Minneapolis (New Hope), MN 
Sunnyside Park Share
Uploaded By: LuCkDz Hole #7 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 #3 is gone. :(

5+    4/24/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: Spiky
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety. I've always liked this course, although my first con below has tempered my interest greatly.

#2 is quite long, and #9 I can't quite reach in one throw, so both of those are great for launching a disc.

It's nice for a quick round.
Cons: What I would call its signature hole was destroyed recently. #3 was a mando down a double row of trees. The mando was just to go between the first pair of trees, but I played it as if the entire row was a mando. The trees are almost all gone, now, as is the mando. (they were diseased, I believe, standard procedure to trash them) I was there a few weeks ago and the pin for 3 was also gone, although I think that may just have been for maintenance.

The small water hazard seems to attract more than its fair share of discs for its size on holes 4-6. It's like a magnet, almost everyone in my group has lost a disc there. And the water has nowhere to go, being just runoff. So it is nasty and I won't set foot in it, or let my kids. Some go in there, including neighbor kids sometimes. I think they're nuts.
Other Thoughts: Try not to hit the apartment building at the south end on #5. Luckily some of the windows have bars, or I probably would have put my disc in someone's kitchen a couple years ago with a bad shank to the right. (you want the rattle of chains, not the clang of iron bars on your drive)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 grip it and rip it

5+    5/3/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good holes for beginers or veterans. A couple long holes that give your arm a test and a couple that give your short game a work out.
Cons: a couple holes cross over each other,hole eight throws toward two and 5,6, and7 are a little close.
Other Thoughts: For a smaller park with houses all along one side and a little busier road on the other it could be worse.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun 9 in the cities

2-4    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tees and baskets are in good shape. Both are numbered so you know which tee and basket to use on each hole.
-Lots of chances for aces. Many people have signed the poles with hole numbers on many holes.
-Good course flow, I found my way around very quickly with no help.
-Gotta go gotta throw is only a few miles away.
-Competetive league every week with tourneys held regularily.
-Land is used well. Pond and trees come into play on as many holes as possible. Very well designed course.
-Fairly beginner friendly with short holes and not too challenging obstacles.
-Only chance to lose discs is the pond but that can be avoided without too much effort.
-No bathroom that I could see.
-Garbage cans keep this course pretty clean.
Cons: -Only distance on two holes.
-Small parking area fills fast but area streets can be used as well.
-No course map, hole signs or next tee signs.
-Not alot of challenge.
Other Thoughts: This course has been here for awhile and it has a good feel about it. The locals are nice and knowledgeable and you will see all skill levels playing here. Gotta Go Gotta Throw is a great shop and is maybe 5 miles from this course. This course isnt very challenging but you will still have fun with it at any skill level.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice quick play

5+    6/15/2009   6/16/2009
Review By: JSL5000
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beginner friendly, but still has some challenges for more advanced players (distance, trees and water). A few technical holes and a few longer ones. (1, 2 and 9 are the longest, but they are almost completely wide open)

Makes the most of the area. There's a couple wooded holes (3 - kind of but they cut down the big mando trees, 4 - short hallway shot with a pond behind the hole and 7 - a bunch of trees to try and dodge on your way to the basket) and 3 holes where the small pond comes into play. (4 - if you overshoot the hole, 5 - if you shoot too low or toss it straight in the air and 6 - if you sky a hyzer or go short and left)

Course doesn't seem to get too busy and the flow is pretty good, especially considering the fairly small piece of land.

Locals seem friendly. You will often see some people trying to fish discs out of the nasty pond. One group found my disc that I lost on the previous round (which actually skipped out of the pond and I didn't see it) and returned it to me, no questions asked.

Nice concrete teepads and the baskets are nice. Fairways seem to be mowed regularly.

Not a lot of litter. There are a few garbage cans.

Easy to get in a round (of 9) in less than 30 minutes, even with a fair amount of course traffic.
Cons: It's a pretty easy course, as long as you avoid the water.

The water is nasty and unfortunately, it is fairly easy to end up in there.

Many wide open holes with not much between you and the hole.

Can throw into the neighbor's yard (which I've done) and maybe it's just me, but I really shanked a drive onto the top of an office building next to hole 9. They were nice enough to retrieve my disc from the roof though!

Might take players new to the course a little searching or asking around to find holes 2 (past the woods behind 1, along the road), 8 (past the number 3 teebox) and 9 (head back around the woods and the tee is to the right of the #1 basket).

Not exactly scenic, but what can you do in the middle of the city?
Other Thoughts: You can park near hole one, right on the street.

