Minneapolis (Crystal), MN 
Bassett Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: negi980 Hole #9 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 385ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole#9 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good

2-4    4/15/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: itzbrian17
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -lots of open shots
-concrete tees and good baskets
-nice scenery with the lake
-throwing over a pile of dirt on hole 9
-a legit par 4 hole
Cons: -baskets everywhere! It's hard to tell where you are throwing to because the tee is pointing towards one basket when you're suppose to go to another
-crossing paths with other discgolfers on a few holes
-opportunity for people to steal discs on hole 9 because you don't know where you're disc landed and you can't see over the pile of dirt
Other Thoughts: I like this course but the lack of signage and the course layout makes me give this only a 3

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Personal favorte

5+    7/14/2012   7/14/2012
Review By: ABL Frolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: -Good course to go and toss your disc as hard as you can. Good practice for long, challenging drives.
-Really open course with some difficult shots, overall pretty simple, long drives.
-Well kept course, grass frequently trimmed and maintained.
-Our personal favorite course in the metro area.
Cons: -On a hill in the main area of the course, there is massive piles of dirt that is not in the way but is annoying to walk around for hole 9.
-Only 12 holes, we say there could easily be 6 more holes across the bridge from the last hole. Just saying.**
-No map, but its not that hard to find your way to the next tee box and catcher.
Other Thoughts: -Holes 2, 3, and 4, are difficult drives through trees. Holes 4 is also over a small hill. Difficult but easily maneuverable.
-Hole 9 is in the woods on a hill shooting down a hill that is fun but easy to hook it far in either direction.

 

2-4    4/21/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: jcovlin
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging on all levels of experience and pretty fun in the process.
Cons: Goose Poop on the main area of the course. If you're not paying attention it is pretty easy to get lost.
Other Thoughts: Two of the holes have two different tee boxes, just keep that in mind if you are wanting a challenge.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The long walk

5+    4/2/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some great technical holes here. #2, #9, #11 are favorites. Good variety of holes too. Hard to lose a disc at this course.
Cons: Goose poop! Everywhere! Things could be marked a bit better here to make navigating the park easier.
Other Thoughts: Course layout can be a bit confusing to anyone who hasn't played here much. Would be awesome if the city would put a course map near Hole #1. Also, for as much room as this park has, they could easily expand it to an 18 hole course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and fast

5+    9/9/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: megamerican
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bassett Creek Park is a fun, relatively easy 12 hole course located just off highway 100 in the West Metro which can provide a fun, quick round.

*Good asphalt tees on every hole, quite a few have alternate tees which allow beginners to enjoy some of the longer, tougher holes

*Hole 2 and Hole 11 are the best holes on the course, both are not just longer but have quite a bit of risk/reward built into them from the back tees. Hole 2 is a great place to try a RHBH roller and hope it goes through the trees. Hole 11 is very long which gives you multiple routes to attack the two large trees roughly 275 feet ahead of you.

*Hole 9's tee is into the woods on top of the hill which is a fun throw from, especially when the asphalt tee is nice and dry.

*There are multiple leagues and tournaments played here during the year which have many temporary holes which make good use of the lake and other real estate the park has to offer.

*The large hill is well used and creates a good variety of uphill and downhill shots, ending with a nice ace run at hole 12.

*Gotta Go Gotta Throw is a great disc golf shop and close by.
Cons: Not too many cons to speak of. It is just a little lackluster without the temporary holes for the various tournaments and leagues which play there. There was talk of some of those holes becoming permanent but I have no idea what the issues are which may hinder that becoming true.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course to play if you are nearby. I'd definitely recommend playing during one of the leagues or tournaments as a lot of value is added to the course and my rating would go from a 3.0 to a 4.0 if those holes were made permanent.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing Course

1    6/18/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 29  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Decent beginner course in a nicely maintained suburban park. The course plays around a small lake, but stays far enough away from it that it doesn't come into play very much.

