Disc Golf Store
Millington/Memphis, TN
Meeman-Shelby State Park - East Share
Uploaded By: bball7273 Hole #17 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 260ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Solid Woods Course

1    10/4/2009   2/5/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MS- East is an excellent technical wooded course. The first 2 holes are more open (but not gimmes) and then from #3-#18 you are in the woods. The holes are not repetitive, however, as they utilize different shot shapes and nicely incorporate the extra challenge of elevation on many holes. There are a lot of trees waiting to deflect your disc the wrong direction as you would expect, but there is always a reasonable fairway. The course is an older one, but this actually helps it as it has had plenty of time to mature.

Tees, baskets, and signs were adequate. Navigation was not a problem.

This is a nice, secluded course that is challenging yet fun. The disc golf courses are their own area of the park, so there is no interference with other park activities. There is the added bonus of 2 courses that begin from the same parking area (for36 total holes). Also at the parking lot is a detailed course map of the complex, a covered picnic pavilion, and nice restrooms.
Cons: This is an older style course, technical, but not real long. Once it goes in the woods on #3 it stays in the woods until you are finished, so there is not a lot of variety between open and wooded holes like you get at nearby Bud Hill. Also, I remember being amazed at how the mosquitoes would not go away, even in the pouring rain, so be sure to bring your bug spray!
Other Thoughts: The Meeman-Shelby courses are solid courses that will challenge players of all skill levels, but aren't too difficult for casual players and families who also come to the park for other things like camping, hiking, and fishing. It is also really nice that there are 36 holes all in one spot, and these courses are not too far from one of the best courses anywhere- Bud Hill, which complement each other very well.

I preferred the East course over the West, if you have to pick one. But I recommend both if you have the time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 woods woods woods

2-4    9/5/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: dirty8224
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I like these courses a lot!! They are tight and wooded. Plenty of birdie opportunities if you can keep your disc from hitting the trees. Didn't notice very many ants or poison ivy or anything like that. Good signage.
Cons: Accuracy is a must.
Carpet tee pads are lame.
Some holes you're basically getting thrown at from other holes. While playing the 2010 SNAC there I almost got smacked in the face with a guys drive and I was just sitting on the bench of our hole waiting to drive.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Course

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: anthonygobot
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I highly recommend this course for beginners to even advanced. I love the fact you can play 18 and just walk across the ways to another 18 hole course (East and West). Give this course a shot and you will not be disappointed.
Cons: The holes need better signs with more directions to find the next hole. This isnt a MAJOR draw back at all just something to work on.
Other Thoughts: We drove 3hrs to play the local courses and I was impressed and cant wait to go back. Thanks for the great course guys.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded and wonderful

1    7/1/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty easy to navigate. Secluded and peaceful. Free!!! I don't know about the rest of the Tenn state park courses as far as entry fees go. Plenty of ace runs, but some are technical. Decent elevation on several holes. Like the west course, the east courses t signs tell you where to walk for the next hole. There are even some of the original signs off to the side on some of the holes. You can tell they are from when the course opened, because for example 1 of them read" 265 ft. par 4". That to me screams STEADY ED!!, which is perfect for those that prefer wooded courses, just not 10000 ft. ones. It was weird looking at 2 different signs on a hole. Some courses have none, this one has 2 on some and always 1. Most pads were concrete except for a few that were carpet. 3 dif pin positions and today they were a mix of long and med and 1 or 2 shorts. The terrain ranged from flat to medium elevation with a couple of empty the baggers.
Cons: Like the west course, this one is not very long while still longer than the west. It will not present much of a challenge to pro level players. I bet it can get muddy in the winter like most Heavily wooded courses.
Other Thoughts: For what it is which is a shorter old school wooded course, it's an average 4 in my book. If I were holding it to today's course standards, I would prob give it a 3 1/2 or 3. For being over 30 yrs old, it holds it's own with rec players like me. For upper level players, it will probably rank 3 or down if you consider challenge to be a major factor in grading a course on this site. If you love wooded courses, you will enjoys these 2. Out of 36, 32 are wooded and 4 are more open.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 what a great course tucked away

1    3/23/2010   3/23/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course for those who love tight wooded shots with elevation changes.
-The course plays for right and left handers. At some holes you get thinking, "what line can i possibly hit here." it test your touch like no other course i have yet to play. the east course opens up with two "open" shots and then the next 16 will eat your disc alive if you throw poorly. quite a challenge and a lot of fun.
Cons: bugs in the summer will carry you off. a bit of a drive out to the middle of no where and then you have to go 8 more miles. ;)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good test, but nothing spectacular

