Minneapolis (Crystal), MN 
Bassett Creek Park Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #6 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 nothing special

1    9/12/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 104  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: very pretty mature trees, good elevation changes, nice cement tees. Good baskets. Makes you use a lot of different shots. Some good long holes. Minimal litter.
Cons: very bland compared to other courses in the Twin Cities. very poor signage, no distance markers, no directions to next tee, course is kind of jammed in from 7-11, can easily end up on the wrong fairway facing someone throwing.
Other Thoughts: Really a very meh experience. I was there for a family reunion on my wifes side, and played it with just my 11 year old. both of us thought it was fine, but nothing special, and not worth a special trip. Frankly Plymouth creek is not too far from here (another 10-15 mins) and much better. I didn't have much trouble finding my way around because we were sort of following another group, but without that I'd have been very frustrated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Is improving with age

5+    7/17/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: chalupamarley
Played: 53  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course underwent a renovation a couple of years ago. I returned there last year after a three year lay-off, because the course hadn't impressed me. I found that it is a much better course than in the past. It's in the league of the other odd 12 hole courses in the metro, which I would rank thusly:

1. Basset Creek
2. Hansen Park (despite the cones)
3. Plymouth Creek
4. Edina

Of the 12-holers, this is the one with the best variety. The elevation change is excellent, and the distances vary a great deal. Getting a three on number 11 is an accomplishment, be proud of yourself if you can do it.
Cons: *Bird poop. Lots of it.
*Though it's a pleasant walk, the distance between the #2 pin and the #3 tee is pretty long.
Other Thoughts: Don't climb the hill to get from number 8 pin to number 9 tee. There is a path to the tee. Climbing straight up and down the steep dirt hill to the tee causes erosion. They will be forced to remove that awesome tee area if the erosion gets worse.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Go Big

5+    5/18/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Moptop88
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -ALOT of distance, one of the longest courses in the state
-Challenges you dont find alot in other courses (steep uphill & downhill shots)
-Wide open
-No chance of losing discs to hazards here
-Nice chill spot at the tee box for hole 9.
Cons: -Aside from the distance aspect on the holes, there isn't much challenge to the course. Hole 2 is probably the most difficult because of the trees.
-Course can be somewhat confusing to navigate for first timers, there should be more directions/signage.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a course worth playing at and practicing on. While the blandness of the holes' layouts can become monotonous, this is an EXCELLENT course for newer players to develop their distance, as well as for experienced players to go long.
Definitely worth frequenting.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Hills at Basset Creek Park

1    4/26/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice setting in a cool park. Has lots of hill shots, a massive lake that really doesn't come into play but does make the course more pictureque. Course winds around the lake initially and then goes off to the west where it plays up and down and up and down a massive hill.

2) #9 is one of the coolest teeshots I have played to date. Shooting out of a tight little wooded area with a fence to stop you from toppling over the cliff on an overthrow. You want to keep your disc as close to the ground as possible because if you throw high it will hyzer and stall out and end up a long ways away from the basket, but don't throw too low and hit the debris at the apex of the hill!

3) This course really uses its assets well. It starts out in a stand of very mature trees that dictate your shot. Then you walk around the pond to the South side and play two more holes in another stand of very large mature trees. Then you get to the hilly/more open part of the course for #5-#9. 5 runs straight out to a basket perched about 10-15 feet from a 6 foot deep creekbank. The water was flowing when I was there!!!! 6 plays up a giant hill, and only a really strong arm has a chance to get to the top where the basket is. #7 turns back and goes right back down that massive hill to a wide open basket for the most part, so pay attention to the prevailing winds! #8 turns back again and goes back up that giant hill to a basket perched halfway up the hill on a good slop. Rollaways are a definite possibility. #9 makes you walk up that hill from #8 to shoot out of a tight wooded tee area. The tree should not come into play from the tee, but it is fun to shoot out of the woods like that, over a brush/debris dumping site down the big hill to a basket with a smattering of trees between the tee and the basket. #10 is a shorter anhyzer shot around a couple trees and past another group of evergreens on the right. #11 is a long long long hole with 2 mandos, forcing you to throw as straight as possible for the first 150' or so. Get between the two mandos and you have a shot basically from the forward tee, just possibly a little bit longer. Basket has some more tree smattered around it to force accuracy.
Walk back up the hill and past the debris pile to the downhill slight right to left shot. Wooded area on your left the whole way ut it opens up near the basket so hyzer something out there and let it come back in, even if it goes into the woods at the bottom you will have a chance at a decent birdie putt.

4) Has dual asphalt teepads on most holes which makes this tough course from the whites much more playable from the forward tees for beginners. I am always in favor of beginner friendly courses that can have pro tees make the course more difficult for those wanting the challenge.
Cons: 1) Looks like they have enough property to keep adding holes, so I would continue to do that. Maybe the wooded area by #9 tee could take a couple short technical holes!!!!

2) Signage is a little lacking especially for a first timer.

