Milwaukee, WI
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 410ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Pro Tee



Reviews: 51
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My favorite course

5+    5/20/2011   1/13/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 129  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2011
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Good mix of tunnel > tight > open holes. several holes have aspects of all three.
- Requires good shot placement and accuracy hitting gaps.
- Very Fun to play!!!! Although it can beat you up it is just a great park to play some disc golf.
- Local DG community is very friendly and glad to help you out.
- Trash Cans are plentiful and at almost every tee sign.
- Tee Signs are very descriptive. Easily identify the basket and placement.
- Great flow and easy to navigate.
- The slight elevation change throughout the park is well used.
- Level tee pads!!!!
- Multiple pin placements
- Well maintained and always in great condition. Thank you Mark Peterson and GLDGC
- Recent addition to the course 2011, holes 8 and 13 have raised pin positions now. very nicely built and well placed.
- You dont need a ton of shots to play descent. but if you have a bag full of tricks you can really light the course up.
Cons: - Pro tees could be more creative instead of just longer. I personally like the Pro tees to be almost like playing a different course.
- So the community of DGers has really changed. there are a ton of chuckers out there. for the most part they have descent etiquette.
- New 9 is kind of a let down. not really a con but not what i was hopeful for.
Other Thoughts: MY FAVORITE COURSE!!!!
Dretzka 18 has many layouts and challenges. In its hardest set up even a seasoned pro will have to really work their game. and can be setup as a very beginner friendly course. Players of all caliber wil find challenge and alot of fun playing this course. This is the one course out there that i could play for the rest of my life everyday and not get sick of it (as long as i could change pins often)
The new 9 are a let down. when i heard that an additional 9 had been added back in 2007 i was dying to play them. the origanl 18 were so well done and creative. i was hoping for another challenging and fun holes. essentially all 9 are easy to birdie for the INT/ADV/PRO levels. #3 (21) long and #9 are really the only ones easy to miss the duece putt. speaking of #9 (27), this is in my top 10 for stupid holes. its a chuck and wait to see what happens. theres essentially two 3ft wide gaps to hit on a lil flex shot. if they just took the center tree out it would be so much better of a hole. imo
On your first time remember that after 5 cross the street to 6 (south). After 14 cross street to east for the additional 9 holes then back across to 15 (west). then back over by 5's basket is 16's tee. Make sure on 18 you through to 18's basket and not the PB. Ive seen lots of first timers do this for some reason.
Favorite Hole - #6 - From Pro Tee to the placement on the right, i think gold. The fairway starts off slightly uphill. then quickly slopes down and to the right in a gap in the trees. The basket is well guarded by a few trees and the ground around it slopes away. If you take to high of a line you'll go into the rough deep and struggle to make par.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 very nice locale course.

5+    10/15/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good signage on the 1st 18 holes.
-tee pads are all cement & in great shape. (pro & am on some)
-multiple pin placements that change the shot on some pins.
-extra 9 holes
-good use of the park land, and pretty dam clean for a city park.
-plenty of parking
-if you keep your eyes on the discs, it's pretty dam hard to lose a disc here. (I know I just jinxed myself)
-very low on the mosquito meter as well. I can't remember the last time I needed spray here.
Cons: -back 9 signage is lacking.

Other Thoughts: I can't really think of too many bad points of this course. I've played few courses that I enjoy as much as this course. It's a good time.

It can get a little crowded in the afternoons & weekends, but never so much to detract from the game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A "must play"

5+    8/18/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Scott Van Dyke
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole types, with the exception of steep elevation change, and water.
This course is just off 41/45, and is very easy to find.
The addition of an extra 9 holes is just awesome. You can play 1-11, skip over to the other 9 holes, and then finish up with 12-18 for a 27 hole adventure in the park.
Holes are long, and some (2, 3, & 17) are extremely narrow tunnel shots. Makes for some additional challenge on an otherwise pretty par-able 18 hole course from the amature tees.
Two sets of concrete tees are well positioned for (for the most part) a different look to the course depending upon which set you play from.
Three pin placements for each hole make it different everytime you go.
I also like playing just the "separate 9" during lunch breaks due to this being an 8 min. drive from work.
Cons: This course can be extremely crowded from time to time, and you're right on the edge of Milwaukee, so there is that element of crime at times.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on, and still prefer to play daily.
This course went into the ground in ~93 when the pins were pulled from Brown Deer to make room for the GMO. I remember playing this the first few years, and the local guys have really put a lot of effort into this course over the past 16 years or so.

