Fredericksburg, VA 
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #10 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 438ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10: 30' drop off behind basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Awesome use of landscape!

1    2/26/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Tough and technical
-Unique holes
-carpet tee pads
-Holes 12-18 are some of the most creative, challenging, and beautiful that i have yet to play.
Cons: -No signs explain the par and the direction of the next hole
-hole 18 ends about a quarter mile from the car
Other Thoughts: Drove an hour and a half to check this place out and i was not disappointed. Really loved the back 9 with its hills, streams, waterfalls, and valley shots. Definitely wish it was closer to where i reside. Very impressed to say the least.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Prepare for an Ass Kickin'

5+    4/24/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 28.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has changed since the last review. Mostly wooded holes and a few open holes. The front 9 is pretty straight forward. Open elevated tee that leads in to 7 straight wooded (some very tight) holes with a few doglegs and elevation changes. Ending with an open hole on 9 except the 30' drop just a few feet behind the basket.
The back 9 is where it gets fun. 10 is a long walk from 9 but is open and like 9 has a sharp drop-off just behind the basket. 11 is a straight shot down a tight tree alley. 12 is a long sloping downhill to the bottom of a ravine with a small stream just behind the basket. 13 is a walk through the woods up the hill to a straight shot across the ravine. You have to take a steep set of stairs to get to the bottom and cross the stream. 14 is a wooded hole along the bottom of the gully with the stream along the right that has cut a drop 5'-10' drop-off, The basket is located just across the stream in the bottom of the ravine. To get to 15 you have to climb the stairs to get back up to the top. 15 is a fairly straight shot through the woods. 16 is an elevated tee with the basket at the bottom of the ravine on an island that has the stream on 3 sides. To get down there either take the steep goat path or walk the long way that took you to 13. 17 is another straight shot down the ravine with the stream and fallen logs in play. 18 is the same except the basket location at the end of the ravine where the streams starts makes a bowl with the placement to the right and out of sight until you are right on top of it. To finish the round a steep set of steps to get out of the ravine.
Cons: The front 9 can be followed without much problem but the back 9 is almost impossible to find on your own if it's your first visit. If your as old as me the climbing up & down steep steps can put a hurting on your knees & ankles. Some of the stream crossings are just logs dropped across and aren't the safest around. (especially if you have a touch of vertigo, but I made it) Keep an eye on your discs and trow bright colors when possible. It's not hard to lose one on the back 9. Don't play this course after a hard rain if you don't want muddy or wet feet.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential if the back 9 can be improved as far as safer barrier crossings. It's not a problem for the youngsters but if your old and creaky like me it sure can beat you up.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 awesome back 9

1    5/16/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pratt Park is located in a nice area in Fredericksburg - it's quite close to civilization but for most of the course you wouldn't be able to tell. The course is pretty well varied, with mostly wooded holes. The first half of the course is almost entirely tight wooded holes. There are 2 open holes in the middle, followed by more interesting wooded holes on the back end. The back 9 features some interesting changes in elevation - my personal favorite hole was #13, which plays from the top of a steep hill over a small valley. #12 is a nice, and long, blind downhill shot. The last few holes wrap around a creek, and #18 ends by a waterfall. There really are some wonderful views here.
Cons: My biggest problem with this course was navigation. Most baskets are not visible from the tees, so I had to walk the length of most of the holes before playing them in order to know where I was throwing. Having to walk each hole twice made the round take quite some time. Also, finding the next tee was often quite hard - this course could really benefit from some signage indicating the hole layouts and the location of the next tee.

You will not be able to get a quick round in at this course. After playing there once navigation won't be a problem, but the varied terrain, the occasional long distance between holes, and the fact that the basket for 18 is a long walk from the parking lot all combine for a lengthy round.

#14 is a hole that I might just skip next time. The tee is at the bottom of a steep hill, requiring a tomahawk up and over the hill. I thought that I could easily do this, but proved myself wrong and landed halfway up the VERY steep hill. Getting my disc was not fun... there are many places throughout this course where getting to your disc can be miserable.
Other Thoughts: Pratt Park is a good place to play. There are chances to use every disc in the bag here, and there are some great views. I would recommend printing a map, because there were none available on site and you will need one. Be ready for a lot of walking and a longer-than-usual round of play.

All things considered, I would rather play Loriella over Pratt. The scenery is nicer at Pratt, and a few of the holes are pretty remarkable, but overall Loriella provides a more satisfying round. I recommend checking out Pratt, but only if you don't mind a hike and aren't in a hurry.

UPDATE: Since my initial review I have returned to this course several times, and it looks like lots of work has been going into it lately. There is bright green ribbon marking the baskets, and on most holes there is a band around a tree marking the direction to throw in. There are now white markers on trees indicating the way to the next hole, as well. All of these improvements make navigating this course MUCH easier.

Many of the tees now have mats as well, which is great (except on #4, which has lots of mulch under the mat and isn't very smooth). There are also white tee markers at every tee.

I no longer prefer Loriella over Pratt park. Each course is great and unique - Loriella has more open holes and longer drives, but I think that the holes at Pratt (particularly the back 9) are much more creative.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Fun Course

1    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: chapner
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some absolute beautiful pin locations the 18th hole with a bend to the left down to a waterfall was really something to see.
Cons: My only gripe has to be the lack of direction, most holes are easy to find however, one hole where you shoot up hill by 3 power line poles has a large mass of thorn bushes that serve nothing else than to steal your disk
Other Thoughts: Great course bathrooms available clean and enjoyable. Be prepared for thorns climbing and getting wet in the creek

Make sure to print out a map before going there were no maps in the box when I arrived

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt has changed

5+    1/29/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: discgolfne1
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean fairways, bathrooms on both sides, variety of shots needed, parking for front or back holes, well marked tee pads.
Cons: On some of the back 9 holes you must walk carefully. Some tee pads (natural) can be tricky.
Other Thoughts: I read the other reviews and decided to do something about it. I don't think it deserved 0 stars from 1 reviewer (Giles? you must be kidding... bring extra blood and discs with you) Anyway as of 10/1/08 it has gone through a complete transformation, and is going to get even better. The fairways are fair. The pads are now marked with tall white 4 x 4 posts. There is a map on hole 1. There is a 1000 ft walk from hole 18 to hole 1, but if you know the short cut through the YMCA you can park close to both these holes. It is suggested that you park there during the winter months because they chase you out at 5pm. No problem parking at the YMCA. Since the cleanup everyone I have talked to says it is a wonderful course. BTW was established in 1984 not 1978.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Scenic must play course

5+    12/31/2008   12/31/2008
Review By: bangdachains
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with many scenic holes. There are elevation changes, so you have to throw some shots uphill, some downhill and some flat. There are a variety of long holes and medium holes. There are a few open holes but mostly wooded technical holes which dogleg both left and right as well as some straight fairways. There is good parking, bathrooms w/ automatic flush toilets & hot and cold water sinks. Lamenated course maps are available in the mailbox right next to hole #1's teepad.
Cons: Some of the walking paths can be slippery, especially on the back nine, be careful walking across the creeks on the back nine. No tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend playing this course. It is very scenic and tests your skills. It is fun and challenging for both beginners and experienced players.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center