Disc Golf Store
Atascadero, CA 
Heilmann Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #12 (Taken 11/2004)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole # 12 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Keep that disc low

5+    8/3/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: Bossripper69
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Very technical and has some length. The baskets are constantly moving keeping this course fresh.
Cons: Signage would be clutch. If this wasn't my local course it would be a headache figuring out where to go next.

Upkeep could be stepped up. Squirrels are making homes under pads and no one is stopping them. Lots of cracked corners out there...
Other Thoughts: Keep your disc low. the ceiling aint that high. Watch for counter culture and 40's. Otherwise a beautiful park. Have fun


2-4    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
Pros: Technical - heavily wooded, elevation throughout, blind shots, requires a deep bag of shots. A really interesting and challenging course that will put skills to the test. Benches at every tee and plenty of shade!
Cons: Terrible signage.
Other Thoughts: This course plays across a hillside while traveling back and forth across small ravines. A very challenging layout with a heavy reward vs. consequence feel. Pull out your bag of tricks and BRING A MAP! I left here with a big smile on my face and I pretty well suck. The router engraved benches are very cool - I especially like hole 4: Zeppelin and Volcom!!

 

2-4    4/18/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of shots- long, short, doglegs left and right, a little uphill, some downhills. Locals we're all friendly and always let me play thru, as I was playing single, most of the time. Tricky basket placements can require some delicate putts.
There are other courses in the area to choose from but Heilman is tucked away from the costal winds that tend to elevate in the afternoon. Just a couple miles off the freeway, plenty of free parking. Good picnic areas, if need be.
Cons: A little tough getting around on a couple of holes. Garbage cans lacking. Some pretty heavy weeds on the majority of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Busy but nice

1    11/25/2010   2/23/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Set away from town, so it plays nice and quiet. Big wooden park for the kids at the front. Tons of trees, forcing a more controlled game. Nice elevation changes on some holes. Very visible Discatcher baskets.
Cons: Busy, even considering I played on Thanksgiving Day.
Other Thoughts: This review is for the front 9 only, as we were pressed for time. I'm really looking forward to coming back to play 18 all the way through!
=================
Uniqueness: B+
Difficulty: A-
Fun factor: B
Aesthetics: A-
----------------------
Overall: B+

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, Technical and Unforgiving

5+    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Tight fairways forcing you to throw various routes.
- Elevation changes on most holes.
- Good sized tee pads.
- Mostly DG exclusive
- Pin placements change regularly
- Well maintained grounds
Cons: - Navigation can be tricky for a first timer, however it is usually so crowded that you can follow the group in front of you.

-Distances are unreleiable, with all the pin placement you just have to guess the distance.

- Heat can be an issue in the summer, but there's pleanty of shade.
Other Thoughts: This course rewards accurate throws and severely punishes bad ones. Having a big arm helps make it over the ravine but you can't make up for poor accuracy with power here.

The pins are moved on a weekly basis, with most holes having at least 3 pin placement options. All holes now have an "ace run" position. So when you find a hole in the short position you better make the most of it.

I really enjoy this course for the challenge and vibe. It would be nice to have some signs with accurate distances but regardless this is the best course in SLO county.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: coldshark
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tons of pin locations. The guys that take of the course are out regularly to move the pins around too.
-Brand new pin locations from time to time as well. In the last month there are new pin locations for #2, #12, and #18. #18 was moved way short, it's begging to be aced.
-Trees everywhere. A lot of holes require a very accurate (or very lucky) shot to make it to where you want to go.
-It's mostly a disc golf park. There are BBQ and picnic areas, but they're pretty far removed from the play area.
-BBQ pits, playground, water fountains, and bathrooms on site.
Cons: -Lack of accurate signage. The permanent markers on the tee pads are for the original layout only (they usually set that up in December).
-Because they move the pins so often, some baskets are hard or impossible to spot from the tee, even if you are a frequent player of the course (#6, #7, #10, and #15 especially).
-The heat! In the summer and early fall 90's and triple digits are frequent during the day. Bring water or something to drink for sure. There are drinking fountains around the course, but once you get around to the back 9, you'll want to have some with you.
Other Thoughts:
I love to play this course. We play 2 or 3 times a week. The trees are a great equalizer. There are some holes that I love here. The long shot on #5 is great. The blind look at #15 is probably my favorite. Helpful and friendly locals too, so if you're lost on the course, just ask.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Heilmann Park

2-4    1/24/2009   3/4/2009
Review By: Legend KILLer
Played: 47  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2009
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Too many pin placements to count. Many possibilities for every hole. From pitch-n-putt to long-n-precise. Even more are planned (permanent ace round placements for every hole!)
-Concrete pads
-Practice pin for putting (with practice markers) located near tee #1
-Nice park for a picnic or bbq
-Hole #5 is a must see (you tee off on a long downhill hole lined my trees)
-Trees add a great deal of difficulty
-The course is fair on difficulty but a bad shot will cost you
Cons: -It can get repetitive, especially on the back 9
-Signage is lacking on some holes
-Very dry and hot in the summer (but you do have plenty shade)
-No map
-No indicators letting you know where the baskets are
Other Thoughts: The first couple of times I played it, it was fairly difficult (partially due to me just starting to play), but the last time I played I was severely humbled. Don't get me wrong, this course is not all that difficult. I just think that I have a hard time with it. When the pins are set in the long positions it can definitely give you a run for your money. This is definitely a technical course needing great precision on some of the tougher holes. Definitely worth stopping by if you're in the area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Heilman Park DGC

5+    2/5/2009   2/5/2009
Review By: Booyaka
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 58 total pin placements and lots of great technical shots. This is a fantastic pin placement that is now in place. Hole 5 is a long stretch about 380' around past a large oak and off to the right, windy at times which makes for some interesting flights. A light creek runs through holes 6/15/16/18. Rarely has water but adds a nice gully to cross in which some oaks have made their home, really making for some fun drives. Backhand throwers will enjoy the assortment of anhyzer throws for holes 4/5/7/16/18. Hole 10 is very difficult through the trees but, the new pad angle addition (thanks a.j.) is a perfect line for making a huge tomohawk drive as do 13/15/18. Great locals who are very skilled with lots of great tournaments and fundraisers that keep all the local courses' improvements coming along.
Cons: Very hot in the summer months. Crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a great course with lots of friendly faces. The course flows very well and ranges in low to moderate in difficulty. Worth the stop being that it is right off of the 101 fwy.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.