I have lots of favorite holes here, but I'll mention that #7 is a perfect RHBH hyzer shot for an ace, but I've still never hit it. Slightly downhill, so you can either skip it into the basket, or it's going to hit the chains on a fly really hard.
#8 is a nice long hyzer hole, and #14 is just about the prettiest hole I've seen locally.
Playing this course is a must if you are in the area, and you will undoubtedly enjoy the layout.


6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course

5+    8/22/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: fallsrunner10
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a convenient location, right off the highway but you don't get the highway noise. It's not hard to find. The course is very easy to follow, there are handmade signs on every course that point you in the direction of the next tee. Pro tees and multiple basket locations make for a different play each time (although i've played there four times in the last week and the baskets have been in the same spot every time). Some holes are open, some are wooded, some very technical. It makes for a challenging game. For many holes, if you mess up your drive, you mess up the hole. The woods on holes 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 10, and 17 are thick and hard to get out of, but it makes for a fun game.

The newer 9 are not incorporated in any way with the original 18, but are just as challenging, if not harder. From hole 8 of the original 9 you can cross the road and meet up with hole 2 of the new 9. These holes are shorter than the original 18 but are much more technical are require lots of different kinds of throws. Holes 1 and 2 are the most open and easiest, from there they get harder. Makes for a challenging 9.
Cons: The later in the day you play, the bigger groups you find and the slower you will go. The trash has been bad in the past but has improved over the past year.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a course for beginners. Wind can play a factor on some holes you might not think it could (1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 18).

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course with many setups!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 229  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an older course that is still one of the best courses in Wisconsin to this day. There are 2 sets of cement tees and a large variety of pin placements that gives this course alot of different looks. It can be a fun deuce course without much trouble, or it can be a super-challenging, longer course where you are trying to shoot a 54. A really nice public park near a golf course. You can use just about every shot in your bag at this course. Mix of open holes and wooded/tunnel holes. Really fun.
Cons: Pretty flat course overall. Not alot of complaints about the course design.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play casually and competitively! Fun and challenging.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid design, but far from world class

5+    5/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 160  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While Dretzka is a nice course and fairly well balanced, it just does not nearly have it all, and has far too many cons to be considered world class by any means. While this course is HUGELY popular with the locals, it may not be with you (i'll discuss that con later). Dretzka does offer decent use of what little elevation is at the course. Many holes have 3 pin positions and I think all of the original 18 (maybe not #4) have dual tees. There is a pretty good variety of holes here too with slight uphill and downhill, a few tight woods, but mostly slightly technical open holes (imagine your typical established city park with large mature trees very sporadically located, which slightly alter your intended flights. Signs are pretty good and handmade which is a nice touch. Woodchips and beaten in paths show you the way very well.
Cons: The new 9 does NOT have dual tees. The new 9 is nowhere near as well designed and does not play in nearly as nice of terrain as the original 18. The signs do NOT show the current pin position on any of the 27 holes. The new 9 has new concrete pads that were installed a bit too high and leave a lip around the edge. The old 18 pads have bad erosion off the front. The course suffers from oldschool desig mentality with wide open greens for the most part (a few in the woods are near the edge of some trees or brush, but no pins are on much of a slope or real risky green)

There is no water hazard and when I speak of elevation, I'm just talking about simple little rolling hillsides in a park, nothing big or steep at all.

There is a TON of trash at the course - both garabage and people. With this hugely popular course comes the hugely popular groups of large numbers of hacks that take their time, won't let you play through, and leave garbage and occassionally vandalize. These scenes are far too often part of your round at Dretzka and really take away from the experience. Often the baskets are busted, beat up, and have been stolen in the past.

Stupid Milwaukee county rule about alcohol by permit only, just hurts responsible drinkers and those not from the area. The drunken losers are still out in full force despite this rule.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka park and course is pretty nice. Not fantastic but solid design. It lacks many aspects that make a course great and the design is only slightly above averaghe in my opinion (although many holes are indeed VERY well designed). It's location mid city and all the cons I mentioned just bring it down even more. For those who love a scenic and causal round, you will probably NOT liek Dretzka. While it is worth a stop if playing Milwaukee for the first time, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way. Brown Deer is a better course experince with far less traffic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    6/28/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: feavelan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great challenge, well kept, 27 holes. Tees are in great shape and the layout makes it fun and challenging. I love that there are multiple pin placements.
Cons: Some holes are just insane. Some pin placements are hidden from the tee so it's hard to tell what placement it's at.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to everyone.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 27 holer that can play as many as 100 holes from alt. pins!

