Course Extinct
Golden, CO 
Mines Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / --   3 / 191ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Don't go out of your way

1    3/10/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are new discatchers.

The course has cement tee pads.

The difficulty is right-on for red/green level players, which are in abundance in the adjacent college dorms.
Cons: The design is dangerous. Two fairways cross and one basket can be overthrown right into another fairway. The road, building, sidewalk and parking lot come into play.

The routing is not intuitive and the next pads are somewhat difficult to locate without any "next tee" signs.

Hole 7's basket was missing on March 10, 2010.

Hole 8 and hole 9 share a basket with players having to walk back the length of hole 9 after throwing hole 8 and then throw.

As a previous reviewer mentioned, locals have created an "alternate course". This creates even more potential for injury to players and pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Many students use this area for sunning/studying and walking through. This property is not suited for a disc golf course. I could see 3 or so baskets put in for a disc golf "practice area", but not a 9 hole course dangerously crammed in.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun quick play

5+    11/6/2009   11/7/2009
Review By: Definistrated29
Played: 37  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Can finish 9 holes by yourself in 30 min.
Very few other players/Little to no waiting.
Short course allows for multiple ace runs.
Nice baskets and well maintained grass.
Bathrooms and water available at the common house by hole #4.
There is a small stream and small weeds but is very difficult to lose a disc.
Nice mines personalized tee pads with distances/direction.
Nice use of the trees that they have available in the space.
Good place to learn or teach someone.
Cons: Short holes, no place to really bomb one. I usually play the course with a mid and a putter.
Holes 8 and 9 play to the same basket.
Hole 4 and 5: 7 and 8 cross.
Some non DG traffic.
Buildings/Concrete roads and walkways can tear up cheaper discs.
Other Thoughts: This course was a design project by Mines students and I think they did a good job with it.

Parking options: Personally I take the first entrance into mines park off of 6th ave and park in the first parking lot you see on the right. The basket right there is hole 4. Walk south past hole four til you get to the rules sign and hole 1.

For the shortest walk after finishing: After turning onto 19th from 6th, take the second entrance into the mines park apts. Park by the first basket you see. That is hole 8/9. Hole 1 is located at the farthest southwest corner of the course by a rules sign.

I am a guide for this course and came up with an alternate layout after playing this course so many times I got bored. The alternate layout is longer and a lot tougher but crosses multiple holes so it is best played when the course is pretty empty. Here is my alternate layout:
http://forum.mhdgc.org/viewto...=1&t=2823
or here: http://i811.photobucket.com/a...nesorig-2.jpg

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for having time to spare

5+    9/11/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: shortstack
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: Lived in apartments so basically played every other day. Concrete pads present with rough map of pin location. Baskets on holes. Well maintained.
Cons: Mostly shorter holes with wide open fairways and very few trees to navigate around. For experience players Par at each hole is 2 shots.
Other Thoughts: Don't go out of your way to play the course but go ahead if in the area. Typically takes 1 hour to play with 3-4 people.

 Good Use of Space

1    8/21/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is nicely maintained green grass. The signage on the tee pads is informative. Shot variety is high in this small park. A player is forced to use hyzer, anhyzer, straight, downhill and uphill shots. This course is a great place to learn fundamentals on shot selection. It is a great course for beginners to learn to play.
Hole #1 starts on the south end of the park. There is a big info board with rules.
Hole #2 is a slight right hand bend past some trees and a light pole. Its kind of wet behind the pin.
Hole #3 shoot up hill around a big tree. One of the trickery shots on the course. Steer clear of the brush on the left.
Hole #4 shoots down the hill and is the longest shot of the course.
Hole #5 shoots across the fairway for #4 with a wooded area to the left.
Hole #6 shoots around a tree and uphill.
Hole #7 Shoots past a tree to an open Pin.
Hole # 8 shoots slightly uphill to a guarded pin.
Hole #9 shoots across the park to the same basket as #8.
Cons: The tee pads are very short, but most of the holes do not require a large run up. The signs and the maps in the park say "No Drivers" You probably could play this course with mids and putters. The crossing fairways makes course tricky. Standing at a few holes you have to wait for players at two to three holes around the park to finish before a safe shot can be made. Due to a lack of any other green grass space near these apartments the fairway for holes #4 & #5 became a spot for a pickup game of ultimate. Shooting to the same basket for holes #8 & #9 was a hazard.
Other Thoughts: This park made good use of the space it had. I would be happy to play it if I lived in Golden and went to the School of Mines. With many other good choices for disc golf in the area this one probably wont get a return trip unless we are in the immediate area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Beginners and Practice

5+    7/24/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: TweekGeek
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: - Not crowded, at least during the week.
- Grassy fairways
- Concrete tees with distances noted
- Semi sheltered from wind

I like this course for practicing my approach shots and putts. There is only one hole over 300 feet, and its a downhill shot. I hit this course on the way home from work, and I can finish 9 holes in under 30 minutes if I am by myself.

My favorite holes are:

- Hole 2, which is uphill, with heavy cover on the right side of the basket. If you throw RHBH or LHFH you will be challenged because you won't be able to throw to the right at all with your disc as it will end up in the bushes/trees, or hitting the light pole 50 feet in front of the basket. A Hyzer thrown high and to the left with a disc that doesn't recover too quickly is recommended.

