Rotterdam, Netherlands
Roel Langerak Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Roel Langerak

2-4    9/21/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: Schizofreniachloor
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Good variation of shots
* Home-made baskets are excellent
* If you want to stay the weekend, there's a nice hotel next to the park with cheap weekend rates
* The zoo is also next to the park
Cons: * A lot of dog poo on the course
* A difficult course for beginners, as there are a lot of places where you can lose your disc: over a hedge, in the pond, in the bushes, ...
* Small & slippery tee-offs
* Need to print out the map of the course, otherwise you won't be able to find all the tee-offs
* On a warm & sunny afternoon I think it is be impossible to play as there are just too many visitors to the park
Other Thoughts: I recommend the park if you are in the neighbourhood and feel like playing. Unless you want to combine disc golf with a weekend in Rotterdam or a zoo visit, don't spend too much effort to travel to the park...it's not that special.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf in Rotterdam!

2-4    3/20/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a few things that make it unique in my eyes.
*It's in the Netherlands!

*Good variety of shots. #17 through the stone pillars supporting the railroad, #6 over the pond, #14 is a tight fairway through the woods, #12 is the long-open bomber hole, etc... This course seems to have one of every shot.

*The homemade baskets are more than adequate.

On top of those, there's a course map and detailed signs on the tees. I was very happy with the playable and variety of shots on this course. And #18's basket is right by #1's tee. Woo!

Roel Langerak constantly fighting for the #1 course in Netherlands spot with Sloterpark in Amsterdam. Unfortunately I only got a chance to play in Rotterdam, but it was worth the trip.
Cons: Since the sport is so young, people are oblivious to where the fairways are and will often just sit there and think I'm checking them out when I'm actually just trying to get them to move...

As mentioned before by simpletwist, the tees are slightly smaller than what I would consider adequate.

The only thing holding this course back from being a solid 3.5 is the awkward flow on some of the holes and use of a single basket on two holes (which happens 3 times, I believe).
Other Thoughts: This is definitely in the top 3 courses in the Netherlands as of now. I'd say it's worth it to come over here and check it out, even if it's just to say you've disc golf'd in the Netherlands. Also, thanks to MattK for taking pictures of the course!! You can really get a feel for the course from the pictures.

Completely unrelated to the course, I took a train from Germany and the landscape in the Netherlands is awesome. I've never seen so many small streams and lakes and ponds. It's a very watery country and I love it!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    10/3/2009   10/13/2009
Review By: simpletwist
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Almost 4000 miles from home! For the most part the course was well laid out with a variety of open and wooded holes. Some trees have been removed so a few holes in the middle were completely open. Although the baskets are homemade, they are more than adequate and well built. There are some very tight tunnel holes, including number 17 which is completely under an elevated railway. The concrete pillars supporting the bridge serve to create the tunnel. Most of the holes average out at about 250f t, but there is one over 400 ft and the longest, a Par 4, is 571 ft. There is one tee shot over a pond, number 6, but that pond can come into play on 2 other holes. No waiting to play! we were the only disc golfers on the course. There is a large metal sign outlining the course, great for first time users.
Cons: A very popular multi use park. We did play mid week in not the best of weather conditions so that may be why three were no other golfers. But there were plenty of dog walkers, kids, and other park users. They did not seem to know what we were doing. So be careful and mindful of these other park users. Most of the tee pads were concrete and very small, less than half the size of what I'm used to seeing in the states. Other than the sign in the beginning detailing the entire course there is no markings to indicate where the next tee is. Number 5 was difficult to find. Several holes share a basket and I'm not a big fan of this. In at least one case you have to backtrack to tee off for the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Beware of the bushes on I believe 9 & 10. They are low and should be easy to negotiate. But if you are short on 9, or long on 10 these very, very thick evergreen shrubs can swallow up a disc.

It was difficult to rate this course objectively. It was just too cool to play in so foreign a country.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Roel Langerak Park

5+    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: Port Arthur
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 29.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to Central Station.This course has 2 maps about the course in the park so you can't (really) miss any holes.You need all types of shots so that is a plus. Good beginners course with one hole throwing over water(about 150 feet).The holes are average 250 feet but it can be windy at times. Toilet close by + coffee or something else.Beautiful girls walk in the park....
Cons: It's a public park so when it is warm,there will be a lot of people doing the bbq thing. In the summer it's best to play in the morning.Shitty chains!!! People camp out on the Tee-pads...sometimes people are agressive when you ask them to move.to much ob.
To much dog doodoo at times
Other Thoughts: I play here all the time and just love the course mainly because it is the only decent one around. I love the fact that it is most of the time windy and there is enough ob, so you have to be focused.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.