Disc Golf Store
Lebanon, OH 
Turtlecreek Share
Uploaded By: discgolferjr Hole #12
3 / 215ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

5+    6/22/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded holes.
Great mix of distances.
Well kept.
Finish where you start.
Very low non DG traffic.
Cons: Maybe I go at the wrong times, but this is by far the most populated course I frequent. Still, it's never like throw and wait, throw and wait or anything like that.

Accuracy is needed in the woods, as you can definitely lose a disc back there.

Wooded holes can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: I go back and forth between this and Gulley being my favorite course. Gulley's tees suck, and I'd just assume have straight grass to the well worn carpet out there at this point. But Turtlecreek has a mix of asphalt (open) and rubber (wooded) tees. And while the asphalt will hold up better, if you get out there with the morning dew, you will slip and slide on the asphalt tees. Also, the open holes are really suceptible to wind. Plan on a few more mph than what you're feeling in your driveway before you go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Nice

1    6/26/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Uncrowded with easy parking
+ Very clean and well mowed
+ Water fountain halfway through the course
+ Good mix of distances with some anhyzer shots
+ Great baskets
Cons: - Out of bounds in the woods is thick and easy to get into for new players. Also a lot of poison ivy/oak there too
- Wooded holes look like they are slow to dry out and were quite muddy
- Missing some tee signage for a wood hole
- Bathrooms have a lot of bugs
Other Thoughts: Thoroughly enjoyed the course. The nearby RC airplanes are interesting to watch while taking a break. I took a friend who played there for the first time and she enjoyed the open holes, but not the wooded ones as much. The course is a good drive for me, so I will probably revisit in the fall or spring when throwing out of bounds in the woods won't be too worrisome for me either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Turtlecreek DGC

5+    12/15/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fast Play
- Variety of Holes
- Ends Where it starts
- Challenging for beginner - intermediate
Cons: - Open holes can become flooded
Other Thoughts: Turtlecreek is just an overall good quality course. It offers two holes above 400ft to offer some distance (one is 600) and the wooded holes provide enough distance to challenge precision and well placed lines. This a good course for overall practice. Every time i've played there, there has been little to no interference from park goers. It has nice facilities for water and restrooms. Slowly becoming one of my favorite courses to go play at.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good mixup of holes

5+    3/1/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: fritzaj4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course that provides a challenge for both beginners and pros.
The first 6 holes, then holes 10 and 18 are all completely in an open field. These can be fairly easy or fairly difficult , depending on the wind.
The holes in the woods are such blast. They challenge you to utilize different types of shot.
One of the coolest things about this course is when the RC planes are flying by in the next field.
This is a great course if you want to get in a couple rounds of 18 in a short time.
Cons: The problem with this course is that the 8 holes in the field tend to be very bland holes to play. They never truly challenge you. When wind comes into play, these hole can becoming very annoying because the wind on this course can be unpredictable.
Hole 16 does not have a guide.
Other Thoughts: This is most likely my "home course," even though I do not the closest to it, but it since it so quick to play, I can usually play two times.

I think it is very good course, but because it lacks the variety of other courses nearby, like Monroe, so it is not a truly excellent course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: RedRebel0707
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open long drives and tight wooded drives.

This is a great course for beginners and advanced players alike. Provides challenges needed for growth

Sits right next to an RC air field.
Cons: Hole #2 needs to be a Par 2 instead of a Par 3
Other Thoughts: This would be considered my "home field." I play this course more than any other, and I love it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/5/2010   4/7/2011
Review By: streetz.2
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good mix of open holes and tight technical wooded holes as well as a good mix of distances.
-Nice Tee Pads
-Nice descriptive and accurate signage
-Usually maintained pretty well
Cons: -Always seems like it's windy which is a factor on the front 9 but not the back 9
-Some holes do seem a bit repetitive
-Until trees grow bigger on the front 9 the holes aren't very challenging for more advanced players
Other Thoughts: Turtlecreek is a great course for all skill levels. It's not too difficult for beginners and advanced players will be challenged on some holes. It's a very fun course to play. I look forward to playing Turtlecreek in the future once the trees on the front 9 mature a little and get bigger, making for some more challenging holes. I highly recommend playing this course at least once because it won't disappoint.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    8/15/2009   8/15/2009
Review By: n8dawg
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice open front 9, back 9 are nicely wooded. The front 9 will be better in a few years when the trees start getting bigger. front 9 is great for practice. The holes in the woods also have mulch or chipped wood laid down which makes it nice and not muddy, also a creek that runs through a few of the holes which this time of year was dried out
Cons: none really, nice little course, my wife likes to come and play the front 9 with me, while I enjoy playing the back 9, a good variety for beginners and experts.
Other Thoughts: Good Course, nice and clean, would also recommend Monroe course if you want some exercise going up and down hills

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good course to challenge your drive and line shaping.

