Milwaukee, WI 
Dretzka Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Pro Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Classic course with many setups!

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 247  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.3 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an older course that is still one of the best courses in Wisconsin to this day. There are 2 sets of cement tees and a large variety of pin placements that gives this course alot of different looks. It can be a fun deuce course without much trouble, or it can be a super-challenging, longer course where you are trying to shoot a 54. A really nice public park near a golf course. You can use just about every shot in your bag at this course. Mix of open holes and wooded/tunnel holes. Really fun.
Cons: Pretty flat course overall. Not alot of complaints about the course design.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play casually and competitively! Fun and challenging.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid design, but far from world class

5+    5/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 204  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 18.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: While Dretzka is a nice course and fairly well balanced, it just does not nearly have it all, and has far too many cons to be considered world class by any means. While this course is HUGELY popular with the locals, it may not be with you (i'll discuss that con later). Dretzka does offer decent use of what little elevation is at the course. Many holes have 3 pin positions and I think all of the original 18 (maybe not #4) have dual tees. There is a pretty good variety of holes here too with slight uphill and downhill, a few tight woods, but mostly slightly technical open holes (imagine your typical established city park with large mature trees very sporadically located, which slightly alter your intended flights. Signs are pretty good and handmade which is a nice touch. Woodchips and beaten in paths show you the way very well.
Cons: The new 9 does NOT have dual tees. The new 9 is nowhere near as well designed and does not play in nearly as nice of terrain as the original 18. The signs do NOT show the current pin position on any of the 27 holes. The new 9 has new concrete pads that were installed a bit too high and leave a lip around the edge. The old 18 pads have bad erosion off the front. The course suffers from oldschool desig mentality with wide open greens for the most part (a few in the woods are near the edge of some trees or brush, but no pins are on much of a slope or real risky green)

There is no water hazard and when I speak of elevation, I'm just talking about simple little rolling hillsides in a park, nothing big or steep at all.

There is a TON of trash at the course - both garabage and people. With this hugely popular course comes the hugely popular groups of large numbers of hacks that take their time, won't let you play through, and leave garbage and occassionally vandalize. These scenes are far too often part of your round at Dretzka and really take away from the experience. Often the baskets are busted, beat up, and have been stolen in the past.

Stupid Milwaukee county rule about alcohol by permit only, just hurts responsible drinkers and those not from the area. The drunken losers are still out in full force despite this rule.
Other Thoughts: Dretzka park and course is pretty nice. Not fantastic but solid design. It lacks many aspects that make a course great and the design is only slightly above averaghe in my opinion (although many holes are indeed VERY well designed). It's location mid city and all the cons I mentioned just bring it down even more. For those who love a scenic and causal round, you will probably NOT liek Dretzka. While it is worth a stop if playing Milwaukee for the first time, I wouldn't recommend going out of your way. Brown Deer is a better course experince with far less traffic.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Love it!

5+    6/28/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: feavelan
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great challenge, well kept, 27 holes. Tees are in great shape and the layout makes it fun and challenging. I love that there are multiple pin placements.
Cons: Some holes are just insane. Some pin placements are hidden from the tee so it's hard to tell what placement it's at.
Other Thoughts: I recommend this course to everyone.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 27 holer that can play as many as 100 holes from alt. pins!

5+    11/5/2011   6/20/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 900  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1) 27 holes (including the newer 9 hole loop you can play after you play #11 on the course or as its own 9. This also helps with the crowd during leagues, because we only use 18 holes for league the alternate 9 is always available to non league members. (Valley View League is a pain because of non league members)

2) This course has a handful of tight wooded alleys. A top course must have these in my opinion. Hole #1 has a chute you must hit on your drive to have a chance at birdie. #2 is tight and fairly straight. #3 has a chute off the tee to an open basket. #6 has a chute you need to get near to have a shot at birdie on one of the pin locations. #17 is tight and long and fairly straight (tell me what disc you would use on a 300' dead straight wooded shot). #18 has a short chute off the tee to an open basket.

3) This course has a fair variety in elevation for this area. There isn't a lot of up and down but some of the baskets are located on side slopes, or fairways that slant side to side.

4) This course has tee signs on every hole done just like the County Golf Courses. It also has benches on most holes although half a dozen of them have been damaged since the spring. Garbage cans are plentiful and it is noticeable as the course stays very clean.

