White Haven, PA 
Hickory Run State Park Share
Uploaded By: jcavanaugh Hole #7
3 / 180ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/18/2010   1/19/2010
Review By: dmach
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this is a really beautiful park. the front nine are for the most part, pretty open with some scattered trees (aside from 3a and 3b which are in the woods behind #2 basket). and then the back nine is all wooded with straight paths, and left turn paths. pretty tricky, some of them are. a lot of times, there are other friendly DGers, like myself, that would help you around the course if it was your first time there, and not so familiar...
Cons: the tee boxes get really messy when the weather isnt so nice, they really need to be maintained a little bettter, (which i would be willing to help do myself)...i was just there yesterday and most of them were full of slush and ice. and it really isnt mapped out all that understandable either ( which for me isnt an issue, since ive been playing this coures a few times a week for two years now, but i can see how some others would get lost), but they have maps/score cards at the park ranger station. but for now, there are directions spray painted on the ground from the last tournament. and like other reviewers said, in the summer, you get a lot of tourists who dont even know what D G is and some just stand in the way and play with the chains on the basket....ive already had tourists pick up my disc and start to walk away with it!! some of my friends even had theirs re-thrown!! but for the most part, the people just need a little explaining of whats going on here.
Other Thoughts: i love this course and consider in my home field. i learned how to play on this course, and will never get tired of it. i just played my last game there yesterday, and i tied my best score with a +1!! there are a lot of holes that birdie-able, and also a few long shots. #'s 8 and 9 are on the top of a hill/field and the wind really makes for some interesting throws on certain days, but that just makes it a little more challenging. if you are planning on being around the area, definitely stop and play this course, you wont be disappointed.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses

2-4    6/20/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2010
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is divided into two distinct halves that play completely differently. The front half of the course is a fairly open park style course with nice scattered mature trees and grassy fairways. The back half is shorter and more technical with very tight wooded fairways and punishing rough to catch errant shots.

There is a little bit of elevation on the course, with a few holes that play up or down the bluff along the lake. The more open holes bring wind into play, and only one of the holes is completely open.

Between the two halves of the course, you'll need lots of different kinds of controlled shots. The first half of the course calls for shot placement, while the wooded back half will test your line shaping and accuracy. There is an ok mix of holes that favor left/right turning shots and ones that favor a straight shot, with a pretty good balance throughout the course.

The park is beautiful, and a great setting for a round of disc golf. The space available was used well to keep most of the holes separate without too many long walks.
Cons: The tees are not the best. They are gravel or dirt, and few were well-leveled either time I played. They weren't the best surface for any kind of real run-up, luckily there aren't a whole lot of distance shots on this course.

There isn't a whole lot of distance here, and the first half of the course just really isn't all that challenging. The back half is much more challenging, but every hole presents basically variations of the same challenge and it feels a bit repetitive.

The navigation isn't bad, but there are a few spots where better signage would be really useful. The tees could also use better signs, what was there wasn't very informative or helpful. When I played in the summer, the first half of the course had lots and lots of picnickers, which made for a slower and more stressful round, though this wasn't an issue in the winter.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun older course that still has quite a bit going for it. I enjoy the two totally different sections of the course, and they offer totally different challenges. Newer players will enjoy the more open front half, while more experienced players will find themselves more tested on the back half.

If you are anywhere in the area, this course is definitely worth a stop. There may not be huge distance holes or a ton of variety, but this course is just plain fun to play as long as you avoid heavy picnic days. I enjoyed this course playing in the summer or the winter, and the course played totally differently in the different seasons.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of stuff to do here besides DG!

1    11/15/2009   11/15/2009
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First of all, I would like to mention how pretty this course is. Even on a very dreary November afternoon, it's very scenic with the lake, fields, and tree placements.

The course is pretty easy to find from the entrance to the State Park. Dog legs and mandos make what would be ordinary holes a little more exciting. Bathrooms and picnic tables are great amenities for the course. In addition, maps and scorecards provided make navigating the course easier. I also like the stone wall on hole 14. All in all, I would consider this a great beginner course for those interested in starting disc golf.
Cons: The course can get pretty crowded -- even in late fall. The tees and signage appears pretty weathered and worn-down. This is surprising considering that most PA State Park DG courses are usually immaculate.

While the back and front nines are significantly different, the holes within them are pretty redundant. Lots of openness on 1-9 and a ton of trees on 10-18. Not much in between.
Other Thoughts: If you can handle 36 glorious holes of disc golf, I recommend visiting the nearby Francis E. Walter Dam course before or after this one. It completes a great Poconos experience!

Also, Hickory Run is known for its glacial till all over the park. While the famous boulder field is the most central location for scores of rocks and boulders, there are quite a number of rocks on the back nine. In other words, watch your step!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Hometown Course

5+    10/12/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: Fireal
Played: 41  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I'll start by saying I've been coming to dgcoursereview for years, and it is a great site. This however, is my first review, even though I've played almost 20 courses. I felt as though I had to post a review after reading people like "Bramanws" giving the course a rating of 1 out of 5. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but that is simply misleading.

