Fredericksburg, VA
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #12 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 432ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 pratt park

1    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 69  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: holes 1-9 were easy access, very scenic and had alot of ace runs, had a homey feeling to it, it was better than normal
Cons: back 9 holes the layout was crazy and required hopping up and down a creek that just kept going. muddy and not well mantainded, if you aren't good at steep stairs and walking or have knee problems dont play this course, not that great of a layout
Other Thoughts: great course except some parts

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Pratt park review

5+    9/28/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: discgolfhippy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All of the holes have a "fair way" to the pin. There is much variety in the holes. It takes many different shots to get through this course. Play smart, or you will not get your par. Threes are good on many of the holes. Some of the holes require a steep uphill walk to the next tee, but overall the walk between holes is very reasonable.
Cons: Finishing 18 you have to go up 33 (steep) steps to get out of the ravine. Once out you walk 1000 ft to the parking lot and hole 1.
Other Thoughts: The course have greatly improved since I first saw it. (6 years ago) There has been a recent revival of Pratt, it is looking great. Be prepared, it will take a little out of you. Make sure to get your water bottle filled up on ten's teepad.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hiden Gem in the Area

5+    2/11/2011   8/17/2009
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 pretty challenging holes from wide open to somewhat tight wood holes. Shooting par 54 for intermediate to low advanced player is a good round. One hole could be called a par 4. Several birdie chances but several holes par 3 is a good score. This is a course that is a work in progress and only keeps getting better. Lot of locals are spending a lot of time to making this course even better then what it is. Many great things to come in the near future check it out.
Cons: I don't really have any cons to share. I can play this course 5 days a week and only come across a handful of people using the walking paths. Picnic areas I have never seen anyone use. Maybesome random kids will stop by and sit once in a while

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back To Pratt

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 31.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic Old Virginia Course!!!
-Tight, wooded fairways so accuracy and a little arm is needed throughout.
-Beautiful creek scramble on back 9. Creek usually not too high depending on rain fall but water can and does come into play.
-Course favors Left-handers (Righties bring that old flippy plastic.)
-Love the old Mach IIs
-Nice plaque to Dave Griffin on tree at pin for 13. We Miss You Big Daddy!!!!
Cons: -Can be tricky to follow course layout & flow. This has been improved with recent TLC. Just keep you eye open for the white tape.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. Especially in the creek during Summer afternoons. Camps take their kids there to play & hangout.
-Some hole similarity may give you deja vu
Other Thoughts: The last time I played Pratt Park they only used pole holes for Virginia States. We played it as an object course often during those years. 10+ so it was nice to play it with baskets and I love the old Mach IIs. Nice solid targets. Playing this course took me back to those mid 90s Virginia State Championships. If you have never participated in a Virginia States put it on that bucket list. Go Lazos!!!
I've gotten back to Pratt a little more often of late and am excited to see some love being given to the old girl. The new Hole 14 is a great improvement over the old one and is more "Pratt Like". Lots of work has and is being done to improve this course. Because of that, I felt I needed to bump my rating up a point for my old friend. Great job and thanks to the folks of Spotys DG!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plastic v. Park Patrons

1    6/30/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Holes 12-18:
- 12 long, blind, wooded, right-to-left, downhill to basket near creek bed
- 13 still in woods, across ravine
- 14 out of woods, 200'+ blind, left-turning uphill throw
- 15 back in woods, fair throwing lane, right turn at end
- 16 short, steep, downhill, basket near same creek bed as 13
- 17+18 in woods, slightly twisting, following creek bed, turn right at end
Cons:
Single-position, hard-to-see baskets, #18 was missing. No distance signs nor hole diagram at teepad. Single, natural, many root-filled teepads.

Small tree stumps - the type your break your toe on if you're not watching your steps.

Throwing near others:
- #1's flight path is down the length of the entry road
- #5-#8 are in the middle of picnic tables and grilles
- #9-#10 cut across walking paths
- plenty of kids like playing in the creek bed of 13, 16-18, sometimes using the baskets to hold their backpacks :-)

Navigation:
- #11 is quite some distance from #10. Follow a path thru the woods behind/right of basket, until you reach a paved path. Turn left and follow path until you get to row of trees near parking lot and building on right.
- After finishing #18, you have a steep uphill (steps) walk, then a longish walk across the field to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts:
This course primarily plays in the wooded area surrounding a multi-purpose park. Holes 1-10 are flat, with numbers 3-8 playing in the woods. Holes 11-18 are mostly in the woods, and most have some elevation changes and/or require more-shapely shots than the initial ten.