5) On the 18 hole course every hole has at least 3 basket locations and some even have four. Alternate 9 all have 2 basket locations (although I couldnt find two of them).

6) 14 of the 18 holes also have alternate tees and all tees are concrete except the alternate tee on #11 which is up on top of the hill on an adjacent property. Word is that this tee will be gone soon as the property is going to be developed.

7) Dave 242 says it best . . . Multi shot holes are great. Definite landing areas where you should try and lay up unless you can shoot some of those tight gaps! These holes are alwasy enjoyable unless you miss the gap!
Cons: 1) No water in play except early in the spring on #1.

2) No sign to alternate tee on #11.

3) No signs on Alternate 9. I have now taken all of the measurements on this course so I will be sure to let the course pro know so maybe they can get some temporary signs up while we wait for the county to produce some permanent ones..

4) Even the short tees dont make this course beginner friendly, however the alternate 9 would be the best place for a beginner to play!

5) Apparent Vandalism to all of the broken benches at the tees.
Other Thoughts: I am a sucker for wooded holes that is why I like Brown Deer even more than I do Dretzka. Dretzka has its wooded holes, but I think Brown Deer does a better jobs with its pin positions on those holes. I also guess that I could say Dretzka is better than Brown Deer because it has 4 pin positions that can ultimately make the course even harder and more variety. In essence I guess you could say Dretzka can play as many as 72 holes with pins in different positions because the long positions are not simply 30-50' past the short pin. They are tucked left and right and around different trees. I have rated Brown Deer and Dretzka as 4's so I consider them about equal, but if I had to choose between Dretzka and Brown Deer if they were right next to each other, I still think I would choose Brown Deer.

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A for Awesome!

5+    10/14/2008   6/7/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A- (A little too open overall for my preference)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A- (From the long tees, quite a few holes are too long for me....making a birdie impossible and a par boring. Short pads suite my game perfectly.)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A+ (Having 24 holes makes this possible.)
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A (Very pretty course - a country club feel. A feeling of seclusion can be had on only about 1/3 few holes.)
5) Bonus points for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

5+    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: jdowsett
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dretzka is one of southeastern Wisconsin's premier courses. The best feature of this course is its variety, with 27 holes each featuring multiple pin placements and a few pro tees there is a good chance that if you play the course once it will have a completely different feel the next time you come out. You will need every shot in your arsenal if you want to play well on this course. There are a couple of holes where you can just let it rip, but for the majority accuracy and touch are the key. Depending on the layout this course can range from beginner friendly with plenty of birdie opportunities to a challenging course for even the best players.

The course is well maintained and easy to navigate. Each hole is clearly marked by a sign that indicates the various pin placements along with footage to each. Dretzka is busy without being overcrowded and most of the players are locals with good knowledge of the course.
Cons: I have only a few negative things to say about this excellent course. There is a lack of elevation change which I find is essential for a world class course. Another missing entity is water hazards, which would make this course truly amazing. I realize that this is very nitpicky and you can only work with what you have, but these are the only two faults I could find in this otherwise magnificent course. Also a bathroom or port-a-potty would be clutch.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course and is only 15 minutes away from the other great Milwaukee county course Brown Deer.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Dretzka

5+    4/5/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Stross
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Easy to find pins, weather will always help your disc guide you to pin, good throw means easy sets , some are short and long holes, and finally good to play with people more than 3
Cons: Lots of trees, lots of things to hit, don't get a good throw likely your going to get over par, and finally some times you have to wait for others to tee off

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Alternate Pins & Tees, oh my!

2-4    5/12/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 137  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2009
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I reviewed the Winter course(before they split the winter24/summer27 into separate entries) I gave it a 4.0, based on the novelty of two different courses, expecting to just keep it the same or drop the score based on how the summer course was. Naturally, I assumed it wouldn't be any better than a 3.5, maybe a 4. The winter course alone is only a 3.5

Add to this, when I drove through the park and scoped out the Summer course during my rounds on the Winter course, I have to admit I was not impressed. The summer holes I could see (tee signs covered in snow) looked flat, open and boring.
Wrong on all counts.

This is the best course I have played in SE Wisconsin to-date, and what I've heard about the remaining courses in the area leads me to believe that the title will rest with Dretzka, with Brown Deer a close second.

