White Haven, PA 
Hickory Run State Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #10 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 335ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Hickory

1    5/14/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: tmc3442
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not hard to stay in order
lots of different looks
plenty of chances for aces
parks upkeep is good
Cons: becomes a pond after rain
dogs!!! (lots of traffic)
tees need work
no hole maps just pointer
Other Thoughts: first 9 are in open field area with little trees and back 10 play into the woods overall fun course

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: Dino
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: MOST of the tees well marked, first 8 mostly open, Back 9, in the woods and in my opinion the best part of the course. Great scenery, Nice lake with a beach.Clean restrooms and snack bar right there. Hickory run is an awesome park.
Cons: Beware picnickers on holes1,2,3.Some baskets too close to each other,On the 4th hole You'll see Pin 6 before Pin 4. As for hole 8, Where is the tee? I see here that they play from the beach, we just guessed from the map. They have a map on the bulletin board, which will help.It is only 18, not sure why this site says it's 19
Other Thoughts: I would play this course again, great scenery fun course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Played during tournament

1    8/28/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: jparent
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I liked the course in general and it is somewhere between a beginner to advanced course. I like that it had a good mix of open and wooded holes. The course plays like two completely different courses. The back 9 was my favorite with tightly wooded holes that are more technical.
Cons: I played a warm up round before the tournament and before the tee signs were added and a few times I got confused on where the next hole started. On one of holes in the back nine there is a nasty left dog leg that throws directly at another tee box. There a bunch of pieces of wood put up on the tee box to stop discs from hitting players but I still think it could be unsafe. There was also a family sitting at a picnic table towards the right side of one of the fairways when we were teeing off. Nowhere to eat near the course.
Other Thoughts: Although I don't mind gravel/stone tee boxes, some of them were a bit uneven. I think this is a nice course to take a family to in the summer. Some of the family can sit on the beach and go in the lake and the other members can play disc golf. There are picnic tables to eat at and public restrooms.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/10/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice area and scenery.
Cons: I agree with the previous review. Not much good to talk about. The course was average as far as difficulty. Not many long holes. Very poorly marked. It took a while to locate tee box number 8, which really isn't a box nor is it marked. Fortunately, I remembered seeing a video of this course during the Ice Bowl. Didn't have a map and couldn't find several tee boxes. Twice, I found that I had been shooting at the wrong basket and had to go back and start over. Wooded area, 10 thru 16 were very hard to follow. I still don't know if I played 10 and 11 in the right order. Tee boxes were only okay.
Other Thoughts: I'd play it again, but my expectations must have been too high.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Don't waste your time...

1    10/9/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: aphroditious
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: none
Cons: The course is badly marked. We could not find the starting tee for hole #2. The map that is given on the score card is not accurate. We were unable to find the starting tee for hole #8 as well or the hole itself. We were so fed up with this course we stopped playing after 7 holes.
Other Thoughts: If you are in this area and want to play a good course I would go 10 miles up the road to Francis E. Walter Dam. That course is more challenging and the course is well laid out and much easier to navigate.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Old Hickory

1    10/3/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: a lot of the holes on the front 9 are birdie opportunities with the right drive. a lot of the holes have tables near the tee. nice scenic drive on your way into the park. nice views of the lake from different locations on the course. challenging shot selection on the back nine.
Cons: Since it was my first time i had a hard time navigating my way around the course. i eventually found all the holes. downloaded the map so that helped a bit except that hole 10 was moved from where the map is to right near the basket for nine. A lot of the tee markers for each of the holes were laying on the ground near the tee. gravel, dirt maybe red clay for tee pads wasn't sure what it was exactly. if clay they could get really slick possibly in wet weather. i noticed that a lot of the next tee signs were laying on the ground not even pointing in the right direction. Hole #10 basket has Hole #11 number on it. Hole #11 has #10 written on it. Hole 8 tee is not really there just shoot from the edge of the beach up the hill. there were people at a picnic table in the middle of the fairway up the hill when i played.. so i moved over near the volley ball net and threw uphill. #9 throws across a walking path so you have to watch who is around when you throw. some holes on the front you have to throw near picnic tables with people at them or near drinking fountains in the park. so if anyone is using them and you throw late or the wind catches a disc it could hit someone. couple of the holes had water drainage issues so you could get your shoes wet just trying to get down the fairway
Other Thoughts: i did enjoy the course. this could be a really great course if some of the issues could be taken care of. i have played better courses but i have also played a lot worse courses. if i am back in the area i would really want to try this course again. one other improvement i would suggest is tee post with hole direction and maybe direction to the next tee. I saw signs like this at shore acres park in saugatuck michigan and thought it was a great idea.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/25/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Qwikstreet
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent course. It has a mix of everything you want from a wooded course including water. The holes are challenging but easy to par them all at any given time for all levels. The local club up there takes pride in maintaining their course.
Cons: I have to take the Turnpike to play there.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open Then Shut

