Disc Golf Store
Fredericksburg, VA 
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #2 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Alt. Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Pratt

2-4    5/22/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Brosneeks
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays like 2 seperate 9 holers. First nine are a little more technical and tight. Back 9 are a lot more fun and deeper in the woods. Great scenery and challenges. Good mix of short and long shots.
Cons: After 10, it becomes difficult to follow where your next tee box is. The last time we played here the basket for 18 was missing. Plus there are 2 holes that if you over shoot them, there is a 30 foot drop that are hard to get down and get back up if you lose you disc.
Other Thoughts: Still a fun course, but it could use some love from the park staff to help maintain and update.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awesome use of landscape!

1    2/26/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Tough and technical
-Unique holes
-carpet tee pads
-Holes 12-18 are some of the most creative, challenging, and beautiful that i have yet to play.
Cons: -No signs explain the par and the direction of the next hole
-hole 18 ends about a quarter mile from the car
Other Thoughts: Drove an hour and a half to check this place out and i was not disappointed. Really loved the back 9 with its hills, streams, waterfalls, and valley shots. Definitely wish it was closer to where i reside. Very impressed to say the least.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/2/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent use of natural land scape - There are holes that have you shooting over ravines, under fallen tree, around waterfalls.

Fredericksburg area is home to many great courses - If you've got the time, I recommend you hit up Loriella park in Spotsylvania, just a couple miles away from Pratt

Course makes excellent use of different throwing styles - Really brings out the strategic element of DG.

Scenery is beautiful

Course traffic seems to be not an issue

You'll get to use a lot of muscle, and at the same time many holes are tight lines that reward precision and control - course really rewards perfect shots

Holes are well designed - With each hole you can see which kind of shots the designer had in mind as there are some clear windows and some sweet risk/reward scenarios.

Holes get progressively more challenging and interesting - The back nine are all amazing, and hole 18 is one of the coolest holes I've ever played
Cons:
It's very easy to skip holes without noticing and some of them aren't numbered. There is nothing guiding you to the next tee but little white bands on trees, which only serve to confuse you as the course criss-crosses like 5 times.

Also on many holes, the rough is very thick and unforgiving, and you will often find yourself with an impossible shot or a lost disc - on hole one, if your disc so much as touches the edge of the rough DO NOT take your eyes off it.

A couple of the field holes shoot over one or more parts of the running trail which is always in heavy use. People usually know whats up though and take care not to get hit

The first couple holes are a little boring and can be quite frustrating - The fairways may be wide, but the rough is REALLY rough and if a shot turns over on you you'll be disc hunting for a while.

Most holes lack tee signs
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played here was the first time I had ever played DG, and me and my buddies got SO lost on numerous occasions in between holes 12 and 15, and ended up trekking trough the mostly dry creek for about an hour before we realized we had accidentally walked out of the park hahaha.

Also, it says on this site that water comes into play on 6 holes, but don't worry, you won't be losing any discs to the water, its just a little creek thats only a few ft deep.

All in all, this course is gonna take you a while to get through, but It's a good experience and as far as the actual holes go, they have everything I look for in a course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Back Nine

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a wonderful course that is located around the edge of a well kept park. Holes 1-9 are primarily located in/around the woods and steer clear of most of the walking paths. The first nine require some technical skill as there are a fair amount of left and right hand alleys.

What makes this course a phenomenal course would be the back nine. The back nine starts with a monster hole ten that leads you into the woods. Once in the woods, get ready for the most beautiful and skilled use of landscape that I have ever seen on a disc golf course. Just about each of the back nine holes plays through a ravine that has a creek in the bottom. There are countless elevation changes and challenging technical shots and the scenery will take your breath away. You've got to see it to understand.
Cons: Tee pads are mostly natural with white 4x4 blocks on the ground marking the hole number and distance. If the ground is wet this can be challenging as the tee pads get muddy. Finding the next hole can be challenging at times as usually the only thing marking the way is white tape on trees. There are no maps of the hole at each tee pad so finding the basket before you tee off can be difficult.
Other Thoughts: Though the tee pads are rough and the lack of signage is a negative, the course layout is what makes this course amazing. If you get the chance, and have the energy to do some hiking, you must play this course. You won't regret it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good shot variety with wooded holes as well as open field shots. Good amout of elevation change and the holes along the creek are pretty cool. Well laid out. Not overly busy.
Cons: Some of the holes were a little hard to find but now there are arrows directing you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Well signed and well laid out, but can get a little confusing trying to navigate it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 best course EVER

