Atascadero, CA 
Heilmann Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #12 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A hot, dry, course, that rocks!

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads, all with benches. Baskets in fair condition. A little paint wouldn't hurt, but all the chains are there and they are all set up well. Multiple pin positions. Water fountains were all over the course, which is very necessary in the afternoon heat in early August. The layout made for a lot of fun, challenging holes. Uphill, downhill, and usually with multiple lines at the pin. They vary between left and right turning but there was almost always an option.
Cons: When I played, I saw almost no trash. The trash I did see, was a long way from any trash cans. I carried a bit, but it was a pain. As well put together as this park is, it needs more cans. Also. A lot of baskets were really close to the next tee and had a high likelihood of posing a hazard. The navigation towards the end got awful confusing. Twice I threw at the wrong basket even after scouting. The tee signs are woefully lacking. Even worse, they are misleading. When the basket is off and far to the left is across the canyon, out of sight, behind a hedge of oak trees... And there is a basket, in the canyon, to the left, at the right distance..... Might need better signs! This can be improved and I would love to rate the place higher. The last 4 holes were the worst to follow.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really loved this course. The oak trees are always framing a shot and always pose a challenge. If you are bold enough to try to sneak through the gaps, it can be beautiful, or really painful. I ran into a local who played the first 12 holes with me and helped immensely finding my way. After he left, it got a lot harder. Be prepared to walk up and down a lot of hills. Not steep, but expect it. This place get's HOT in the summer. I was glad to have cold(at the start) bottle of water, and a big hat. Don't let that stop you from coming to play this place. It is a lot of fun. Just watch out for rattle snakes, ticks, mountain lions, and folks from the correctional facility across the creek. (not positive that was what it was but that's what it looked like. just don't throw over that fence and it's no problem. ;)

 Very Technical Wooded 18 - Lots of Fun

1    12/15/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 142  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice large cement tees on every hole. Basic signs next to every tee. Multiple pin positions on every hole, some with up to 5 or 6, and the pins are moved weekly. Some of the pin positions are set up for ace races, most of them are pretty difficult, and some are extremely difficult (tournament holes). Very technical shots required on nearly every hole. Good elevation change throughout the course and it is used well. As stated in other reviews, this course greatly rewards good shots, and severely punishes bad shots. Quite challenging throughout the course with few real birdie holes (at least with the pins where they were when I played), but birdies definitely are obtainable with great drives. Great variety of holes forcing you to shape your shot and hit different lines. All holes are pretty unique with no repetitive feeling when you're playing; each hole requires a special unique approach. Many trees and limbs on every hole that are not easy to squeeze through and almost always drop your disc dead when hit. Well placed and protected baskets on most holes. Several mandos throughout the course marked well with signs on trees with arrows. Benches at every tee, some with multiple. Garbage cans at hole 1, and you also pass this area after 9 and 18 ends here as well. Nice chill area with a pavilion and picnic tables here as well. Restrooms on site. Beautiful moderate to heavily wooded course throughout all 18 holes. Challenging course. Everyone on the course was really friendly and helpful. Very well maintained, clean course.
Cons: The signs are pretty weak, only showing hole number, a very basic hole layout (although some were illegible), and the distance to one pin position (although most baskets were in other pin positions when I played), so estimating distances in necessary on many holes. A couple fairways cross each other, and while good shots pose little threat of hitting anyone because they shoot over a ravine, bad shots or discs bouncing off trees can be dangerous, so be on guard (you'll recognize these spots when you encounter them). Difficult to navigate without a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course to play and is quite challenging. I would not recommend it to beginners as the course is very unforgiving and bad shots can be very hard to recover from. On the other hand, hit your line perfectly and there's a chance for birdie on most holes. Great course to tone your shot-shaping skills and requires you to use many different discs and throwing styles. None of the holes are extremely long but all are quite technical, which evens the playing field for players who can't throw really long distances with those who can; it's all about accuracy here. Quite a few holes shoot over ravines and if you don't clear it it's a nightmare getting out. The trees really seemed to drop everything that touched them. Popular course with many regulars. I played pretty early on a cold mid-December morning and there were already a lot of people playing. I was lucky enough to arrive at the same time as a group of friendly locals and they invited me play with them, which was great as they explained the course thoroughly to me and gave me a lot of great tips (Thanks guys!). They also told me about a potential new 27 hole course that could be coming to the area in the not so distant future :-) I really hope this happens as two courses of this caliber in the area would make it a must-visit disc golf destination in central California. For more information and to show support visit: www.cencalrenegades.com. One of my favorite courses in California due to the level of difficulty and precision required, as well as the terrain, setting, and very friendly and helpful locals. With new detailed signs and a couple more tweaks here and there this course would definitely be a 3.5 in my book. Can't wait to play again!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Central Coast Fun!

