Minneapolis (New Hope), MN 
Sunnyside Park Share
Uploaded By: LuCkDz Hole #8 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Making the best with little to work with

2-4    4/12/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: -Practice Basket
-Plays fast
-Concrete Tees
-Ace runs on most holes
Cons: -Plays close to residential houses where the wind or a grip lock disc could easily send a disc into someones yard or worse.
-Most holes are wide open, and the only 2 which aren't play extremely short
- Very tight course where fairways and opposite baskets are played extremely close together
Other Thoughts: This course tries to make the best of what it has, holes 1-5 basically all play together in one long chain heading south, and then 6-9 all play north back to the hole one. This creates many areas where you are throwing near opposite fairways and baskets. The walk from 7-8 you walk directly across hole 2's fairway. While hole 2 is the longest hole on the course it also plays very close to neighboring houses. I was out with a group and on more than one occasion a disc was picked up by the wind and was sent sailing towards the home, we were lucky and they were stopped before hitting a home but it was too close for comfort.
I noticed others complained about the stinky gross water on 5, when I was there the water was cystal clear, but that might be because it is early in the season. A thing to note is the water is instantly deep, so even if your disc is right next to the bank I had to reach in almost to my shoulder to grab my disc.

BEWARE THE STENCHPOND

5+    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: THUGNIFICENT763
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: This course is always a good time, hole 2 provides a good opportunity to air out your big boy plastic. This course has a nice flow to it, rarely will you find yourself stuck behind a slow group.
Cons: The cesspool that comes into play on holes 4, 5 and 6 is beyond raunchy. It has a stench that could gag a maggot. Also, they ruined hole 3 by removing all of the trees and shortening to 100 or so ft, saddens me. Also, the road can be a bad time if you can't control your plastic.
Other Thoughts: This course is all fun and games until you lose one in the stinkpond. Many aceable holes here, I have gotten em on 1, 3(old and new config), 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. The locals here are awesome, I always seem to join up with a random or two here, the people are just that friendly.

 Kind Of A Ghetto Feel !

1    7/20/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 719  Reviewed: 669  Exp: 37 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sunnyside Park is a long narrow park. The course plays five one way and then four holes back crossing through a wooded area and over a nasty ditch/creek along the way. Although the houses that border the park look fairly well kept, the park just had this grungy feel to it. I guess I'm basing most of this on the fact that every teepad had been spraypainted with ugly gang grafitti crap. Also everything was saturated after recent heavy, heavy rains.
The course itself plays to the beginner/Rec level with a couple of interesting holes.
I personally liked # 1 where you were throwing to the basket which is just barely hidden down in the woods.

To bad they lost the # 3 mando trees. Everyone seems a little bummed out about that.
Cons: Grafitti teepads.
Minimal challenge.
Ugly swampy ditch water to lose discs in.
I don't see the street as a OB problem here as the traffic would be visible coming and going. Duh-Don't throw into the traffic!
Other Thoughts: If I lived across the street, I'd play this course all the time. If I lived any further, I'd probably find other better options around the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 MEH

5+    6/25/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very easy
-Quick play through
-Nice putting practice hole.
-Never too busy
-Pretty clean
-Wide open shots
-Decent little flow
-Great place to warm up for the day or play night disc
-Hole two is a pretty awesome and challenging shot
Cons: -Lack of variety in shots needed
-When it rains hole one turns into a big lake
-The water hazard on four can be a major pain in the ass to get a disc out of, even if it is on the edge
-This course really is pretty boring
Other Thoughts: I've probably just played this course too many times, but I find it to be extremely boring and easy. Nothing has changed in at least seven years (except for sawing down mando trees).
I've played this course several times at night and it's pretty fun. Other than that, I usually only play this course if I am waiting for someone or are wanting to warm up a bit. Id say, check this little course out, for sure, but don't come from afar to see "stoner park".

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 More than it seems

5+    5/24/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 83  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 29 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although this seems like a pitch and putt course, it actually offers much more than that.

Sunnyside is a 9 hole course on a narrow strip of land in the middle of New Hope. Usually when you play this type of course you have low expectations. Things like, I won't be able to drive for any distance, and there aren't going to be any real hazards. Pleasantly not the case. This course offers a mixture of the obligatory short, accuracy required shots like Hole 3, reminiscent of Hole 4 at Blue Ribbon, just shorter and with smaller trees, and a water hazard hole (really nasty to land in) and longer distance holes which I found actually fun to play. Like you would expect it uses the road nearby as an OB area. .

If they actually put skill levels on courses and recommended players I would say this is a good course for the beginner moving toward his intermediate game. Everyone of all skill levels will find things to enjoy.

Baskets are in good shape and there is parking near hole 1. The flow is sensible and it had man made markers and concrete teepads.
Cons: Using roads as an OB is never ideal of course and given the limited area the fairways can be very close to each other. Houses are within striking distance as well.


**As an edit they removed some of the trees from hole 3 and also no more mando, it makes it a throwaway hole. Very disappointing.



Other Thoughts: There are usually kids near the water hazard that sell discs, they will also fish them out.

It is probably not worth traveling any distance for something a step above a pitch and putt course but if you are in the neighborhood give it a shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly, there are many holes that are either short or present no obstacles and some that are both.
There are a few tricky holes where you have to be careful, at the end of one, there's a pond that your disc could either slid or sail into depending on how you threw it. Other than that, there wasn't too much of a challenge.
Cons: There are too many shots in the open. The lack of trees and elevation make for repetitive holes. Not the most challenging of courses, I played after only a few months of playing and managed to get under par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.