White Haven, PA 
Hickory Run State Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #10 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Hickory Run State Park

1    10/21/2014   10/21/2014
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you play this course in it's current incarnation, take a picture of the map with your phone before you start. There is a message on the bulletin board that the course is being reconfigured.

- Hole 3 is beautiful.
- Arrow's pointing towards the next hole
- Baskets look to be in great shape.
- Some holes have alternate pin positions
Cons: - Most of the course passes threw picnic and playground area's.
- Some of the baskets are in the fairway of another hole
- You need to take a picture of the map or you'll never find some of the tee boxes
- Natural tee boxes that are very beat in and uneven.
- I never found the tee boxes for 8 and 16. Hole 8 didn't match up with the location posted on the map
- Baskets not clearly marked. You could be playing a basket for a different hole without knowing it.
Other Thoughts: I went to this course because it had pretty solid reviews. Granted, this course is under construction so I may come back once construction is completed. This review is based of what I played today.

I can't imagine playing this course on a weekend or weekday night when the weather is nice. You literally drive over picnic area's and next to playgrounds. Baskets next to picnic benches with grills near by. Some holes are marked others the markers are on the ground, I'm guessing because of the reconstruction. Even with looking at the map it was very hard to find some holes.

Some holes I couldn't find the basket, other holes you're not sure if you're playing your holes basket or another holes basket. Very confusing. A couple of holes the walk from the previous holes basket to the next tee box takes you through the fairway on another hole, so be aware.

Hole 3, once you locate the basket is a really nice hole, pretty much the only highlight of the course.

Natural tee boxes that are very beat in. If you go play here you may want to try tee'ing off on the side of the tee box if you can. If you do use the tee box, watch your footing, they are very uneven and there is a chance of rolling your ankle.

The rest of the course is typical from what I've played in the area. Tunnel shots, flick shots and lots of trees. The only hole which you could air it out, you're basically throwing in an open field about 350' to the basket. Not anything special.

Again, the message on the bulletin board is the course is under construction. So if you don't mind trying to figure out this course you could have a good time. I highly suggest going when the park is empty to reduce the chance of hitting someone. Enjoy hole 3, very challenging par 3 and fun.

I'll be back next spring and review to see if it has improved.


2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hickory Run

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed playing this course. The first 2 holes that are in the woods(holes 3 and 4?) were some of my favorites. Very scenic and a blast to play. I believe they were both par 4. There are a few scattered in the field with the baskets placed strategically to make shaping around trees a factor to keep it interesting. There is a mix of short and long holes, hyzer, anny and straight shots. Not a ton of elevation but it was nice to play a course where you needed a variety of everything off the tee. A few holes were short enough for a legit shot at an ace and others you could gun out a bomb. Course was very dry which is a huge plus. It's located in a beautiful campground and even has a few holes by a beach. I will soon be making plans to bring the family back so I can sneak out for a round or two.
Cons: I was surprised to find little elevation changes being located on a mountain. I think there was only 1 uphill hole. The navigation could be very difficult if you do not have someone that knows the layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: I wish I lived closer to this course. There is plenty to do near by with a boulder field, camping, fishing, hiking, and even a beach and bathrooms. FE Walters dam course is also close by and a fun course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course, well kept

1    5/17/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, nice mix of a flat, wooded park type area, and before you know it your deep in the woods with no one around, grass was cut low and signage wasnt too confusing, every first round takes a little help
Cons: Not much of anything, great course, nothing too memorable or crazy, just a bunch of average to cool holes
Other Thoughts: Id def go back

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Needs work, but great design.

5+    4/21/2014   4/4/2014
Review By: TMF2
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/23/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All sorts of shots can be played here. Does not cater much to one type of throwing style, though RHBH has a bit of an advantage.

Great mix of open, and varying degrees of narrow holes. Two challenging water holes. Hole design here is as good as any I have seen. Enough friendly holes to make it enjoyable to rec players, but a number of difficult holes to give the more skilled challenges.

Several memorable holes hard to pick a single signature hole.
Cons: Badly needs direction signs and arrows. No tee signs. Some tees in poor shape. A couple of poor drainage areas.

Parking area very muddy.

Gets a good amount of play, so trash was a small problem.
Other Thoughts: If the course were better maintained, it would be a top end venue.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hickory Run is lots of fun!

2-4    8/17/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: kgbadger
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in the holes, uphill/downhill, fade left/fade right, open/wooded, etc.


