Minneapolis (Crystal), MN 
Bassett Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 425ft.   4 / 670ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Could Be Worse

5+    6/19/2012   12/19/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For a 12 hole course, it actually offers a variety of shots. There are some technical shots required at the beginning to avoid some trees and a couple holes with some nice elevation change, which offers a great change of pace. For the most part, the tee parts are in good shape.
Cons: The course is often quite busy, since it is located at a park with a walking path and nestled within a residential area. It is also somewhat difficult to navigate if you have not played it before, especially the backwardness of hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Overall, it's a decent course if you are trying to get in a quick round. I often only get out there occasionally for league a couple times every summer or play it quick on my way home from work to get a warm-up round in before I go play at Bryant.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    7/23/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a smaller city park in a residential neighborhood. There is a walking path by a few holes, otherwise there shouldn't be much interference with the disc golf.
- A few of the holes are set within clusters of trees, which forces line shaping off the tee. #1 long is around a wall of trees, while the short is a RHFH hyzer. #2 long is a wooded dogleg right, and the short is a straight tight shot. #3 and #4 are a little more open, with hyzer or straight routes, and a RHBH anny on #4. #11 also has lots of bigger trees, both from the long tees directly before the green. Accuracy is well rewarded on these holes.
- Other holes are much more open, but have significant elevation changes to make things interesting. #6 is a pretty steep uphill shot, #7 is a good downhill shot, #8 is longer with the basket up on the hillside, #12 is a steep downhill shot, and #9 is the big boy with a very elevated teepad shooting out of the woods.
- Some longer hole lengths here add some real challenge, #2 and #11 are both over 500' and have tough lines to the basket. A good mix of hole lengths overall, especially with a few different pads on a few holes.
- A few tricky basket placements, like #8 with a very sloped green, and #11 with a very well protected green.
- Asphalt teepads are OK, posts with the hole number is good enough in most cases. Nice baskets. Navigation can be a real problem; you have to walk past #2's tee to get to #1's from the street parking, there is a very long walk to get to hole #3; make sure you have or have studied the map.
Cons: - Layout here is pretty jacked up. You have to either walk through or way around #1 to get to the teepad, there is a very long walk to get to #3, the holes by the hill are all kind of close to each other, and the elevated teepad on #9 means errant shots can be sprayed over many holes' fairways. #11 has a residential street directly left of the fairway, which is a bit of a distraction.
Other Thoughts: - A pretty well-rounded course that has a good mix of semi-wooded holes, some holes with large trees to avoid like #5 and #10, and some those with good elevation changes. #9 is a lot of fun, with the big downhill shot out of the woods, and #11 is a tough 670' with plenty of trees to make things tough. Probably best suited to beginners from the short tees, and intermediate players from the long tees. Advanced players might find some fun holes, but overall won't be challenged too much.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing Course

1    6/18/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent beginner course in a nicely maintained suburban park. The course plays around a small lake, but stays far enough away from it that it doesn't come into play very much.

There is a decent attempt at a signature hole with #9, which starts with a tiny opening in the trees to a wide open downhill shot. Hole #2 is also notable, and is probably the most difficult due to the large numbers of trees in the way.
Cons: On top of the hill by the last few holes is a pile of sand/dirt which really detracts from the aesthetics.

The course is very difficult to navigate, and there is a long walk between #2 and #3. We parked in the wrong place and had to walk all the way around the lake to start.

There are few to no benches and trash cans.

There are some longer holes, but if you can drive over 300' it will be easy.
Other Thoughts: This is worth a trip to try out holes 2 and 9, but will be boring for advanced players. I won't go out of my way to play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Park-Big Throws-Big Confusion Reigns!