5+    11/5/2011   6/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 684  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1) 27 holes (including the newer 9 hole loop you can play after you play #11 on the course or as its own 9. This also helps with the crowd during leagues, because we only use 18 holes for league the alternate 9 is always available to non league members. (Valley View League is a pain because of non league members)

2) This course has a handful of tight wooded alleys. A top course must have these in my opinion. Hole #1 has a chute you must hit on your drive to have a chance at birdie. #2 is tight and fairly straight. #3 has a chute off the tee to an open basket. #6 has a chute you need to get near to have a shot at birdie on one of the pin locations. #17 is tight and long and fairly straight (tell me what disc you would use on a 300' dead straight wooded shot). #18 has a short chute off the tee to an open basket.

3) This course has a fair variety in elevation for this area. There isn't a lot of up and down but some of the baskets are located on side slopes, or fairways that slant side to side.

4) This course has tee signs on every hole done just like the County Golf Courses. It also has benches on most holes although half a dozen of them have been damaged since the spring. Garbage cans are plentiful and it is noticeable as the course stays very clean.

5) On the 18 hole course every hole has at least 3 basket locations and some even have four. Alternate 9 all have 2 basket locations (although I couldnt find two of them).

6) 14 of the 18 holes also have alternate tees and all tees are concrete except the alternate tee on #11 which is up on top of the hill on an adjacent property. Word is that this tee will be gone soon as the property is going to be developed.

7) Dave 242 says it best . . . Multi shot holes are great. Definite landing areas where you should try and lay up unless you can shoot some of those tight gaps! These holes are alwasy enjoyable unless you miss the gap!
Cons: 1) No water in play except early in the spring on #1.

2) No sign to alternate tee on #11.

3) No signs on Alternate 9. I have now taken all of the measurements on this course so I will be sure to let the course pro know so maybe they can get some temporary signs up while we wait for the county to produce some permanent ones..

4) Even the short tees dont make this course beginner friendly, however the alternate 9 would be the best place for a beginner to play!

5) Apparent Vandalism to all of the broken benches at the tees.
Other Thoughts: I am a sucker for wooded holes that is why I like Brown Deer even more than I do Dretzka. Dretzka has its wooded holes, but I think Brown Deer does a better jobs with its pin positions on those holes. I also guess that I could say Dretzka is better than Brown Deer because it has 4 pin positions that can ultimately make the course even harder and more variety. In essence I guess you could say Dretzka can play as many as 72 holes with pins in different positions because the long positions are not simply 30-50' past the short pin. They are tucked left and right and around different trees. I have rated Brown Deer and Dretzka as 4's so I consider them about equal, but if I had to choose between Dretzka and Brown Deer if they were right next to each other, I still think I would choose Brown Deer.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

5+    10/14/2008   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A- (A little too open overall for my preference)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A- (From the long tees, quite a few holes are too long for me....making a birdie impossible and a par boring. Short pads suite my game perfectly.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A+ (Having 24 holes makes this possible.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A (Very pretty course - a country club feel. A feeling of seclusion can be had on only about 1/3 few holes.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

5+    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: jdowsett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dretzka is one of southeastern Wisconsin's premier courses. The best feature of this course is its variety, with 27 holes each featuring multiple pin placements and a few pro tees there is a good chance that if you play the course once it will have a completely different feel the next time you come out. You will need every shot in your arsenal if you want to play well on this course. There are a couple of holes where you can just let it rip, but for the majority accuracy and touch are the key. Depending on the layout this course can range from beginner friendly with plenty of birdie opportunities to a challenging course for even the best players.

The course is well maintained and easy to navigate. Each hole is clearly marked by a sign that indicates the various pin placements along with footage to each. Dretzka is busy without being overcrowded and most of the players are locals with good knowledge of the course.
Cons: I have only a few negative things to say about this excellent course. There is a lack of elevation change which I find is essential for a world class course. Another missing entity is water hazards, which would make this course truly amazing. I realize that this is very nitpicky and you can only work with what you have, but these are the only two faults I could find in this otherwise magnificent course. Also a bathroom or port-a-potty would be clutch.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is only 15 minutes away from the other great Milwaukee county course Brown Deer.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center