Minneapolis (New Hope), MN 
Sunnyside Park Share
Uploaded By: chad-o Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 262ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Kind Of A Ghetto Feel !

1    7/20/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 673  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sunnyside Park is a long narrow park. The course plays five one way and then four holes back crossing through a wooded area and over a nasty ditch/creek along the way. Although the houses that border the park look fairly well kept, the park just had this grungy feel to it. I guess I'm basing most of this on the fact that every teepad had been spraypainted with ugly gang grafitti crap. Also everything was saturated after recent heavy, heavy rains.
The course itself plays to the beginner/Rec level with a couple of interesting holes.
I personally liked # 1 where you were throwing to the basket which is just barely hidden down in the woods.

To bad they lost the # 3 mando trees. Everyone seems a little bummed out about that.
Cons: Grafitti teepads.
Minimal challenge.
Ugly swampy ditch water to lose discs in.
I don't see the street as a OB problem here as the traffic would be visible coming and going. Duh-Don't throw into the traffic!
Other Thoughts: If I lived across the street, I'd play this course all the time. If I lived any further, I'd probably find other better options around the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 MEH

5+    6/25/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very easy
-Quick play through
-Nice putting practice hole.
-Never too busy
-Pretty clean
-Wide open shots
-Decent little flow
-Great place to warm up for the day or play night disc
-Hole two is a pretty awesome and challenging shot
Cons: -Lack of variety in shots needed
-When it rains hole one turns into a big lake
-The water hazard on four can be a major pain in the ass to get a disc out of, even if it is on the edge
-This course really is pretty boring
Other Thoughts: I've probably just played this course too many times, but I find it to be extremely boring and easy. Nothing has changed in at least seven years (except for sawing down mando trees).
I've played this course several times at night and it's pretty fun. Other than that, I usually only play this course if I am waiting for someone or are wanting to warm up a bit. Id say, check this little course out, for sure, but don't come from afar to see "stoner park".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More than it seems

5+    5/24/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although this seems like a pitch and putt course, it actually offers much more than that.

Sunnyside is a 9 hole course on a narrow strip of land in the middle of New Hope. Usually when you play this type of course you have low expectations. Things like, I won't be able to drive for any distance, and there aren't going to be any real hazards. Pleasantly not the case. This course offers a mixture of the obligatory short, accuracy required shots like Hole 3, reminiscent of Hole 4 at Blue Ribbon, just shorter and with smaller trees, and a water hazard hole (really nasty to land in) and longer distance holes which I found actually fun to play. Like you would expect it uses the road nearby as an OB area. .

If they actually put skill levels on courses and recommended players I would say this is a good course for the beginner moving toward his intermediate game. Everyone of all skill levels will find things to enjoy.

Baskets are in good shape and there is parking near hole 1. The flow is sensible and it had man made markers and concrete teepads.
Cons: Using roads as an OB is never ideal of course and given the limited area the fairways can be very close to each other. Houses are within striking distance as well.


**As an edit they removed some of the trees from hole 3 and also no more mando, it makes it a throwaway hole. Very disappointing.



Other Thoughts: There are usually kids near the water hazard that sell discs, they will also fish them out.

It is probably not worth traveling any distance for something a step above a pitch and putt course but if you are in the neighborhood give it a shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly, there are many holes that are either short or present no obstacles and some that are both.
There are a few tricky holes where you have to be careful, at the end of one, there's a pond that your disc could either slid or sail into depending on how you threw it. Other than that, there wasn't too much of a challenge.
Cons: There are too many shots in the open. The lack of trees and elevation make for repetitive holes. Not the most challenging of courses, I played after only a few months of playing and managed to get under par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.