes force you to think, and play a variety of shots. Risk reward is in evidence, and this course WILL make you pay for getting greedy, as many holes force you to play under a tree canopy ceiling, at least of sorts.

This course throws many things at you: wind, tunnel shots with thick woods on either side, heavily wooded mazelike holes that force careful precision, and long drives. This course has some chances to air it out, but always with some control neccesary, and usually requiring curves around/through at least one tree gap.

It also has a nice variety of lengths and shapes. On one hole you might tee off with a careful midrange shot through trees, and the next hole will need the big driver. Curves left and right, so it helps to have more weapons in your arsenal, especially since what works one week wont neccesarily work the next, as they swap out a few pins each week.

The holes here are all good, forcing you to play a variety of lines. While by no means the most technical or wooded course out there, when playing this course, after every hole I just kept being more and more impressed. I kept trying to find reasons to downgrade this course, but its hard to find something to dislike about this place. Great maintenance on top of stellar course design, and great usage of available terrain and trees. Even after 27 holes, none of them feel redundant. Many tricky, interesting holes.

On the optional loop, there are some gorgeous cherry trees in bloom if you catch it in early spring. Stunning. Wood chips laid down for many putting circles, and areas that often turn to mud. Two consecutive super-tight wooded holes on the optional loop between 11&12 that will give you the willies. (Tighter than #13 and 17 at Elver Park)

This course reminds me of the best aspects of many other courses, combined into one.
-Hole-changing alt pins of Anna Page East
-More alt pin locations and rolling hills than Deming Park
-Dual concrete tees, like Madison courses

All around, a very nice, fun, challenging course with great flow, maintenance and variety. But it all comes back to variety. This course is a kaleidoscope chameleon, and every color it turns looks good.
Cons: The new 9 still seems to be in rougher shape than the original 18, or at least not up to the same amenities standards. The holes have posts with no signs, only one tee (still concrete) at each hole, and usually only one or two pin placements per hole. This is still good, but it doesn't compare with the high standards set by the regular holes.

Also, BE CAREFUL on the two tightly wooded holes on the new nine. The fairways are covered with short little stumps that can easily trip you up or roll an ankle if you're not
watching. Tread carefully here and you'll be fine.

The grassy field that is hole 1's fairway seems to get soggy after rains, and stay that way for awhile afterwards. Otherwise, this course has fairly good drainage.

Despite this, there really isnt any prescence of water hazards on this course. Sure there's a drainage ditch that runs through a few earlier holes, and the swamp/river behind/rigth or pin 1, there are really no lakes on this course. However, you can't fault the designers for this, and the OB road can come into play on several holes, which sort of makes up for it.

This is a course full of interesting and fun holes. I can't think of any real throwaway holes on this course. Hole 19 seems nondescript, yet somehow i managed to hit a different tree off the tree every time i played it, and the rest are quite good.

This course is phenomenal because there is nothing wrong with it, and the whole thing is well-planned out and done right. However, there are no holes here that I would call truly epic, that just blew me away. Several holes were distinct, including the long tunnels of death on 2, 3 and especially 17, and the two super tightly wooded holes on the optional loop are very cool. However, this lacks the jaw-dropping holes of someplace like Justin Trails.

I'm nit-picking here. I don't like giving out such high ratings easily, but I just COULD NOT find anything to dislike about this course, and I absolutely loved playing here. I've only tried the short tees sofar, and from there its definitely no match for Brown Deer in difficulty or length (few courses are). Even from the long tees, I'm not sure it would be as hard as Brown Deer, however, this course does everything right. I look at this course, and I see a masterpiece, maybe not painted with the brightest colors or of the most beautiful scenery, but this course maximizes the potential of the land it sits on, and is a joy to play.
Other Thoughts: This course and Brown Deer, are the two must play's if you are in the Milwaukee area, though the superior maintenance and amenities on this one lead me to favor it slightly, though Brown Deer is tougher, longer and seemingly more well-known to outsiders. Rating Dretzka higher than Brown Deer was and EXTREMELY tough decision, since they are both good, but the tipping point came down to three things where Dretzka kicks Brown Deers butt:
-Signage
-Multiple Pins
-Multiple Tees
Overall, these made for a more fun experience at Dretzka, and the fact that difficulty alone doesnt make or break a course's greatness (and Dretzka is still quite challenging)
Nuff said.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Dreztka - keeps me coming back

5+    1/25/2009   1/29/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 73  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 Holes with alt pins and alt tees.

Great signs that usually indicate the pin position with a tac in the unique carved wood map.

Concrete tee pads that are acceptable - no cracks and none of them are too short.

The baskets are in great condition and get moved to different locations OFTEN.

Benches on most holes, but a few have been broke recently, but they are working on getting more back out there.

Great flow - the holes seem to work well together, and you can do the 'extra' nine loop across the road anytime you are close enough to cross the road. I enjoy the choice just in case there are people you want to get around or let play through.
Cons: Not too many to speak of. The lack of elevation changes really are the main thing that hurts this solid course.
Other Thoughts: This course keeps you coming back for the challenge and because the pin locations change all the time, making it a completely different course each time you play it.
If you find the am tees to be a bit too easy there are a few pro tees that will again change the course feel.
This course will slightly test your skills, you will have a diverse range of shots that you'll have to make, but nothing is exceedingly hard.