- Hole 3 in the summer time has a fully leafed out branch from a large tree directly in front of you. The branch leaves you about 3 feet of room underneath if you want to try to shoot the gap. To make matters worse, the terrain is uphill, so even if you do throw under the branch, you need to somehow angle the flight of the disc upward. I have had success throwing an anhyzer with an overstable disc outside the lower right hand corner of the branch, and throwing a tomahawk over the top of the branch.

- Hole 4 is the 300 foot downhill shot with a large tree about 175 feet away and off to the right. The trick is to throw LOW. You want your disk skimming the grass as it flies over the crest of the hill off the tee. The ground will drop away quickly and the disc will be at the right height and not finish too far left as it would if you threw too high. A very cool shot when executed properly. I use a Surge SS, which holds a pretty straight line until the end.

- Hole 9 looks easy enough, but it always gets me. It is slightly uphill, which adds to the distance, and it has trees to the right and left. A straight shot with a neutral disc works best. I use my Dart putter for this one, but could use a faster disc as my RHBH isn't terribly powerful.
Cons: - Not a bomber course. If you want to air out your discs, travel down 6th ave/hwy 93 to Bird's nest.


 Teach your wife or girlfriend here!

5+    10/18/2008   6/18/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is the best course to go to if you want to teach your wife or GF to play disc golf. It's very short and wide open with enough trees around to give you a few shots that make you think.
Also, there are hardly ever more than a couple people on the course...I've never had to wait for anybody.
Cons: Very short and the small area can cause problems if it was a very busy day.
Also, unless you just want to practice, this course will get boring really quickly.
Other Thoughts: It's nice to find a little course that doesn't see much traffic. It's good to introduce other people to the game or to give yourself some nice practice time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Easily Enjoyable

5+    5/30/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: DLord
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Accessible yet challenging for beginners
- Good signage
- Having recently cleared the fenced area to the East of tee #3 and basket #5; losing discs is unlikely
- Common house provides clean bathrooms and fresh water
Cons:
- Can get crowded with DG and non-DG
- Some layout problems mostly due to limited space.
1)Apt and Dorm buildings, three parking lots, the common house and a picnic area are all nearby hazards on this course
2) several of the fairways criss-cross
Other Thoughts:
+/- Several of the shots become significantly more technical when the leaves come in
+/- Short
+/- Tee #1 is a walk from the main parking lot where the course ends
+/- Holes 8 & 9 share the same basket

Overall an enjoyable quick play. Good starting spot if you want to play several courses in a day. There are no long drives but I don't think it affects the courses quality. Weekday mornings are the best cards to play if you want to avoid heavy foot traffic.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run

2-4    4/8/2009   4/9/2009
Review By: Dooley
Played: 102  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great local course played through apartments that are 90 percent students. Short holes so many ace opportunities. I don't recommend the Coors but there are some good pups nearby.
Cons: Many switchbacks so that if the course was crowded it would make for some dangerous disc, but I'm only seen a few people out there. Holes 8 and 9 share the same basket but approach from two directions so they both play well.
Other Thoughts: Check out all the pics I've uploaded to get a feel of it all. You can see when the baskets are in the middle of your fairway. All in all, it's worth playing!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/2/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: tmbyram
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course. No drivers needed. Should birdie every hole. Close to Coors Brewery so after the round you can have a free beer. Beautiful landscape. Its an up and down course for elevation. Yes the last hole is not near the first tee but it is not that far of a walk.
Cons: Short! Only 8 baskets. In a residential area so there are constantly changing obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Very nice place to take new players. Grab some food and hit the brewery afterwards. Could actually add some holes but looks like they are redoing some landscaping. Nice little course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not so well engineered...

2-4    3/1/2009   3/1/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another good course to take new or green disc golfers. The fairways are mowed grass with only a few obstacles. The holes are short. The baskets are good quality and the concrete tee pads are unique in that the School of Mines' "M' is carved into them along with the hole number, distance to the basket and an arrow pointing toward the basket.
Cons: I gave a pretty poor rating to this course for many reasons.
First, tee #1 is no where near the final basket. Most good courses will start and end in the same area, but this course starts and ends at almost opposite ends of the course.
Second, the fairways of holes 4 through 6 and then holes 7 through 9 cross over each other. Check out the course map on the Links/Files tab. There were only two other groups on the course when I played and I had to wait to throw on five of the holes due to the multiple fairway crossings.
Third, the engraved tee pads are nice, but with no signs sticking up, I had trouble finding the next hole on numerous occasions during my first round. Granted, this was in large part to the fact that the locations of those next holes didn't make much sense to me considering the fairway situation listed above.
Finally, the last basket is used for both hole #8 and #9. I am not a fan of courses that use the same basket for multiple hole.
Other Thoughts: There are quite a few chances at aces on this course. I also would not raise my eyebrows to eight or nine under par after nine holes either.
The only hole I found tricky during my first round was number six. The trees are located in tricky locations and it is uphill. I grounded my first drive with a forehand throw as I was trying to stay under the branches of the closest tree. My second round I decided to throw a Starfire backhand and the hard turn back left worked well to get around the first tree and cut in front of the second tree and up to the basket.
Despite the hold ups, I played two rounds of nine in under an hour.
One non-course related cool occurrence was the hang gliders taking off from the cliff on the mountain above.
This course is well tended and looks nice as a result. Because of this, I can see how others may end up rating this course a bit higher. But to me the playability is what matters most and this course simply was not designed well. This is a bit of a dig, but I can't let it go unmentioned that the course is located on the campus of a college dedicated to the field of engineering. ;)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.