Fredericksburg, VA 
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #6 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 What a surprise!

1    5/8/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 58  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My overall impression is good. I thoroughly enjoyed myself. The park is big and has many ameniteis.

I think the best way to do this review is basket by basket because of all the variety and items related to different baskets.

1) The map showed the tee next to the road and it is not. It is next to the Disc Golf Sign at the parking lot. I updated this on the map. It is a gentle left to right with a slight down hill flow.The basket is next to the woods and can be seen from the there. You do have to throw over a busy entry way into the park so caution is advised.

2) The tee for 2 shows no sign of having been played in recent history and the basket area is the same (if you can find it). I would say throwing back over the road and the poor flow of the course it causes are the main reason.

3) Basket 3 is being used for putting practice. With it being so close to the parking lot and the course flow issue the tee shows no wear.

Alt2) A great slightly up hill and a slight right at the end. A very pretty spot for a throw. The 2 bridges make it easy to walk up the fairway.

Alt3) A tough uphill with a tight opening in the front. Placement is paramount here. If you get off to the side it will add throws,

4)A straight tight tunnel.

5) A nice throw where accuracy and placement are supreme. There is no undergrowth here because you are throwing through a lightly used picnic area. But get off to the left and the brush is thick.

6) A straight throw where accuracy and placement are again the thing to do. But you are still in the picnic area and you must be careful.

7) You are out of the picnic area. This is a tough throw to the right and has some elevation change. Keep on the fariway and you will be okay. You cannot see the basket.

8) Trees on the left but not heavy on the right. You do have to place it at the end because of a tight group of trees around the basket area.

9) Throw across an open area with the walking and bike riding paths in direct line. The basket is next to the trees and there is a very steep drop off if you miss it to the right.

10) Walk down the path about 300 yards and the tee is to the right. Again be very careful of bikers and joggers. Do not overthrow! There is a very steep dropoff about 15 feet behind the basket. There are steps in the side of the ravine if you do need to get down. If you look down the basket below is 18.

11 A dead straight throw on a very tight tunnel. Be careful of OAT and throwing one into the parking lot next to it.

12 This is without a doubt the most interesting and toughest fairway I have ever seen. It snakes through some very tight woods. About half way it starts a downhill section that ends up in an open area next to a stream. There is also a picnic table down here to the left. Three people were there. An errant disc could hurt someone. Also be careful of the biking and jogging path about 50 yards in front of the tee. You cannot see people coming and they are not looking for you.

13) You climb up some stairs to the top and throw across the ravine. You can see the basket. There is a definite landing area you want to hit. If you get over to the right it is steep and the leaves make it slick.

14) This is a new position and the map is now updated. This is down into the ravine. A very straight throw with a slight left turn at the end to avoid trees and rocks. I also added a picture for the new basket.

15) Back up to the top and a dead straight throw down a very tight tunnel.

16) This is a tough steep downhill throw into the ravine. You can see 2 baskets. It is the second one. Be careful here or you could nail someone on 12. This one is very dangerous if you try to use the goat trail to get down. You are better off going to the stairs by 15 and going into the ravine there.

17) This is my favorite basket to throw. You follow the ravine and the basket is on the right out of sight.

18) A great way to finish next to a waterfall and my favorite basket to just be. The basket is on the ravine wall about 8 or 10 feet up. Miss and it will roll. Overthrow and you could be on some very wet rocks trying to fish it off the falls.
Cons: This course is fun to play but because of all the safety issues it can be dangerous. Starting with the throw over the park entrance road, fairways in picnic areas, throws across walking and biking paths, a couple of crossing fairways (16 over 12's basket), and the climb down from 16.

The beginnig of the course, discounting the picnic area and the road, is a decent 3. Really nothing special but fun to play. The last 8 rachet it up to awesome level. Because of this and the dangerous aspects a 3 is fair.

The other aspect that is problem is the lack of signage. There is nothing at the tees to show the basket layout and path. No signs to show direction to the next tee and nothing to show the direction to walk from the last tee to the parking lot, which is about a half mile away.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself. The flow of the course, when you use alt tees 2 and 3, makes it easy, with a map, to get around.