This is a great course for someone looking to take their game from mediocre and work it up to advanced. The course is forgiving enough that beginners will have fun, but still tough enough that the pros will also enjoy themselves.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dreamy Dretska

5+    9/10/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 27 holes! The extra 9 is good if first 18 is too crowded..The ultimate course for a variety of pin placements(most have 3 to a hole) and several tee pads..Never have to play the same course twice..Also has a nice golf course and driving range..Fairly short..good Deuce or Die course..Winter Course too! Snow Frolf!!
Cons: Problem with pricks stealing pins..what terrible karma..
Other Thoughts: League in warm months on tuesday nights at 6pm..Only $6..timely rejuvenation spot w/ picnic table and tree cover after hole 14..

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 average +

5+    11/10/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2009
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -multiple pin placements
-some pro tees add extra feet/angles
-pretty decent signage w/distance
-some ripper holes
-an extra nine hole loop
Cons: -multiple tee placements can't be seen on some holes without walking the hole
-extra nine holes not marked like 18
-some baskets hard to figure out unless you walk up to them to see the number
-not a lot of elevation change, but some.
Other Thoughts: This is a "go to" Milwaukee park for many people, but I just don't get. To me this is an average course with some pretty good signage and tees.

Definitely one of Milwaukee's longer courses where you can test your arm. Variety is ok. Quite a few tree tunnel shots which to me gets old fast.

Dretzka is a decent park, and like I said, some swear by it, but I just don't get it. If in the area I would much rather play Sussex or Parkside...BUT one should try this course, you may like it.

UPDATE 1/3/09
Dretzka during the winter creates a completely different layout for their baskets on terrain used by the regular golf course. This allows some great elevation change shots, including one down a small old ski hill. I actually prefer the winter layout to the regular summer layout. The winter course is extremely well maintained with rubber tee pads, signs, and paths usually already created in the snow. By far the best place to play in the winter in the Milwaukee area.

UPDATE 5.17.09
Ok...I finally get it and feel my previous review(still intact was wrong) Actually have had a blast playing this course of late. Def one for advanced players if playing from the pro tees. Technical/multiple pin placements. An extra nine holes across the road. Slight elevation changes here and there. I am bumping up my original 3.5 to a 4.0. A fun fun park to play and challenge you. Variety is pretty good, especially with the many multiple pin placements. Seems like the mecca of the local Milwaukee area players. It has for me as of late.

6/8/09 I love playing the pro tees here with other big arm throwers. There is a HIDDEN pro tee for 18 that none of us noticed and have never seen anyone throw from. it is out of the tree tunnel on 18 and to the right another 200 feet on a hill. It is basically all by itself and hidden back by the entrance to 17. It makes 18 into a 450+ monster throw.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    10/18/2008   10/22/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome having two sets of concrete tees on each hole, it adds a lot to the course. Gorgeous scenery, lots of pretty trees (especially at this time of the year). Really great mix of wooded and open, though it leans a bit more toward open. Lots of great trees as obstacles. A really massive course - it takes long enough to play the 18, but going the full 27 is a true endeavor. Alternate basket locations adds a lot of variety.
Cons: The course was really, REALLY crowded when we went to play there. I understand that, as the course is very popular. The tee markers take a little bit to get used to, and sometimes, it may be a bit hard to tell where the basket is given the multiple basket locations. The course can also get hard to follow at times, but it isn't that bad.
Other Thoughts: By the time we had played this course, we already played at Grafton and Brown Deer, so we were a bit exhausted. Still, this course was a real blast and would be enough to play on its own in a given day. The course was definitely tough - maybe not as tough as Brown Deer, but definitely comparable. Dretzka is an awesome course, and I definitely recommend it!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

1    8/23/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Tripod2
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are 2 - 4 different teepads per hole, giving all sorts of variety and challenge that vary per outing. There's a wonderful mix of wooded and open holes to keep the play fast, fun, and very interesting. The fact that there's an adjoining 9 holer (across the road from hole 10, I think...) adds even more variety and challenge to playing this park. Thankfully, there were NO water hazards.
Cons: I'm from Sycamore, in north central IL, and was up in Milwaukee for a bachelor party when I played this course for the first time ever. My bro-in-law and I were confused and didn't know where the first hole was, so we asked a buncha guys who were teeing off on 16. They told us where to go and also told us that some asshole stole the pin from hole 6. Apparently, this wasn't the first time this had happened, either, but suffice to say, one rotten apple ruins it for the rest of us.

I wish the 9 holer was marked; no distances or hole numbers are given. One can argue this a few different ways, but I'd like to at least know the distance to the pin (if I remember correctly there's one teepad per hole on the 9 holer). Maybe I'm just a nerd...
Other Thoughts: This is a fun park to play! If it wasn't 2 hours+ away, I'd be there each Saturday! If you're in SE WI then you must make it a point to play Dretzka a few times over.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.