Minneapolis (Crystal), MN 
Bassett Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #11 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 425ft.   4 / 670ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Long Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great Course

5+    10/10/2012   2/10/2013
Review By: WinstonAbernathy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has nice variety. I love that it has lots of good obstacles and elevation changes without being overly cluttered with trees and brush like some courses.
Cons: I wish that they would make it into an 18 hole course. There is an area on top of the hill by the tees for 7,9, and 12 that for years is just big piles of dirt that seem to get moved around from time to time with no real rhyme or reason.
Other Thoughts: The city of Crystal needs to get it's act together in regards to this course. It has the potential to be a great course but despite how popular it is they are doing nothing to improve it.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix for all-level players

2-4    10/12/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: DonB
Played: 69  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of lengths
Nice mix of elevations
Nice mix of hole lengths

Baskets are all in very good condition

Asphalt tee pads are (mostly) maintained well. Exception would be hole #12, where large pile of dirt covers 50% of tee box.

Playable by beginners and more seasoned players (I can play alongside my Dad, who is an extreme beginner, and still enjoy the entire course together)

The holes that play up & down hill (holes 6, 7, 9, 12) are fun challenges for distance AND accuracy.

Grounds are maintained well, with the exception being the large mounds of dirt on top of hill.

Nice mix of shorter, technical holes, as well as long, tree-filled, and long open holes.
Cons: The path from hole to hole isn't clearly defined, but easy to follow once you know it

Garbages were not emptied over the 3 day span we played it.
Other Thoughts: The first time we played this, we were cut short by the league that started halfway through our round. Yet the next time we had the place almost completely to ourselves.

For a smaller, free course, this is one of my favorites, due to the highly variant lengths, elevation and foliage.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The long walk

5+    4/2/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some great technical holes here. #2, #9, #11 are favorites. Good variety of holes too. Hard to lose a disc at this course.
Cons: Goose poop! Everywhere! Things could be marked a bit better here to make navigating the park easier.
Other Thoughts: Course layout can be a bit confusing to anyone who hasn't played here much. Would be awesome if the city would put a course map near Hole #1. Also, for as much room as this park has, they could easily expand it to an 18 hole course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of My Favorites

5+    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: HeavyCritters
Played: 114  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Varying degrees of difficulty throughout the course.
- Nice mix of long and short holes.
- Good use of obstacles (trees/water/etc)
- Cement tee pads
Cons: - Although I agree there should be signage after hole #2 to direct you to tee #3, it's not that big of deal to find it.
- Navigating holes #5 - #12 can be a bit confusing for newbs.
- Needs 6 more holes.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Once you get the hang of the layout, it's a blast to play. It may be my favorite course in the Cities.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bassett Creek

5+    7/28/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: MickeyC's
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice hole setup. Love how there are some obstacles but not trees everywhere.
Cons: I played my first time with some friends, but I feel like it would be confusing trying to figure it out without a map. Sand on some of the tees which messes up some of my drives.
Other Thoughts: Hole 12 is somewhat hidden/far away from hole 11. Geese are consistently around hole 10.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    6/4/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Need a good amount of skill as well as a big arm. #2 can be frustrating, I have even seen one in the pond on the right, but there are enough short holes and long holes to change it up.
Cons: I wish it were longer. The couple of holes they put in for turnaments are nice and I don't know why they don't just leave them in all the time.
Other Thoughts: I wish there were signs to let you know distance and par.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Hills at Basset Creek Park

1    4/26/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice setting in a cool park. Has lots of hill shots, a massive lake that really doesn't come into play but does make the course more pictureque. Course winds around the lake initially and then goes off to the west where it plays up and down and up and down a massive hill.

2) #9 is one of the coolest teeshots I have played to date. Shooting out of a tight little wooded area with a fence to stop you from toppling over the cliff on an overthrow. You want to keep your disc as close to the ground as possible because if you throw high it will hyzer and stall out and end up a long ways away from the basket, but don't throw too low and hit the debris at the apex of the hill!

