White Haven, PA 
Hickory Run State Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #18 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Summer Soltstice

2-4    6/18/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: Grip N Rip
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2010
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I played here for the Summer Soltstice 09 and well it wasn't the best of weather. I'll try and write this review remembering the dry times. First two holes are fairly long but definately aceable with a nice line. Hole 3A is the hole that will give you nightmares or make you feel like a DG god. It's a long skinny fairway straight then doglegs off hard left. The pin is located across the stream and guarded heavily by trees. a SPOTTER is helpful off drive. Pros were taking Fives on this hole. Hole 3B, which plays to the 4 pin, is also a unique hole. It has the same stream from 3A in play but it's 30 ft infront of the tee pad. Some trees are present so focus on not hitting them. after the creek and tree it opens up a bit and the pin is located off to the left behind some trees and bushes. Other than these holes nothing really stands out. A lot of par threes and technical wooded holes. One field hole but it plays relatively short being it is at the bottom of a hill you throw down.
Cons: Short holes, only one true open hole. I played one day and it was littered with people oblivious to the dangers of high speed plastic soring through the air. On hole ten we had a picnic table with a family just off to the left and another one just off to the right.
Other Thoughts: Course leaves you ready for more. The terrain is mildly hilly but the hole lengths are pretty short. Sorry if the review is lacking...I wrote an indepth one but it sent me to sign in page and then deleted my hard work.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very Disappointed

2-4    12/10/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: Bramanws187
Played: 46  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 12/17/2009
2 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The course was an okay wooded course for our area in the northeast, near Honesdale, it is a nice alternative to Prompton State Park because that course is a big arm course. Besides that there isn't anything else good.
Cons: I would say it is not worth driving more than 30 minutes to this course. If you are traveling from the South just go to Allentown/Bethlehem area because the courses there are much better.The front nine is open with some trees in the way and there isn't any hole over 500 feet on the entire course. Also a couple of the holes are really too short. The back nine was wooded but didn't really have many challenging holes on it at all. There were way too many holes that were too easy to 2. By far the worst thing about this course were the gravel tees. This course would be slightly better and I probably would travel back again if it didn't have gravel tees. They really take away a lot form the course.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course to anybody unless they lived close by and were beginners.

2 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Fun

2-4    6/11/2009   1/16/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes with 1 refreshing open hole, 6 tighter woods holes and 11 more open but still interesting holes. It is a more traditional disc golf course utilizing lanes and options than FEW DAM course 15 minutes away. The course is well maintained, the Bearclaws Discgolf Club seems to be active up here. I really enjoyed the short uphill shot from the beach to the top of the hill. After that I really enjoyed that big open blast across the field to a wide open green. Back half of course is very tight and wooded, challenging but not impossible. There are multiple tees. Moderate elevation. A good way to spend a day if your in the Pocono region.One hole has a nice elevated tee that shoots across to a basket below...that was one I could play all day.Water fountains available on the course for the front nine. Finishing hole is a fun hyzer around many old growth high canopy trees. Stone wall is cool. Good mix of lefty/righty holes. The lake makes for a nice view from teepad #8.
Cons: For first timers layout can be confusing, and attempt to mingle disc golf with a huge picnic area spells some trouble. No water comes into play despite a huge lake nearby. It's mostly flat despite being in the mountains.
Other Thoughts: This is the best option for Disc Golf in the Pocono Region. It has all types of shots. There is a huge boulder field deep in the woods a short drive from here. Pack your drinks and lunch, it's really out in the woods pretty deep. I think this course would be a blast to play in the fall/winter. I am sure the picnicers would be gone, the views of the lake would open up and the back nine would be less foliage and thus lanes easier to see/negotiate.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course!

