Disc Golf Store
Minneapolis (Crystal), MN
Bassett Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: yearofrolling Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 265ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Surprisingly Fun!!

1    7/10/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: moni
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Long holes
- Unique challenges
- Scenery
- Fun crowds playing on the course
- Free
Overall, I was worried this 12-hole course might have been your standard lets-squeeze-a-course-in-a-tiny-park sort of thing but I was blown away with how many unique holes they included, how the course was set up and how much fun I had. It took the time that 18 holes takes because it's such a large course. Though not very well labeled if a hole was 3 or 4 par I'm sure several of the holes counted as 4 (10 especially). It was my first time at this course and you can bet they have a new regular
Cons: - Pins are old, need to put straight in or that sucker will be bouncing out
- Hard to find the next tee as it's so spread out, but there were lots of helpful folk ready to point you in the right direction
- Parking and finding the first hole was a small nightmare but the walk around the park with my dog was no lost cause and once I was done I was excited to park far away again just for the enjoyable walk
- A little crowded in one or two spots but was worth it as other discers were happy to chat and help find a disc if you lost one
- hole 9 (I think it was that one) had a very obnoxious start point that wasn't labeled tucked in the woods, lucky again there were helpful people to point us the right way
Other Thoughts: Overall, I'm very happy with this course but other reviews that it has even more potential are absolutely correct. But that would just be icing on this cake, as it was a blast.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great quick course

5+    2/26/2013   3/1/2013
Review By: new_sheets
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of holes. #1,3,4, and 10 are short and technical with clusters of trees and bushes. #2 and 11 are 500ft+ with a ton of trees and well protected greens. #5,6,7,8, and 9 are fairly open with a couple bombs and great elevation changes. #9 is really nice from an elevated tee in the woods around a giant dirt pile (I think the dirt piles add character..). #12 is a 200ft downhill ace run. It's a great course for beginners as its pretty difficult to lose track of a disc here, but still technical enough for advanced players to have some fun.
Cons: Hard to navigate the first couple of times. I don't mind but the walk to # 3 and 5 is kind of far and not well marked. A little short but a good warmup course. Tees could use some love.
Other Thoughts: Would like to see an increase to 18 holes. I think it would be a must play course if the additional holes were well designed. The 18 layout they use for tourneys is questionable but better than just 12. This is my home course and I think its better than any of the free smaller courses in the NW metro (Plymouth cr, sunny side, starring, rosland) for its variety and length.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Personal favorte

5+    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ABL Frolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: -Good course to go and toss your disc as hard as you can. Good practice for long, challenging drives.
-Really open course with some difficult shots, overall pretty simple, long drives.
-Well kept course, grass frequently trimmed and maintained.
-Our personal favorite course in the metro area.
Cons: -On a hill in the main area of the course, there is massive piles of dirt that is not in the way but is annoying to walk around for hole 9.
-Only 12 holes, we say there could easily be 6 more holes across the bridge from the last hole. Just saying.**
-No map, but its not that hard to find your way to the next tee box and catcher.
Other Thoughts: -Holes 2, 3, and 4, are difficult drives through trees. Holes 4 is also over a small hill. Difficult but easily maneuverable.
-Hole 9 is in the woods on a hill shooting down a hill that is fun but easy to hook it far in either direction.


2-4    4/21/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: jcovlin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging on all levels of experience and pretty fun in the process.
Cons: Goose Poop on the main area of the course. If you're not paying attention it is pretty easy to get lost.
Other Thoughts: Two of the holes have two different tee boxes, just keep that in mind if you are wanting a challenge.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Good Standard

5+    5/18/2011   5/24/2011
Review By: Zambono
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great repeat course. For only having 12 pins, it has a great variety. In my circle, we use bassett creek as a staple for bringing in new discs, since there are many forgiving holes. Also, unlike so many others, you can play backhand or forehand on most holes. Pros include:
- Nice early play around the lake for the casual player
- A good mix of easy, intermediate, and long range
- Hole 12 is great midrange ace practice! (a BUZZZ paradise)
- Cement tees

It is typically not that busy, and we often repeat the corse during the early afternoon.
Cons: I will say it is tough to navigate your first time

- Hole 3 is halfway around the pond from hold 2
- Hole 9 is up to the left in the middle of the woods, past the big rock
- Hole 12 is on the other side of the hill from hole 11

I have been playing there for a few years now, and i do wish they would get rid of the dirt piles on top of the hill.
Other Thoughts: I hope you like alot of GEESE!

It has won my recommendation. I would say Bassett Creek is a great casual course. It is where I bring newer friends or where I try out new techniques. It is not the most competitive course, but that is not its design!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Go Big

5+    5/18/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -ALOT of distance, one of the longest courses in the state
-Challenges you dont find alot in other courses (steep uphill & downhill shots)
-Wide open
-No chance of losing discs to hazards here
-Nice chill spot at the tee box for hole 9.
Cons: -Aside from the distance aspect on the holes, there isn't much challenge to the course. Hole 2 is probably the most difficult because of the trees.
-Course can be somewhat confusing to navigate for first timers, there should be more directions/signage.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course worth playing at and practicing on. While the blandness of the holes' layouts can become monotonous, this is an EXCELLENT course for newer players to develop their distance, as well as for experienced players to go long.
Definitely worth frequenting.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/23/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: joe po
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like others have said before me, the course does well with what it has to offer. Uses the trees and elevation effectively when possible, and has some challenge to it. It's a great beginner course. A lot of holes are open, but incorporate the elevation and scattered mature trees. The first four holes are in the thickest track of trees. Hole 2 is a nightmare of trees and can turn into a game of pinball in a hurry. I appreciate that the pond doesn't come into play. It's guarded by tall grass so it's hard to get at the water, and would be a pain/gross to fish a stray disc out.
Cons: LOTS OF GEESE!!! Watch out for poop, especially between holes 4-6. The geese tend to hang out on those three holes and in great numbers. This course is also used by a number of walkers/joggers. So, watch out for peds on holes 1-6 as the paved path is in play.
Other Thoughts: Park on the street on Welcome Ave. down by the turnaround, adjacent to the picnic shelter. Tee pad for hole one is about 400ft. to the south of the shelter on the walking path. The tee pad you will see next to the woods by the turnaround is for hole 2. 1-4 play along the south side of the pond, with the rest of the course playing up and down the hill to the west of the pond. 5 plays across the shallow trench (which isn't the actual creek, you'll see the creek when you fininsh and cross the bridge over to the vollerball courts and parking lot). Six tee is to the right of five basket. This is where naviagation gets tricky. 6 plays up the hill, then 7 plays back down the hill toawrds 5 tee. 8 plays back towards the hill to the basket on the side of the hill. Then 9 tee is actually up a path (you'll find it behind a bunch of dirt mounds by a huge rock) in the woods and the basket is down the hill past the willow tree. The rest is pretty easy to follow, but remember that 12 tee is back over by the basket for 6. Note: A lot of the regulars play 11 from the short tee as a tough par 3. Mostly because the placement of the pine trees from the back tee by the pond makes for a ridiculous hole.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.