5+    3/23/2010   2/23/2012
Review By: jmerz
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Wide enough that you can go big off the tee.
Narrow enough that you better no how to go big.
Phenomenal landscaping/topography.
Distance per hole.
Well kept.
Not too busy.
Cons: You might lose a disc if you don't keep an eye on it.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play on 12 years ago. I have played a lot since then, but none are as good. I would love it if they brought back an old school "natural" tournament.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/1/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Ray Gunnell
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tight, technical holes predominately, with a few open holes in the middle. The front nine are a nice warm-up to the challenge you're going to face on the back.
Cons: For beginners, it may not be too fun. There's some holes on the back nine that you can easily lose a disc or get hurt if you're caught on a steep embankment. There were also some issues with signage, but if you have a cell phone that can download the course map, it helps a ton.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes, and know the back is a strenuous workout for anyone either older or not in shape.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Prepare for an Ass Kickin'

5+    4/24/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: FredVegasDGC
Played: 88  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 28.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has changed since the last review. Mostly wooded holes and a few open holes. The front 9 is pretty straight forward. Open elevated tee that leads in to 7 straight wooded (some very tight) holes with a few doglegs and elevation changes. Ending with an open hole on 9 except the 30' drop just a few feet behind the basket.
The back 9 is where it gets fun. 10 is a long walk from 9 but is open and like 9 has a sharp drop-off just behind the basket. 11 is a straight shot down a tight tree alley. 12 is a long sloping downhill to the bottom of a ravine with a small stream just behind the basket. 13 is a walk through the woods up the hill to a straight shot across the ravine. You have to take a steep set of stairs to get to the bottom and cross the stream. 14 is a wooded hole along the bottom of the gully with the stream along the right that has cut a drop 5'-10' drop-off, The basket is located just across the stream in the bottom of the ravine. To get to 15 you have to climb the stairs to get back up to the top. 15 is a fairly straight shot through the woods. 16 is an elevated tee with the basket at the bottom of the ravine on an island that has the stream on 3 sides. To get down there either take the steep goat path or walk the long way that took you to 13. 17 is another straight shot down the ravine with the stream and fallen logs in play. 18 is the same except the basket location at the end of the ravine where the streams starts makes a bowl with the placement to the right and out of sight until you are right on top of it. To finish the round a steep set of steps to get out of the ravine.
Cons: The front 9 can be followed without much problem but the back 9 is almost impossible to find on your own if it's your first visit. If your as old as me the climbing up & down steep steps can put a hurting on your knees & ankles. Some of the stream crossings are just logs dropped across and aren't the safest around. (especially if you have a touch of vertigo, but I made it) Keep an eye on your discs and trow bright colors when possible. It's not hard to lose one on the back 9. Don't play this course after a hard rain if you don't want muddy or wet feet.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential if the back 9 can be improved as far as safer barrier crossings. It's not a problem for the youngsters but if your old and creaky like me it sure can beat you up.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What a surprise!

1    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My overall impression is good. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The park is big and has many ameniteis.

I think the best way to do this review is basket by basket because of all the variety and items related to different baskets.

1) The map showed the tee next to the road and it is not. It is next to the Disc Golf Sign at the parking lot. I updated this on the map. It is a gentle left to right with a slight down hill flow.The basket is next to the woods and can be seen from the there. You do have to throw over a busy entry way into the park so caution is advised.

2) The tee for 2 shows no sign of having been played in recent history and the basket area is the same (if you can find it). I would say throwing back over the road and the poor flow of the course it causes are the main reason.

3) Basket 3 is being used for putting practice. With it being so close to the parking lot and the course flow issue the tee shows no wear.

Alt2) A great slightly up hill and a slight right at the end. A very pretty spot for a throw. The 2 bridges make it easy to walk up the fairway.

Alt3) A tough uphill with a tight opening in the front. Placement is paramount here. If you get off to the side it will add throws,

4)A straight tight tunnel.

5) A nice throw where accuracy and placement are supreme. There is no undergrowth here because you are throwing through a lightly used picnic area. But get off to the left and the brush is thick.

6) A straight throw where accuracy and placement are again the thing to do. But you are still in the picnic area and you must be careful.

7) You are out of the picnic area. This is a tough throw to the right and has some elevation change. Keep on the fariway and you will be okay. You cannot see the basket.

8) Trees on the left but not heavy on the right. You do have to place it at the end because of a tight group of trees around the basket area.

9) Throw across an open area with the walking and bike riding paths in direct line. The basket is next to the trees and there is a very steep drop off if you miss it to the right.

10) Walk down the path about 300 yards and the tee is to the right. Again be very careful of bikers and joggers. Do not overthrow! There is a very steep dropoff about 15 feet behind the basket. There are steps in the side of the ravine if you do need to get down. If you look down the basket below is 18.

