Lebanon, OH 
Turtlecreek Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7B Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Great Course

5+    6/22/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: remraf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open and wooded holes.
Great mix of distances.
Well kept.
Finish where you start.
Very low non DG traffic.
Cons: Maybe I go at the wrong times, but this is by far the most populated course I frequent. Still, it's never like throw and wait, throw and wait or anything like that.

Accuracy is needed in the woods, as you can definitely lose a disc back there.

Wooded holes can get muddy.
Other Thoughts: I go back and forth between this and Gulley being my favorite course. Gulley's tees suck, and I'd just assume have straight grass to the well worn carpet out there at this point. But Turtlecreek has a mix of asphalt (open) and rubber (wooded) tees. And while the asphalt will hold up better, if you get out there with the morning dew, you will slip and slide on the asphalt tees. Also, the open holes are really suceptible to wind. Plan on a few more mph than what you're feeling in your driveway before you go.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Nice

1    6/26/2014   6/27/2014
Review By: esc1
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Uncrowded with easy parking
+ Very clean and well mowed
+ Water fountain halfway through the course
+ Good mix of distances with some anhyzer shots
+ Great baskets
Cons: - Out of bounds in the woods is thick and easy to get into for new players. Also a lot of poison ivy/oak there too
- Wooded holes look like they are slow to dry out and were quite muddy
- Missing some tee signage for a wood hole
- Bathrooms have a lot of bugs
Other Thoughts: Thoroughly enjoyed the course. The nearby RC airplanes are interesting to watch while taking a break. I took a friend who played there for the first time and she enjoyed the open holes, but not the wooded ones as much. The course is a good drive for me, so I will probably revisit in the fall or spring when throwing out of bounds in the woods won't be too worrisome for me either.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Turtlecreek DGC

5+    12/15/2013   1/21/2014
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fast Play
- Variety of Holes
- Ends Where it starts
- Challenging for beginner - intermediate
Cons: - Open holes can become flooded
Other Thoughts: Turtlecreek is just an overall good quality course. It offers two holes above 400ft to offer some distance (one is 600) and the wooded holes provide enough distance to challenge precision and well placed lines. This a good course for overall practice. Every time i've played there, there has been little to no interference from park goers. It has nice facilities for water and restrooms. Slowly becoming one of my favorite courses to go play at.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

1    11/14/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy for new players
mixed progression
clean woods, and fairways
18 holes all easy to find
family friendly, a course for everyone
Cons: too easy, in the long run....
Other Thoughts: I felt this course is nice, but I prefer more of the extreme disc golf experience

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    9/17/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: supertrunksman
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout with the first half of the course consisting of open holes. The second half of the course is mostly wooded with some narrow areas for a little bit more of a challenge. Great course if you're looking to pull off some Aces. Not usually very busy. Even if you go into the trees they're not too dense, and finding your disc should not be too much of a challenge.
Cons: The tees could use some upkeeping as some of the mats are beginning to slip off of the gravel that they are on. This course has the potential to get very muddy after a descent amount of rain. The front 6 are great for beginners but can be a little too easy for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: Definitely my favorite course so far. I rarely see a lot of people at this course, which makes for a fairly quick play through of all 18 holes. The front 6 make for some pretty easy shots but the difficulty winds up as you enter the woods for 7,8 and 10-17. I love the mixture of wooded and open holes. Hole 18 is a nice hole to really bomb one towards the basket. The tree cover in the wooded section of the course allows the course to stay fairly dry unless there is a large amount of rain. I play this course at least every other week and it just does not get old.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Turtle Turtle

2-4    6/5/2013   6/16/2013
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Turtle creek is a nice disc golf course that gears towards a begginer disc golfer and an intermediate. I find this course simple and elegant at the same time. Turltecreek starts you out with a nice open field and first shot is distance but not bad. The next 5 holes are not big holes and are very acable. But be forwarned if it is windy on the day you play those first 8 holes are tough. Course then goes into the woods and only comes out for 2 holes. The wooded holes are not too difficult if you can control your drive. only one of the wooded holes goes for distance but the others most disc golfers can get their in 1 shot. I have only aced 1 hole at this course and to this day have no idea how. Hole 12 is a big L shape hole that i hit no chains all my buddie and i heard was a big thud.
Cons: When this course is windy you have to pull out a heavy disc. i usually pull out star max. you can get through the wind with that disc. Never played this course wet but it was not bad as a dry course. Be carefull of playing when they are mowing the lawns. They dont care about your discs since they ran over one of mine but luckily did not destroy it.
Other Thoughts: It is a nice little course but i have only played it 3 times and that is due to location. I live in milford and find that this course is too easy and not fun enough to drive 40 minutes to get too. i would rather go to monroe of drive south40 minutes to AJ Jolly. Final hole is the gem in this course. A long 600 foot open hole. getting a 3 on that hole is nice but not easy if you are in the wind.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great course

5+    11/21/2012   5/21/2013
Review By: mraoh88
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes. Love this course. The course is well kept and the location is awesome.
Cons: Some holes are muddy but other than that its my all time favorite course.
Other Thoughts: Love this course.
I have nothing else other than this is one is my favorite.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good mixup of holes

5+    3/1/2013   3/6/2013
Review By: fritzaj4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun course that provides a challenge for both beginners and pros.
The first 6 holes, then holes 10 and 18 are all completely in an open field. These can be fairly easy or fairly difficult , depending on the wind.
The holes in the woods are such blast. They challenge you to utilize different types of shot.
One of the coolest things about this course is when the RC planes are flying by in the next field.
This is a great course if you want to get in a couple rounds of 18 in a short time.
Cons: The problem with this course is that the 8 holes in the field tend to be very bland holes to play. They never truly challenge you. When wind comes into play, these hole can becoming very annoying because the wind on this course can be unpredictable.
Hole 16 does not have a guide.
Other Thoughts: This is most likely my "home course," even though I do not the closest to it, but it since it so quick to play, I can usually play two times.

I think it is very good course, but because it lacks the variety of other courses nearby, like Monroe, so it is not a truly excellent course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/2/2012   11/15/2012
Review By: RedRebel0707
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of open long drives and tight wooded drives.

This is a great course for beginners and advanced players alike. Provides challenges needed for growth

Sits right next to an RC air field.
Cons: Hole #2 needs to be a Par 2 instead of a Par 3
Other Thoughts: This would be considered my "home field." I play this course more than any other, and I love it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic mix of open and wooded!

1    8/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 36  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great mix of open and wooded holes. The open holes are all a ton of fun, and despite that they are all basically in a flat open field, they each managed to be unique. The small trees and shallow hills on the open holes provided just enough in the way of obstacles to make things really fun. The wooded holes were also great. All of the fairways were tight, but still very fair.
- The park itself was quite nice (though seemed to be 90% DG course).
- Despite that I played on a day with amazing weather, the park was not crowded (there were only two other people there while I was).
Cons: - Open holes might feel repetitive for some people (but did not for me).
- Some might argue that the pars are not really accurate. Ex: Hole 18 is 600 ft and a par 6. This is probably a little high. Par 4, maybe 5 would be more appropriate.
Other Thoughts: I know many people will think that 4.5 is way too high of a rating for this course, but I've played at many many different courses, and rarely found one that I enjoyed as much as this. This score is really based on the enjoyment factor that I had here. (Also, I must admit that my view of the course may be slightly inflated by the fact that many holes that could have been par 3 were par 4s and thus my score was much better than I am used to.)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.