1    7/26/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 12/28/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
Random benches scattered about. Beach/water access at #8 if a hot summer's day. Bathroom on site.
Cons:
Unsigned single dirt/gravel tee locations. Some navigation issues (see below). Many a picnic table and/or grille scattered amongst holes 1-6. Walking path near 8-9.
Other Thoughts:
For the first six holes, take a large, grassy, gently undulating open space, randomly drop some large and mid-sized hardwoods about it - and then add in about twice as many picnic tables and grilles. These holes average a bit over 300' in length, and you'll usually have a few choices of how you want to avoid the trees while reaching the basket. Number-7 is short and downslope to a basket surrounded by trees, tee-8 is at the end of the beach, short throw to a basket at the top of a steep slope, and number-9 is long-n-open. The back nine is where you'll find your shorter, technical woodwork - flat holes, trees throughout, mostly requiring straight or subtle S-shapes off the tee (although there are a few left-turners), well-defined paths filled with rocks and tree roots. Holes 11-16 are quite tight, bordering on pinball at times, but the undergrowth is practically non-existent, so a wayward disc shouldn't be too hard to find.

Favourite hole: #14. Just under 300', fair path through trees the entire length, but a small stone wall about 30' before the basket is reached - very picturesque.
Least favourite hole: #16. Nearly 400' of continuous left turn, trees thick the entire length, some scattered across the natural flightpath, to a nearly-imprisoned basket.

Navigation: The map (although it doesn't show current #10 correctly - it plays between the dirt access road and the main road) is necessary for a first-time visitor as there is a paucity of signage, next tee signs, etc. Some sign/numbering inconsistencies after #9. Tee-10 is just ahead, slightly right, across a gravel path, and the basket is about 300' in the same direction - but labelled #11. Continue in the same direction, cross the road, to find tee-11, which will then play to a basket labelled as #10. From #12 onward things were okay.

Despite the (lack of) signage, and potential conflict with other park users on the front half, there is a decent amount of variety and challenge on this course, and worth a visit if travelling through the area.. The F.E.W Dam course is not too far away, with food/petrol options in-between.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not much fun

1    7/17/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There's baskets, Grass was cut, Fun road to drive in on. Back 9 baskets are in an area that does not have picnic area all around it. Close to Francis E. Walter Dam which has a real good course.
Cons: Hard to navigate, make sure you download a map before going there. 1st 9 holes you play through picnic area, (I almost landed a tee shot into a child's playpen). Tee pads numbers were ripped out of the ground for most holes, Lots of Tee pads were in poor condition. No good scenic or cool obstacles or anything worth raving about on this course, unless you want to count the road you drive in on to get to the course.
Other Thoughts: There is lots of room in this park for a much better well thought out course. I drove from philly to play this course because the reviews said it was good. I am very disappointed in the people that posted these high reviews. This course should only have a 2 rating, maybe 3 if they fixed the tees and got some good signs. But the 4 ratings should only be given if it is a well maintained, challenging but fun course to play with at lease 1 iconic memorable hole. A 5 rating means it's a perfect course in all ways. The people that rated this above a 2 should try real courses like Walter Dam, Nockamixon and Tyler State park, then you could see what 4 or 4.5 rating course is really like.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Pocono DG Course

1    2/13/2010   2/22/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 61  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Offers a nice variety of both open and wooded holes, catering to all tastes. The front nine is primarily open (with a couple of exceptions) while the back nine emphasizes more techincal shots to avoid the woods. Is very fair to the average or recreational player while challenging enough for the more advanced disc golfer. Navigation is pretty easy and the baskets are all in good shape. A creek and some mandos keep you honest on a couple of holes. Located in a very pretty area of the Poconos which offers a beautiful lake and all of the standard amenities of a state park.
Cons: Signage, while not terrible, could be better. Natural (crushed stone) tees are uneven and should be raked and smoothed out. Some holes have logs or benches to put your bag/belonings while others do not. The possibility of heavy pedestrian/picnicker traffic exists on some of the open holes. Not too many glaring deficiencies to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This course has aged well and is relatively close to several other nice disc golf courses (Walter Dam, Yetter Park, etc) in the area. I recently played in a foot of snow here and still enjoyed myself, so summer /spring play is exceptional. Park is set back deep off the main road and there really isn't a whole lot of civilization here, so bring a bag lunch and some drinks if you make a day out of it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.