Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #18 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 268ft.   3 / 379ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Milwaukee's Premier Course

5+    7/28/2015   7/28/2015
Review By: Horsman
Played: 100  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to get to right off of the freeway
- New Innova Discatcher Baskets
- Long and short concrete tees on most of the original 18
- 27 holes
- At least 3 pin placements for every single hole
- Pay-to-Play
- Flow from hole to hole is pretty easy. There are a few spots where there are arrows pointing you to the next hole but you are never more than 100' from your next hole.
- A very good mix of tight tunnel holes, wooded holes, long holes. Pretty much every shot on this course is covered.
- The little bit of elevation that the course has is used really really well. Making some easy shots a bit more tricky with the elevation
- Brand new tee signs
- Giant Parking Lot so parking is never an issue.
Cons: - Some of the original teepads are now starting to lose some of their grip from use. Some new pads here in the future would be really nice.
- The jump from the original 18 to the new 9 can be done in a multiple number of spots so sometimes you will have a nice flow going and a big group jumps in front of you because thats how they are playing the course.
- There are brand new teesigns on the course but they are not the most helpful. They give you the correct distances but that is about it. They show a little picture of the hole but it really doesnt give you any sort of information at all. The are also really flimsy and are just a sticker on a piece of sheet metal. Its only a matter of time til they get bent or torn off. If the Parks would have consulted with some fellow disc golfers they would have a much better product.
Other Thoughts: This is what I consider to be Milwaukee Wisconsins premier course. This is my go to course in the area and the one I feel most comfortable at. If you are in the Milwaukee area and you only get to play one course. Play Dretzka. You will love it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/21/1994   8/21/2014
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging, championship caliber course. Variety, hills, woods and tough hidden pins and guarded greens.
Cons: None that I can think of, though I haven't played it in ages or since the expansion. It is one of my all time faves.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid course for most skill levels

5+    7/6/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 136  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18+9 hole course set in a nice county park on Milwaukee's north side. The park is well maintained and generally free of trash.

Nice DGA baskets here. All grey, which isn't an issue, as there aren't many tucked baskets or blind shots.

2 sets of concrete tee pads on the main 18 course, 1 on the extra 9 (across the road). They're generally in good repair, with a few that could use some TLC. Rectangular, and long enough for most people.

A decent amount of shot variation, even though a decent amount of the holes here are fairly open. A few wooded holes add some variety, and even though they require a fair amount of accuracy, the lanes are all very fair. The open holes still have many mature hardwood trees as obstacles, and several low canopies force extra precision, which is nice.

The tee signs here have a rustic feel to them, but are done nicely. Hand made, with topography, color, pin placements (usually the current is marked with a push pin) and distances from both tees are marked. Very well done, IMO.

Navigation is mostly intuitive, although a first timer might get caught up from hole 5 to 6 (you have to cross the road), and navigating the "back 9". You can basically cross that road and start anywhere on the back 9 you'd like, and jump back over after the loop.

Nice distance variation here. The different pin placements (2-4 per hole) really change up the lengths. The switch in tee pads does, as well. Lots of opportunity to really air it out from the pro pads.

Tons of parking here...never an issue.
Cons: This place gets BUSY. You're going to have that on a popular metro course. Early morning rounds are usually the way to go on the weekends.

Not a ton of elevation here. While there are some rolling hill type shots, you're never really throwing a big uphill or downhill shot.

No water to be found, if that's your thing.

The summer course shuts down for the winter months...and the winter course opens. Personally, I prefer the winter course, but that's certainly just a personal preference.

The back 9 is pretty short, and relatively easy.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice course that should appeal to many different skill levels. Want a good casual round with your buddies? Play from the shorts. Want to challenge yourself and really bomb some drives? Play the longs. Want to take your kids out for a round? Play the back 9. This diversity is REALLY nice for a big city course...but also is the reason for the traffic.

This is one of those courses I never find myself longing to go play, but always have fun at...and am always wondering how I didn't score better.

While I prefer Brown Deer, I can understand why people love this course. There's also a golf course/driving range, football field, and other amenities in the park, which is nice. Definitely a must-hit if you're visiting Milwaukee!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Variety Abounds

1    6/25/2014   6/25/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 39  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: This is a pretty solid course, large paved parking lot in a very nice neighborhood park, also has ball golf and the disc course in some spots has a ball golf like feel which makes it feel more professional.

The teepads are textured and pretty grippy, they are slightly narrow but plenty long on most holes.

Baskets are not new, but mostly in good shape and 90% are properly balanced.

It starts on an open hole throwing into some dense trees and for the next few holes you throw tunnel shots.

Then it opens up and you get a few longer holes to air your arm out a bit, and it continues to alternate the hole types and lengths so that the course never gets repetitive or feels easy.

Plus there are a lot of blind shots, and since there are multiple pin placements for every hole it's not at all dull.

One little tip though, after number 11 cross the street and there will be a hole marked 5. That's the second part of the course. From there you can play that nine and loop back around to 12 from the original 18 after you play #4. That's the easiest way to play all 27 in the most continuous format.