This is a place I will come back to. The area in the ravine is a lot of fun. Be prepared for some serious hiking and bring lots of water and you will be fine. I will always remember 18. Although the water flow was low. Having the finish next to this waterfall was well worth the trip.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Scene

2-4    4/26/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 330  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Use of the Creek. Wow... what a DG world it would be if every course could play around, across, and through a creek like this one. There are some fantastic pin placements that take full advantage of the water (although, it is played as casual).
- Pin Placement. A few of the pin placements on this course are Awesome!!! Hole 9 and 10 have baskets perched on the edge of extremely steep drop offs. Missing 9 long or 10 left is NOT an option. All of the creek holes have exceptional pin placement (if only the water was considered OB).
- Fantastic Shots. Overall, the use of the creek and pin placements really makes for some fantastic shots. There are a few holes on this course that you could put on any course anywhere and be more than satisfied. Holes 3, 4, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17 come to mind, with 12, 14, and 16 being really great. And, most of the other shots were really decent too.
Cons:
-Dangerous Crossings. There are two locations on the course that are somewhat sketchy... however, these areas are also the best holes on the course; so??? Hole 16, a gem of a hole, throws directly over 12's basket... then, to get to your disc, you have to walk right past 12's basket which has a blind approach shot. Keep your eyes open! Also... watch your head when coming out of 18; as you pop right up onto 10's basket (also partially blind). And as Prerube indicated the walking path on 9 and 10 do come into play... however, being from Los Angeles, I'm used to other park users being around; so???
- Lack of Tee-Pad Amenities. The tee pads were natural, with carpet... and although they were in good condition, nothing beats nice concrete tees. There were also no Tee-signs. You didn't really need them to play the holes, but it's nice to know a holes distance, or that there is a HUGE drop off 12' behind the basket... or, dare I say, what the Holes Par is? (I know, they're all 3's).
Other Thoughts:
- VA States. Pratt is home to one of the most respected Overall Frisbee tournaments in the world: the Virginia States. What a fantastic event. If you play "Frisbee" as well as DG, you have to go to the VA States and test your overall Frisbee skills against the best. Freestyle, Accuracy, Distance, DDC, MTA and Golf... with several former world champions in each event.
- History. Besides the Frisbee battle field that is the VA States, this ground was the location of a famous Civil War battle. As you play the course, you can't help but imagine the battle that played out across and through the ravine that you are playing across and through... the enemy aiming down on you from above and thinking where you would have taken cover... I know I did. I kept waiting for my disc to land next to a rusty musket ball... how cool would that be?
- Note: I played here during a tournament, so navigation was a non-issue. However, I could see it being difficult if you were by yourself, for the first time, without a map.
- My Score: -2

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Starts slow, ends grand.

1    3/7/2010   3/8/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 229  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 8.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It was like playing 2 seperate courses. Holes 1-8 were typical, flat and moderately wooded. Then holes 11-18 were great wooded holes utilizing elevation, the ravine, the creek, and all of nature to it's fullest.

Navigation has improved, small tags in the trees point to the next tee location. Most baskets are visible from the tees. White markers noted where the tee pads were, several tees had wood boxes.

I noticed some holes had pro tees that were not on the map and were poorly marked, but they do exist.

Holes 12-18 were great:
Hole 12 was an amazing winding downhill shot along the ravine.
Hole 13 was a straight shot over a deep valley
Hole 14 was a nice shot with some elevation over the creek.
Hole 16 was a seveer down hill throw to the water (shoot at the second basket)
Hole 18 was a blind dog leg right over a hill and past 2 fallen trees that love to knock down discs.
Cons: Holes 9 and 10 are 2 of the worst designed holes I have ever played.
Hole 9 throws over a busy walking trail in 2 spots as well as a busy feild. I had to wait over 4 minutes for an opening to throw. Hole 10 throws along and over the same trail. If you overthrow, your disc goes down in the ravine by 18, I played it safe and threw short landing at the edge of the walking path and a kid on a bike thought he found a free disc. I will never play these 2 holes again, these 2 safety hazards killed this unique course.