Cons: Signage missing... hard to find the baskets, even when using the Park's map. The Bearclaws' map was dated as hole 10 has been moved into the middle area between roads.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable course to play, once you have found all the baskets. Went back 3 times during a weeks vacation in the Poconos due to the challenge and fun that the course presented.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Stop

2-4    1/13/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 44  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful state park scenery on the way in
-Various styles of play: field, woods, hybrid, water, rocks, elevation
-Versatile course that can challenge better players but also won't discourage newer players
-Navigation signs were pretty good hole to hole
-A few ace chances
Cons: -Some of the holes such as 1, 2, 4, and 5 are somewhat clumped together, so be careful of errant throws
-Some tee areas were in tougher shape, however I played in January after snow melt, so maybe it isn't usually an issue.
-Not a ton of variety in the back 9
Other Thoughts: This is an interesting course that makes use of a handful of different environments. Hole 1 starts out semi-wooded with a few narrow gaps to choose from to avoid a clump of small trees in the fairway--a nice wake up call to quickly tune your game for a technical round. Hole 2 bootlegs toward the right at the end requiring either a long anny RHBH/LHFH or a big fading RHFH/LHBH if you're trying to park it. Holes 3 and 4 were my favorite on the course and had a unique flavor compared to the rest of the course. Hole 3 begins with a tight woods tunnel that opens to more woods with a large creek flowing in front of the basket area--long and full of obstacles for a par 3. Hole 4 has a tight uphill tree tunnel that exits the woods, before requiring you to change your course almost 90 degrees to the right. This tough par 3 introduces the first real elevation component of the course, traveling uphill. Hole 5 resembles Hole 1 in that it's somewhat open with trees in the middle of the fairway, forcing you to choose your gap wisely. Hole 6 travels slightly downhill with a clump of bushes in the middle of the fairway that turns slightly right, a long RHBH soft anny does the trick. Hole 7 is chip and putt...very short, but a few trees that could steal your otherwise gimme birdie (or ace). Hole 8 is a short throw up a tall hill, but another birdie/ace opportunity. Hole 9 plays down the side of a hill in an open field, the best chance on the course to air one out.

So, the front 9 changed hole to hole drastically enough to give the above play by play, however, holes 10-15 all have a similar straight-forward "woods course" feel to them. That isn't to say they are all the same; actually, they do require different lines/throws, but visually, there isn't much to tell. Still in the woods, hole 16 takes a hard left and the log wall staring you in the face at the turn provides a nice landmark (or disc stopper). Hole 17 starts to open up a little bit, preparing for hole 18, which is somewhat narrow but traces a smooth left curve to the basket which brings you back to the lot. Overall, the front 9 IMHO were more memorable and undoubtedly felt like an entirely different course than the woodsy back 9.

I occasionally visit Scranton from Philadelphia, so I've made it a point to hit a new course along I-476 along the way. Especially for travelers passing through, this is worth the stop. By itself, maybe it is not a destination stop, but if you group it with a couple other courses in the area, it will prove to be worth your time.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good

2-4    12/10/2011   1/31/2012
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has many open holes with just a few trees and also many hole in the moderately wooded sections.
Cons: Prone to severe mudding depending on the time of year
Other Thoughts: Some of the fairways are pretty close making tournament play interesting.

There is a hole 3a and 3b instead of a hole 3. You can play either hole 3 or 3a&3b.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Elected 2nd Home

5+    12/10/2011   12/17/2011
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice shots and good markings. This course recently underwent some changes in hole positions. 3 was turned into a couple of different optional throws through the woods and across a creek. Elevation changes are few and placed close together but once you're done with them, you will be happy you are. Back 9 plays through woods that can be a little dense in the late spring and summer, making the baskets a little difficult to see from the tees. All in all it is a great course because it is REALLY close to home, and a fun place to kill a day!
Cons: Open State Park Picnic/Swimming/Day Use area. In the summer this place is pretty crowded on any given day. Try playing hookie from work on a monday in the summer ... This will be the least likely day to tag a park user. There are mapping courses that run over the DG course in several spots but the Boy Scouts usually stay out of the way. careful of picnicing park guests on holes 1 through 5 and swimmers and walkers on 6 through 9.

