White Haven, PA 
Hickory Run State Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #3 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 315ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3B Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hickory Run

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed playing this course. The first 2 holes that are in the woods(holes 3 and 4?) were some of my favorites. Very scenic and a blast to play. I believe they were both par 4. There are a few scattered in the field with the baskets placed strategically to make shaping around trees a factor to keep it interesting. There is a mix of short and long holes, hyzer, anny and straight shots. Not a ton of elevation but it was nice to play a course where you needed a variety of everything off the tee. A few holes were short enough for a legit shot at an ace and others you could gun out a bomb. Course was very dry which is a huge plus. It's located in a beautiful campground and even has a few holes by a beach. I will soon be making plans to bring the family back so I can sneak out for a round or two.
Cons: I was surprised to find little elevation changes being located on a mountain. I think there was only 1 uphill hole. The navigation could be very difficult if you do not have someone that knows the layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived closer to this course. There is plenty to do near by with a boulder field, camping, fishing, hiking, and even a beach and bathrooms. FE Walters dam course is also close by and a fun course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Elected 2nd Home

5+    12/10/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shots and good markings. This course recently underwent some changes in hole positions. 3 was turned into a couple of different optional throws through the woods and across a creek. Elevation changes are few and placed close together but once you're done with them, you will be happy you are. Back 9 plays through woods that can be a little dense in the late spring and summer, making the baskets a little difficult to see from the tees. All in all it is a great course because it is REALLY close to home, and a fun place to kill a day!
Cons: Open State Park Picnic/Swimming/Day Use area. In the summer this place is pretty crowded on any given day. Try playing hookie from work on a monday in the summer ... This will be the least likely day to tag a park user. There are mapping courses that run over the DG course in several spots but the Boy Scouts usually stay out of the way. careful of picnicing park guests on holes 1 through 5 and swimmers and walkers on 6 through 9.

Disappointed in the loss of the original 3rd hole ... that was a NICE bomber down a hill!! Bring back old 3 as an optional!!!
Other Thoughts: I love this course for the variety it provides in discs to use. It's not a hughe course but it is a very very nice cool fall course. The wind does come into play here as the season progresses and it sure does change the game on this course! I have thrown some of my BEST shots here recently.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Qwikstreet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent course. It has a mix of everything you want from a wooded course including water. The holes are challenging but easy to par them all at any given time for all levels. The local club up there takes pride in maintaining their course.
Cons: I have to take the Turnpike to play there.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Hometown Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: Fireal
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I'll start by saying I've been coming to dgcoursereview for years, and it is a great site. This however, is my first review, even though I've played almost 20 courses. I felt as though I had to post a review after reading people like "Bramanws" giving the course a rating of 1 out of 5. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but that is simply misleading.

This course is incredible, it is very well maintained, and offers a variety of types of shots. The front nine is mainly open, with some great tree placement to keep things tricky, and the back nine is a tree-fest.
Cons: In the summertime you tend to get people in your way, but that is only on the first few holes, where they are usually sitting near the picnic tables.
Other Thoughts: I am really lucky to have such an awesome course only about 20 minutes from my home. Frances Walter Dam is only about 15 minutes from Hickory Run, and if you are in the area, that course is a must play as well.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!

1    10/15/2007   9/15/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of different holes (straight, left, right, open, wooded). Front 9 is mostly open, grassy, with trees scattered nicely. Back 9 is mostly wooded and fun. Great course design. Mostly flat with slight elevation changes. This course is fun to play for beginners and advanced players alike. Nice scenery and peaceful setting for disc golf.
Cons: Got a bit lost a couple of times on the front 9. The course desperately needs "Next Tee" signs and better mapping. A few times I shot at the wrong basket.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during the Fall months on a weekday and basically had the whole course to myself. I'm sure Summer months may be a bit crowded because of the swimming lake & picnic tables. I highly recommend this course. It was a lot of fun to play and whoever designed this course surely knew what they were doing!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

2-4    8/10/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: chriswhitey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Nice landscaping, beautiful grass, trees and shrubs throughout the front nine. Wooded back nine adds variety. Tee boxes are just the way I like them, long and flat.
Cons: Poorly marked baskets, no signs on pole to tell you direction to next basket either. Map is not alot of help as it is not drawn to perfect scale. Very confusing the first time I played even with a map. On a few holes picknickers were in the way and didn't exactly hurry to get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: If this course had visible markes both on the baskets and on the tee pads , as well as an arrow on each basket pointing to the next tee box this would easily have been a 4.5 for me. I absolutely love the course, it is very appealing ot the eye, baskets are in great shape, and it seems everywhere you look its just beautiful. I had such a good time the other day I played the last 12 baskets in a thunderstorm. I love this course, my favorite in NEPA. Can someone PLEASE mark the baskets better!!!!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

6/27/2008   6/27/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course all around about 1/2 being open fairways and the others being wooded. Next to no underbrush making finding discs easy
Cons: Summer months park is packed with visitors that love to picnic and grill around some of the tee boxes and middle of some fairways. (Most a problem on the weekends)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 In the woods

6/23/2007   7/18/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Good challenge with a variety of hole types.
Cons: Some holes require too much luck, this is disc golf not craps, there should be a line to the pin.
Other Thoughts: If you don't like throwing in the trees, play Walter Dam, it is nearby and a little more open.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

5+    5/7/2007   5/29/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2008
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 holes, but you can play the extra holes "3a" and "3b" instead of the original 3 on the main course area. 3a is a diffulcult, tight hole ( I believe it's a 4, it should be anyaway) and 3b is a little more open. Both play over a creek and are tighter than the rest of the course. There are a few mandos in play, on holes 2, 16, and 18. None of them require too much finesse on your shot. Baskets are in great shape. Tees are mostly gravel, course is fairly well marked. They have done away with the walk in between 9 and 10, it seems to be a lot nicer and less crowded. Might have made the course a little longer as well. Water is available during the summer. Good picnic places. Becareful of pedestrians. Many of the holes are shorter holes. Nice mix of lefty and righty holes as well as good pin locations. The course is well kept and maintained.
Cons: Some of the tees are kind of close to the baskets. The pedestrian factor can be larger in the summer but most of the time, it shouldn't be a problem.
Other Thoughts: With the long walk now out of the equation, the course is better improved. The local club deserves credit for it. The Poconos sister course is Walter Dam, a mere 15-20 minutes away. A short drive from the turnpike as well as Interstate 80.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.