Tee signs with distances would be very beneficial, also signs showing how to navigate down to your disc after you throw it over the elevation would be nice. Finding the tees and the baskets was much easier than figuring out how you get to those tees safely.

#4's tee pad is too short to comfortably throw, also several of the tee pads were uneven under the carpeting.
Other Thoughts: Back 9 are physically demanding If you have a stroller, bad knees, or really young children play 1-8 twice.

There are water hazards, but you can leave the golder retriever and speedo at home, the water is mostly clear and shallow.
If holes 9 and 10 did not exist this course would rank as one of the best course I have played.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 pratt park

1    1/16/2010   1/16/2010
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: holes 1-9 were easy access, very scenic and had alot of ace runs, had a homey feeling to it, it was better than normal
Cons: back 9 holes the layout was crazy and required hopping up and down a creek that just kept going. muddy and not well mantainded, if you aren't good at steep stairs and walking or have knee problems dont play this course, not that great of a layout
Other Thoughts: great course except some parts

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Pratt park review

5+    9/28/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: discgolfhippy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All of the holes have a "fair way" to the pin. There is much variety in the holes. It takes many different shots to get through this course. Play smart, or you will not get your par. Threes are good on many of the holes. Some of the holes require a steep uphill walk to the next tee, but overall the walk between holes is very reasonable.
Cons: Finishing 18 you have to go up 33 (steep) steps to get out of the ravine. Once out you walk 1000 ft to the parking lot and hole 1.
Other Thoughts: The course have greatly improved since I first saw it. (6 years ago) There has been a recent revival of Pratt, it is looking great. Be prepared, it will take a little out of you. Make sure to get your water bottle filled up on ten's teepad.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hiden Gem in the Area

5+    2/11/2011   8/17/2009
Review By: ruxc82
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 pretty challenging holes from wide open to somewhat tight wood holes. Shooting par 54 for intermediate to low advanced player is a good round. One hole could be called a par 4. Several birdie chances but several holes par 3 is a good score. This is a course that is a work in progress and only keeps getting better. Lot of locals are spending a lot of time to making this course even better then what it is. Many great things to come in the near future check it out.
Cons: I don't really have any cons to share. I can play this course 5 days a week and only come across a handful of people using the walking paths. Picnic areas I have never seen anyone use. Maybesome random kids will stop by and sit once in a while

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back To Pratt

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: G Bud
Played: 66  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 32.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Classic Old Virginia Course!!!
-Tight, wooded fairways so accuracy and a little arm is needed throughout.
-Beautiful creek scramble on back 9. Creek usually not too high depending on rain fall but water can and does come into play.
-Course favors Left-handers (Righties bring that old flippy plastic.)
-Love the old Mach IIs
-Nice plaque to Dave Griffin on tree at pin for 13. We Miss You Big Daddy!!!!
Cons: -Can be tricky to follow course layout & flow. This has been improved with recent TLC. Just keep you eye open for the white tape.
-May have to play around and deal with park patrons. Especially in the creek during Summer afternoons. Camps take their kids there to play & hangout.
-Some hole similarity may give you deja vu
Other Thoughts: The last time I played Pratt Park they only used pole holes for Virginia States. We played it as an object course often during those years. 10+ so it was nice to play it with baskets and I love the old Mach IIs. Nice solid targets. Playing this course took me back to those mid 90s Virginia State Championships. If you have never participated in a Virginia States put it on that bucket list. Go Lazos!!!
I've gotten back to Pratt a little more often of late and am excited to see some love being given to the old girl. The new Hole 14 is a great improvement over the old one and is more "Pratt Like". Lots of work has and is being done to improve this course. Because of that, I felt I needed to bump my rating up a point for my old friend. Great job and thanks to the folks of Spotys DG!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plastic v. Park Patrons

1    6/30/2009   7/5/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Holes 12-18:
- 12 long, blind, wooded, right-to-left, downhill to basket near creek bed
- 13 still in woods, across ravine
- 14 out of woods, 200'+ blind, left-turning uphill throw
- 15 back in woods, fair throwing lane, right turn at end
- 16 short, steep, downhill, basket near same creek bed as 13
- 17+18 in woods, slightly twisting, following creek bed, turn right at end
Cons:
Single-position, hard-to-see baskets, #18 was missing. No distance signs nor hole diagram at teepad. Single, natural, many root-filled teepads.