1    4/10/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good Tee Pads
-Good DiscCatcher Cages
-Multiple shot types tested
-Practice basket near first tee
-Pets Welcome on leash
-Legal to drink alcohol at this park
-Easily Navigated Course
-Elevation changes
-Vegetation/Trees
-Benches
-Loops back to central area of the park after each 9
Cons: -Trees on some holes could be unmanagable for a beginner.
-Larger trash cans would be useful but course was clean.
-LARGE groups (6-10) tend to play here and severely slow play is the result.
-Tall grass can hinder disc finding even in middle of fairway.
-Signage could be BIGGER with more accurate distance and trajectory picture. (not horrible)
-People tend to have UNLEASHED dogs than leashed if you're scared of dogs.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun and challenging. If in the Paso Robles/Atascadero area I highly suggest stopping by for a quick round!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun little shorty 18

2-4    10/9/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 388  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good amenities: ample parking, bathrooms, drinking fountains, concrete pads, benches with cool carvings on almost every hole, some garbage cans at tee pads.
-Good use of elevation, lots of down and up ravines, it actually gets a bit repetitive (see cons)
-Some very technical holes make up for lack of distance...BUT (see cons)
-A lot of cool scenery in the trees: canyon live oaks with lots of spanish moss hanging
-easy to follow, I only screwed up in one spot on my first round (see cons)
-Really friendly locals that told me about all the different pin locations
Cons: -Tee signs are not accurate: the problem with having so many placements is that the tee signs that are used are seldom accurate neither in distance nor in suggested route.
-Park is very multiuse-walkers, dogs, tennis players=all potential dangers on errant shots
-The chainlink fence along hole 5 is treacherous, I had a shot land on the other side and had to climb it. I ended up with a massive gash on my hand because the top is super sharp.
-A lot of the cool lines that were intended for the holes didn't have to be followed because the better shot was using the over the top line.
Although the course utilizes the ravines, it overutilizes it in my opinion to the point of being repetitive. Holes 6, 7, 8, 10, 14, 16, 17, 18 all played over the ravine in the placements I played. I'm not sure if it changes with pin placement. But they were all essentially the same with minor tweaks.
-I played holes 16 and 18 backward as 18 was more of a logical flow from 15, but that is one minor flaw in flow, the other is that 10 was a bit hard to find, you had to walk past 16 18's baskets to get to 10 from 9.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was fun. I had never played in CA before and was used to green grass and thick undergrowth. The course was really dry, with lots of dirt and dry dead longer grasses, it looked nothing like the green pictures on the course page. Also I saw my first wild tarantula on the course, which was a plus! I'd play it again if I had the time. I suggest you do too, it's a nice, quick, fun play!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/28/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 81  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: hole five is awesome, the signature hole of the course. most holes were less than 300 ft but were fairly technical. hole 18 was great in the placement that i played, tee off over the hill and very tall trees with a big hyzer about 345' away. discatcher baskets, i love them. the first five holes were great. on site bathrooms, water, picnic tables, BBQ pits, and a playground.
Cons: the layout on this course was very repetitive on the back 9 holes. several placements were not challenging, requiring a straight shot of about 200' and then a 5' birdie put.
Other Thoughts: used my driver only on two holes. played the rest of the course with a Buzzz and a Soft Challenger. it's that short. however if your looking to work on your midrange and approach games this is the best.

note that i saw my first "Black Ace" made me think that i was throwing to the wrong basket. easiest five bucks i ever made. honestly i can't wait to get back and play this course again. it is probably the best pitch and putt course i have ever played. this is a very friendly beginner course because of its overall length and lack of difficulty for more experienced players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.