Disc Golf Store
Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 358ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome

5+    5/18/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: droppedthenuke
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - 27 holes. It's nice to have an extra nine.

- Alternate Teepads and baskets at almost every single hole.

-Great Layout, I would consider it very easy to navigate.

-Great teepads, nice and large

-Great scenery, good trees and nice incorperation into the course. And finnally, great signage. Sometimes it'll even mark the pin placements on blind holes.
Cons: Gosh, I know some things could be fixed, just can't think of any.

I guess some holes get a bit monotonous, but what are you going to do.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very enjoyable course that isn't super impossible but still very fun.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 good course that's been well used

5+    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 718  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual tees most holes (except for newer nine).
4 pin placements per hole (except for newer nine)
A lot of excellent holes long to long; but, also opportunity for lesser players to play short tees. Pin placements moved often, to allow, again, for lesser players to play layouts suited to them; but, to keep better players interested.
27 holes (the newer nine is the area you should score well on; it is less tough than original; but this will probably be improved upon as the years go by; if continual course improvement here in the past is any indication of what is to come). There are a few good holes on the newer nine. (Many of these holes have been tourney holes for a long time).
Homemade aprons off the end of most tees. While these are not pretty; and could be considered slightly dangerous; due to being somewhat unlevel; they are better than a rutted hole in the ground.
Have I mentioned four pin placements?!! The course plays quite a bit different on every hole; depending on which pin is in the ground. Variety is a HUGE plus for a course that's been in the ground this long.
Elevation is used as well as it could have been; especially in long pin placements.
No signs on long tees; but short tees have signs that show all tee and pin placements, with footage. Homemade signs, but they do the job very well.
Cons: This is definitely a well played, "city course." As with any big city, there are some mildly unsavory characters on this course at any given time. (Most vicious fight I've seen in my life occurred here, but don't want you to think this is the norm. All the same, you may not want to "call anyone out" at Dretzka!!)
The course is often crowded with all varieties of players; including big groups of families and recreational players.
Open greens to a large degree.
Not a lot of huge length; and some holes; depending on the pin placement, are quite plain.
Other Thoughts: I believe the no wimps, no whiners, phrase originated here. This course hosted one of the biggest; and often, a pretty severe, ice bowl opportunity.
Though I don't think they're much involved in the club/tourney scene, anymore; Joe Weinshel and Ted Mani should be congratulated on what their vision for disc golf in Milwaukee has become. The high amount of traffic here; while a bit of a downer on one hand, is a testament to their vision, years ago.
The constant addition of pin placements has kept this course pretty up to date.
There are some who will find fault with me rating Brown Deer and Dretzka both with a four rating. Brown Deer LOOKS much nicer now; it is much newer (believe me, if you saw the original Brown Deer in the ground; it was more beat up than Dretzka is currently). There are more modern, high speed disc shots available at Brown Deer too. But, 27 holes (albeit the newer nine not being great), and the multiple pin placements; kept me from dropping this one to a 3.5.
I would point out that I think Brown Deer is probably an overall better experience. For instance, as we played, this last time, almost all Dretzka pins were in short placement. We played a round from long tees (which was challenging) and a round from short tees. Short to short is a birdie festival....which you will not find at Brown Deer. But, is this really a con... for the family crew? Multiple options is a plus in my book....
I also believe there is a set of gold tees only used for tourney play; to keep open players interested.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