Small tree stumps - the type your break your toe on if you're not watching your steps.

Throwing near others:
- #1's flight path is down the length of the entry road
- #5-#8 are in the middle of picnic tables and grilles
- #9-#10 cut across walking paths
- plenty of kids like playing in the creek bed of 13, 16-18, sometimes using the baskets to hold their backpacks :-)

Navigation:
- #11 is quite some distance from #10. Follow a path thru the woods behind/right of basket, until you reach a paved path. Turn left and follow path until you get to row of trees near parking lot and building on right.
- After finishing #18, you have a steep uphill (steps) walk, then a longish walk across the field to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts:
This course primarily plays in the wooded area surrounding a multi-purpose park. Holes 1-10 are flat, with numbers 3-8 playing in the woods. Holes 11-18 are mostly in the woods, and most have some elevation changes and/or require more-shapely shots than the initial ten.

With the aid of the online map, I was able to navigate this course fairly easily my first visit - would have no chance without it. Because of no signs at teepads, I often had to go scout the location of the basket, since many shots were blind.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Front and Back of Pratt

1    5/20/2009   6/2/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 256  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pratt Park was an interesting play. At the first tee all i was thinking was, this course is dangerous. After the next several wooded holes i was having a good time, but nothing was blowing my mind. A couple lackluster holes around the track later I had just about made up my mind about the course when we hit the ravine holes. Truly epic. Big shots go up, down over and along a creek that has carved out a steep, beautiful piece of disc golf terrain. 14 i think it was really stood out, a nice winding shot that eventually finishes downhill to the creek. Another unique hole went steeply uphill under the power lines. Did I mention I love water in play. All of this made a so so front 9 seem like a pleasant warm up for the back. The play of the last 8 holes made the stop here not only worth it but a place I would play again.
Cons: First and foremost, the navigation. Holes are spread out and without tee signs and other helpful directing you may leave thinking the course is really only a 9 hole. If I hadn't met some locals in the parking lot who let me tag along I don't think I would have found the back 9 holes that I enjoyed so much. As I mentioned, the first hole just seems dangerous. From above, you drive straight into the the road which serves as the entrance/exit of this heavily used park. I'm sure golfers are looking out for vehicles, but it seems like the hole could be laid out a little better. 2 holes in the later part of the front 9 also play very close to a running track.
Other Thoughts: Some signage here is crucial, holes are just too spread out to go without. The amazing back nine is very difficult to find your way and I was told that some locals will just play the front 9 over and over (seemed crazy to me if you knew about the back.) If I were to come back and find the course marked I would easily change this rating to a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Nice Escape from the City

1    5/28/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some great natural features, valleys, forest and river. I was also amazed at how secluded I felt on the course despite its close proximity to major population centers. The course requires you to use a variety of shots and allows you to "air it out" for max distance on a couple of holes. There are also a good number of very technical holes that require precision shots. A good mix of left and right turning fairways, requiring either a mix of forehand and backhand or an ambidextrous player to land your shots on the fairway. The river is a great feature and really adds to how the course plays. The park also provides a great venue of practicing your form because of the number of soccer fields located in the middle of the park.
Cons: Like the other reviewers have mentioned, navigation was a real problem for me on this course. Additionally, this course like a couple of others that I have played for the first time could really use tee signs. I guess cost is the impediment but they really make the course more accessible to the visiting player and to the new player.
Other Thoughts: This course convinced me to always print a map if there is one available on this site. I spent twenty minutes trying to figure out where to go from the 10th to the 11th hole. No excuses, next time I will have a map.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.