I played it twice through and then certain parts a third time, so it's pretty fun and challenging. At least enough to get me to play about 50 holes in a day.

Overall I had a good time. For parts it was very busy but never unplayably crowded. It has a fairly nice flow and is a good place to play a few rounds. The local players were also very friendly and diverse, I've rarely seen so many families playing on a weeknight.
Cons: It was pretty wet in some spots, but that is hardly to be unexpected this time of the year in WI. It's not as rugged and treacherously challenging as some courses but that's not really a complaint either.

The general upkeep is fine... No major cons.

Next question.
Other Thoughts: Overall it could be better, but that's just nitpicking. It's a pretty darn good course especially for a public free to play 27 hole affair.

Great Course, Room for Improvement

5+    8/20/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 48  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has 27 holes that are all quite unique. There are a variety of holes, which vary in length, some elevation, and brush. The course offers two sets of tee pads and a variety of pin placements, making the course slightly different each time you play it and allows for a variety of shots throughout the round. Overall, the Mach 3 baskets and tee pads are in good shape. There are also a couple of elevated baskets on holes 8 and 13, which certainly make your putts interesting on those holes. The holes at the beginning are tight are through the woods and require technical, accurate shots. The course opens up slightly after that, but still often have trees on either side of you and some scattered throughout the fairways. Several of the new holes are also scattered throughout the woods. Some of these holes are quite tight and could be improved with some lane openings.
Cons: The biggest complaint I have is the overall lack of elevation at the course. I believe the course could also be greatly improved if it was pay-to-play. The course is also quite muddy and wet at times, which could be improved with adequate drainage and erosion control barriers. The layout of the course is also slightly confusing, especially on the new holes. Also, if you are new to the course, the multiple pin location possibilities can make it difficult to navigate, so better signs would greatly improve the overall experience. It would also be nice to see some improvements around the tee pads, so it is easier to run up and step off them during your drives.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course for beginners and for those who want to work on a variety of shots throughout the round. I've played plenty of pay-to-play courses in my life and have come to enjoy the aspects and quality of those courses. Making this course pay-to-play and with the necessary improvements, I would definitely rate Dretzka higher in the future.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Course Location updates is cool

5+    8/14/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: Jeff Showers
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Not the longest course but not shortest either. Most holes can be reached with a drive but they are not short drives by any means, Locations moved weekly making this a different course every week you play. For Blind Holes there are QR Code readers on the tee sign if you have a smart phone you can scan and shows you a pictures of the tee pad with color dots to show where the baskets are and where the current locations is. Other holes where the basket is seen from the tee they have questions about the course and disc golf that you can Scan to get the answer. Also if you play there allot if you like the facebook.com/dretzkadiscgolf page you get pin location updates when your not there. My all time favorite course close to the city of Milwaukee.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Milwaukee's Best

5+    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: Sturmus
Played: 90  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of tee-pads and 3-4 pin settings on each hole make this course one of the greatest around. Short pads to short pins are mostly around 300ft, but the holes are still challenging enough. Long pads to long pins and it becomes a totally different course, and a struggle to stay around par with most holes 350+
With the variety of settings available, I've been playing it for 10 years and am still not sick of it.

Course is very well maintained, well marked, has trash cans on every hole, and is quite clean.
Cons: Course can be VERY crowded at times.

Many of the longer pin locations are blind, which makes knowing which of the 4 to throw at difficult without walking up to look.

No water. 1 not very accessible porta-john.

This is a great course though - highly recommend!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    7/15/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: DiscinFiend
Played: 60  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I play this course a lot & I absolutely love it. It has a good mix of open & wooded holes. It has a practice basket which is nice. It is a very highly frequented course & is maintained well. It has Pro & Rec concrete tee pads, with multiple pin locations.
Cons: I wish they connected all 27 holes instead of 18 holes & then another 9. Also I wish there was at least one very long hole most of them are around 300 ft.
Other Thoughts: Great course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/28/2012   1/28/2013
Review By: CConnors3
Played: 104  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I play this course probably around 150 days each year and cannot say enough about it. I absolutely love it and want to increase it's reputation for any first timers who are lucky enough to play it.
Cons: Nothing!
Other Thoughts: They remove their baskets for the winter time but only to install the winter course during that period.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    10/5/2012   10/8/2012
Review By: Jdoucette
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Each hole is very different
-There are 3-5 different spots the basket can be placed and changes about two times a month so it makes it different every time I play
-Has a bunch of wooded holes which are lots of fun and challenging
-They have a Midnight league that costs $6, it comes with a light for your disc and is lots of fun to play. They have that once a month
-Holes are very easy to find and some holes are built up on some stands to make some of them higher to throw at
-They have an advance pad for most holes which gives a little more of a challenge.
-They have a extra 9 holes, they are shorter but a lot more obstacles to throw through.
Cons: -Might not be fun for beginners
-A little flat
-They should attach the extra 9 onto the whole course



Other Thoughts: It is a very fun course to play, a little challenging for some but a good spot to learn. Dretzka and Brown Deer are my favorite ones to play in the Milwaukee area. I started playing at this course and helped me improve very quickly. I definitely recommend it

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.