With the aid of the online map, I was able to navigate this course fairly easily my first visit - would have no chance without it. Because of no signs at teepads, I often had to go scout the location of the basket, since many shots were blind.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Front and Back of Pratt

1    5/20/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 238  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pratt Park was an interesting play. At the first tee all i was thinking was, this course is dangerous. After the next several wooded holes i was having a good time, but nothing was blowing my mind. A couple lackluster holes around the track later I had just about made up my mind about the course when we hit the ravine holes. Truly epic. Big shots go up, down over and along a creek that has carved out a steep, beautiful piece of disc golf terrain. 14 i think it was really stood out, a nice winding shot that eventually finishes downhill to the creek. Another unique hole went steeply uphill under the power lines. Did I mention I love water in play. All of this made a so so front 9 seem like a pleasant warm up for the back. The play of the last 8 holes made the stop here not only worth it but a place I would play again.
Cons: First and foremost, the navigation. Holes are spread out and without tee signs and other helpful directing you may leave thinking the course is really only a 9 hole. If I hadn't met some locals in the parking lot who let me tag along I don't think I would have found the back 9 holes that I enjoyed so much. As I mentioned, the first hole just seems dangerous. From above, you drive straight into the the road which serves as the entrance/exit of this heavily used park. I'm sure golfers are looking out for vehicles, but it seems like the hole could be laid out a little better. 2 holes in the later part of the front 9 also play very close to a running track.
Other Thoughts: Some signage here is crucial, holes are just too spread out to go without. The amazing back nine is very difficult to find your way and I was told that some locals will just play the front 9 over and over (seemed crazy to me if you knew about the back.) If I were to come back and find the course marked I would easily change this rating to a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Escape from the City

1    5/28/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some great natural features, valleys, forest and river. I was also amazed at how secluded I felt on the course despite its close proximity to major population centers. The course requires you to use a variety of shots and allows you to "air it out" for max distance on a couple of holes. There are also a good number of very technical holes that require precision shots. A good mix of left and right turning fairways, requiring either a mix of forehand and backhand or an ambidextrous player to land your shots on the fairway. The river is a great feature and really adds to how the course plays. The park also provides a great venue of practicing your form because of the number of soccer fields located in the middle of the park.
Cons: Like the other reviewers have mentioned, navigation was a real problem for me on this course. Additionally, this course like a couple of others that I have played for the first time could really use tee signs. I guess cost is the impediment but they really make the course more accessible to the visiting player and to the new player.
Other Thoughts: This course convinced me to always print a map if there is one available on this site. I spent twenty minutes trying to figure out where to go from the 10th to the 11th hole. No excuses, next time I will have a map.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 awesome back 9

1    5/16/2009   5/16/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pratt Park is located in a nice area in Fredericksburg - it's quite close to civilization but for most of the course you wouldn't be able to tell. The course is pretty well varied, with mostly wooded holes. The first half of the course is almost entirely tight wooded holes. There are 2 open holes in the middle, followed by more interesting wooded holes on the back end. The back 9 features some interesting changes in elevation - my personal favorite hole was #13, which plays from the top of a steep hill over a small valley. #12 is a nice, and long, blind downhill shot. The last few holes wrap around a creek, and #18 ends by a waterfall. There really are some wonderful views here.
Cons: My biggest problem with this course was navigation. Most baskets are not visible from the tees, so I had to walk the length of most of the holes before playing them in order to know where I was throwing. Having to walk each hole twice made the round take quite some time. Also, finding the next tee was often quite hard - this course could really benefit from some signage indicating the hole layouts and the location of the next tee.

You will not be able to get a quick round in at this course. After playing there once navigation won't be a problem, but the varied terrain, the occasional long distance between holes, and the fact that the basket for 18 is a long walk from the parking lot all combine for a lengthy round.

#14 is a hole that I might just skip next time. The tee is at the bottom of a steep hill, requiring a tomahawk up and over the hill. I thought that I could easily do this, but proved myself wrong and landed halfway up the VERY steep hill. Getting my disc was not fun... there are many places throughout this course where getting to your disc can be miserable.
Other Thoughts: Pratt Park is a good place to play. There are chances to use every disc in the bag here, and there are some great views. I would recommend printing a map, because there were none available on site and you will need one. Be ready for a lot of walking and a longer-than-usual round of play.

All things considered, I would rather play Loriella over Pratt. The scenery is nicer at Pratt, and a few of the holes are pretty remarkable, but overall Loriella provides a more satisfying round. I recommend checking out Pratt, but only if you don't mind a hike and aren't in a hurry.

UPDATE: Since my initial review I have returned to this course several times, and it looks like lots of work has been going into it lately. There is bright green ribbon marking the baskets, and on most holes there is a band around a tree marking the direction to throw in. There are now white markers on trees indicating the way to the next hole, as well. All of these improvements make navigating this course MUCH easier.

Many of the tees now have mats as well, which is great (except on #4, which has lots of mulch under the mat and isn't very smooth). There are also white tee markers at every tee.

