Atascadero, CA
Heilmann Park Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #7 (Taken 11/2004)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole # 7 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    8/11/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 25  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
Pros: Technical - heavily wooded, elevation throughout, blind shots, requires a deep bag of shots. A really interesting and challenging course that will put skills to the test. Benches at every tee and plenty of shade!
Cons: Terrible signage.
Other Thoughts: This course plays across a hillside while traveling back and forth across small ravines. A very challenging layout with a heavy reward vs. consequence feel. Pull out your bag of tricks and BRING A MAP! I left here with a big smile on my face and I pretty well suck. The router engraved benches are very cool - I especially like hole 4: Zeppelin and Volcom!!

A hot, dry, course, that rocks!

1    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads, all with benches. Baskets in fair condition. A little paint wouldn't hurt, but all the chains are there and they are all set up well. Multiple pin positions. Water fountains were all over the course, which is very necessary in the afternoon heat in early August. The layout made for a lot of fun, challenging holes. Uphill, downhill, and usually with multiple lines at the pin. They vary between left and right turning but there was almost always an option.
Cons: When I played, I saw almost no trash. The trash I did see, was a long way from any trash cans. I carried a bit, but it was a pain. As well put together as this park is, it needs more cans. Also. A lot of baskets were really close to the next tee and had a high likelihood of posing a hazard. The navigation towards the end got awful confusing. Twice I threw at the wrong basket even after scouting. The tee signs are woefully lacking. Even worse, they are misleading. When the basket is off and far to the left is across the canyon, out of sight, behind a hedge of oak trees... And there is a basket, in the canyon, to the left, at the right distance..... Might need better signs! This can be improved and I would love to rate the place higher. The last 4 holes were the worst to follow.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I really loved this course. The oak trees are always framing a shot and always pose a challenge. If you are bold enough to try to sneak through the gaps, it can be beautiful, or really painful. I ran into a local who played the first 12 holes with me and helped immensely finding my way. After he left, it got a lot harder. Be prepared to walk up and down a lot of hills. Not steep, but expect it. This place get's HOT in the summer. I was glad to have cold(at the start) bottle of water, and a big hat. Don't let that stop you from coming to play this place. It is a lot of fun. Just watch out for rattle snakes, ticks, mountain lions, and folks from the correctional facility across the creek. (not positive that was what it was but that's what it looked like. just don't throw over that fence and it's no problem. ;)

Heilman

1    6/18/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: gnarcaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical shots are required on most holes. Garbage cans are scattered around the park along with benches by every tee box. After the front 9 you walk by the restroom and back toward the parking lot if you need anything from your car.
Cons: ~75% of the tee boxes have a small post with an arrow and the footage posted, but the arrow usually doesn't point to the basket, I probably spent a total of 30 minutes running down the fairways looking for the basket being my first time out there, the small printed out course map posted doesn't do it justice. The course layout starts out decent and is easy to follow, but it gets kind of confusing on the back 9. I couldn't find the 18th tee box so I ended up playing from 9 to the 18th basket, looking at the map online is much better resolution so I think I know where it is, so print it out if it's your first time. Overall the layout of the course is pretty bad, the lanes are usually tight and lightly to heavily protected and it is very easy to wind up in the fairway of a neighboring hole. If there were other people playing I could see this being a huge issue, especially when some baskets are within 50' from later or previous holes.
Other Thoughts: When I played most of the holes were in very short positions so birdies can be abundant on most of the front 9, even with a few not so great shots par is still pretty easy to save if you have finesse shots in your bag. I do really like the fact that this course forces you to throw different shots on most holes. It is a great course to practice different throws and make use of mid range discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Technical Wooded 18 - Lots of Fun

