Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #15 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 375ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee Sign



Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Intermediate

2-4    6/1/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a busy park with lots of disc golfers on a typical day, but it doesn't seem like anything else would get in the way.
- The beginning and end of this course play in a very dense woods that has lines carved out, with a well defined path to the basket. A straight shot is king on these holes, with a few trailing right. The first hole has a gap to hit about 250' out, and the last hole plays out of the woods. A few other holes throughout the course also have tighter lines, like a straight shot on #6 that can end in three different directions, or some short but tricky holes on the rec side.
- Most of the holes have a medium amount of trees or woods to contend with, either matching the line given or finding your own through the smattering of trees. Some of the tougher ones include a blind hyzer around the woods on #8, a basket uphill and in the woods on #9 and #14, and a blind RHFH flex shot on #7. LOTs of other holes are set in groves of trees, on both the 18 and 9 side.
- Some decent elevation changes here, like the downhill shot on #8, and uphill on #9, a slight hump on #10, and a slight downhill on #11. #13 and #14 are slight uphill, and #14's basket can be tucked up in the woods. Nothing too crazy, but noticeable.
- A few basket positions here are in tough spots. #1 long is tucked right into the woods, the leftmost position on #6 is tucked deep under some low branches, #13 has an elevated position, #11 long is tucked behind a large patch of forest. Big difference from the shorties.
- Good baskets, signage, and teepads. Navigation is pretty easy, though the 'alternate' holes are kind of shunted to the side.
Cons: - With a few exceptions, the land is pretty flat here. Many of the holes have little to no elevation change. Can make the course seem a little repetitive, especially with a lot of holes out in the open areas.
- Park road is close to a lot of holes, which adds some OB challenge, but takes away from the overall feel. A lot of traffic in and out of the park.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a fun course that has a good balance of holes out in the open and holes in the forest. The deep woods has punishing rough off the fairways, and the medium woods offer fun lines. Those in the open areas offer a great chance to air out some big drives, especially from the longer tees. A good challenge for beginners or veterans, advanced players will be able to tear through the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/13/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Dretzka park very early on a Sunday morning. This park is a little further from downtown Milwaukee than Brown Deer (10 min. max.). Dretzka features lot's of open space in this large park which also features an adjacent ball golf course and driving range. Pro and Am concrete tee pads for 13 of 18 holes on the layout I played.

Each hole also featured at least 4 possible basket locations. These are shown on the well done signs at each AM tee pad. Having read earlier reviews I looked for the push-pin markers for which location was in play. They were there and accurate on some holes and missing on many others. Being a first time visitor here and playing alone I walked quite a few holes to locate the baskets. Not a big deal in wanting to get to know the course anyway.

There are 27 total holes here. There is a separate 9 hole loop that lies on the other side of a park road in the vicinity of holes 11 - 14. I did not get to play these.

This course is relatively flat with a good mix of tree lined fairways, some tight and relatively long and more open holes. Where the course was allowed to open up a bit, baskets seemed always well placed in regards to trees, etc. There was some slight elevation that came in play on a few of the middle holes.

Also of note, there are 2 basket locations which are elevated on areas using landscape timbers as terrace steps.
Cons: Not many here. As noted before, not much elevation and a little work to find the basket location sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Part of a very clean, large multi-use park. Disc golf seems to wind around and away from all other areas. Definitely will play again when I'm near Milwaukee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2011   1/26/2012
Review By: discgolfinskwrl
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice usage of terrain.... Pro tees are extremely fun.... And make it quite a bit more challenging... Wide corridors in the woods.... 2 elevated pins( holes 8 & 13) for an added Challenge....
Cons: Can lose discs easily on hole 7 if u throw it to the woods on the right..... The elevated tee on 8 is a little much.... Made an already difficult pin placement impossible for any rhfh or lhbh.... And near impossible for others.... Very crowded at times.... And you notice
Other Thoughts: Not as good as brown deer but overall definitely worth playing.... Fun time....

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 After work fun!

2-4    10/4/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: TrickyTay
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course was great and fun to play on. Got off work early one day so I figured I would hit this course up and give it a shot. Very impressive course. Tee boxes were in great shape, Love how the 18 hole were spread out. Also thought it was cool how they changed the layout of the pins. Back to the subject of tee boxes, I also found it impressive that there were also blue tee boxes. First time seeing that so I thought it was pretty interesting.
Cons: This is a fairly busy area to play in. Park was pretty busy the days I went. Either people let me jump in front of them or waiting on them.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Down with Dretzka

5+    8/9/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The land is mostly flat but has a few areas with rolling terrain to make things interesting. There is quite a bit of rough that makes some of the holes very challenging. The great thing about the rough is it's punishing and makes you pay the price in strokes but it's not hard to find discs in it. It's maintained awesome and looks great every time I visit. Thank the Shark if you see him!

--2 sets of concrete tee pads. Long/Short
--Desriptive tee signs with basket location marked.
--Multiple pin postions on the original 18 which are changed often.
--Mach 3 baskets are in good shape.
--Excellent variety.
--The longest tee to the longest basket will challenge the top pros in the world. The short tees to any setup is fun for any skill level player.
--Added 9 holes makes for options to play 18 or 27 hole round.
--Several new built up and framed in greens. Those include #8 & #13
--Quite a few benches and garbage cans on the course.
---Holes #1, 2, 3, & 17 are excellent tunnel holes.
Cons: The design of this course utilizes all of the land. I don't think the land offered any more than a 4 rating.

I understand why but the course is pulled during the spring to prevent damage. Check the course updates to make sure you don't visit when it's pulled.

Not so much of a con but a fair warning. This course is super popular and can be slow to play with a lot of groups on it.
Other Thoughts: With Brown Deer only a few minutes down the road these are 2 really good courses to visit.