2-4    7/4/2009   1/22/2010
Review By: ThomasOrion
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: variety, but does not take very long to play. It's right by major roads, but enough away that traffic noise is low.
Cons: sometimes you can't see the pin and don't know where you are aiming. so if you aim for one, it may be somewhere else, kinda kills the mood.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    5/20/2011   1/13/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good mix of tunnel > tight > open holes. several holes have aspects of all three.
- Requires good shot placement and accuracy hitting gaps.
- Very Fun to play!!!! Although it can beat you up it is just a great park to play some disc golf.
- Local DG community is very friendly and glad to help you out.
- Trash Cans are plentiful and at almost every tee sign.
- Tee Signs are very descriptive. Easily identify the basket and placement.
- Great flow and easy to navigate.
- The slight elevation change throughout the park is well used.
- Level tee pads!!!!
- Multiple pin placements
- Well maintained and always in great condition. Thank you Mark Peterson and GLDGC
- Recent addition to the course 2011, holes 8 and 13 have raised pin positions now. very nicely built and well placed.
- You dont need a ton of shots to play descent. but if you have a bag full of tricks you can really light the course up.
Cons: - Pro tees could be more creative instead of just longer. I personally like the Pro tees to be almost like playing a different course.
- So the community of DGers has really changed. there are a ton of chuckers out there. for the most part they have descent etiquette.
- New 9 is kind of a let down. not really a con but not what i was hopeful for.
Other Thoughts: MY FAVORITE COURSE!!!!
Dretzka 18 has many layouts and challenges. In its hardest set up even a seasoned pro will have to really work their game. and can be setup as a very beginner friendly course. Players of all caliber wil find challenge and alot of fun playing this course. This is the one course out there that i could play for the rest of my life everyday and not get sick of it (as long as i could change pins often)
The new 9 are a let down. when i heard that an additional 9 had been added back in 2007 i was dying to play them. the origanl 18 were so well done and creative. i was hoping for another challenging and fun holes. essentially all 9 are easy to birdie for the INT/ADV/PRO levels. #3 (21) long and #9 are really the only ones easy to miss the duece putt. speaking of #9 (27), this is in my top 10 for stupid holes. its a chuck and wait to see what happens. theres essentially two 3ft wide gaps to hit on a lil flex shot. if they just took the center tree out it would be so much better of a hole. imo
On your first time remember that after 5 cross the street to 6 (south). After 14 cross street to east for the additional 9 holes then back across to 15 (west). then back over by 5's basket is 16's tee. Make sure on 18 you through to 18's basket and not the PB. Ive seen lots of first timers do this for some reason.
Favorite Hole - #6 - From Pro Tee to the placement on the right, i think gold. The fairway starts off slightly uphill. then quickly slopes down and to the right in a gap in the trees. The basket is well guarded by a few trees and the ground around it slopes away. If you take to high of a line you'll go into the rough deep and struggle to make par.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very nice locale course.

5+    10/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good signage on the 1st 18 holes.
-tee pads are all cement & in great shape. (pro & am on some)
-multiple pin placements that change the shot on some pins.
-extra 9 holes
-good use of the park land, and pretty dam clean for a city park.
-plenty of parking
-if you keep your eyes on the discs, it's pretty dam hard to lose a disc here. (I know I just jinxed myself)
-very low on the mosquito meter as well. I can't remember the last time I needed spray here.
Cons: -back 9 signage is lacking.

Other Thoughts: I can't really think of too many bad points of this course. I've played few courses that I enjoy as much as this course. It's a good time.

It can get a little crowded in the afternoons & weekends, but never so much to detract from the game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A "must play"

5+    8/18/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 30  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole types, with the exception of steep elevation change, and water.
This course is just off 41/45, and is very easy to find.
The addition of an extra 9 holes is just awesome. You can play 1-11, skip over to the other 9 holes, and then finish up with 12-18 for a 27 hole adventure in the park.
Holes are long, and some (2, 3, & 17) are extremely narrow tunnel shots. Makes for some additional challenge on an otherwise pretty par-able 18 hole course from the amature tees.
Two sets of concrete tees are well positioned for (for the most part) a different look to the course depending upon which set you play from.
Three pin placements for each hole make it different everytime you go.
I also like playing just the "separate 9" during lunch breaks due to this being an 8 min. drive from work.
Cons: This course can be extremely crowded from time to time, and you're right on the edge of Milwaukee, so there is that element of crime at times.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on, and still prefer to play daily.
This course went into the ground in ~93 when the pins were pulled from Brown Deer to make room for the GMO. I remember playing this the first few years, and the local guys have really put a lot of effort into this course over the past 16 years or so.

