Minneapolis (New Hope), MN 
Sunnyside Park Share
Uploaded By: LuCkDz Hole #2 (Taken 10/2014)
3 / 492ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Making the best with little to work with

2-4    4/12/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: Muskiebite
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.1 Years
Pros: -Practice Basket
-Plays fast
-Concrete Tees
-Ace runs on most holes
Cons: -Plays close to residential houses where the wind or a grip lock disc could easily send a disc into someones yard or worse.
-Most holes are wide open, and the only 2 which aren't play extremely short
- Very tight course where fairways and opposite baskets are played extremely close together
Other Thoughts: This course tries to make the best of what it has, holes 1-5 basically all play together in one long chain heading south, and then 6-9 all play north back to the hole one. This creates many areas where you are throwing near opposite fairways and baskets. The walk from 7-8 you walk directly across hole 2's fairway. While hole 2 is the longest hole on the course it also plays very close to neighboring houses. I was out with a group and on more than one occasion a disc was picked up by the wind and was sent sailing towards the home, we were lucky and they were stopped before hitting a home but it was too close for comfort.
I noticed others complained about the stinky gross water on 5, when I was there the water was cystal clear, but that might be because it is early in the season. A thing to note is the water is instantly deep, so even if your disc is right next to the bank I had to reach in almost to my shoulder to grab my disc.

BEWARE THE STENCHPOND

5+    1/24/2015   1/24/2015
Review By: THUGNIFICENT763
Played: 85  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.2 Years
Pros: This course is always a good time, hole 2 provides a good opportunity to air out your big boy plastic. This course has a nice flow to it, rarely will you find yourself stuck behind a slow group.
Cons: The cesspool that comes into play on holes 4, 5 and 6 is beyond raunchy. It has a stench that could gag a maggot. Also, they ruined hole 3 by removing all of the trees and shortening to 100 or so ft, saddens me. Also, the road can be a bad time if you can't control your plastic.
Other Thoughts: This course is all fun and games until you lose one in the stinkpond. Many aceable holes here, I have gotten em on 1, 3(old and new config), 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8. The locals here are awesome, I always seem to join up with a random or two here, the people are just that friendly.

Decent

5+    6/11/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: aajpity
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -The course is easy to find once you get off the main road.
-Friendly people
-Well kept
Cons: -Very deep pond on hole 4, 5, 6. BE CAREFUL!
-Car is sometimes parked very close to hole 5 basket.
-Very easy course.
-Not easy to navigate initially.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't bad but it's not good either. Just like Wirth Par, it isn't worth the time to go out here if your looking for a challenge. It's well kept and the people are nice making it an enjoyable experience.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/6/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: Dr.feelgood
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - good range of distances
-couple of wooded shots
Cons: - really wet in places
- sinkhole in the middle of the course
- kind of easy to hit peoples houses or apartments
Other Thoughts: Hole 2 is pretty difficult but hole 3 is almost a guaranteed bird

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

2-4    10/3/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short 9 hole course in a city park, with small elevation changes and one small water hazard that comes into play on two holes.

The park is clean, and seems to be in a good part of town. The area it's in is strictly disc golf, so there's a low chance of hitting pedestrians.

The teepads are concrete, fairly nice and level. The baskets are in good condition.

There are two holes, 4 and 7, which have trees to add some moderate difficulty. The rest are fairly wide open.

All things considered, this is a nice beginner course that provides some light difficulty with trees and water on a few holes. Nice for a quick half hour round.
Cons: The layout is slightly confusing, since it's in a long, skinny plot of land and crosses back on itself a couple times.

Much of the course is right next to a road; you often need to wait for cars to clear before driving.

The signage is only wooden posts with hole number, and some holes are missing the posts.

There are no bathrooms (though it's so short this shouldn't be an issue). There are only one or two trash cans.

The water hazard is slimy and filled with algae.

All of the holes are straight, with no dog legs. Hole 2 sticks out like a sore thumb, being over 100 feet longer than the next longest on the course.
Other Thoughts: It looks like the course layout is being updated. The teepad for hole 3 has been moved closer, making the hole around 100 feet. I believe the plan is to remove hole 3 and make hole 4 longer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 straight forward

5+    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ABL Frolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Really straight forward course.
-Easy for beginners, not totally lame for intermediate players.
-Variety of shots, mostly open and through some woods.
-Only 1 water hazard troublesome for 2 holes. Full of diseased water.
-The police will tell you when the park closes and when there is dangerous weather coming.
-Good to play through twice.
Cons: -Only 1 water hazard troublesome for 2 holes. Full of diseased water.
-Kind of short.
-The police will tell you when the park closes.
-Quebec avenue is right along holes 2, 6, 7, and 9. Avoid hitting cars. But fear not, there is never much traffic.
-Usually lots of people.
Other Thoughts: -Even though there is a fenced house with a "beware of dogs" sign, the dogs are quite friendly.
-Quebec Avenue makes for an interesting out of bounds marker.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, quick game!

5+    4/4/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have a soft spot for Sunnyside. It's a small course, but it makes for a nice, quick game when you don't have all day to be out playing. Has some decent technical holes with obstacles. You can play this course on your lunch break!
Cons: My favorite hole, #3, was destroyed by the city recently. I aced this hole twice when it was in it's full glory. Now all the trees are gone, and it's just a short, boring drive.
Other Thoughts: I like that this course has a practice basket off to the side of hole #1. Surprisingly, this course can get backed up occasionally, so it's a good way to practice putting while waiting your turn.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

5+    10/20/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 109  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 11.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and good baskets. some elevation and water.
Cons: Short. Some holes are a bit tight to each other. Water is disgusting.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad little local 9 hole, for the space the designer had he did the best he could. Not really worth a special trip, but if you are nearby it's worth a stop for a quick round, or a good warm-up before heading to Plymouth Creek.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/20/2011   10/20/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 248  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Good use of limited space. This course is 3 city blocks long and 1 block wide, but still manages to have a fair amount of variety in the fairways.

2) Good warm-up for Plymouth Creek Or Basset Creek.
Cons: 1) The water hazard is just a drainage ditch filled with nasty, stagnant water.

2) They cut down half of the trees on hole 3, turning the former signature hole into an easy little ace run.
Other Thoughts: With the space the designers had to work with they did a fairly good job, but this course really isn't worth going out of the way to play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kind Of A Ghetto Feel !

1    7/20/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 719  Reviewed: 669  Exp: 37 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sunnyside Park is a long narrow park. The course plays five one way and then four holes back crossing through a wooded area and over a nasty ditch/creek along the way. Although the houses that border the park look fairly well kept, the park just had this grungy feel to it. I guess I'm basing most of this on the fact that every teepad had been spraypainted with ugly gang grafitti crap. Also everything was saturated after recent heavy, heavy rains.
The course itself plays to the beginner/Rec level with a couple of interesting holes.
I personally liked # 1 where you were throwing to the basket which is just barely hidden down in the woods.

To bad they lost the # 3 mando trees. Everyone seems a little bummed out about that.
Cons: Grafitti teepads.
Minimal challenge.
Ugly swampy ditch water to lose discs in.
I don't see the street as a OB problem here as the traffic would be visible coming and going. Duh-Don't throw into the traffic!
Other Thoughts: If I lived across the street, I'd play this course all the time. If I lived any further, I'd probably find other better options around the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.