The winter course, though great given the limited options for snow golf, is not in the same league as this course.

All concrete pads, in great shape, dual tees on most of original 18. Original 18 has excellent signage, with hole maps detailling locations and distances to all the alt pins, from both long and short tees.

Oodles of alt pin positions, seemed like at least three for every hole, with some as many as five!! (in which case one was crazy hard, and only for tournaments, according to the guys running the weekly league & who switch the pins out regularly).

I'm gonna pause a moment here, because this course really impressed me on this point. The alt pin placements on this course are awesome. Each one significantly changes the hole, as much as the pin placements at Anna Page East, but with more options. The baskets here are well-placed and well-protected, from all of the pin placements, with a variety of awesome challenges on the putting game, like sticking the pin directly behind a tree with 3 trunks, thru a small opening onto a wooden hilltop blind from the tee, or behind a stand of white paper birch. Many holes have a circle of trees hollowed out for several different basket placements, each with its own narrow opening off one side of the fairway to enter like a (x) shape, with the x being basket and () being treeline.

This course looks fairly flat at first glance, and the total elevation change between the lowest and highest point on the course is not nearly as much as courses like Whistler and Justin Trails, but that's where the brilliance of the course's design comes into play. Elevation is in play on almost every hole. Some baskets are blind over a rolling hill, some are tucked into a hollow, some are up or down a hill. Many holes have both up and down elevation changes on them, for added fun. Its not drastic, but whats there does matter.

Also, this course varies from wooded to scattered trees. This course features some very hair-raising long tunnel shots through the woods (holes 2,3 & 17 in particular), but trees are a factor on every hole here. The baskets, in all pin locations, are very cleverly placed to maximize protection from the individual trees.

No hole on this course seems repetitive, even after repeated plays. They all have something different, and since there are so many pin locations, you can come here every week for 2 years and never play the exact same course twice, which is like playing a few completely different holes in most cases. It all comes back to the alt pins. It seems like they just keep adding more locations, which is awesome.

This course, at least from the short tees, is a great level of challenge: most holes seem quite attainable, but you will work for it. Deuces are very doable here, but don't expect them to just come, and with the changing baskets, scope out the hole before you park the wrong location. I get the feeling that if I played here enough, I would eventually birdie many of these, but it will take time and practice. Its far easier to bogey most of them.

Even if there is a hole you don't like, it has several different basket placements, so you wont have to suffer all year.

The holes force you to think, and play a variety of shots. Risk reward is in evidence, and this course WILL make you pay for getting greedy, as many holes force you to play under a tree canopy ceiling, at least of sorts.

This course throws many things at you: wind, tunnel shots with thick woods on either side, heavily wooded mazelike holes that force careful precision, and long drives. This course has some chances to air it out, but always with some control neccesary, and usually requiring curves around/through at least one tree gap.

It also has a nice variety of lengths and shapes. On one hole you might tee off with a careful midrange shot through trees, and the next hole will need the big driver. Curves left and right, so it helps to have more weapons in your arsenal, especially since what works one week wont neccesarily work the next, as they swap out a few pins each week.

The holes here are all good, forcing you to play a variety of lines. While by no means the most technical or wooded course out there, when playing this course, after every hole I just kept being more and more impressed. I kept trying to find reasons to downgrade this course, but its hard to find something to dislike about this place. Great maintenance on top of stellar course design, and great usage of available terrain and trees. Even after 27 holes, none of them feel redundant. Many tricky, interesting holes.

On the optional loop, there are some gorgeous cherry trees in bloom if you catch it in early spring. Stunning. Wood chips laid down for many putting circles, and areas that often turn to mud. Two consecutive super-tight wooded holes on the optional loop between 11&12 that will give you the willies. (Tighter than #13 and 17 at Elver Park)

This course reminds me of the best aspects of many other courses, combined into one.
-Hole-changing alt pins of Anna Page East
-More alt pin locations and rolling hills than Deming Park
-Dual concrete tees, like Madison courses

All around, a very nice, fun, challenging course with great flow, maintenance and variety. But it all comes back to variety. This course is a kaleidoscope chameleon, and every color it turns looks good.
Cons: The new 9 still seems to be in rougher shape than the original 18, or at least not up to the same amenities standards. The holes have posts with no signs, only one tee (still concrete) at each hole, and usually only one or two pin placements per hole. This is still good, but it doesn't compare with the high standards set by the regular holes.