5+    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Im going to try and cover what others have not or I felt needed more attention.
-The trees added to the open holes have grown large enough to punish some throws.
Very challenging for Rec-ADV level players. Rec players can be happy with +4.
Cons: -Is very windy most of the time. Understable discs beware.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1-6, 10, 18pretty wide open. Holes 7-9, 11-17, very tight lined with trees.

Hole 1. Nice distance with some small trees in the fairway, fairly open to the left with forest all along the right. LH's need to throw a controlled drive and RH's have to play a big turnover. Can be very hard because the wind seems to fly straight at you and gusts.
Hole 2. A nice short mid range shot for both LH/RH some small trees to limit hyzer approaches.
Hole 3. This hole can push throws because of the wind be careful. Trees line both sides of the fairway. LH/RH have the options of a straight decent length drive or a big hyzer around the trees.
Hole 4. Good length and just enough trees to make you aim your 350ft park attempt.
Hole 5. A dead straight mid range that can be troublesome in the wind, putts can be somewhat difficult because of the mound the basket sits on.
Hole 6. A 420' hyzer route for RH, and a tricky straight to anny for LH. Your biggest worry is the massive hill the basket sits on.
Hole 7. Unless your just playing the front 9 you play through the small gap in the trees. This shot allows for some creativity in your approach for both RH/LH and the basket sits on a small hill again.
Hole 8. A dead straight fairway lined very closely with trees. This can be a nice little ace run for LH's and RH's have a chance as well. Nothing but dead straight and low will get you a 2.
Hole 9. In the woods and requires RH to drive with some right turn before working back to the left. LH's have an even tougher turnover line to work.
Hole 10. 400' with forest and over hanging trees up the entire right hand side. LH's can throw a big bomb drive with RH's have to throw a long anny and stay out of the woods. There are just enough random trees to the left of the tee to mess up a good shot.
Hole 11. Nicknamed the "face eater" for good reason. 410' of tight tree lined snaking S shape madness. A 3 is a great score for most all players on this hole.
Hole 12. Has 2 routes you can take and requires you to clear a snaking small creek. RH's have a hard hyzer route to manage while LH's have to do it with an anny.
Hole 13. Plays the opposite of 12 but more open and larger fairway to manage.
Hole 14. A very tight anny for RH, and hyzer for LH, plays longer than you imagine and is one of the tighter holes to manage with trees right off of the tee.
Hole 15. Is another RH hyzer, anny for LH be careful of the skip in this fairway this hole has been known to claim a lot of discs.
Hole 16. 2 routes to follow and allows a lot of options.
Hole 17. Only the straight tee is really playable. 280' of tightly lined slightly diagonal to the left mayhem.
Hole 18. 600' cannon arm awesomeness. Walking path is OB so be careful.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 NICE COURSE

2-4    6/3/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: FRONT NINE IS OPEN. NICE LAYOUT. SOME SHORT HOLES. FLAT COURSE WITH GOOD TEE SIGNS. VERY WELL KEPT. OPEN LANES IN THE WOOD HOLES. I'VE BEEN PLAYING FOR LESS THEN A YEAR AND I AM USED TO VERY WOODED AND HILLY COURSES. THIS COURSE WAS A GOOD BREAK FOR AN OLD MAN.(51) I WILL PLAY THIS COURSE AGAIN WHEN I VISIT MY SON. VERY CLOSE TO 2 OTHER COURSES.
Cons: NOT MANY. A LITTLE TOO OPEN ON THE FRONT BUT THATS OK.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Turtlecreek Disc Golf Course

5+    10/10/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course. Mach 2 New baskets. Mix of open and wooded holes. Great teesigns. Combo of short and long holes. Practice basket.
Cons: Need more obstacles on Beginning of course. Dig out a pond. Short teepads. Hole 6 teesign missing. Lots of trees fallen onto ground.
Other Thoughts: If your out here head to Monroe or Mason Sports Park (Both 5 minutes away) for a few more rounds. Turtlecreek Ace Fund. Every Thursday 6 pm tee off. (6 dollars admission) Go to www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com for more more info.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.