There is a decent attempt at a signature hole with #9, which starts with a tiny opening in the trees to a wide open downhill shot. Hole #2 is also notable, and is probably the most difficult due to the large numbers of trees in the way.
Cons: On top of the hill by the last few holes is a pile of sand/dirt which really detracts from the aesthetics.

The course is very difficult to navigate, and there is a long walk between #2 and #3. We parked in the wrong place and had to walk all the way around the lake to start.

There are few to no benches and trash cans.

There are some longer holes, but if you can drive over 300' it will be easy.
Other Thoughts: This is worth a trip to try out holes 2 and 9, but will be boring for advanced players. I won't go out of my way to play this course again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 One of My Favorites

5+    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: HeavyCritters
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Varying degrees of difficulty throughout the course.
- Nice mix of long and short holes.
- Good use of obstacles (trees/water/etc)
- Cement tee pads
Cons: - Although I agree there should be signage after hole #2 to direct you to tee #3, it's not that big of deal to find it.
- Navigating holes #5 - #12 can be a bit confusing for newbs.
- Needs 6 more holes.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Once you get the hang of the layout, it's a blast to play. It may be my favorite course in the Cities.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wish it was Better.

5+    8/8/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 204  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 9/12/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) No repetitive holes, every fairway is different

2) Hole 9 is a great downhill long bomb through a little gap.

3) Has something for everyone (wide open, tree shots, uphill, downhill)

4) No Water Hazards!
Cons: 1) Most of the course just doesn't flow very well. 1 and 2 are a ways from 3 and 4 which are a ways from the rest of the course. The first time i ever played this course our party couldn't even find hole 3.

2) Goose poop everywhere, and they're mean too.
Other Thoughts: Every time i walk back to my car from 12 i wonder why they didn't just add a few more baskets through the woods. I like the occasional wide open shot, but i really like the finesse holes and this course just doesn't deliver the goods. In my opinion it would be better as 9 or 18 holes, 12 just feels wrong for the amount of space available

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Park-Big Throws-Big Confusion Reigns!

1    7/23/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Basset Creek Park is large urban sprawling park which seems to lie around a large pond of some kind. I arrived at the park early in the morning armed with the on-line map and started my round at the # 3 teepad. There are concrete teepads. They're old and sloping but functional here. The baskets range from old (# 3) to brand new (# 4) to missing (# 7 as of July 2011). I understand the parks department is about to replace it. The park is a typical city park with scattered mature trees. This part was mostly flat with a creek running through it which came into play on # 5. # 9 was definitely an interesting hole. Your throwing downhill about 385 but teeing it up from behind a fence over the top of a pile of the park's department dirt to a visible basket down below. You might be also be throwing into other players here if you hyser one off. Navigation was a bit dicey even with the on-line map sometimes wondering which is the correct basket to throw to. There are a couple long, grip it and rip bomb throws here. I don't think I ever found the # 1 teepad???? # 2 was also interesting shot forcing you to throw a low hyser shot under the branches. I thought # 12 was a fun little downhill ACE run.
Cons: The long walk after # 2 is confusing. A few more navigational aids would really help out on this course. Maybe some simple little metal signs with arrows fixed to the rungs of the baskets pointing to the next pad. They pretty easy to install and the vandals seem to leave them alone. They would help here. I would love to see the park's mantainance department find another place to dump their debris. That hill is kinda the signature point on this course and all that dirt and junk piled up there kinda spoils the ambiance.
Other Thoughts: With just a little work and clean up, this course could be improved big time. Clean up the parks dept. garbage, install a few navigational signs and replace the missing # 7 basket and this would be a much better experience. It's not bad now. It's just frustrating the way it is. As smyith says, the twin cities has so many nice courses, this one kinda fails in comparison. I agree whole heartedly with both parts of that comment.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bassett Creek

5+    7/28/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: MickeyC's
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice hole setup. Love how there are some obstacles but not trees everywhere.
Cons: I played my first time with some friends, but I feel like it would be confusing trying to figure it out without a map. Sand on some of the tees which messes up some of my drives.
Other Thoughts: Hole 12 is somewhat hidden/far away from hole 11. Geese are consistently around hole 10.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center