Lebanon, OH
Turtlecreek Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #14
4 / 250ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Turtle Turtle

2-4    6/5/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 25  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Turtle creek is a nice disc golf course that gears towards a begginer disc golfer and an intermediate. I find this course simple and elegant at the same time. Turltecreek starts you out with a nice open field and first shot is distance but not bad. The next 5 holes are not big holes and are very acable. But be forwarned if it is windy on the day you play those first 8 holes are tough. Course then goes into the woods and only comes out for 2 holes. The wooded holes are not too difficult if you can control your drive. only one of the wooded holes goes for distance but the others most disc golfers can get their in 1 shot. I have only aced 1 hole at this course and to this day have no idea how. Hole 12 is a big L shape hole that i hit no chains all my buddie and i heard was a big thud.
Cons: When this course is windy you have to pull out a heavy disc. i usually pull out star max. you can get through the wind with that disc. Never played this course wet but it was not bad as a dry course. Be carefull of playing when they are mowing the lawns. They dont care about your discs since they ran over one of mine but luckily did not destroy it.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice little course but i have only played it 3 times and that is due to location. I live in milford and find that this course is too easy and not fun enough to drive 40 minutes to get too. i would rather go to monroe of drive south40 minutes to AJ Jolly. Final hole is the gem in this course. A long 600 foot open hole. getting a 3 on that hole is nice but not easy if you are in the wind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Jekyll & Hyde

1    4/14/2012   4/14/2012
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads. When in the open, the pads are concrete. When in the woods, the pads are rubber.

Decent signage, showing distance and line to the pin.

Navigation is a snap. The course flows smoothly and quickly.

Most likey, you will find something you like here (and probably something you don't)
Cons: This is a course of extremes. The first 6 holes are wide open and flat. I mean WIDE OPEN and FLAT. Very plain. Then you toss one into the woods and the majority of the back nine is ridiculously tight. I mean TIGHT. These extremes are so polarizing that I found myself wanting something in between.

Expect the course to be busy. There is a hiking trail that runs along with the course. There was plenty of traffic when I played.
Other Thoughts: Truly a hot and cold course. Personally, I much prefered the wooded holes. They were unforgiving, but most of them had defined fairways. These holes provide the only real challenge on the course. I read a couple reviews that stated there were alot of "luck" holes back here. I can see that argument but IMO they were mostly fair.

The park itself is well taken care of and trimmed tight. It was lush and green for this time of year.

Not a bad course by any means. It's worth a stop if your near by.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/13/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 85  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has Good mix of woods and open, Good distance with a few ace runs. The Mounded greens on a few holes are very unique. Great mix of righty and lefty holes. Great signs throughout the course to keep you headed in the right direction.
Cons: No elevation other than the mounded greens on a few holes. Trees on front nine are very small and are not really a factor as of now. Some teepads are close to greens which could lead to some fore's while playing.
Other Thoughts: This course played harder than the holes look. Was very windy (Not sure but it looks like it could be all the time.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde

5+    10/15/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/19/2008
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Back 9 is a tough wooded course with tight fairways.

Plenty of signs to direct you through the woods.

Flat course so it is easy for my 3 year to walk with me.
Cons: Front 9 is too vanilla with being in the open and no real obstacles. It is a good way to warm up the arm but not very interesting.
Other Thoughts: I would give the back 9 a rating of 4.0 and the front 9 a 1.5 hence my overall of 2.5. This course is worth checking out if you are in the area just for the back 9.

****Update November 2008***
The Parks Department put in abou 25 trees on the front nine to add obstacles to the course. The trees range in 6' to 20' so it will take time for them to mature. The front 9 is still quite easy (except for windy days) but the trees were definitley put in to make the course a bit more challenging.

Monroe is about 10 minutes away so you could play both courses (42 holes) in about 3 hours.

During the summer there is a weekly Thursday night league that is open to the public.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.