1    7/23/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basset Creek Park is large urban sprawling park which seems to lie around a large pond of some kind. I arrived at the park early in the morning armed with the on-line map and started my round at the # 3 teepad. There are concrete teepads. They're old and sloping but functional here. The baskets range from old (# 3) to brand new (# 4) to missing (# 7 as of July 2011). I understand the parks department is about to replace it. The park is a typical city park with scattered mature trees. This part was mostly flat with a creek running through it which came into play on # 5. # 9 was definitely an interesting hole. Your throwing downhill about 385 but teeing it up from behind a fence over the top of a pile of the park's department dirt to a visible basket down below. You might be also be throwing into other players here if you hyser one off. Navigation was a bit dicey even with the on-line map sometimes wondering which is the correct basket to throw to. There are a couple long, grip it and rip bomb throws here. I don't think I ever found the # 1 teepad???? # 2 was also interesting shot forcing you to throw a low hyser shot under the branches. I thought # 12 was a fun little downhill ACE run.
Cons: The long walk after # 2 is confusing. A few more navigational aids would really help out on this course. Maybe some simple little metal signs with arrows fixed to the rungs of the baskets pointing to the next pad. They pretty easy to install and the vandals seem to leave them alone. They would help here. I would love to see the park's mantainance department find another place to dump their debris. That hill is kinda the signature point on this course and all that dirt and junk piled up there kinda spoils the ambiance.
Other Thoughts: With just a little work and clean up, this course could be improved big time. Clean up the parks dept. garbage, install a few navigational signs and replace the missing # 7 basket and this would be a much better experience. It's not bad now. It's just frustrating the way it is. As smyith says, the twin cities has so many nice courses, this one kinda fails in comparison. I agree whole heartedly with both parts of that comment.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to sneak in after work

5+    11/24/2009   8/24/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Cement Pads
- Descent Tee Signs
- Interesting mix of shots
- Lots of fun long drives from top of the hill
- Park-goers seem to know what's going on
- Leashed dogs allowed (leash them I've gotten in trouble before)
Cons: - Goose poop everywhere!!!!!
- Large very open fairways
- Lack of penalty for errant shots
Other Thoughts: The Twin Cities has some GREAT courses. This one is a perfect after work course. Its located in a nice neighborhood and its a nice park.
With all the courses in the area its hard to rate this one anything special. There is descent variety but it is essentially a straight open course. If your visiting the area I wouldn't go out of my way to play this. Its fun to play though. Last I heard GGGT was trying to get permission to install 6 or more baskets. Theres a under-used woods area that would make some fantastic holes.

Favorite Hole #2 - Probably also the hardest hole on the course. This has a tight, low-ceiling fairway that opens up about 80% of the way down. Along the left is some semi-thick woods and tall grass. Along the right is a row of trees. The basket is on the other side of the trees and about 80' past the end of the row. It is protected along the left by a large tree, blocking the straight line at the basket. Essentially you need to throw a gentle anhyzer or a tight s-curve and dodge the trees. As long as you make it out of the trees and on the right-side its easy to get a par. If not your playing for a bogey or a stellar par.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Could be better

5+    6/28/2005   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 34.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2011
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great short course in a nice, neighborhood park just west of Downtown Minneapolis. The course plays through some old oak trees while wrapping around a small lake fed by a creek.

The course offers some thread-the-needle type holes while also having a few grip it and rip holes.

It's a great course for beginners and offers some challenging shots while also making beginners feel they could score well.
Cons: The course could be more than it is...lots of original holes no longer exist. Could be from complaints or maybe future plans of the park.
Other Thoughts: I remember when the course first went into the ground and the original layout. Not many of the original holes left. And the lack of decent tee signs make it a bit of a chore to get around the course...if you haven't played there before.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Is improving with age

5+    7/17/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course underwent a renovation a couple of years ago. I returned there last year after a three year lay-off, because the course hadn't impressed me. I found that it is a much better course than in the past. It's in the league of the other odd 12 hole courses in the metro, which I would rank thusly:

1. Basset Creek
2. Hansen Park (despite the cones)
3. Plymouth Creek
4. Edina

Of the 12-holers, this is the one with the best variety. The elevation change is excellent, and the distances vary a great deal. Getting a three on number 11 is an accomplishment, be proud of yourself if you can do it.
Cons: *Bird poop. Lots of it.
*Though it's a pleasant walk, the distance between the #2 pin and the #3 tee is pretty long.
Other Thoughts: Don't climb the hill to get from number 8 pin to number 9 tee. There is a path to the tee. Climbing straight up and down the steep dirt hill to the tee causes erosion. They will be forced to remove that awesome tee area if the erosion gets worse.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.