Disappointed in the loss of the original 3rd hole ... that was a NICE bomber down a hill!! Bring back old 3 as an optional!!!
Other Thoughts: I love this course for the variety it provides in discs to use. It's not a hughe course but it is a very very nice cool fall course. The wind does come into play here as the season progresses and it sure does change the game on this course! I have thrown some of my BEST shots here recently.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 For the disc golfing gypsies

2-4    10/23/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: seano2222
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: NEW SEMI-PERMANENT SIGNAGE - Previous reviews had noted navigation issues for first timers. Upon my first and only visit, I was pleased to find that white painted plywood arrows had been cleverly hung from the bottoms of the baskets, clocked such that they pointed precisely to the next tee box. Absolutely no trouble navigating to the next tee, great addition. The front nine is open, grassy and well groomed which always makes the obstacles seem less daunting and makes for a more chill round. I hit my share of trees on the front though, but never had to hunt more than a second for any disc. The back is almost entirely wooded, but with little underbrush to contend with. As you would expect on a fall day lots of leaves for discs to skid under. The little bit of give the more open front had, the back takes away with frequent need for precision and route selection. The entire park is wooded with a lot of old growth which I imagine would keep the wind in check pretty well on blustery days.
Cons: I'll speculate that the State Park didn't give the course designers free reign and a chainsaw crew when putting it in. It struck me that it was for the most part woven into the existing fabric of a well established recreational area - Hence, they did the best they could have with some of the holes and were left with some awkward obstacles and uninteresting distance management. The holes were all quite fun, but they often lacked for 'Wow' factor.

Interaction: Having played on a relatively quiet, late fall day, I can't imagine trying to play the front nine on a well attended day. For how empty the huge parking lot was this day, I more than occasionally had to wait for picnickers and kids playing to be safely out of the way, as well as having to take very conservative shots around occupied picnic tables. I'm sure the locals have become accustomed to this interaction, but I found it very unsettling for a first timer. If you are touring courses as I was, please pick a slow time, like a weekday morning possibly, for this one.
Other Thoughts: The course only has maybe +/- 10 ft of elevation change throughout. I only noticed this because I was really enjoying how much elevation plays into this region's other courses, not like home.

I went to this course in particular because I thought with all the disc courses in the area, plus things like Dorney park, this might be a great place to take the family camping for a week, with a course right on premise. The Park is great, good looking camping area and the facilities look clean and modern. The only hitch in the plan for us might be that it's a bit far to get to say the courses and other activities in Allentown area, a little less than an hour.

As nice as this is for a state park, it is not as picturesque of a disc course as other reviews made it seem. Being primarily wooded, there are no dramatic views. The 8th hole tee box is on a lake which is a small impoundment with trucked in sand for a beach, very nice park feature, but not a grand spectacle as far as courses go.

Folks from this area probably don't think much about it, but I was sure appreciative of having so many public park courses that play for free and come with ammenities. Back home all the courses are pay courses and the good ones might have a porta-john.

At time of this review, a few of the natural tee boxes were worn to the point of risking ankle injury - Ready for refilling and packing. They were large enough though to allow you to back it up five feet and still take a run-up though.

#5 gets Most Memorable notation from me - Long open fairway with a straight line of evenly spaced trees right across the fairway, out around 120 feet, that need to be fired through.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Life's a beach, then you drive!

5+    10/6/2013   9/16/2011
Review By: Gerry
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/8/2013
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes, open, semi-open, wooded. Some creative design. Hickory Run is fun and challenging. It will not discourage developing players (for the most part) and has tests for skilled.

A variety of shots is needed.

Hole 18 finishes right back where you started.

Tables and/or benches near many of the tees.
Restrooms nearby.

Number 8 tee is right on the beach! Nice touch!
Cons: Needs a good deal maintenance; many tees are uneven and drain poorly. Badly needs tee signs and arrows. It is the poor state of upkeep that keeps HR from getting much better reviews.

Some of the picker bushes need trimming.
Other Thoughts: A favorite of mine, Hickory Run has great potential. HR is just a few improvements from being a great track. Top of the list are the tee boxes.

There are tougher courses, there are easier courses, but this course succeeds where many so called "top" courses fail.......it has challenges for most levels of players, without leaving out enough fun holes for Rec and Am2 players.

Starts you off with 2 medium/short holes with trees that you have to go around, under or through. Number 3b ( a redesign created 2 "third" holes) is my favorite hole, even though it eats me alive. A tight tee shot, over a stream to a semi open fairway and a nicely tucked away basket. When using the "tournament" loactions for the baskets, holes 3a, through 5 can be a tough stretch indeed! 6 is a challenge too, an elevated tee that plays slightly downhill. A neat looking hole from the box. 7 and 8 are shorter, but have baskets that are not easy to get at. Putting on 8 can be tricky when the wind is blowing.

The front nine is more open than the back, but only number nine is free from obstacles. This is more than made up for by the wind which always seem to blowing pretty stiff from this, the highest point on the course.

A glance at the scorecard might lead you to believe that the back nine might be easier. Maybe a little, but the alleys are narrow, some very narrow. It is hard to find your way to the baskets. Still, good play is rewarded and a little imagination (and luck) can get you back into play when the trees turn against you.


0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.