3) This course really uses its assets well. It starts out in a stand of very mature trees that dictate your shot. Then you walk around the pond to the South side and play two more holes in another stand of very large mature trees. Then you get to the hilly/more open part of the course for #5-#9. 5 runs straight out to a basket perched about 10-15 feet from a 6 foot deep creekbank. The water was flowing when I was there!!!! 6 plays up a giant hill, and only a really strong arm has a chance to get to the top where the basket is. #7 turns back and goes right back down that massive hill to a wide open basket for the most part, so pay attention to the prevailing winds! #8 turns back again and goes back up that giant hill to a basket perched halfway up the hill on a good slop. Rollaways are a definite possibility. #9 makes you walk up that hill from #8 to shoot out of a tight wooded tee area. The tree should not come into play from the tee, but it is fun to shoot out of the woods like that, over a brush/debris dumping site down the big hill to a basket with a smattering of trees between the tee and the basket. #10 is a shorter anhyzer shot around a couple trees and past another group of evergreens on the right. #11 is a long long long hole with 2 mandos, forcing you to throw as straight as possible for the first 150' or so. Get between the two mandos and you have a shot basically from the forward tee, just possibly a little bit longer. Basket has some more tree smattered around it to force accuracy.
Walk back up the hill and past the debris pile to the downhill slight right to left shot. Wooded area on your left the whole way ut it opens up near the basket so hyzer something out there and let it come back in, even if it goes into the woods at the bottom you will have a chance at a decent birdie putt.

4) Has dual asphalt teepads on most holes which makes this tough course from the whites much more playable from the forward tees for beginners. I am always in favor of beginner friendly courses that can have pro tees make the course more difficult for those wanting the challenge.
Cons: 1) Looks like they have enough property to keep adding holes, so I would continue to do that. Maybe the wooded area by #9 tee could take a couple short technical holes!!!!

2) Signage is a little lacking especially for a first timer.

3) Can be very wet and muddy in spots, although I played in the rain, it looks like the spring can take its toll on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I would have named this something like The Hills DGC at Basset Creek Park or Swan Lake DGC at Basset Creek Park. The creek barely comes into play on the disc golf course, but I suppose the park was there before the DGC. This course had some holes added at some point because I see #12 used to be #9, #11 used to be #8,#10 used to be #7, #9 used to be #6, #6 used to be #5, #5 used to be #4. It is a much better course now with the extra 3 holes, because there would have been some massive walks between holes and getting lost would have been very easy, espexcially because of the lack of signage.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this course has a nice touch because it plays around a beautiful lake. The holes are all descent length with all but 2 and 11 reachable in one throw. This is a good course for players who are intermediate. There are some obstacles, but for the most part it's wide open. A creek comes into play on 5 and 7 but doesn't pose too much of a threat.
The baskets are set up in a suitable manner so it's not too much of a problem to find your way around, especially with the huge amount of pedestrians that walk around the lake.
I was so close to getting my first hole in one here on number 3, I hit the chains hard on the right side (RHFH) and it barely squeezed out.
Cons: Some of the tees were a little hard to find, luckily there were a bunch of other players out to help us. The fairways also got a bit congested in the middle of the course, namely holes 5,6,7, and 8, and if you don't have the greatest aim, you could easily throw into a different fairway.
Other Thoughts: I don't think the pro par should be at 40, I played from all the white tees and I got 34 and one of my buddies got 36 on our first time playing the course. It seems to me the par should really be 36.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bassett Creek Review

6/7/2007   6/7/2008
Review By: Ultraplop
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Decent variety and has a few challenges. Has a few distance holes, one being over 600 ft. Has some uphill/downhill action. Hole 2 you have to really shape your throw correctly or you will probably take a 4 or 5 on it. Hole 5's basket is right on the other side of a
Cons: Once you get past hole 4, the holes are mostly wide open.

The course is poorly marked and it can be confusing to navigate it in the right order.

Goose poop! I'm serious this park is a goose hang out and there is always poop in play, sometimes on the tee pads.
Other Thoughts: This course was expanded to 12 holes in 2007

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A quick trip around the pond

5/23/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: andyman
Played: 146  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Asphalt Tees, with dual tees on holes number 1, 2, 3, 11

Nice mix of wooded and open holes with a good variety of distance.

New posts with hole number recently installed next to tee pads.
Cons: The fairways for holes 7, 8, and 9 can get a little tight. Need to watch out if course is busy.

The tee for #9 is hidden in the woods up on a hill. If you don't know where it is, you will be looking for a while.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1-2 are on one side of the pond, while the rest of the course are on the other side. Follow walking path clockwise around pond to find the tee pad for hole #3.

Personally, I liked this course better as a 9 hole course, but the 3 additional holes were a good addition. You will just need to be very careful if there are a lot of people playing the course.

Playground, Walking Paths, and Picnic shelters at the park as well.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.