Fredericksburg, VA
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #16 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course

2-4    7/2/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent use of natural land scape - There are holes that have you shooting over ravines, under fallen tree, around waterfalls.

Fredericksburg area is home to many great courses - If you've got the time, I recommend you hit up Loriella park in Spotsylvania, just a couple miles away from Pratt

Course makes excellent use of different throwing styles - Really brings out the strategic element of DG.

Scenery is beautiful

Course traffic seems to be not an issue

You'll get to use a lot of muscle, and at the same time many holes are tight lines that reward precision and control - course really rewards perfect shots

Holes are well designed - With each hole you can see which kind of shots the designer had in mind as there are some clear windows and some sweet risk/reward scenarios.

Holes get progressively more challenging and interesting - The back nine are all amazing, and hole 18 is one of the coolest holes I've ever played
Cons:
It's very easy to skip holes without noticing and some of them aren't numbered. There is nothing guiding you to the next tee but little white bands on trees, which only serve to confuse you as the course criss-crosses like 5 times.

Also on many holes, the rough is very thick and unforgiving, and you will often find yourself with an impossible shot or a lost disc - on hole one, if your disc so much as touches the edge of the rough DO NOT take your eyes off it.

A couple of the field holes shoot over one or more parts of the running trail which is always in heavy use. People usually know whats up though and take care not to get hit

The first couple holes are a little boring and can be quite frustrating - The fairways may be wide, but the rough is REALLY rough and if a shot turns over on you you'll be disc hunting for a while.

Most holes lack tee signs
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played here was the first time I had ever played DG, and me and my buddies got SO lost on numerous occasions in between holes 12 and 15, and ended up trekking trough the mostly dry creek for about an hour before we realized we had accidentally walked out of the park hahaha.

Also, it says on this site that water comes into play on 6 holes, but don't worry, you won't be losing any discs to the water, its just a little creek thats only a few ft deep.

All in all, this course is gonna take you a while to get through, but It's a good experience and as far as the actual holes go, they have everything I look for in a course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Scene

2-4    4/26/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Use of the Creek. Wow… what a DG world it would be if every course could play around, across, and through a creek like this one. There are some fantastic pin placements that take full advantage of the water (although, it is played as casual).
- Pin Placement. A few of the pin placements on this course are Awesome!!! Hole 9 and 10 have baskets perched on the edge of extremely steep drop offs. Missing 9 long or 10 left is NOT an option. All of the creek holes have exceptional pin placement (if only the water was considered OB).
- Fantastic Shots. Overall, the use of the creek and pin placements really makes for some fantastic shots. There are a few holes on this course that you could put on any course anywhere and be more than satisfied. Holes 3, 4, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17 come to mind, with 12, 14, and 16 being really great. And, most of the other shots were really decent too.
Cons:
-Dangerous Crossings. There are two locations on the course that are somewhat sketchy… however, these areas are also the best holes on the course; so??? Hole 16, a gem of a hole, throws directly over 12's basket… then, to get to your disc, you have to walk right past 12's basket which has a blind approach shot. Keep your eyes open! Also… watch your head when coming out of 18; as you pop right up onto 10's basket (also partially blind). And as Prerube indicated the walking path on 9 and 10 do come into play… however, being from Los Angeles, I'm used to other park users being around; so???
- Lack of Tee-Pad Amenities. The tee pads were natural, with carpet… and although they were in good condition, nothing beats nice concrete tees. There were also no Tee-signs. You didn't really need them to play the holes, but it's nice to know a holes distance, or that there is a HUGE drop off 12' behind the basket… or, dare I say, what the Holes Par is? (I know, they're all 3's).
Other Thoughts:
- VA States. Pratt is home to one of the most respected Overall Frisbee tournaments in the world: the Virginia States. What a fantastic event. If you play "Frisbee" as well as DG, you have to go to the VA States and test your overall Frisbee skills against the best. Freestyle, Accuracy, Distance, DDC, MTA and Golf… with several former world champions in each event.
- History. Besides the Frisbee battle field that is the VA States, this ground was the location of a famous Civil War battle. As you play the course, you can't help but imagine the battle that played out across and through the ravine that you are playing across and through… the enemy aiming down on you from above and thinking where you would have taken cover… I know I did. I kept waiting for my disc to land next to a rusty musket ball… how cool would that be?
- Note: I played here during a tournament, so navigation was a non-issue. However, I could see it being difficult if you were by yourself, for the first time, without a map.
- My Score: -2

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 pratt park

1    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: holes 1-9 were easy access, very scenic and had alot of ace runs, had a homey feeling to it, it was better than normal
Cons: back 9 holes the layout was crazy and required hopping up and down a creek that just kept going. muddy and not well mantainded, if you aren't good at steep stairs and walking or have knee problems dont play this course, not that great of a layout
Other Thoughts: great course except some parts

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hiden Gem in the Area

5+    2/11/2011   8/17/2009
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 pretty challenging holes from wide open to somewhat tight wood holes. Shooting par 54 for intermediate to low advanced player is a good round. One hole could be called a par 4. Several birdie chances but several holes par 3 is a good score. This is a course that is a work in progress and only keeps getting better. Lot of locals are spending a lot of time to making this course even better then what it is. Many great things to come in the near future check it out.
Cons: I don't really have any cons to share. I can play this course 5 days a week and only come across a handful of people using the walking paths. Picnic areas I have never seen anyone use. Maybesome random kids will stop by and sit once in a while

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back To Pratt

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic Old Virginia Course!!!
-Tight, wooded fairways so accuracy and a little arm is needed throughout.
-Beautiful creek scramble on back 9. Creek usually not too high depending on rain fall but water can and does come into play.
-Course favors Left-handers (Righties bring that old flippy plastic.)
-Love the old Mach IIs
-Nice plaque to Dave Griffin on tree at pin for 13. We Miss You Big Daddy!!!!
Cons: -Can be tricky to follow course layout & flow. This has been improved with recent TLC. Just keep you eye open for the white tape.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. Especially in the creek during Summer afternoons. Camps take their kids there to play & hangout.
-Some hole similarity may give you deja vu
Other Thoughts: The last time I played Pratt Park they only used pole holes for Virginia States. We played it as an object course often during those years. 10+ so it was nice to play it with baskets and I love the old Mach IIs. Nice solid targets. Playing this course took me back to those mid 90s Virginia State Championships. If you have never participated in a Virginia States put it on that bucket list. Go Lazos!!!
I've gotten back to Pratt a little more often of late and am excited to see some love being given to the old girl. The new Hole 14 is a great improvement over the old one and is more "Pratt Like". Lots of work has and is being done to improve this course. Because of that, I felt I needed to bump my rating up a point for my old friend. Great job and thanks to the folks of Spotys DG!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.