I no longer prefer Loriella over Pratt park. Each course is great and unique - Loriella has more open holes and longer drives, but I think that the holes at Pratt (particularly the back 9) are much more creative.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Fun Course

1    4/11/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: chapner
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some absolute beautiful pin locations the 18th hole with a bend to the left down to a waterfall was really something to see.
Cons: My only gripe has to be the lack of direction, most holes are easy to find however, one hole where you shoot up hill by 3 power line poles has a large mass of thorn bushes that serve nothing else than to steal your disk
Other Thoughts: Great course bathrooms available clean and enjoyable. Be prepared for thorns climbing and getting wet in the creek

Make sure to print out a map before going there were no maps in the box when I arrived

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Half Great

2-4    3/27/2010   3/29/2009
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful and distinctive holes that play into, along, and out of a deep streambed ravine.
Cons: Way finding is challenging.
Other Thoughts: Pratt Park is a truly two-faced course, and thus can reasonably be easily loved, and easily hated. If I lived nearby, I could see growing to really appreciate the unique challenge of about half of this course, and easily making the case that the appeal of the course was unfairly overshadowed by the considerably more well regarded area courses. But for those players not familiar with the ways of Pratt Park, and those unprepared for the demands of the course, I can also easily see how the truly significant positives that Pratt has to offer could be underappreciated by those completely frustrated trying to find their way around this course, unready for the hill climbing, creek jumping, and downright dirty scrambling required to negotiate the last run of holes, or just simply underwhelmed by the unremarkable demands of 10 of the first 11 holes.

Without a map or a guide, the first thing to know about Pratt Park is that getting around could be a real challenge. There's a box for maps at the beginning of the course, but there was no map in there for me the day I played (and no box at all the first time I tried this course). Hopefully you'll fare better. Ten of the first eleven holes are pretty unremarkable. Three are in the open, the other eight are in the woods. While a couple could be considered unreasonably wooded, for the most part these holes are varied enough and ok. The third hole is pretty nice, cleared out but still a tight fairway, uphill and to the right. The natural tee pads have wooden markers, and most of the baskets are numbered too. There are a few very small next tee signs on trees where needed and I didn't have any problem navigating this segment of the course.

Finding #11 after #10 can be a challenge (see notes below), but after another fine but unremarkable hole, the really special part of this course begins with #12. As you stand at the baskets for #9 and #10, you'll see down into the very steep, very deep ravine with a beautiful stream running through it. From up there, it doesn't look much like you could even hike down there, much less actually play disc golf. But you will.

Hole #12 is a fairly long hole for this otherwise mostly short course, playing down a relatively accessible hill all way down to the stream. So finally, a really nice hole. Then you hike back up a steep hill (assuming you don't hike the wrong way, easy to do for the rest of the course), and come to a tee that looks across another deep divide to a basket on the other side. Then #14 you play back down into the ravine along the cut of the stream. #15 is a fairly standard woods hole, and then #16, again assuming you find the tee, is a big downhill chuck all the way back down to the streambed, to a basket placed right in a bend in the stream. Actually, you're throwing off something closer to a cliff than a hill. With both #13 and #16, you may stand at the tee and just be initially astounded by what the tee shot is asking of you. Hike down a winding and steep path from the #16 tee down to the streambed to retrieve your tee shot, and then play 17 and 18 along the bottom of the ravine, with 18 being a remarkable finish. The basket is exactly streamside, and two small waterfalls (during wet times at least) come together right next to the basket.

Except for #15, from #12 on Pratt Park has some of the most interesting holes in Virginia. There's lots of nice woods holes in the state, but none quite like these. I suspect the appeal of these holes is sometimes overlooked, however, by those so frustrated by trying to figure out where to go. While the number of wayfinding aids and makeshift bridges has increased greatly since I first tried to throw a round here, it's still a bit of a navigational challenge for the first timer . And steep hills, creek jumping, getting muddy on wet days, and scrambling along very steep banks if your shot goes off course had better be your idea of fun. On the flip side, I can see throwing some really fun birdies on these holes, where the baskets are all reachable from the tee, but only across big divides or crafted along a winding streambed.

Overall, I look forward to a return trip to Pratt, as it took three tries, but I'm now able to savor the good parts without having to worry about where I'm going next, or how I'm going to get back to where I started. Hopefully you'll find a map in the box, and you'll see the small next tee signs (on the back nine in particular). Either way, hopefully, it'll help to know what you're getting into, or what awaits if you just persist in moving forward.

Way finding notes: The first nine are easy to negotiate now that the tee markers have been installed. #10 is further along the running trail, a good ways - you can see the tee markers. At the basket for #10, looking down those very steep stairs to the stream below you see the basket for#18, by the way, though no fairway is apparent at all. Finding #11 is counter-intuitive, though. Turn left, go across the first bridge, and don't let the second, broken bridge with the Do Not Cross tape hanging from it deter you. Scramble down into the rocks beside the broken bridge, back out the other side where the bridge should go, and keep walking straight and you'll get to #11. #11 to 12 is obvious (though note the basket for #16 just upstream from #12), go downstream and follow the steep path uphill to get to #13. Then I didn't have any trouble finding #14 and #15, but #16 you have to backtrack to the edge of the ravine, and then find the tee for #16 right on the very edge, looking WAY down to the basket below. #17 and #18 weren't too hard to find, but you do have to scramble along the streambed for both, it's not as hard as it looks at first. If you find your way to #11, you'll notice it runs right next to the back parking lot of the YMCA, which is accessible from Butler Rd.

Favorite Hole: #18 - While #16 is a fun and beautiful toss from highpoint to lowpoint, #18 is subtle in its beauty, requiring a nice S-curve touch shot along the stream, to a picturesque waterfall finish.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.