Also, BE CAREFUL on the two tightly wooded holes on the new nine. The fairways are covered with short little stumps that can easily trip you up or roll an ankle if you're not
watching. Tread carefully here and you'll be fine.

The grassy field that is hole 1's fairway seems to get soggy after rains, and stay that way for awhile afterwards. Otherwise, this course has fairly good drainage.

Despite this, there really isnt any prescence of water hazards on this course. Sure there's a drainage ditch that runs through a few earlier holes, and the swamp/river behind/rigth or pin 1, there are really no lakes on this course. However, you can't fault the designers for this, and the OB road can come into play on several holes, which sort of makes up for it.

This is a course full of interesting and fun holes. I can't think of any real throwaway holes on this course. Hole 19 seems nondescript, yet somehow i managed to hit a different tree off the tree every time i played it, and the rest are quite good.

This course is phenomenal because there is nothing wrong with it, and the whole thing is well-planned out and done right. However, there are no holes here that I would call truly epic, that just blew me away. Several holes were distinct, including the long tunnels of death on 2, 3 and especially 17, and the two super tightly wooded holes on the optional loop are very cool. However, this lacks the jaw-dropping holes of someplace like Justin Trails.

I'm nit-picking here. I don't like giving out such high ratings easily, but I just COULD NOT find anything to dislike about this course, and I absolutely loved playing here. I've only tried the short tees sofar, and from there its definitely no match for Brown Deer in difficulty or length (few courses are). Even from the long tees, I'm not sure it would be as hard as Brown Deer, however, this course does everything right. I look at this course, and I see a masterpiece, maybe not painted with the brightest colors or of the most beautiful scenery, but this course maximizes the potential of the land it sits on, and is a joy to play.
Other Thoughts: This course and Brown Deer, are the two must play's if you are in the Milwaukee area, though the superior maintenance and amenities on this one lead me to favor it slightly, though Brown Deer is tougher, longer and seemingly more well-known to outsiders. Rating Dretzka higher than Brown Deer was and EXTREMELY tough decision, since they are both good, but the tipping point came down to three things where Dretzka kicks Brown Deers butt:
-Signage
-Multiple Pins
-Multiple Tees
Overall, these made for a more fun experience at Dretzka, and the fact that difficulty alone doesnt make or break a course's greatness (and Dretzka is still quite challenging)
Nuff said.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Dreztka - keeps me coming back

5+    1/25/2009   1/29/2009
Review By: kmrynders
Played: 87  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 27 Holes with alt pins and alt tees.

Great signs that usually indicate the pin position with a tac in the unique carved wood map.

Concrete tee pads that are acceptable - no cracks and none of them are too short.

The baskets are in great condition and get moved to different locations OFTEN.

Benches on most holes, but a few have been broke recently, but they are working on getting more back out there.

Great flow - the holes seem to work well together, and you can do the 'extra' nine loop across the road anytime you are close enough to cross the road. I enjoy the choice just in case there are people you want to get around or let play through.
Cons: Not too many to speak of. The lack of elevation changes really are the main thing that hurts this solid course.
Other Thoughts: This course keeps you coming back for the challenge and because the pin locations change all the time, making it a completely different course each time you play it.
If you find the am tees to be a bit too easy there are a few pro tees that will again change the course feel.
This course will slightly test your skills, you will have a diverse range of shots that you'll have to make, but nothing is exceedingly hard.

This is a great course for someone looking to take their game from mediocre and work it up to advanced. The course is forgiving enough that beginners will have fun, but still tough enough that the pros will also enjoy themselves.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Dreamy Dretska

5+    9/10/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2009
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 27 holes! The extra 9 is good if first 18 is too crowded..The ultimate course for a variety of pin placements(most have 3 to a hole) and several tee pads..Never have to play the same course twice..Also has a nice golf course and driving range..Fairly short..good Deuce or Die course..Winter Course too! Snow Frolf!!
Cons: Problem with pricks stealing pins..what terrible karma..
Other Thoughts: League in warm months on tuesday nights at 6pm..Only $6..timely rejuvenation spot w/ picnic table and tree cover after hole 14..

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.