3) Can be very wet and muddy in spots, although I played in the rain, it looks like the spring can take its toll on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I would have named this something like The Hills DGC at Basset Creek Park or Swan Lake DGC at Basset Creek Park. The creek barely comes into play on the disc golf course, but I suppose the park was there before the DGC. This course had some holes added at some point because I see #12 used to be #9, #11 used to be #8,#10 used to be #7, #9 used to be #6, #6 used to be #5, #5 used to be #4. It is a much better course now with the extra 3 holes, because there would have been some massive walks between holes and getting lost would have been very easy, espexcially because of the lack of signage.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/13/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: Cradical
Played: 107  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off, this course has a nice touch because it plays around a beautiful lake. The holes are all descent length with all but 2 and 11 reachable in one throw. This is a good course for players who are intermediate. There are some obstacles, but for the most part it's wide open. A creek comes into play on 5 and 7 but doesn't pose too much of a threat.
The baskets are set up in a suitable manner so it's not too much of a problem to find your way around, especially with the huge amount of pedestrians that walk around the lake.
I was so close to getting my first hole in one here on number 3, I hit the chains hard on the right side (RHFH) and it barely squeezed out.
Cons: Some of the tees were a little hard to find, luckily there were a bunch of other players out to help us. The fairways also got a bit congested in the middle of the course, namely holes 5,6,7, and 8, and if you don't have the greatest aim, you could easily throw into a different fairway.
Other Thoughts: I don't think the pro par should be at 40, I played from all the white tees and I got 34 and one of my buddies got 36 on our first time playing the course. It seems to me the par should really be 36.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I like the hill

1    7/21/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 352  Reviewed: 345  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Nice elevation changes
-Lets you throw really far on almost every hole.
-Not much of a chance to lose a disc.
-Nice tees and baskets.
-Nice and open park in otherwise crowded suburban area.
-Large mature trees.
Cons: -Pond in the middle of the course is never a water hazard, could be used better.
-No "hole-in-one" shots. Every course needs one of those :)
-Park is busy with non-disc golfers and you have to be careful to not throw near them on some holes.
-Put in 6 more baskets, there is room!
-Nice woods on part of the course but doesnt use them much.
Other Thoughts: It is a very nice course but it could be almost a five if they made some changes.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun course, but could expand

5+    11/5/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: tom04
Played: 59  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Bassett Creek is in a nice neighborhood with a large pond in the middle of the park. There is great spacing between the holes. The course is well kept with the grass being pretty short. Leagues are run here every Monday night during the Summer-just one round.





Cons: The baskets aren't the same for every hole. Yes it is true they are all mach IIIs, but some of them are older and the chain area is skinnier. Some of the holes have the newer Mach iii baskets.

All holes are open for the most part.

Birdies are needed at this course and are quite simple to get-I prefer courses where the birdies are earned

I also wish that the large pond in the middle could be an obstacle on the course on more than one hole. Hole 2 is the only one on the course where that pond is in play-but even that hole it is only an obstacle with a roller


Other Thoughts: There is definitely more room to make a solid 18 hole course, or even more.There are woods behind the teepad of hole 9 that could be used to add more variety and elevation to the course

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing one of my favorites

5+    10/25/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: BenHoium
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: * Nice park

* Very fun to play at

* Asphalt for tee offs

* Variety of shots

* Get a work out

Cons: * Kind of hard to find from were i live but google maps got me there fine.

* Lot of walking

* Takes some time to finish

* Two water hazard

* Hole 9 i think is hard to find on top of hill in the woods.
Other Thoughts: My favorite place to DG for sure. If you live in the twin cities this DG course is worth the drive. the course walkthrough on Playdg.com is not right at all.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Has Potential

2-4    10/21/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: cpaquette
Played: 42  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 7.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some really fun holes and is a great course for beginners and advanced players alike.

There are a few holes that allow the big arms to really "let 'er buck" and be rewarded handsomely. Nice elevation changes and some respectable pin placements that can pose a challenge for your approach shots
Cons: If you've never played this course before, you may have a hard time making your way around.
Much like other courses in the Twin Cities, this course needs to have a better system of guiding its players to the next tee pad and advise the distance of the next basket.
Other Thoughts: There is a ton of goose feces on this course, watch your step.

With a few alterations this course could be really special, especially if they were to have tee shots cross the small lake.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    10/23/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: joe po
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like others have said before me, the course does well with what it has to offer. Uses the trees and elevation effectively when possible, and has some challenge to it. It's a great beginner course. A lot of holes are open, but incorporate the elevation and scattered mature trees. The first four holes are in the thickest track of trees. Hole 2 is a nightmare of trees and can turn into a game of pinball in a hurry. I appreciate that the pond doesn't come into play. It's guarded by tall grass so it's hard to get at the water, and would be a pain/gross to fish a stray disc out.
Cons: LOTS OF GEESE!!! Watch out for poop, especially between holes 4-6. The geese tend to hang out on those three holes and in great numbers. This course is also used by a number of walkers/joggers. So, watch out for peds on holes 1-6 as the paved path is in play.
Other Thoughts: Park on the street on Welcome Ave. down by the turnaround, adjacent to the picnic shelter. Tee pad for hole one is about 400ft. to the south of the shelter on the walking path. The tee pad you will see next to the woods by the turnaround is for hole 2. 1-4 play along the south side of the pond, with the rest of the course playing up and down the hill to the west of the pond. 5 plays across the shallow trench (which isn't the actual creek, you'll see the creek when you fininsh and cross the bridge over to the vollerball courts and parking lot). Six tee is to the right of five basket. This is where naviagation gets tricky. 6 plays up the hill, then 7 plays back down the hill toawrds 5 tee. 8 plays back towards the hill to the basket on the side of the hill. Then 9 tee is actually up a path (you'll find it behind a bunch of dirt mounds by a huge rock) in the woods and the basket is down the hill past the willow tree. The rest is pretty easy to follow, but remember that 12 tee is back over by the basket for 6. Note: A lot of the regulars play 11 from the short tee as a tough par 3. Mostly because the placement of the pine trees from the back tee by the pond makes for a ridiculous hole.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.