Fredericksburg, VA 
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
This is a fine course for all levels

2-4    6/10/2010   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 12.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a great course for newer players, the first 9-10 holes are pretty solid and well marked for players to figure out the technical aspects of their game. It's an easy play and you can get a few rounds in during a single day. The back nine is generally a bit tougher and there's quite a bit more elevation that comes into play.
Cons: For advanced players, you'll eat this course up, but after 2-3 rounds, you'll start to see where the challenge lies. I wish it had a couple more open throws to keep the round balanced, but it still plays very well.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hidden Gem

5+    7/5/2015   7/17/2015
Review By: beardlikeabe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2015
Pros: This course is pretty technical. There are only really 3 open holes and the rest is wooded. The front nine is pretty good and there is a nice diversity of elevation and pin placement. This course is a bit older, however for its age, is in great shape. Once you have reviewed the map and played through once, navigation is cake. The back nine is my favorite. Make sure you wear shoes that you would do a serious hike in and bring water.
Cons: The tee boxes are a bit worn, however as I mentioned, for its age this course is pretty awesome. Take the map with you. Hole 12-15 can get a little confusing and is not always marked too well.

Other Thoughts: The cliff off the back of hole 9 and 10 are pretty wicked so do not overthrow those pins.

Pratt Attack

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 166  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 natural tees with mach 2 baskets. Fairly tight and technical old school Steady Ed course design highlighting the elevation changes through the wooded ravine. Lots of variety. Good enjoyable holes here through nature. Great course for beginners and more experienced players. Located just off I-95 if you get stuck in local traffic.
Cons: Natural tees, couple holes may interfere with other park users/picnickers and a couple holes play close to each other. Lacks signage and navigation on the back 9 was a little confusing and rough. I'm allergic to bees and there were yellow jacks on the tee of hole 2 and there was another ground nest near one of the walking paths on the back 9(not sure which because I was lost). No loop back to parking lot. Traffic can be bad.
Other Thoughts: Pratt Park is your typical Steady Ed design course using the natural elevation and terrain features very well on par 3s. Even though it's an older course, it still plays challenging and fun. Really enjoyed hole 1 to start, a number in-between and hole 18 was a great finishing hole by the waterfall to top it all off.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt

2-4    5/22/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Brosneeks
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays like 2 seperate 9 holers. First nine are a little more technical and tight. Back 9 are a lot more fun and deeper in the woods. Great scenery and challenges. Good mix of short and long shots.
Cons: After 10, it becomes difficult to follow where your next tee box is. The last time we played here the basket for 18 was missing. Plus there are 2 holes that if you over shoot them, there is a 30 foot drop that are hard to get down and get back up if you lose you disc.
Other Thoughts: Still a fun course, but it could use some love from the park staff to help maintain and update.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome use of landscape!

1    2/26/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Tough and technical
-Unique holes
-carpet tee pads
-Holes 12-18 are some of the most creative, challenging, and beautiful that i have yet to play.
Cons: -No signs explain the par and the direction of the next hole
-hole 18 ends about a quarter mile from the car
Other Thoughts: Drove an hour and a half to check this place out and i was not disappointed. Really loved the back 9 with its hills, streams, waterfalls, and valley shots. Definitely wish it was closer to where i reside. Very impressed to say the least.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/2/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent use of natural land scape - There are holes that have you shooting over ravines, under fallen tree, around waterfalls.

Fredericksburg area is home to many great courses - If you've got the time, I recommend you hit up Loriella park in Spotsylvania, just a couple miles away from Pratt

Course makes excellent use of different throwing styles - Really brings out the strategic element of DG.

Scenery is beautiful

Course traffic seems to be not an issue

You'll get to use a lot of muscle, and at the same time many holes are tight lines that reward precision and control - course really rewards perfect shots

Holes are well designed - With each hole you can see which kind of shots the designer had in mind as there are some clear windows and some sweet risk/reward scenarios.

Holes get progressively more challenging and interesting - The back nine are all amazing, and hole 18 is one of the coolest holes I've ever played
Cons:
It's very easy to skip holes without noticing and some of them aren't numbered. There is nothing guiding you to the next tee but little white bands on trees, which only serve to confuse you as the course criss-crosses like 5 times.

Also on many holes, the rough is very thick and unforgiving, and you will often find yourself with an impossible shot or a lost disc - on hole one, if your disc so much as touches the edge of the rough DO NOT take your eyes off it.

A couple of the field holes shoot over one or more parts of the running trail which is always in heavy use. People usually know whats up though and take care not to get hit

The first couple holes are a little boring and can be quite frustrating - The fairways may be wide, but the rough is REALLY rough and if a shot turns over on you you'll be disc hunting for a while.

Most holes lack tee signs
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played here was the first time I had ever played DG, and me and my buddies got SO lost on numerous occasions in between holes 12 and 15, and ended up trekking trough the mostly dry creek for about an hour before we realized we had accidentally walked out of the park hahaha.

Also, it says on this site that water comes into play on 6 holes, but don't worry, you won't be losing any discs to the water, its just a little creek thats only a few ft deep.

All in all, this course is gonna take you a while to get through, but It's a good experience and as far as the actual holes go, they have everything I look for in a course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Back Nine

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 74  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a wonderful course that is located around the edge of a well kept park. Holes 1-9 are primarily located in/around the woods and steer clear of most of the walking paths. The first nine require some technical skill as there are a fair amount of left and right hand alleys.

What makes this course a phenomenal course would be the back nine. The back nine starts with a monster hole ten that leads you into the woods. Once in the woods, get ready for the most beautiful and skilled use of landscape that I have ever seen on a disc golf course. Just about each of the back nine holes plays through a ravine that has a creek in the bottom. There are countless elevation changes and challenging technical shots and the scenery will take your breath away. You've got to see it to understand.
Cons: Tee pads are mostly natural with white 4x4 blocks on the ground marking the hole number and distance. If the ground is wet this can be challenging as the tee pads get muddy. Finding the next hole can be challenging at times as usually the only thing marking the way is white tape on trees. There are no maps of the hole at each tee pad so finding the basket before you tee off can be difficult.
Other Thoughts: Though the tee pads are rough and the lack of signage is a negative, the course layout is what makes this course amazing. If you get the chance, and have the energy to do some hiking, you must play this course. You won't regret it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good shot variety with wooded holes as well as open field shots. Good amout of elevation change and the holes along the creek are pretty cool. Well laid out. Not overly busy.
Cons: Some of the holes were a little hard to find but now there are arrows directing you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Well signed and well laid out, but can get a little confusing trying to navigate it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 best course EVER

5+    3/23/2010   2/23/2012
Review By: jmerz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Wide enough that you can go big off the tee.
Narrow enough that you better no how to go big.
Phenomenal landscaping/topography.
Distance per hole.
Well kept.
Not too busy.
Cons: You might lose a disc if you don't keep an eye on it.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play on 12 years ago. I have played a lot since then, but none are as good. I would love it if they brought back an old school "natural" tournament.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tight, technical holes predominately, with a few open holes in the middle. The front nine are a nice warm-up to the challenge you're going to face on the back.
Cons: For beginners, it may not be too fun. There's some holes on the back nine that you can easily lose a disc or get hurt if you're caught on a steep embankment. There were also some issues with signage, but if you have a cell phone that can download the course map, it helps a ton.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes, and know the back is a strenuous workout for anyone either older or not in shape.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.