I wish I lived closer to Dretzka Park. It would be a fantastic home course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka!

2-4    8/4/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 94  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety within the hole design
- Good distance variety
- Modest elevation changes
- Challenging with rewarding birdie opportunities
- Good risk reward opportunities
- Thick rough that punished shots, yet it was easy to locate your disc
- Required a variety of shots to score well
- Baskets were in solid condition
- Concrete tee pads that were in good shape
- Stellar tee signs on every hole
- Benches on a lot of holes to sit and rest
- Multiple pin placements to keep the course fresh
- Well kept course in a beautiful park.
- Good disc golf community
Cons: - Blind baskets difficult to play first time around
- Minor navigation issues
Other Thoughts: Dretzka is an awesome course that plays through woods and grassland. It has something for everybody, tight technical shots and longer bomber holes. It provides all types of players with the opportunity to score well. The hole design forces many different lines and types of shots. I used almost every disc in my bag. The wooded holes are especially fun because the thick rough punishes errant shots, yet it is not difficult to find your disc. I had the pleasure of playing a round with Mark, who maintains both Brown Deer and Dretzka and heads up the Great Lakes Disc Golf Club, and found that the upkeep of Dretzka is a result of his passion for the sport. It was a treat to play with someone so knowledgeable about the course and about the game.

My one suggestion that could improve this course is some sort of indicator on the tee signs as to what position the basket is in. It is not an issue on the visible baskets, because there are large PVC stops in the unused pin positions, but on the blind baskets it is sometimes necessary to walk the fairway to see what position the basket is in.

UPDATE: It has been brought to my knowledge that the locals have a system in which they use pins on the tee signs to mark the pin positions, but unfortunately people take those pins and ruin it for everyone. As I result I have bumped my rating up to 4.5/5.

Overall, Dretzka is a great course and worth a trip, especially with Brown Deer so close it could make for a great weekend or day of discin'.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    7/30/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 49  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park, good tee pads, easy to find. Friendly locals. Ample parking. Not crowded.
Cons: A bit confusing to navigate, some hole overlap. Never found the 18+ holes. No water fountain.
Other Thoughts: A decent community park course. I was in the area and this course along with nearby Brown Deer were highly rated so I played both.

Dretska was easy to find, however the course itself has some navigation issues. With a bit of fairway overlap, it's easy to mix up which basket goes with which tee.

Some nice wooded technical holes; a bit too narrow for my taste but nothing too frustrating.

Minus the overlaps, the course was relatively easy to navigate. Friendly locals, moderately active course on a summer Saturday.

No water fountains and the nearby bathrooms were locked. Ample parking right by hole 1 tee.

Area players will like the course, however I didn't find it as compelling as the other reviewers. The fairway overlap mixed with the lack of elevation changes and a bit of repetitious back and forth left me wanting more.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challanging Course

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: iabengalfan
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course was well marked out. Baskets were easy too find and some were a welcome challenge. I would play there again.
Cons: There was lots of people there and had too let people play through more times than not. Also trash littered the area like a dump site. Wish people would treat it better wen they go.
Other Thoughts: I would have NO problem going back too it and playing again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Doucette
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uses a lot of the park
Has a winter course
27 holes
Every Hole is unique
Challenging holes
Easy to follow
Good variety of wooded on open holes
Tournaments almost every weekend
Cons: Crowded on weekends
A lot of litter
Could be muddy
During fall theres a lot of leaves where you can loose your disc under
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses I have ever played. I play it about 3-4 times a week, they change up the pins regularly, so it never get boring. Good place to practice long drives and some unique shots

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dretzka is an excellent course with plenty of variety. Multiple tees and rotating pin placements provide for a ton of different looks and make this course accessible to a wide variety of players.

This course mixes wooded holes with open holes very well. At no point will you go through long stretches of tight wooded holes, or long open holes.. The course moves seamlessly back and forth between the two, which is something not many courses are able to do effectively.

The park itself is a beatiful place to play disc golf. Despite this being a multi-use park, there is a lot of land devoted to disc golf, and other activites never really come into play. There is a little elevation to work with and plenty of mature trees that are incorporated into the course nicely

The problem with a lot of large courses (18+ holes), are the inevitable throw away/filler type holes, but this course did not have this problem. Each hole is unique. This variety contributes to a high fun factor.

Course flow is great on the 18 holer, and on the 9-holer, just not between the two (more on this in a second).

The dual tees are huge and in fantastic conditon. The signs get the job done, and there are benches and garbage cans everywhere.
Cons: From an outsider's perspective, it seems like this should either be listed as two separate courses, or it should be modified to form a more unified single course. The bonus 9 are numbered 1-9 and do not have any obvious flow with the main 18-holer. We ended up playing the 9-holer as a warm up, then played the 18-hole course (I wouldn't recommend this... way too much walking). To me it would make more sense to implement a 1A, 2A, 3A..., type numbering system for the bonus 9 with some adjustments to the flow of the 18 hole to make it a more obvious where to hop on to the extra 9. As of now it's just kind of there to figure out for yourself, but it seemed like everybody else knew what was going on, so I guess if it ain't broke...

All holes are above average, but there is no signature hole. Not really a huge con, but this is what keeps this course at a 4, and not higher.

When we played most of the pins were at their shortest placements. This kind of sucked for us, but I understand the pins are rotated often, so that didn't affect my rating.
Other Thoughts: There were a lot of people on the course when I played, but we never got stuck behind any groups, so contrary to many other reviews, I found that the crowds here weren't too bad.

You can't really go wrong with Dretzka. It's accessible to a wide range of players, presents some great variety, and is located in a very nice park. Brown Deer DGC is a few miles down the street, so if this course is too easy for you, go there for a little more challenge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.