1    10/15/2007   9/15/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 17.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of different holes (straight, left, right, open, wooded). Front 9 is mostly open, grassy, with trees scattered nicely. Back 9 is mostly wooded and fun. Great course design. Mostly flat with slight elevation changes. This course is fun to play for beginners and advanced players alike. Nice scenery and peaceful setting for disc golf.
Cons: Got a bit lost a couple of times on the front 9. The course desperately needs "Next Tee" signs and better mapping. A few times I shot at the wrong basket.
Other Thoughts: I played this course during the Fall months on a weekday and basically had the whole course to myself. I'm sure Summer months may be a bit crowded because of the swimming lake & picnic tables. I highly recommend this course. It was a lot of fun to play and whoever designed this course surely knew what they were doing!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/10/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: chriswhitey
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery. Nice landscaping, beautiful grass, trees and shrubs throughout the front nine. Wooded back nine adds variety. Tee boxes are just the way I like them, long and flat.
Cons: Poorly marked baskets, no signs on pole to tell you direction to next basket either. Map is not alot of help as it is not drawn to perfect scale. Very confusing the first time I played even with a map. On a few holes picknickers were in the way and didn't exactly hurry to get out of the way.
Other Thoughts: If this course had visible markes both on the baskets and on the tee pads , as well as an arrow on each basket pointing to the next tee box this would easily have been a 4.5 for me. I absolutely love the course, it is very appealing ot the eye, baskets are in great shape, and it seems everywhere you look its just beautiful. I had such a good time the other day I played the last 12 baskets in a thunderstorm. I love this course, my favorite in NEPA. Can someone PLEASE mark the baskets better!!!!!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Classic wooded course

6/21/2008   7/10/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well worn-in and maintained, with groomed fairways in the open and little underbrush in the woods. Newish 3a and 3b holes present an upgraded challenge with some extra length. Back 9 is tight but fair; front 9 (or 10 i guess) is more open but still requires strategy and accuracy. Nice beach to jump into the water when you're done.
Cons: Lots of foot traffic from joggers and picnickers. Only 1 or 2 alternate tees and one alternate pin, so repeat customers lose that variety.
Other Thoughts: Take the time to scout out the holes. Hole 1 looks like a jumble of trees, for example, but there are actually about 3 viable paths to the pin. The entire course is full of holes that will make you think like that, and it's a real pleasure.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

6/27/2008   6/27/2008
Review By: jcavanaugh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course all around about 1/2 being open fairways and the others being wooded. Next to no underbrush making finding discs easy
Cons: Summer months park is packed with visitors that love to picnic and grill around some of the tee boxes and middle of some fairways. (Most a problem on the weekends)

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/7/2008   2/7/2008
Review By: 21111
Played: 88  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2011
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: offers a lot of shot diversity, well maintained, fun to play

summer time the picnic tables/area gets more traffic but is not really an issue unless you try playing on labor day or fourth of July.
Other Thoughts: after hole 2, walk left and back through the path to unveil hole 3a; it's a dog left over a creek. There are a few pin locations to challenge the very best. follow the creek down stream to the tee of 3b out of the shoot to the #3 basket. two of the best holes on the course.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.


9/21/2007   9/25/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 294  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Simple, short course. A few dog legs to keep things interesting. Best holes occur once you get to #8/9 by lake for a bit of elevation and continue out of the picnic area. I love that stone wall on 14(?)
Cons: Near lake so there were lots and lots of bugs. The first few holes don't cross over eachother but logical landing areas from one hole will interfere with play on another. I was also expecting this course to be much better based on reviews on this site. Even with map it was hard to match up tees to pins. Still fun though.
Other Thoughts: First 6 holes are very open and dangerously close to picnic tables.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hickory Run

9/1/2007   9/9/2007
Review By: maf763
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is in good shape, has a nice variety of holes.
Cons: Relatively short. Sometimes the picnic tables are in use so errant throws can bonk bystanders in the head.
Other Thoughts: Front nine is pretty open while the back nine is wooded and requires real accuracy. There's an extra hole over a creek and an alternate hole after the 2nd.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.