There is a road that lines a few holes, but it's not too heavily traveled, so you shouldn't have too much worry about your disc getting flattened, but the road will probably take a nice bite out of it.

I enjoy this course. It's not too challenging, so it's not frustrating, unless you should happen to toss a disc into the nasty little pond. It's probably not worth a long drive, but if you're in the area, it's a fun play.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Inner-city Course

5+    5/15/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily accessable in the Robbinsdale, Crystal, New Hope area
-Concrete tee boxes
-Small water hazard in play on holes 5 & 6 (Don't go in after discs, the water is filthy)
-Hole 3 can be played with mando's
-Holes 3,4, and 7 are wooded


Cons: -Not very challenging for experienced players
-Not much distance on holes (1,2, and 9 are the longest)
-Original mando's on hole 3 were removed last year (2007-2008)
Other Thoughts: What you see with Sunnyside is what you get, nothing more, nothing less. While not necessarily being worth while for experienced players to frequent, for less than talented players, it offers a convenient spot to develop and hone your skills.
If you live in the area, it's definitely a place to play and practice. If you're not from the area, you aren't missing a whole lot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/29/2009   5/8/2009
Review By: kgibbs
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For a smaller course, Sonnyside has a good variety of holes. Trees, a water hazard and blind shots all come into play on this course.

The cement tees and good pins are a plus for a small course like this too. The park was fairly clean when I was there as well.

If you live in the area, it's definitely a quick, fun play.
Cons: The one water hazard that plays into a couple holes is not some place you'd want to go looking for your disc in; it's pretty gross. There are also a couple tees right along the road, but traffic is rarely heavy there.

Not a whole lot of challenge, even a decent player should be able to par 3 most if not all the holes.
Other Thoughts: It's too bad there doesn't really seem to be enough room to expand it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sunnyside of the street. It was raining cats and dogs when I played it!

1    4/26/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly course. Short enough for beginners to play and not get frustrated.

2) Well designed for a little long narrow property. Uses the features of the property to the fullest. A handful of tree holes, a couple of water shots in play, and a couple wide open ripper holes.

3) Nice concrete tee pads and nice baskets.

4) A nice mix of hazards. A road that I would assume is OB, a mando around a tree, a pond in play for 2 holes, a couple of wooded shots, and a couple of wide open holes.
Cons: 1) Not enough challenge.

2) No signage although it is easy to follow the flow of the course without, but distances on signs would be a nice upgrade.

3) Pretty short, but thats not too bad I guess.

Other Thoughts: I played this course in a hurry but I was determined to play it and one more course on my 5 course morning. I didn;t get discouraged by the deluge, and did enjoy the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: tom04
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: not a whole ton of trees, starts out with a blind shot, easy access to get to, not too frustrating, 30 min./round, many ace opportunities, good course to see your improvement, practice pin
Cons: water, lack of space, road, a bit crowded at nights
Other Thoughts: fun course if you live close by

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 More than it seems

5+    5/24/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 82  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although this seems like a pitch and putt course, it actually offers much more than that.

Sunnyside is a 9 hole course on a narrow strip of land in the middle of New Hope. Usually when you play this type of course you have low expectations. Things like, I won't be able to drive for any distance, and there aren't going to be any real hazards. Pleasantly not the case. This course offers a mixture of the obligatory short, accuracy required shots like Hole 3, reminiscent of Hole 4 at Blue Ribbon, just shorter and with smaller trees, and a water hazard hole (really nasty to land in) and longer distance holes which I found actually fun to play. Like you would expect it uses the road nearby as an OB area. .

If they actually put skill levels on courses and recommended players I would say this is a good course for the beginner moving toward his intermediate game. Everyone of all skill levels will find things to enjoy.

Baskets are in good shape and there is parking near hole 1. The flow is sensible and it had man made markers and concrete teepads.
Cons: Using roads as an OB is never ideal of course and given the limited area the fairways can be very close to each other. Houses are within striking distance as well.


**As an edit they removed some of the trees from hole 3 and also no more mando, it makes it a throwaway hole. Very disappointing.



Other Thoughts: There are usually kids near the water hazard that sell discs, they will also fish them out.

It is probably not worth traveling any distance for something a step above a pitch and putt course but if you are in the neighborhood give it a shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2008   1/30/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly, there are many holes that are either short or present no obstacles and some that are both.
There are a few tricky holes where you have to be careful, at the end of one, there's a pond that your disc could either slid or sail into depending on how you threw it. Other than that, there wasn't too much of a challenge.
Cons: There are too many shots in the open. The lack of trees and elevation make for repetitive holes. Not the most challenging of courses, I played after only a few months of playing and managed to get under par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.