This course is incredible, it is very well maintained, and offers a variety of types of shots. The front nine is mainly open, with some great tree placement to keep things tricky, and the back nine is a tree-fest.
Cons: In the summertime you tend to get people in your way, but that is only on the first few holes, where they are usually sitting near the picnic tables.
Other Thoughts: I am really lucky to have such an awesome course only about 20 minutes from my home. Frances Walter Dam is only about 15 minutes from Hickory Run, and if you are in the area, that course is a must play as well.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: leopardchucker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course. Open on front nine with some nicely placed bushes and trees. Wooded on the back nine. Hole 3a and 3b are worth the drive for me by themselves! Great variety of shots needed to get around the course. Something for every discgolfer here... the park has some great scenery and a nice lake as well.
Cons: Tee boxes were mudddy in spots (we have had a lot of rain). Concrete tee pads would make this a 4.0 or 4.5 easily. Could use some arrows to next tee.
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes could be longer. I am relatively new to disc golf and made several pars easily. Bring inesct repellant for the back nine.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Summer Soltstice

2-4    6/18/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I played here for the Summer Soltstice 09 and well it wasn't the best of weather. I'll try and write this review remembering the dry times. First two holes are fairly long but definately aceable with a nice line. Hole 3A is the hole that will give you nightmares or make you feel like a DG god. It's a long skinny fairway straight then doglegs off hard left. The pin is located across the stream and guarded heavily by trees. a SPOTTER is helpful off drive. Pros were taking Fives on this hole. Hole 3B, which plays to the 4 pin, is also a unique hole. It has the same stream from 3A in play but it's 30 ft infront of the tee pad. Some trees are present so focus on not hitting them. after the creek and tree it opens up a bit and the pin is located off to the left behind some trees and bushes. Other than these holes nothing really stands out. A lot of par threes and technical wooded holes. One field hole but it plays relatively short being it is at the bottom of a hill you throw down.
Cons: Short holes, only one true open hole. I played one day and it was littered with people oblivious to the dangers of high speed plastic soring through the air. On hole ten we had a picnic table with a family just off to the left and another one just off to the right.
Other Thoughts: Course leaves you ready for more. The terrain is mildly hilly but the hole lengths are pretty short. Sorry if the review is lacking...I wrote an indepth one but it sent me to sign in page and then deleted my hard work.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very Disappointed

2-4    12/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Bramanws187
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The course was an okay wooded course for our area in the northeast, near Honesdale, it is a nice alternative to Prompton State Park because that course is a big arm course. Besides that there isn't anything else good.
Cons: I would say it is not worth driving more than 30 minutes to this course. If you are traveling from the South just go to Allentown/Bethlehem area because the courses there are much better.The front nine is open with some trees in the way and there isn't any hole over 500 feet on the entire course. Also a couple of the holes are really too short. The back nine was wooded but didn't really have many challenging holes on it at all. There were way too many holes that were too easy to 2. By far the worst thing about this course were the gravel tees. This course would be slightly better and I probably would travel back again if it didn't have gravel tees. They really take away a lot form the course.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course to anybody unless they lived close by and were beginners.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Fun

2-4    6/11/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes with 1 refreshing open hole, 6 tighter woods holes and 11 more open but still interesting holes. It is a more traditional disc golf course utilizing lanes and options than FEW DAM course 15 minutes away. The course is well maintained, the Bearclaws Discgolf Club seems to be active up here. I really enjoyed the short uphill shot from the beach to the top of the hill. After that I really enjoyed that big open blast across the field to a wide open green. Back half of course is very tight and wooded, challenging but not impossible. There are multiple tees. Moderate elevation. A good way to spend a day if your in the Pocono region.One hole has a nice elevated tee that shoots across to a basket below...that was one I could play all day.Water fountains available on the course for the front nine. Finishing hole is a fun hyzer around many old growth high canopy trees. Stone wall is cool. Good mix of lefty/righty holes. The lake makes for a nice view from teepad #8.
Cons: For first timers layout can be confusing, and attempt to mingle disc golf with a huge picnic area spells some trouble. No water comes into play despite a huge lake nearby. It's mostly flat despite being in the mountains.
Other Thoughts: This is the best option for Disc Golf in the Pocono Region. It has all types of shots. There is a huge boulder field deep in the woods a short drive from here. Pack your drinks and lunch, it's really out in the woods pretty deep. I think this course would be a blast to play in the fall/winter. I am sure the picnicers would be gone, the views of the lake would open up and the back nine would be less foliage and thus lanes easier to see/negotiate.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!

1    10/15/2007   9/15/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of different holes (straight, left, right, open, wooded). Front 9 is mostly open, grassy, with trees scattered nicely. Back 9 is mostly wooded and fun. Great course design. Mostly flat with slight elevation changes. This course is fun to play for beginners and advanced players alike. Nice scenery and peaceful setting for disc golf.
Cons: Got a bit lost a couple of times on the front 9. The course desperately needs "Next Tee" signs and better mapping. A few times I shot at the wrong basket.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during the Fall months on a weekday and basically had the whole course to myself. I'm sure Summer months may be a bit crowded because of the swimming lake & picnic tables. I highly recommend this course. It was a lot of fun to play and whoever designed this course surely knew what they were doing!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful

2-4    8/10/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: chriswhitey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Nice landscaping, beautiful grass, trees and shrubs throughout the front nine. Wooded back nine adds variety. Tee boxes are just the way I like them, long and flat.
Cons: Poorly marked baskets, no signs on pole to tell you direction to next basket either. Map is not alot of help as it is not drawn to perfect scale. Very confusing the first time I played even with a map. On a few holes picknickers were in the way and didn't exactly hurry to get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: If this course had visible markes both on the baskets and on the tee pads , as well as an arrow on each basket pointing to the next tee box this would easily have been a 4.5 for me. I absolutely love the course, it is very appealing ot the eye, baskets are in great shape, and it seems everywhere you look its just beautiful. I had such a good time the other day I played the last 12 baskets in a thunderstorm. I love this course, my favorite in NEPA. Can someone PLEASE mark the baskets better!!!!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.