1    10/9/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: shyguy30
Played: 54  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Used every disc in my bag, good variety of shots left and right, uphill and downhill
-Tee signs are great with all pin locations and distances clearly marked
-The General Store at the Park Entrance is worth the trip to this course . Thanks to the ladies there for a delicious lunch and outstanding hospitality.
Cons: -A few of the tee pads were covered in mud and very slippery
-1 or 2 of the baskets looked a little rough and may need to be replaced soon
-Almost all in fairly deep woods
-Can be confusing as to which basket/tee you should head to in a couple of spots
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course (except for all of the trees I hit) but nothing jumps out at me as being stellar. Lots of variety as far as lefty and righty holes, a few uphill or downhill, but seemed like a lot of them were around the same distance. Hole #2 is the exception, just a monster. 500+ ft into a tight channel in the woods for the last 200 ft. If you want to practice hitting a precise spot off the tee and don't mind being punished if you don't, this is the place for you. A good, solid, rugged type course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Tough

1    10/9/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very tough wooded course. I came out quite humbled. Most of the holes are fair, but I had a rough day and it felt tougher than it was. A nice variety of shots required for a wooded course. They did great job making this course, because I can only imagine how much work was needed to make this the course that it is. It is in the middle of nowhere. Be ready to get your butt kicked from the get go because #1 is rough. A good control player will be able to pick this apart...unfortunately, that is not me. Tee pads were great.
Cons: Mosquitos were insane. We played in rough rain and they were still all over us. I found that is was tough to find certain pins off the tee and a few of the tees were tough to find.
Other Thoughts: I agree with the review that said it is a very nice course, but there is nothing extremely memorable about it...no signature type holes, but a very consistent, well made, and well maintained course. Probably 2nd best in the area (after Bud Hill). Make sure you go to the Shelby Forest General Store for some delicious cheeseburgers. They also have a very cool disc selection there (for sale). Lots of cool custom dyed discs. The people there are awesome!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 How I like 'em

1    6/18/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Proximity to Bud Hill. You can easily play 3 courses in one day in this area. Bud Hills championship style "golf" course, and the two good, tight courses through the trees at this park.
- There is another course a few hundred yards away. Although I didn't get to play it because it was getting dark... I was told it was as nice as the east course.
- I love tight shots between the trees. Lot's of birdies to be had... possible ace runs... and lot's of punishment for bad shots.
- The fairways were definitely "fair", unlike other wooded courses I have played where great shots can yield a bogey.
- Although I had a guide (thanks again Wizard, from this site), I think this course would have been easily navigable... decent signage and good tee-pads.
Cons:
- None really... Mosquitoes! Other than that... the course was cool. I didn't rank it higher because it isn't the most "epic" course I ever played. None of the holes are truly re-memorable as the coolest shot you ever took.
Other Thoughts:
- Definitely play Bud Hill while in the area. Even though this park has two course, I think the Bud Hill course is more memorable.
- Food is far away... so bring it with you or go to the deli a few miles away from the park (if leaving the park go left). Chicken ranch wrap is the bomb.
- Memphis had some great stuff... really nice people. Extremely hospitable. Thanks again to everyone I met... I'm definitely coming back.
My Score: -3

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/21/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you are in Memphis, you must play this course. The first hole alone will kick you butt. The baskets were mostly in the long position and each an every hole was a challenge from start to finish. Tough tight shots were a must. This is Roc and Buzz territory if you can make them turn hard right or left after a 250 foot throw. Benches, wastebaskets and mostly good tee signs and the DGA baskets make this a must for Memphis.
The mosquitos weren't bad at all. Bathroom right there!
Cons: Harder than heck to get to if you google map it. Roads go everywhere there and you can get lost really easy. If you make it to the store , you must ask for directions or you will be driving for 15 minutes instead of 5.
Other Thoughts: While you can lose a disc the chances are slim if you watch your errant throws. Other than that, just a great laid out course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dogwood Classic

1    5/2/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course if very challenging and almost grueling. It has excellent signs. Good tees and baskets. Lots of trash cans and benches. Nice elevation changes. Nice restrooms.
Cons: Mostly wooded, so there are not many open holes. State park entry fee.
Other Thoughts: The course has a very professional feel. The east side is called the "Beast", and I'd say it's tougher and more punishing than the west. Even though it's very wooded, there is still lots of variety within the woods. There is elevation, blind baskets, straight, bends to the right, bends to the left, etc. Find the pavilion and there will be a very intricate, large course map. Plan to play both courses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.