Layout Extinct

South Elgin, IL 
Village Center DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
  Pretty fun to practice on.

5+    1/5/2011   1/14/2011
Review By: TomahawK840
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very wide open. No one is rarely there so you can throw as many discs as you want. Good for getting your drives down. Usually play 1-5 a couple times. Or go in reverse, kinda fun.
Cons: Idk you have to walk under the bridge to get to 6 - 10. Its exercise not a big deal. Worst part is prob the goose crap.
Other Thoughts: All in all not that bad of a course. On a nice sunny day, definitely worth trying out. Anytime I get to play it's worth it. I love disc golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than expected

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course in nice setting along Fox River with average challange, easy to find, has box with score cards/course map at first tee (nice touch), tees marked, flag extensions on top of several hidden baskets to help visual relation of pins, most holes are average distance, good amout of tree & brush obstructions, small creek & river water hazards in play on a few holes, park not to busy for a Sunday & only a few other discers so play wasn't slowed much. Locals are friendly.
Cons: Mostly grass & some dirt tees (can throw on paved walking path a few feet back on a couple holes), no signs for hole layout, couple holes were a bit short, other park users at times in way.
Other Thoughts: I had low expectations after seeing reviews before playing this course, but was in area, it's actually not a bad 9, was told some improvements have recently been made, better than expected. I met and played with someone who knew the course which helped as a guide, but can see how playing here the first time may be confusing at times, to be expected anyway, not an excessive problem with this course. I didn't mind the walk along the river to the other side either, wasn't all that bad, played a double round 2 disc throw on each hole, than 1-5 again to limit the walking some. On the way back from hole 9 just past tunnel I noticed the walking path as a good launch area to throw back to pin 5, actually made a descent extra hole. There's also plenty of room & pathway to make other extra alt. tee holes, will try more next time. Had some fun holes, not to far from home, would definately play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 418  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is set pretty close to the Fox River, and has two separate sections. For the most part, there are clear fairways with a few trees here and there to avoid. Some water in play as well.
- A few holes have trees to help protect the basket, and some well placed obstacles that take away the usual RHBH hyzer route. Hole #5 uses tall grass all through the fairway to punish short shots, and has a nasty alternate route for those who don't want to go over the schule.
- Water comes into play on two holes, in different ways. #2 has a small island green (with an OB fence) right over a small creek. The water and fence really make this a very tough basket to reach off the tee. #7 has a huge water hazard on the right, with a right-curving fairway.
- Decent length to the course; the scorecards at the front are way off on some holes. Probably 3 or 4 are over 300'. A couple ace runs thrown in too, with trees and rough to snag overthrown discs.
- Good baskets, grass tees are easy to find with a scorecard. No signage of any other sort, but good signage to get between #5 and #6.
Cons: - The walk from #5 to #6 is a bit much, but there was really no other choice. Still, it hurts. Worth playing #1-#5 twice and #6-#10 twice to only walk it once.
- Park is used for a ton of other things, like fishing and biking. Not really an issue on the course itself, but a lot of activity overall.
- Most holes are wide open, with a tree here or there to mix it up. No real rough to speak of, and only one hole has pine trees that pose a big issue. Throwing it straight is all that's needed in almost every situation.
Other Thoughts: - This is a very strange course. You start off in a small field that manages to pack in 5 decent holes, then walk and walk to get to 4 tacked-on holes right by a police station. The spots with water are both very good; you can hear a small brook babbling and a long dam's mini-waterfall at two different spots. A pretty good variety of holes, but not a good variety of shots needed.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Smelgin

1    8/30/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice DISCatcher Pro baskets. Score Cards with map (distances are definitely wrong on a few holes though). Some longish holes (3 holes over 300 iirc) give you a chance to throw a driver, although long throwers will be fine with mid and putter. Somewhat scenic (located on the banks of the Fox River).
Cons: Where to start…the way this course is split in two really ruins what little flow there is. There is a long walk between the front five and the back four (never said that before). The tees here are rather silly, there are two blocks marking the front of the tee area with a short pole directly between. The pole has a flag marking the hole number (this is the only signage), but putting it in the front center of the tee is idiotic. Maybe this is one of those courses designed by someone who has never played DG. Hole 2 (basket is across the stream running along the right side of the fairway) could be a decent hole if there was a bigger opening to throw through. As is you are forced to lay up across the creek from the basket, a bigger opening would tempt players to try to park it. As is there is no reason to go for it. Most holes are very simple grassy, park-like holes without much in the way of obstacles. The exception is five which does not seem to have a proper fairway. You throw over a prairie, and any shot that doesn't make it to the basket is in the rough.
Other Thoughts: I had quite an odyssey trying to check this course off my list. The first time I came out here I played the front 5 only to discover a carnival set up in the park used for the back 4. I came back a week or so later to find the whole course unplayable due to said carnival/festival. When I next came back, we had to wait for the grounds crew to finish mowing. While playing we commented on how much you have to walk for just 9 blah holes. At the end my girl said, "so, we never have to come back here, right?" Instead of playing the whole course I would recommend looping holes 1-4. Actually I would recommend skipping this course unless you are trying for completeness.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meh...