I have lots of favorite holes here, but I'll mention that #7 is a perfect RHBH hyzer shot for an ace, but I've still never hit it. Slightly downhill, so you can either skip it into the basket, or it's going to hit the chains on a fly really hard.
#8 is a nice long hyzer hole, and #14 is just about the prettiest hole I've seen locally.
Playing this course is a must if you are in the area, and you will undoubtedly enjoy the layout.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: fallsrunner10
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a convenient location, right off the highway but you don't get the highway noise. It's not hard to find. The course is very easy to follow, there are handmade signs on every course that point you in the direction of the next tee. Pro tees and multiple basket locations make for a different play each time (although i've played there four times in the last week and the baskets have been in the same spot every time). Some holes are open, some are wooded, some very technical. It makes for a challenging game. For many holes, if you mess up your drive, you mess up the hole. The woods on holes 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, and 17 are thick and hard to get out of, but it makes for a fun game.

The newer 9 are not incorporated in any way with the original 18, but are just as challenging, if not harder. From hole 8 of the original 9 you can cross the road and meet up with hole 2 of the new 9. These holes are shorter than the original 18 but are much more technical are require lots of different kinds of throws. Holes 1 and 2 are the most open and easiest, from there they get harder. Makes for a challenging 9.
Cons: The later in the day you play, the bigger groups you find and the slower you will go. The trash has been bad in the past but has improved over the past year.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course for beginners. Wind can play a factor on some holes you might not think it could (1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 18).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course with many setups!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an older course that is still one of the best courses in Wisconsin to this day. There are 2 sets of cement tees and a large variety of pin placements that gives this course alot of different looks. It can be a fun deuce course without much trouble, or it can be a super-challenging, longer course where you are trying to shoot a 54. A really nice public park near a golf course. You can use just about every shot in your bag at this course. Mix of open holes and wooded/tunnel holes. Really fun.
Cons: Pretty flat course overall. Not alot of complaints about the course design.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play casually and competitively! Fun and challenging.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid design, but far from world class

5+    5/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While Dretzka is a nice course and fairly well balanced, it just does not nearly have it all, and has far too many cons to be considered world class by any means. While this course is HUGELY popular with the locals, it may not be with you (i'll discuss that con later). Dretzka does offer decent use of what little elevation is at the course. Many holes have 3 pin positions and I think all of the original 18 (maybe not #4) have dual tees. There is a pretty good variety of holes here too with slight uphill and downhill, a few tight woods, but mostly slightly technical open holes (imagine your typical established city park with large mature trees very sporadically located, which slightly alter your intended flights. Signs are pretty good and handmade which is a nice touch. Woodchips and beaten in paths show you the way very well.
Cons: The new 9 does NOT have dual tees. The new 9 is nowhere near as well designed and does not play in nearly as nice of terrain as the original 18. The signs do NOT show the current pin position on any of the 27 holes. The new 9 has new concrete pads that were installed a bit too high and leave a lip around the edge. The old 18 pads have bad erosion off the front. The course suffers from oldschool desig mentality with wide open greens for the most part (a few in the woods are near the edge of some trees or brush, but no pins are on much of a slope or real risky green)

There is no water hazard and when I speak of elevation, I'm just talking about simple little rolling hillsides in a park, nothing big or steep at all.

There is a TON of trash at the course - both garabage and people. With this hugely popular course comes the hugely popular groups of large numbers of hacks that take their time, won't let you play through, and leave garbage and occassionally vandalize. These scenes are far too often part of your round at Dretzka and really take away from the experience. Often the baskets are busted, beat up, and have been stolen in the past.

Stupid Milwaukee county rule about alcohol by permit only, just hurts responsible drinkers and those not from the area. The drunken losers are still out in full force despite this rule.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka park and course is pretty nice. Not fantastic but solid design. It lacks many aspects that make a course great and the design is only slightly above averaghe in my opinion (although many holes are indeed VERY well designed). It's location mid city and all the cons I mentioned just bring it down even more. For those who love a scenic and causal round, you will probably NOT liek Dretzka. While it is worth a stop if playing Milwaukee for the first time, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way. Brown Deer is a better course experince with far less traffic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    6/28/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: feavelan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great challenge, well kept, 27 holes. Tees are in great shape and the layout makes it fun and challenging. I love that there are multiple pin placements.
Cons: Some holes are just insane. Some pin placements are hidden from the tee so it's hard to tell what placement it's at.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to everyone.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center