White Haven, PA 
Hickory Run State Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #18 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Good Course, Needs Work

1    4/13/2015   4/13/2015
Review By: DiscLoser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one man's opinion so don't hate! Wooded, rocky course, with some open holes as well. That's all I can have for pros.
Cons: See other thoughts. I would play this course again only if I heard of improvements being made, otherwise, I found it to be vastly over-rated. I may be spoiled by courses closer to me, and would probably play here frequently if I was close-by...I guess?
Other Thoughts: A posted sign apologizes for the course while under construction...all I saw were new posts going into the ground for signage. This course also needs an updated layout and tee pads, in addition to signage. There is a hole 3A, 3B, and 3C, (3A being the coolest hole on the course) and then a crowded layout with nearly overlapping holes, fairways and pins. Whenever I stand on a tee and can see 3 or 4 baskets, it drives me crazy. Why not convert the A, B and C to 3, 4, and 5, and cut down on some of the cross-traffic? Tee pads are crushed stone, which is fine, but not flat - rather hilly - which is not fine. Back nine was a lot of here's the tee pad, there's a wall of trees 75' away, good luck. Kind of repetitive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could be the best in NEPA

5+    12/27/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: carouselzero
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a nice mix of wooded/open holes
Baskets are in great shape
Scenic
Alternate pin positions
Multiple teeboxes on some holes
Cons: Navigation on the front 9 is tricky
Teepads could be better
Multi-use park (watch out for people and dogs)
Not a lot of hole length variation
Other Thoughts: Some holes are simply amazing here (3A and 3B), other ones are wide open, and the back 9 has a lot of tight, technical holes. Some teepad and sign work would go a long way here to make this the best course in NEPA.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hickory Run State Park

1    10/21/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you play this course in it's current incarnation, take a picture of the map with your phone before you start. There is a message on the bulletin board that the course is being reconfigured.

- Hole 3 is beautiful.
- Arrow's pointing towards the next hole
- Baskets look to be in great shape.
- Some holes have alternate pin positions
Cons: - Most of the course passes threw picnic and playground area's.
- Some of the baskets are in the fairway of another hole
- You need to take a picture of the map or you'll never find some of the tee boxes
- Natural tee boxes that are very beat in and uneven.
- I never found the tee boxes for 8 and 16. Hole 8 didn't match up with the location posted on the map
- Baskets not clearly marked. You could be playing a basket for a different hole without knowing it.
Other Thoughts: I went to this course because it had pretty solid reviews. Granted, this course is under construction so I may come back once construction is completed. This review is based of what I played today.

I can't imagine playing this course on a weekend or weekday night when the weather is nice. You literally drive over picnic area's and next to playgrounds. Baskets next to picnic benches with grills near by. Some holes are marked others the markers are on the ground, I'm guessing because of the reconstruction. Even with looking at the map it was very hard to find some holes.

Some holes I couldn't find the basket, other holes you're not sure if you're playing your holes basket or another holes basket. Very confusing. A couple of holes the walk from the previous holes basket to the next tee box takes you through the fairway on another hole, so be aware.

Hole 3, once you locate the basket is a really nice hole, pretty much the only highlight of the course.

Natural tee boxes that are very beat in. If you go play here you may want to try tee'ing off on the side of the tee box if you can. If you do use the tee box, watch your footing, they are very uneven and there is a chance of rolling your ankle.

The rest of the course is typical from what I've played in the area. Tunnel shots, flick shots and lots of trees. The only hole which you could air it out, you're basically throwing in an open field about 350' to the basket. Not anything special.

Again, the message on the bulletin board is the course is under construction. So if you don't mind trying to figure out this course you could have a good time. I highly suggest going when the park is empty to reduce the chance of hitting someone. Enjoy hole 3, very challenging par 3 and fun.

I'll be back next spring and review to see if it has improved.


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hickory Run

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed playing this course. The first 2 holes that are in the woods(holes 3 and 4?) were some of my favorites. Very scenic and a blast to play. I believe they were both par 4. There are a few scattered in the field with the baskets placed strategically to make shaping around trees a factor to keep it interesting. There is a mix of short and long holes, hyzer, anny and straight shots. Not a ton of elevation but it was nice to play a course where you needed a variety of everything off the tee. A few holes were short enough for a legit shot at an ace and others you could gun out a bomb. Course was very dry which is a huge plus. It's located in a beautiful campground and even has a few holes by a beach. I will soon be making plans to bring the family back so I can sneak out for a round or two.
Cons: I was surprised to find little elevation changes being located on a mountain. I think there was only 1 uphill hole. The navigation could be very difficult if you do not have someone that knows the layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived closer to this course. There is plenty to do near by with a boulder field, camping, fishing, hiking, and even a beach and bathrooms. FE Walters dam course is also close by and a fun course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course, well kept

1    5/17/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, nice mix of a flat, wooded park type area, and before you know it your deep in the woods with no one around, grass was cut low and signage wasnt too confusing, every first round takes a little help
Cons: Not much of anything, great course, nothing too memorable or crazy, just a bunch of average to cool holes
Other Thoughts: Id def go back

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs work, but great design.

5+    4/21/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All sorts of shots can be played here. Does not cater much to one type of throwing style, though RHBH has a bit of an advantage.