1    12/15/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice large cement tees on every hole. Basic signs next to every tee. Multiple pin positions on every hole, some with up to 5 or 6, and the pins are moved weekly. Some of the pin positions are set up for ace races, most of them are pretty difficult, and some are extremely difficult (tournament holes). Very technical shots required on nearly every hole. Good elevation change throughout the course and it is used well. As stated in other reviews, this course greatly rewards good shots, and severely punishes bad shots. Quite challenging throughout the course with few real birdie holes (at least with the pins where they were when I played), but birdies definitely are obtainable with great drives. Great variety of holes forcing you to shape your shot and hit different lines. All holes are pretty unique with no repetitive feeling when you're playing; each hole requires a special unique approach. Many trees and limbs on every hole that are not easy to squeeze through and almost always drop your disc dead when hit. Well placed and protected baskets on most holes. Several mandos throughout the course marked well with signs on trees with arrows. Benches at every tee, some with multiple. Garbage cans at hole 1, and you also pass this area after 9 and 18 ends here as well. Nice chill area with a pavilion and picnic tables here as well. Restrooms on site. Beautiful moderate to heavily wooded course throughout all 18 holes. Challenging course. Everyone on the course was really friendly and helpful. Very well maintained, clean course.
Cons: The signs are pretty weak, only showing hole number, a very basic hole layout (although some were illegible), and the distance to one pin position (although most baskets were in other pin positions when I played), so estimating distances in necessary on many holes. A couple fairways cross each other, and while good shots pose little threat of hitting anyone because they shoot over a ravine, bad shots or discs bouncing off trees can be dangerous, so be on guard (you'll recognize these spots when you encounter them). Difficult to navigate without a map or guide.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun course to play and is quite challenging. I would not recommend it to beginners as the course is very unforgiving and bad shots can be very hard to recover from. On the other hand, hit your line perfectly and there's a chance for birdie on most holes. Great course to tone your shot-shaping skills and requires you to use many different discs and throwing styles. None of the holes are extremely long but all are quite technical, which evens the playing field for players who can't throw really long distances with those who can; it's all about accuracy here. Quite a few holes shoot over ravines and if you don't clear it it's a nightmare getting out. The trees really seemed to drop everything that touched them. Popular course with many regulars. I played pretty early on a cold mid-December morning and there were already a lot of people playing. I was lucky enough to arrive at the same time as a group of friendly locals and they invited me play with them, which was great as they explained the course thoroughly to me and gave me a lot of great tips (Thanks guys!). They also told me about a potential new 27 hole course that could be coming to the area in the not so distant future :-) I really hope this happens as two courses of this caliber in the area would make it a must-visit disc golf destination in central California. For more information and to show support visit: www.cencalrenegades.com. One of my favorite courses in California due to the level of difficulty and precision required, as well as the terrain, setting, and very friendly and helpful locals. With new detailed signs and a couple more tweaks here and there this course would definitely be a 3.5 in my book. Can't wait to play again!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/15/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 162  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 12/2/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course winds through the woods in a nice park. Most fairways are clearly defined, with trees on either side. But the trees are not super dense, and there are opportunities to recover from an errant throw. There's some elevation change and a variety of holes. There are big concrete tees which are in great shape. Baskets also in good shape. The park seemed pretty well maintained in general. The park wasn't busy, but I was playing on a Monday morning
Cons: This course badly needs some next tee signs. Finding thenext hole is tricky, even with a map. The tees have nice looking signs, but they're not very helpful. The included "maps" don't give any information about the hole, and definitely don't show alternate pin positions (most holes when I played). There are quite a few places where someone could be hit by a bad throw -- fairways that cross or go right by another tee. There are some mandos to ameliorate this some, but the mando signs are tiny and easily missed (and not on the tee signs). While the hole design is not bad, you aren't going to be amazed by any of the holes either.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid neighborhood course. If you live in the area, you're happy to have a course like this. And if you're travelling though, it is a fun place to stop. But it's not a destination course that will feel worth it if you travel a long way to play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/18/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: Steve G
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variation of shots- long, short, doglegs left and right, a little uphill, some downhills. Locals we're all friendly and always let me play thru, as I was playing single, most of the time. Tricky basket placements can require some delicate putts.
There are other courses in the area to choose from but Heilman is tucked away from the costal winds that tend to elevate in the afternoon. Just a couple miles off the freeway, plenty of free parking. Good picnic areas, if need be.
Cons: A little tough getting around on a couple of holes. Garbage cans lacking. Some pretty heavy weeds on the majority of the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/5/2011   4/5/2011
Review By: TheBarberena
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Shaded, and hardly ever windy. Pretty challenging and the pins move weekly. It is very green right now and freshly mowed. This is my favorite course to play.
Cons: Lots of trees so beware of lingering branches
Other Thoughts: super fun to play, well kept, and a nice putting area that really helps your game

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/29/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: RIPE MELON
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of shade and tree for a fun walk in the woods.
Easily marked pads and pins.
Trees keep wind down to a minimum.
Bathrooms very close to center of coarse.
Truck Stop Style convenience store just down the road. ( AWESOME SNACK FOOD )
Only 2 mins from Hwy 101.
Cons: A lot of trees makes playing a challenge on an off day.
Wet grass till noon after a moist night.
Hot in the summer months.
Up and down terrain can wear you out with a heavy bag after 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: Great for a lunch or beer time with a buddy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Busy but nice

1    11/25/2010   2/23/2011
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2011
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Set away from town, so it plays nice and quiet. Big wooden park for the kids at the front. Tons of trees, forcing a more controlled game. Nice elevation changes on some holes. Very visible Discatcher baskets.
Cons: Busy, even considering I played on Thanksgiving Day.
Other Thoughts: This review is for the front 9 only, as we were pressed for time. I'm really looking forward to coming back to play 18 all the way through!
=================
Uniqueness: B+
Difficulty: A-
Fun factor: B
Aesthetics: A-
----------------------
Overall: B+

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, Technical and Unforgiving

5+    8/3/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 71  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Tight fairways forcing you to throw various routes.
- Elevation changes on most holes.
- Good sized tee pads.
- Mostly DG exclusive
- Pin placements change regularly
- Well maintained grounds
Cons: - Navigation can be tricky for a first timer, however it is usually so crowded that you can follow the group in front of you.

-Distances are unreleiable, with all the pin placement you just have to guess the distance.

- Heat can be an issue in the summer, but there's pleanty of shade.
Other Thoughts: This course rewards accurate throws and severely punishes bad ones. Having a big arm helps make it over the ravine but you can't make up for poor accuracy with power here.

The pins are moved on a weekly basis, with most holes having at least 3 pin placement options. All holes now have an "ace run" position. So when you find a hole in the short position you better make the most of it.

I really enjoy this course for the challenge and vibe. It would be nice to have some signs with accurate distances but regardless this is the best course in SLO county.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.