11 A dead straight throw on a very tight tunnel. Be careful of OAT and throwing one into the parking lot next to it.

12 This is without a doubt the most interesting and toughest fairway I have ever seen. It snakes through some very tight woods. About half way it starts a downhill section that ends up in an open area next to a stream. There is also a picnic table down here to the left. Three people were there. An errant disc could hurt someone. Also be careful of the biking and jogging path about 50 yards in front of the tee. You cannot see people coming and they are not looking for you.

13) You climb up some stairs to the top and throw across the ravine. You can see the basket. There is a definite landing area you want to hit. If you get over to the right it is steep and the leaves make it slick.

14) This is a new position and the map is now updated. This is down into the ravine. A very straight throw with a slight left turn at the end to avoid trees and rocks. I also added a picture for the new basket.

15) Back up to the top and a dead straight throw down a very tight tunnel.

16) This is a tough steep downhill throw into the ravine. You can see 2 baskets. It is the second one. Be careful here or you could nail someone on 12. This one is very dangerous if you try to use the goat trail to get down. You are better off going to the stairs by 15 and going into the ravine there.

17) This is my favorite basket to throw. You follow the ravine and the basket is on the right out of sight.

18) A great way to finish next to a waterfall and my favorite basket to just be. The basket is on the ravine wall about 8 or 10 feet up. Miss and it will roll. Overthrow and you could be on some very wet rocks trying to fish it off the falls.
Cons: This course is fun to play but because of all the safety issues it can be dangerous. Starting with the throw over the park entrance road, fairways in picnic areas, throws across walking and biking paths, a couple of crossing fairways (16 over 12's basket), and the climb down from 16.

The beginnig of the course, discounting the picnic area and the road, is a decent 3. Really nothing special but fun to play. The last 8 rachet it up to awesome level. Because of this and the dangerous aspects a 3 is fair.

The other aspect that is problem is the lack of signage. There is nothing at the tees to show the basket layout and path. No signs to show direction to the next tee and nothing to show the direction to walk from the last tee to the parking lot, which is about a half mile away.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself. The flow of the course, when you use alt tees 2 and 3, makes it easy, with a map, to get around.

This is a place I will come back to. The area in the ravine is a lot of fun. Be prepared for some serious hiking and bring lots of water and you will be fine. I will always remember 18. Although the water flow was low. Having the finish next to this waterfall was well worth the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Scene

2-4    4/26/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 258  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Use of the Creek. Wow… what a DG world it would be if every course could play around, across, and through a creek like this one. There are some fantastic pin placements that take full advantage of the water (although, it is played as casual).
- Pin Placement. A few of the pin placements on this course are Awesome!!! Hole 9 and 10 have baskets perched on the edge of extremely steep drop offs. Missing 9 long or 10 left is NOT an option. All of the creek holes have exceptional pin placement (if only the water was considered OB).
- Fantastic Shots. Overall, the use of the creek and pin placements really makes for some fantastic shots. There are a few holes on this course that you could put on any course anywhere and be more than satisfied. Holes 3, 4, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17 come to mind, with 12, 14, and 16 being really great. And, most of the other shots were really decent too.
Cons:
-Dangerous Crossings. There are two locations on the course that are somewhat sketchy… however, these areas are also the best holes on the course; so??? Hole 16, a gem of a hole, throws directly over 12's basket… then, to get to your disc, you have to walk right past 12's basket which has a blind approach shot. Keep your eyes open! Also… watch your head when coming out of 18; as you pop right up onto 10's basket (also partially blind). And as Prerube indicated the walking path on 9 and 10 do come into play… however, being from Los Angeles, I'm used to other park users being around; so???
- Lack of Tee-Pad Amenities. The tee pads were natural, with carpet… and although they were in good condition, nothing beats nice concrete tees. There were also no Tee-signs. You didn't really need them to play the holes, but it's nice to know a holes distance, or that there is a HUGE drop off 12' behind the basket… or, dare I say, what the Holes Par is? (I know, they're all 3's).
Other Thoughts:
- VA States. Pratt is home to one of the most respected Overall Frisbee tournaments in the world: the Virginia States. What a fantastic event. If you play "Frisbee" as well as DG, you have to go to the VA States and test your overall Frisbee skills against the best. Freestyle, Accuracy, Distance, DDC, MTA and Golf… with several former world champions in each event.
- History. Besides the Frisbee battle field that is the VA States, this ground was the location of a famous Civil War battle. As you play the course, you can't help but imagine the battle that played out across and through the ravine that you are playing across and through… the enemy aiming down on you from above and thinking where you would have taken cover… I know I did. I kept waiting for my disc to land next to a rusty musket ball… how cool would that be?
- Note: I played here during a tournament, so navigation was a non-issue. However, I could see it being difficult if you were by yourself, for the first time, without a map.
- My Score: -2

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.