Great mix of open, and varying degrees of narrow holes. Two challenging water holes. Hole design here is as good as any I have seen. Enough friendly holes to make it enjoyable to rec players, but a number of difficult holes to give the more skilled challenges.

Several memorable holes hard to pick a single signature hole.
Cons: Badly needs direction signs and arrows. No tee signs. Some tees in poor shape. A couple of poor drainage areas.

Parking area very muddy.

Gets a good amount of play, so trash was a small problem.
Other Thoughts: If the course were better maintained, it would be a top end venue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hickory Run is lots of fun!

2-4    8/17/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: kgbadger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in the holes, uphill/downhill, fade left/fade right, open/wooded, etc.


Cons: Signage missing... hard to find the baskets, even when using the Park's map. The Bearclaws' map was dated as hole 10 has been moved into the middle area between roads.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course to play, once you have found all the baskets. Went back 3 times during a weeks vacation in the Poconos due to the challenge and fun that the course presented.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Stop

2-4    1/13/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 46  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful state park scenery on the way in
-Various styles of play: field, woods, hybrid, water, rocks, elevation
-Versatile course that can challenge better players but also won't discourage newer players
-Navigation signs were pretty good hole to hole
-A few ace chances
Cons: -Some of the holes such as 1, 2, 4, and 5 are somewhat clumped together, so be careful of errant throws
-Some tee areas were in tougher shape, however I played in January after snow melt, so maybe it isn't usually an issue.
-Not a ton of variety in the back 9
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course that makes use of a handful of different environments. Hole 1 starts out semi-wooded with a few narrow gaps to choose from to avoid a clump of small trees in the fairway--a nice wake up call to quickly tune your game for a technical round. Hole 2 bootlegs toward the right at the end requiring either a long anny RHBH/LHFH or a big fading RHFH/LHBH if you're trying to park it. Holes 3 and 4 were my favorite on the course and had a unique flavor compared to the rest of the course. Hole 3 begins with a tight woods tunnel that opens to more woods with a large creek flowing in front of the basket area--long and full of obstacles for a par 3. Hole 4 has a tight uphill tree tunnel that exits the woods, before requiring you to change your course almost 90 degrees to the right. This tough par 3 introduces the first real elevation component of the course, traveling uphill. Hole 5 resembles Hole 1 in that it's somewhat open with trees in the middle of the fairway, forcing you to choose your gap wisely. Hole 6 travels slightly downhill with a clump of bushes in the middle of the fairway that turns slightly right, a long RHBH soft anny does the trick. Hole 7 is chip and putt...very short, but a few trees that could steal your otherwise gimme birdie (or ace). Hole 8 is a short throw up a tall hill, but another birdie/ace opportunity. Hole 9 plays down the side of a hill in an open field, the best chance on the course to air one out.

So, the front 9 changed hole to hole drastically enough to give the above play by play, however, holes 10-15 all have a similar straight-forward "woods course" feel to them. That isn't to say they are all the same; actually, they do require different lines/throws, but visually, there isn't much to tell. Still in the woods, hole 16 takes a hard left and the log wall staring you in the face at the turn provides a nice landmark (or disc stopper). Hole 17 starts to open up a little bit, preparing for hole 18, which is somewhat narrow but traces a smooth left curve to the basket which brings you back to the lot. Overall, the front 9 IMHO were more memorable and undoubtedly felt like an entirely different course than the woodsy back 9.

I occasionally visit Scranton from Philadelphia, so I've made it a point to hit a new course along I-476 along the way. Especially for travelers passing through, this is worth the stop. By itself, maybe it is not a destination stop, but if you group it with a couple other courses in the area, it will prove to be worth your time.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good

2-4    12/10/2011   1/31/2012
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has many open holes with just a few trees and also many hole in the moderately wooded sections.
Cons: Prone to severe mudding depending on the time of year
Other Thoughts: Some of the fairways are pretty close making tournament play interesting.

There is a hole 3a and 3b instead of a hole 3. You can play either hole 3 or 3a&3b.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Elected 2nd Home

5+    12/10/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shots and good markings. This course recently underwent some changes in hole positions. 3 was turned into a couple of different optional throws through the woods and across a creek. Elevation changes are few and placed close together but once you're done with them, you will be happy you are. Back 9 plays through woods that can be a little dense in the late spring and summer, making the baskets a little difficult to see from the tees. All in all it is a great course because it is REALLY close to home, and a fun place to kill a day!
Cons: Open State Park Picnic/Swimming/Day Use area. In the summer this place is pretty crowded on any given day. Try playing hookie from work on a monday in the summer ... This will be the least likely day to tag a park user. There are mapping courses that run over the DG course in several spots but the Boy Scouts usually stay out of the way. careful of picnicing park guests on holes 1 through 5 and swimmers and walkers on 6 through 9.

Disappointed in the loss of the original 3rd hole ... that was a NICE bomber down a hill!! Bring back old 3 as an optional!!!
Other Thoughts: I love this course for the variety it provides in discs to use. It's not a hughe course but it is a very very nice cool fall course. The wind does come into play here as the season progresses and it sure does change the game on this course! I have thrown some of my BEST shots here recently.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.