1    5/30/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through two separate small parks across the street from one another. The front 5 play through a mostly open park with some scattered trees, and some tall grass, with a creek that comes into play on a couple holes for some risk. The final 4 holes play through a grassy park with mature trees to avoid and one shot off the top of a small levee through the trees. There are some different lengths, with some holes that call for a fairway driver, and some ace run holes.

Apparently some course improvements have been made, making the navigation much easier. The tees are marked with short metal poles that have bright numbered nylon flags on them, making the tees easy to find. All the baskets are pretty obvious from the tees. The discatcher baskets are in good shape and catch well. There is a sign on the 5th basket with directions to the rest of the course, and a couple signs along the way to reassure you that you're going the right direction.
Cons: The course is a little boring, especially the last 4 holes. There is no real elevation, and not enough trees to force different lines throughout the course. There isn't enough length to really throw any drives here, all holes are easily reachable from the tee. The fifth hole is a little silly, most of the fairway is made up of tall grass and brush.

The tee posts are nice, but they were placed directly in the middle of the two tee markers on all the holes, it's not a huge deal, but they do make it difficult to throw from the intended tee. The flags are easily removable, so I would worry about vandalism and theft. There are no tee signs, so you have to guess on hole length, and if the flags disappear you'll need to guess on hole number too.

The last 4 holes play through a heavily used park, that can fill with tons of picnicking families and fishermen, making some holes unplayable on a nice day. Some holes play near one another, and though I can't see this course getting a lot of traffic, it could be a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This course just doesn't have a ton going for it. It's an ok place for newer players, though the long walk to the second half of the course and the longer walk back to the car are pretty excessive and discouraging for such a mediocre course. More experienced players won't find many challenges or variety here to keep it interesting. Like so many Chicagoland courses, I only recommend playing it if you want to check it off the list, otherwise don't bother.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and well maintained

5+    5/8/2010   5/14/2010
Review By: luv2throw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. This course has been updated and now has all new tee signs and flags on baskets so that should clear up some confusion about layout.
I also placed a link from the city's website that has videos of each hole. it should help out.

2. This course is mostly wide open so you can practice your drives without losing discs.

3. Although it is a pretty easy course don't take it for granted because the creek on hole 2 and the river on hole 7 can get you especially on a very windy day. ( I got crazy and tried to Hyzer over the river and hit the basket and the wind carried the disc into the river)
4. Very scenic. One of the prettiest courses around.

5. Great for beginners and since the course is mostly flat it's not a hard walk.

Cons: 1: Very easy especially if your used to shooting harder more technical courses.

2: Some park traffic like bikers or kids at the park but not to much.

3: Dirt tee pads but the city will be adding better tee pads this summer. I hope.
Other Thoughts: This course was getting a very bad rap for a long time but with the new tee signs and flags on baskets it's much better.

Great course if you wanna get a quick round in.


2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 total garbage

1    6/13/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: 815RocSolid
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -decent baskets
Cons: - HORRRRRRRIBLE tees
- one of the most confusing layouts ever
-easy to grip lock a disc into the river
Other Thoughts: me and my buds made a little mini tour of our area and this was the first course we hit. wow, what a bad way to start off the day. wasted a solid hour on a 9-holer, solely from looking for tees. AND we never even found 9. garbage, dont waste ur time unless u live across the street.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better. This website could help!

1    10/3/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: skearns2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Neat setup. Along the river was pretty cool.
Cons: The tees are so hard to find. All I found was the first 4 tees. On top of that finding the other holes was difficult at first too. Also, not sure what the par is per hole.
Other Thoughts: Wish this course had a map or something. I wish I knew the pars of each hole, and where the tees are located for every hole.

If there is a local out there, can you please make a map and put it on this website?

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ok for locals, don't go out of your way

1    6/14/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: lko102
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight course forces a variety of different shots. Very scenic along the Fox river. Mach 3 baskets
Cons: Terrible tee markers. Layout is confusing at best for first time players with no map available to help you find your way around. Course is located in three different parks, with a 1 block walk between 1-5 and 6-9.
Other Thoughts: As others have have said, the worst thing about this course is the lack of tee boxes and proper markers. I was lucky enough to be able to play behind a group of locals, and followed them, otherwise I wouldn't have had a chance. Holes are a mix of short, mostly open shots, nothing will challenge you much other than finding the tee. Many people fish, ride bike, and recreate in the second park, and it can make it difficult to play without danger of sending a disc into someone. 1-5 would be decent if you live in town to go practice, but going out of your way to play the course isn't the best use of your time.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Why Couldn't This Course be Awesome

2-4    6/10/2008   6/11/2009
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 153  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a disc golf course, right?
Cons: Two locations for the short course. No signs, teepads, next to a baseball field. This course may be the most poorly designed course I have ever been to.
Other Thoughts: iving in a nearby town I was really hoping for a fun course, but I'm not really sure what I got. I don't just want to bash this course, because this is to help people learn about a course. If you have no other way to play other course, than yes play this course. But if you can play other courses Streamwood, St. Charles, and West Dundee have courses which are a lot more enjoyable and still easy for beginners.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.