Millington/Memphis, TN 
Meeman-Shelby State Park - East Share
Uploaded By: bball7273 Hole #4 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    11/1/2008   11/5/2008
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has multiple pin placements on most every hole. In the longs, this is the tougher of the 2 courses located in Shelby Forest. In the short pin placements, it is the easier of the 2 courses. There are good concrete tees on most holes, with carpet pads on the others.

Design wise, this is your typical wooded course, with a lot of variety, elevation, tough holes, and easy holes. The multiple pin placements give the course good balance for all skill levels. The fairways are fair, but require an accurate shot to birdie most holes.

There are benches on every hole. At the start of the course is a pavilion and bathrooms. The park has cabins and also allows camping.
Cons: The main problem with this course is navigation. There are no tee signs or next tee signs and the many worn pathways where the original course was can lead you to the wrong tee pad in several key areas. After hole 2, you want to go straight back to find hole 3 (the pad to the right of 2's basket is hole 9). After hole 3, follow the path to the bench, where you will see that hole 4 goes left and hole 7 goes right. After hole 12, you have to go down the small hill to find hole 13 (going straight after hole 12 is hole 16).

I personally think that the mando on hole 16 is stupid and should not be there. Also, remember to bring bug spray and cover yourself with it, and even then, I wish you luck.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I like this course. It is fun to play, with a lot of unique challenges and shots. The overall enjoyment of this course for first timers would be greatly improved if there were tee signs. It is just difficult to truly enjoy yourself when you are constantly trying to figure out where to go next. There really is nothing overly special about this course, but it is nice to have 2 full 18 hole courses in the same immediate area. If you like wooded courses, then you will enjoy your visit to Shelby Forest State Park. The general store down the road has food, drinks, sells discs, and loves disc golfers.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing course layout

1    10/28/2007   10/28/2008
Review By: davearcher76
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Tremendous challenge with plenty of wooded holes and a great deal of up and down.
Cons: When they made it 36 holes it is very confusing. Some concrete tees and some that are old carpeting staked to the ground

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A long time ago

5+    6/1/1988   10/19/2008
Review By: misfitrev
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course had it all when it was only an 18 hole course: great concrete tee pads, wooded and open shots, elevation changes, and so much more. The variety made it so that you would never get bored with the course. Back in the day you could find guys selling discs out of the back of their vans - definitely set the tone for beauty of disc golf - it is an affordable sport!
Cons: It is not really located near to anything other than the military base.
Other Thoughts: I would love to go back to TN and play this course now that is 36 holes. This course had some of the best holes I have ever played.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My original home course

6/11/2007   2/11/2008
Review By: matt30556
Played: 65  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 36 holes in one area, that alone makes it worth the stop. There are tight controlled shots through the woods and some big open holes where you can grip it and rip it. There are righty holes, lefty holes and some straight on holes, all beautifully laid out and well designed. Very nice benches, signs, tees, with a pavilion on the west side and some other great amenities close by, including camping. A must play for anybody in the area and if you are lucky enough to hook up with a local you might even get invited to play Bud Hill, the BEST private course in all of America as far as I am concerned.
Cons: Bring the bug juice, the mosquitoes will eat you alive in the summer time and some of them thrive on the basic bug sprays as I think they are immune to it.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe nobody else has taken the time to review these courses. When I lived in Memphis, 8+ years ago there were only 18 holes, 9 on the east side and 9 on the west side and now there are 18 holes on each side, WOW what an accomplishment!! If I still lived in Memphis I would be a very active member in the continued development and grooming of these courses and although I don't, I am still proud to call this one of my original home courses.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.